• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt Raiding The Reserve

Dear Scroobal

The consolidated fund is the main current account for the Fiance Ministry. All tax revenues, contributions of 20% of profit from stat board, GIC MAS and Temasek, CPF Bond sale proceeds, Gov debt sales etc all go into the consolidated fund.

From there the quarterly dispersions to ministries for their projects and expenditure are given. In view of the lag in the expenditure of public money, the consolidated fund as the central current account can be substantial. For example xxx ministry allocated xxx amount for a project which stretches over three years.

The lack of clarity in how the reserves are spent is due to the deliberately vague language about the usage of the reserves. The quantum remains up to 50% can be used as net investment income without ever declaring how much of that limit was used.
The recent debate in parliament was I believe an amendment not only to spend the interest or dividend income, but also to be able to spend the capital gains whilst protecting principle.

With regards to Temasek and why GIC was not covered by the amendments it was due to the losses they have suffered and according to Hansard for Oct 2008 they are already down 7% on the year with an injection of 10 billion.

Locke
The fact that CPF trail disappears after MAS is a very good example.

This is where the Press if they want to take on the noble role of the 4th estate can play a part. Why the fear of coming clean. These things happen all over the world. Or will it be like NKF where reserves were impressive but the expenses did not go to where Singaporeans expected.

Neh_Neh_Pok

gct.jpg

"Well as the saying goes the reserves are reserve for the rainy days. If this is not the rainy day then I don't know what is the rainy day. Hei hei hei.. "

myo539

When gahment don't use reserve, you will KPKB that gahment is stingy; dont know what the reserves are for.

When gahment use reserve to help the people overcome adversity, also KPKB that gahment is raiding reserves.

One conclusion : To KPKB is in your blood.

myo539

If only the PAP can use the reserves to help those who support its policies. Those who are anti PAP and their Ah Kong and Ah Ma don't deserve a cent. They can crawl to the bankcrupt Chee SJ and his sister to ask for help.

PAP_Die-hard_Fan

You motherfucking fucktards never get satisfied. Govt use reserves to help on the financial crisis you all fucking kpkb they makan your fucking money, Govt never use the reserves you all also fucking kpkb anyhow say they makan all your fucking tax. WTF you all want? You all really a fucking bunch of fucktards!