• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Having The Graciousness To Admit

In the event that the pap lose several seats, how do you think they will react?

a) have the graciousness to admit that some of their policies may be wrong or at least that the people have spoken and they will listen and try to help them and win back their trust.

b) threaten that there will be no more upgrading, asset prices will fall, loss of jobs, people will be worse off, life will be tough, etc.

My guess is (b). Based on what they have been doing all these years, threats, harsh words, insults, condescending and arrogant attitude, etc. This is what I dislike most about the pap, not so much their policies, not all of which are bad.

Will they ever learn?

They will not lose several seats lah, in fact they will gain one seat! :p

But for the sake of discussion, yes it will be (a)!

That's why I used the phrase "in the event that" instead of "when".
Must I use "sekali" to make you understand? :biggrin:

Btw, I meant (b), not (a). Just edited it. :o

In the event that the pap lose several seats, how do you think they will react? ...
dey wil say ...

v hv done so much 4 dem yet dey dun appreciate it ... dey dun want us? so b it ...

den, dey carry on fixing peasants n giving demselves fat bonuses ... :eek: :mad:

Will they ever learn?

bro,

in the past, they wouldn't.

with the internet, where information is passed around so rapidly, where public opinions are swayed so easily. they just might take the humble pie: VB is just a sneak preview of what could unfold in the near future :eek::eek::eek:

my humble 2 cents :o:o:o

dey wil say ...

v hv done so much 4 dem yet dey dun appreciate it ... dey dun want us? so b it ...

den, dey carry on fixing peasants n giving demselves fat bonuses ... :eek: :mad:

I have never heard a politician say "so be it" to his voters before, other than uniquely in Singkieland.
It's like a boss talking to a subordinate. "Let's put in the best proposal, if the customer doesn't want it, so be it."
That actually sounds ok, but when someone talks like that to the people whom he wants to elect him, it's damn arrogant.

bro,

in the past, they wouldn't.

with the internet, where information is passed around so rapidly, where public opinions are swayed so easily. they just might take the humble pie: VB is just a sneak preview of what could unfold in the near future :eek::eek::eek:

my humble 2 cents :o:o:o

Don't think VB's case was one of taking humble pie bro.
He must have calculated and assessed together with his buddies, that going on would be more detrimental than leaving it.
It's self preservation, not humility.

Gallego99

There'll be more unpopular policies and it will come thick and fast. Price hikes are likely on the cards in the next few months if the macro picture is anything to go by. The message will be clear-you can have 10-15 opposition members but they are not going to hold the ruling party hostage where policies are concerned.

They won't do a) and they are unlikely to follow through with b) as the consequences would be disastrous. b) will only vindicate the need for an alternative party and they'd be playing directly into their opponents' hand.

There'll be more unpopular policies and it will come thick and fast. Price hikes are likely on the cards in the next few months if the macro picture is anything to go by. The message will be clear-you can have 10-15 opposition members but they are not going to hold the ruling party hostage where policies are concerned.

They won't do a) and they are unlikely to follow through with b) as the consequences would be disastrous. b) will only vindicate the need for an alternative party and they'd be playing directly into their opponents' hand.

Thought u only interested in football? Just joking. :biggrin:

The point of having more opposition is not to hold the ruling party hostage. They can't anway and even the most fanatic intelligent opposition supporter knows that some policies have to be passed for the good of the country and the people.
The point is to make them more accountable and transparent not only to the country and the people, but also to the world. It's not about blocking merely unpopular policies, it's about making them explain in detail and logically, some of the draconion or unfair measures they have implemented to benefit themselves at the expense of the ordinary man.

And you can be sure they will do (b), simply because they have lost sight of the need to be humble and accountable. There's a reason why 82 seats are being contested by fairly high quality opposition candidates. The question is when they will learn.

'sekali' = 'in the unlikely event'! :smile:

In the unlikely event, they will be gracious lah, if not what? :eek:

No lah, sekali = in the event that. :p

They won't be gracious, they will be arrogant and condescending. Frankly I wouldn't dislike them if they were gracious.

Hey btw, who do you like them so much and then object strongly when people put you in a list of pappy doggies? :biggrin:

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Hey btw, who do you like them so much and then object strongly when people put you in a list of pappy doggies? :biggrin:

LOL! If I am really a pappy, I will be gracious enough to admit one, but I am not!

Whenever I switch on TV for news and flip the Straits Times which is delivered to my house daily, I know who will win liao.

A hard truth for most bros, esp. those not on the list!:biggrin:

they already have their backup plans installed like minister can only remain 2 terms. if they lose, it's a freak election. if they win, they would be more arrogance and proclaim they deserve it.

whatever it is, as long as there are GRCs in a GE uniquely only in singapore, how can the GE be a level and fair fight?

what if the minority christopher de souza win. he's minority in a swc. then what does the pap going to say? in the past, our honorable late JB jeyaratnam had won anson over and over until pap bankrupted him. was JB an indian who was a minority and yet voters supported him not once but a couple of times during the GE. the argument that GRC is for the sake of minority is a simple, str8 in the face bullshit. it's a disguise to cover up their sickening KIASUISM and cowardly KIASISM.

Gallego99

Thought u only interested in football? Just joking. :biggrin:

The point of having more opposition is not to hold the ruling party hostage. They can't anway and even the most fanatic intelligent opposition supporter knows that some policies have to be passed for the good of the country and the people.
The point is to make them more accountable and transparent not only to the country and the people, but also to the world. It's not about blocking merely unpopular policies, it's about making them explain in detail and logically, some of the draconion or unfair measures they have implemented to benefit themselves at the expense of the ordinary man.

And you can be sure they will do (b), simply because they have lost sight of the need to be humble and accountable. There's a reason why 82 seats are being contested by fairly high quality opposition candidates. The question is when they will learn.

As long as they are in power, they can do just about anything they want. If I were a betting man, I'd say asset prices will fall regardless of what the ruling party says ie. even if they make a clean sweep of the contested seats.
It was suggested not so long ago by the IMF or the WB that the global economy is just one black swan away from another financial crisis. Looking at how events are unfolding with the sovereign crisis and massive money printing, scenario b) will kick in at some point without the ruling party pulling the trigger.

Like any citizen I expect accountability and transparency from any party that is going to govern. Its my sanguine hope that we will see a sizeable opposition representation in parliament this election.

BTW, just got back from SDP rally at Commonwealth.:biggrin:

Sideswipe

LOL! If I am really a pappy, I will be gracious enough to admit one, but I am not!
Whenever I switch on TV for news and flip the Straits Times which is delivered to my house daily, I know who will win liao.
A hard truth for most bros, esp. those not on the list!:biggrin:

you mean Wong Sifu list?

PAP dogs :
1) Char-Azn
2) myo539
3) Internet Brigade
4) Cass888
5) Samleong (gay bicycle rider without bicycle seat!)
6) Scroobal
7) RonRon
8) Erotica69 the cheehong
9) Cpt (NS) Brandon
10) White Light
11) sense

guess you are not a PAP dog afterall. :biggrin:

anyway elections no sure win thing for any parties, voter allegiances will shift over time. :wink:

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Yes bro, I suspect I might be on his reserve list though. :(

Having said that, it's quite a distinguished list with a few 'stars' inside. :p

you mean Wong Sifu list?

PAP dogs :
1) Char-Azn
2) myo539
3) Internet Brigade
4) Cass888
5) Samleong (gay bicycle rider without bicycle seat!)
6) Scroobal
7) RonRon
8) Erotica69 the cheehong
9) Cpt (NS) Brandon
10) White Light
11) sense

guess you are not a PAP dog afterall. :biggrin:

anyway elections no sure win thing for any parties, voter allegiances will shift over time. :wink:

KuanTi01

PAP will never eat humble pie or admit their policy lapses/mistakes. It's always an honest mistake and given the chance, they will do it all over again with no qualms whatsoever! They always know best. We just be the sheep! For me it's a definite (:rolleyes:b). Pride comes before a fall.:biggrin: