• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Happy Vesak Day to all Buddhist forummers

The variation is because of Therevada and Mahayana tradition. Remember, proper chonological calendar wasn't invented in India or Nepal yet at the birth of Budhha. The exact birthdate of Buddha was undocumented. Mahayana has it at mid lunar April and Therevada has it at mid lunar May. In case of leap month, it can be in lunar June too.

it must be a leap month then cos its june next month.

Of course it's a leap year, every Olympic is held in a leap year. Bear this in mind and you won't miss your count of leap years.

Other than the laughing buddha idols.

Are there many happy buddhists in sgp?

Last edited by a moderator:

The most happy one must be this one.

Flat-debarment-period-waived-for-divorcees-with-children-Khaw.jpg

Caption: KNN, Sinkee really daft, I say HDB flat never shrink in size, they really believe wor! hohohohoho.

buddhists or non buddhists we are in the same boat lah....don't worry, hdb flats not getting smaller or dearer.....that's the tooth nothing but the tooth!

I am amused that every thread, regardless of whether it is related to politics or not, some bros here still take the oppportunity to attack (or prasie) PAP.

This is a Vesak Day thread, please give me a break....

Happy Vesak Day to all.

:o

it does not really matter really...there is no birth, there is no death, there is no enlightenment and there is no buddha....it's sunyata...just it is...nothing....there is no dharma...there is no teachings...buddha did not teach anything....it's just it is.....so birth, death,enlightenment and dharma, does it really matter....sunyata..om

that's exactly the case..................

no one was ever born and no one ever died..................

there's actually no one living or not living...............and no one dying or not dying..............

Yeah just flip the power switch this site will go down.

We don't exist!

Vesak Day means no chickens in Geylang?

Drove through lorongs 29, 31, 35 and 37 and 2 lorongs on the even number side. Knna, bo kuay working leh. Called one of those I bonked recently. Told me no work tonight coz ada info AVB on rounds tonight. WTF!

components of the triple gem:

the buddha,

the dharma,

the sangha

again, they don't bless whether individually or combination.

buddha - the teacher

dharma - the teaching

sangha - the community of buddhists (monks, nuns and layman practitioners)

buddhism is a religion that teaches one to be compassionate and practise goodness and compassion. there is no blessing just the reaping of good karma for your good deeds and bad karma for bad deeds.

Drove through lorongs 29, 31, 35 and 37 and 2 lorongs on the even number side. Knna, bo kuay working leh. Called one of those I bonked recently. Told me no work tonight coz ada info AVB on rounds tonight. WTF!

Yup. I was there on Friday night brining my FB to eat beef hor fun and was walking through lorong 8 to get to H81. The street was empty. When I reached H81, guess what I saw? A car bearing QY plate was nicely parked there with 2 men inside. Are they senior officers of SPF? Why drive QY plate to Geylang.

Holiday season AV, police and traffic always on rounds, because on holiday, good guy is supposed to be holy. ;) :D

Yup. I was there on Friday night brining my FB to eat beef hor fun and was walking through lorong 8 to get to H81. The street was empty. When I reached H81, guess what I saw? A car bearing QY plate was nicely parked there with 2 men inside. Are they senior officers of SPF? Why drive QY plate to Geylang.

QY doesn't belong to the SPF. No idea for Fri night but last night didn't see chickens. Not sure about lors 8-10 though.