• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt says they never plan for 10m, but past reports show otherwise

Hear, hear... top marks for his perseverance although I am not sure if Sinkees appreciate it. Just saying...

Daft coward sinkies only care abt themselves and their own constituency. Only know how to tell AJ GRC residents to vote Oppie. Fucktard sinkies!

Maybe it's something like Goal 2010: 10 million is not a goal, but an 'aspiration'. :biggrin:

They will play semantics with you.
They pap will win by talking.
Police and court will follow up on whoever.
They has been happening for decades.
Why people like Chee still want to play along the words game.
I really pity Chee.
Please accept the fate be a sheep

The conundrum of the 10 million population
The Online Citizen

by The Online Citizen
3 July 2020
2 min read

by Yoong Siew Wah

This sensitive question had caused considerable consternation among Singaporeans when it was first brandished around some years ago but quite strangely it did not explode intensely and somehow became dormant to the peaceful mind of the PAP.

Then to their dismay at the political parties debate on 1 July Dr Chee Soon Juan of the Singapore Democratic Party suddenly posed this question of 10 million population for Singapore’s future to Dr Vivian Balakrishnan of the PAP and could have caught the latter by surprise.

This is where it shows the magnanimity or lack of it in the Minister in dealing with his opponent. Could it be so brazen to start by accusing Dr Chee of spreading falsehood about the Government targeting 10 million population for Singapore? Had it not occurred to the discerning Minister that multitude of Singaporeans had already heard of it and would it not be preposterous to suggest that Dr Chee started the rumour?

Instead of blustering against Dr Chee could not the Minister have shown more civility by simply clarifying the public misconception of the 10 million population in a more benign manner considering that it was already a public knowledge and not a rumour spread by Dr Chee?

He could have strongly emphasised that it was not the intention of the Government to target a 10 million population for Singapore and that certainly not from Heng Swee Keat. Otherwise this can easily spiral into something so titanic that it could be like a double-edged sword hanging over the PAP election campaign.

Dr Chee had been portrayed as a scoundrel for starting a rumour and I think it is a great disservice to him by the Government. He was only trying to perform his duty as a political opposition and should not be a subject of vilification.
I am not a supporter of Dr Chee and it may be true that he may not be an angel but as human being he deserves some respect for his self-esteem. I undertake to come to his defence because of my righteousness to stand up for an underdog from imperious attack.

I am sorry Dr Vivian Balakhrishnan if my article hurts your feelings and I hope that there will not be any hard feelings.

Mr Yoong Siew Wah, was the Director of Singapore’s Internal Security Department (ISD) from 1971 to 1974. He was Director of the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) in the 1960s, and had a distinguished career in the Singapore Special Branch in the 1950s. Mr Yoong, who is in his 90s, keeps a blog called Singapore Recalcitrant.

They definitely planned for 6.9 million. 10 million would be a natural extrapolation of that.

Vivian publicly stated he has plans for 3 mils, dunno if hawker center, food court or restaurant though. :confused:

If anything, it was VB who fired the "cheap shot" on national TV. The response betrays an insecure PAP
hiding behind the bravado of a strutting champion and stamping the grounds heavily to intimidate all
and sundry. Unfortunately, all these are tactics from a 1970s playbook. Leopards never, never, ever
change their spots.

Vivian, in his attempts to trump Dr Chee on TV, has rubbished his party's plans for 10m and even the 6.9m population master plans. I believe this was off the cuff and caused HengSK a mini stroke. The 10m population white paper had been central to Pap's master plan for growth. To make it more palatable to Singaporeans it was then watered down to 6.9m when they announced it in 2013.

Now they are doubling down on Vivian's denial and labelling Dr Chee a liar again in mainstream media.

Let's all sit back and watch the wheels come off the wagon..

1569222468292.gif

Vivian, in his attempts to trump Dr Chee on TV, has rubbished his party's plans for 10m and even the 6.9m population master plans. I believe this was off the cuff and caused HengSK a mini stroke. The 10m population white paper had been central to Pap's master plan for growth. To make it more palatable to Singaporeans it was then watered down to 6.9m when they announced it in 2013.

Now they are doubling down on Vivian's denial and labelling Dr Chee a liar again in mainstream media.

Let's all sit back and watch the wheels come off the wagon..

Rubbishing the 10mil population plan I might understand, but the 6.9mil plan was already made known to everyone.
I mean at least have the courage to own up to what you've done. :wink:

Population White Paper v1

Population White Paper v2

every erection they’ll pick on one bogeyman. whack him jialat jialat as the focal point of their campaign strategy to distract from the real issues the cuntry is facing. truth, facts, evidence can take a back seat as those can be twisted and morphed to discredit the bogeyman. it works with 69% majority of sinkies as they get fixated with bogeyman and forget all about their problems and temporary discomfort.

Thanks to Dr Chee, it is clear now. Dr Chee is the type of MP that will do a hard check on PAP. It shows on the debate clearly.

I believe that Dr. Chee Soon Juan, will keep the PAP on their toes. It will encourage honesty and integrity.

can only verify by voters, if oppies win then proved 6.9/10M population ever been said before

Back in 2013, there were so many “protests” at Hong Lim, fucking the PAP.

population now is 5 million..

Gahmen say to double rail network...for what?

For ghosts to ride lah.

Also you can have one train carriage to yourself during off-peak hours, make you feel happy.

This is a classical tactic often used by politcians to test water.

There are certain issues that is politically sensitive for ministers to raise publicly. lui Thai Ker was most likely an outlier being used by pap to test water. If public are receptive, they could just pretend to quote him and warm up the public to such idea . If there is a backlash, pap ministers could just retreat claiming they never suggest so.

Now the PAP lead by Stroke Heng is resorting to the low blows again by questioning Dr Chee's integrity and his past history with the PAP. I have no doubt the scums are feeling sore on their balls right now because of Dr Chee...

Since the PAP think Singaporeans are stupid,We have to show that we are not stupid,We must vote out PAP.