• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Happy Vesak Day to all Buddhist forummers

Wishing all Buddhist bros here a Happy Vesak Day. May the blessing of the Triple Gem be with you!

:)

sama sama...wishing all brudders happy vesak day!:)

Sawasdee krup, Happy Vesak Day.

I thought it a little strange as many countries having Vesak day holiday today but just checked that Thailand's Vesak day is next month June/4.

Sawasdee krup, Happy Vesak Day.

I thought it a little strange as many countries having Vesak day holiday today but just checked that Thailand's Vesak day is next month June/4.

Depends on if you follow buddhist calender or ang mo calender

It's a PH in LOS today but not VESAK day. This month alone has 4 PH in LOS. Vesak day is next month. :)

This year is 2555 in Thailand. Song Ha Ha Ha!!! Thailand counts year from birth of Budhha, not birth of Jesus. Anyway, both are retrospective calendars, invented thousands of years after the birth and death of Buddha and Jesus. The world's oldest invented and progressive calendar is the Chinese calendar. If China has kept counting years by it since invention of it, it's 2853 now, more if more achaeological discoveries are made. The world's most inaccurate and stubbornly resisting calibration is the Muslim calendar, without provision for leap months or leap years. Ramadan can occur twice per year (i.e. 12 lunar cycles and 1 solar cycle).

佛不渡人, 唯人自渡.

Happy Vesak Day to all bros here. ;)

Happy Vesak Day everyone. Enjoy your holidays :D

Happy Vesak Day to Erections2011. TCSS here hor :p

may all be well and happy, everyday :):):)

in metta

This year is 2555 in Thailand. Song Ha Ha Ha!!! Thailand counts year from birth of Budhha, not birth of Jesus. Anyway, both are retrospective calendars, invented thousands of years after the birth and death of Buddha and Jesus. The world's oldest invented and progressive calendar is the Chinese calendar. If China has kept counting years by it since invention of it, it's 2853 now, more if more achaeological discoveries are made. The world's most inaccurate and stubbornly resisting calibration is the Muslim calendar, without provision for leap months or leap years. Ramadan can occur twice per year (i.e. 12 lunar cycles and 1 solar cycle).

waaah...............you so a lot ah...............

you know why Muslim calendar so jialat ?

they suffer from a severe BAK KWA deficiency.................

as to why the Jews don't have jialat calendar despite their BAK KWA deficiency.................becoz they're not humans at all.................

They're intergalactic space aliens. Hitler realised that tried to eradicate them but failed, because they managed to convince the Yanks and Brits. Muslims tried to copy their model, became much much more numerous but failed big big time because there's no way they could get anywhere near space alien intelligence.

waulau you bros really good..

i also join to wish all brothers and all sisters and all brothers of all creeds, race and religion, a happy vesak day.

may all be well and happy in metta...

i forgotten.
may i wish a more merciful gahment too...forgiving all bros who kena recently...
may they be all free of sufferings.....and may they be well....
judiciary mercy i pray for all of them....

The variation is because of Therevada and Mahayana tradition. Remember, proper chonological calendar wasn't invented in India or Nepal yet at the birth of Budhha. The exact birthdate of Buddha was undocumented. Mahayana has it at mid lunar April and Therevada has it at mid lunar May. In case of leap month, it can be in lunar June too.

it does not really matter really...there is no birth, there is no death, there is no enlightenment and there is no buddha....it's sunyata...just it is...nothing....there is no dharma...there is no teachings...buddha did not teach anything....it's just it is.....so birth, death,enlightenment and dharma, does it really matter....sunyata..om

Metta.

Death of Buddha, uncle

Metta.