• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt mulls harsher littering penalties

Gestapo

Govt mulls harsher littering penalties
Posted: 12 March 2013 1433 hrs

display_image.php

SINGAPORE: The government is considering harsher penalties for litterbugs.

The maximum fine for recalcitrant offenders may be raised to S$10,000, up from the current S$1,000.

Giving this update in Parliament, Second Minister for Environment and Water Resources Grace Fu said the National Environment Agency will increase enforcement hours by about 50 per cent.

More plain-clothes officers will also deployed at littering hotspots.

However, Ms Fu stressed that the enforcement and penalty system is only part of the solution.

She said: "We need the public's support for more effective surveillance, enforcement and deterrence. Through greater community involvement, we can build a strong sense of social pressure against littering.

"Through effective and enhanced enforcement, we can send a strong message that it is better to dispose of your litter properly.

"In short, we will not tolerate littering and cannot rely solely on cleaners to keep Singapore clean. We need everyone to help us make the transition from being a 'cleaned' city to a 'clean' one."

- CNA/xq/al

Sinkees have got that ingrained in them ...now, we have to teach 2.3 millions and more foreigners not to litter.

songsongpunggol

the problem is not the amount of fine but the enforcement.

where got enough people to look after five millions potential litter bugs?

typical pap mentally always think money can solve every problem.

Kohliantye

Sinkees have got that ingrained in them ...now, we have to teach 2.3 millions and more foreigners not to litter.

Original Singaporeans are by and large a law-abiding citizenry and against public littering and spitting.

They are also soft-spoken, courteous and helpful lot.

As mentioned in my earlier thread, the foreigners were the ones contributed to the long queues and we were blamed. The A&E charges shot up.

Now, you have pics of foreigners allowing their children to litter, urinate and even release their bowels in full publc.

During one of my walk along Telok Paku Drive (Changi) I had witnessed a foreigner (lady) throwing a soiled baby napkin into the rising waters on the beach without any care and consideration for other people using it. These pamper became flotsam bobbling up and down among the many swimmers (children included) and finally came to the shore. There were many litter bins but probably the culprit seems not to be bothered because she could be from a country where the sea and land are open refuse centres.

When these sort of things happen, we Singaporeans are again being blamed. How much longer can we tolerate.

Recently, in the newspaper there were pictures of carcasses of bloated pigs floating in the river and rotting on the shore.

Just where is the commonsense?

lianbeng

lianbeng says: everything kee kay liao even rubbish also kee kay liao - S$10,000 orh! :( u give me ah? but salary no kee kay leh!

Microsoft

Cant remember where but got 1 genius say...all de junk mail u recd in ur letter box...dun throw it on de floor...u can rtn them here...:biggrin::biggrin:

DSC_0255a+copy.jpg