• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Jialat! You Need to Wipe Table After Clearing Food Tray at Hawker Centres!

Pinkieslut

Diner shocked by the need to wipe table on top of having to clear food tray and litter​

14 October 2023 by Staff writer

SINGAPORE: A viral video emerging from Tekka Hawker Centre has sparked widespread public discussion regarding the regulations imposed by the National Environment Agency (NEA) concerning cleanliness in public dining areas.
The TikTok video, which was posted on Friday, 13 October, features a diner, identified as Pankaj, challenging two supposed NEA enforcement officers on the specifics of new public dining cleaning regulations.

In May 2021, the NEA mandated that diners at public places must clear their tables of used trays, crockery, and litter after meals, in line with Section 17(1) of the Environmental Public Health Act (EPHA).
Offences under this section could invite a range of penalties, including fines up to S$2,000.
As of 1 June 2023, first-time offenders who don’t return their used items will receive a written warning, second-time offenders will be slapped with a S$300 composition fine, and further offences could incur court fines.
However, the recently surfaced video has unveiled a potential discrepancy or misinterpretation in these rules.
Pankaj is seen questioning the NEA officers about the extent of the diner’s responsibility in cleaning the table, particularly concerning food or drink spillages.
While Pankaj and several netizens believed the mandate only required diners to clear solid waste and return trays and utensils, the officers insisted that diners should also wipe the table clean of any spills.

The heated exchange between Pankaj and the officers revolves around the clarification and perhaps the ambiguity of the guidelines, “Are you saying to me that if I dirty the table, I am supposed to wipe the table?”
Pankaj was recorded saying. The officers affirmed, adding that it is indeed the responsibility of diners to ensure the table is clear and clean after their meal.
The viral footage has ignited a flurry of reactions online, with numerous netizens expressing astonishment and confusion over the cleaning requirements.
Many were under the impression that the NEA’s regulations simply required them to return trays and dispose of litter, not to clean spillages.
Several comments pointed out practical issues, such as a lack of cleaning materials available to diners, “What happens if we don’t have any tissues especially men..men usually don’t have tissues w them..how to clean?” queried one user.
Others used sarcasm to vent their frustrations and disbelief, “Normally at the hawker centre after I eat I will sweep, mop the floor and wash the dishes,” a netizen quipped.
Interestingly, a review of previous NEA announcements and news reports, including a joint press release on 30 August 2021, reveals no explicit mention of the obligation for diners to wipe tables clean of spillages, indicating a possible miscommunication or misinterpretation of the regulations in place.

Here's an idea: hire more cleaners instead of those jiakliaobee 'enforcers'.

But I understand the need for a broke govt to rob more money through frivolous fines, or get the delicious shiok feeling of lording over the lives of citizens, just for an ego-driven power trip. :cool:

True Believer

Here's an idea: hire more cleaners instead of those jiakliaobee 'enforcers'.
But I understand the need for a broke govt to rob more money through frivolous fines, or get the delicious shiok feeling of lording over the lives of citizens, just for an ego-driven power trip. :cool:
NEA enforcement officers are similar to security guards. Just hand them a uniform, badge and a measure of authority, and they will soon lord it over every diner at the hawker centres that they patrol for the most frivolous of perceived offences.

tobelightlight

U guys still stay in Sg? And allow govt to bully u like that? Have some dignity and move out.

Or have some self respect and face the govt on such useless law if u want to stay in Sg. Forced and lie to getting vaccinated, going to die and still have to deal with such useless control. Sinkies are useless and stupid.

borom

When you hand these highest paid in the world a 2/3(66.67%) majority in Parliament, you are giving them absolute power .
Now further reinforce it with a 70% vote for their candidate to be president, you are giving them the mandate of heaven.
So they keep passing ,more and more oppresive rules on the peasants.
Now even cleaners shout at customers who do not return trays or return them to the wrong place .
Anyway they voted for it, so just stick it to them, whether it is tray return , littering, chewing gum, COE, enforced vaccination, CECA ect2 .

realDonaldTrump

NEA's manpower focusing on collecting money from plastic bags, water tax, carbon tax on electricity, send enforcement officers (former Covid ambassadors???) to hawker centres...............

how about doing somthing more helpful like catching mosquitoes?

The Crow

After that, help to wash plates, help stall owner to pull down shutter is it? KNN out of ideas liao? Tekan singaporean ... :o-o:

Wipe the table? They don't even stoop that low at the cookhouse of SAF camps. :roflmao:

Fucked up country, run by some truly fucked up people. :biggrin:

Two decades of the Useless Son in charge has culminated into this. :cool:

blackmondy

NEA enforcement officers are similar to security guards. Just hand them a uniform, badge and a measure of authority, and they will soon lord it over every diner at the hawker centres that they patrol for the most frivolous of perceived offences.
These low-ses fuckers aren't much different from tiong-cock 城管. They need to find their place in society by exercising their authority over others.

Loofydralb

Diner shocked by the need to wipe table on top of having to clear food tray and litter​

14 October 2023 by Staff writer

SINGAPORE: A viral video emerging from Tekka Hawker Centre has sparked widespread public discussion regarding the regulations imposed by the National Environment Agency (NEA) concerning cleanliness in public dining areas.
The TikTok video, which was posted on Friday, 13 October, features a diner, identified as Pankaj, challenging two supposed NEA enforcement officers on the specifics of new public dining cleaning regulations.

In May 2021, the NEA mandated that diners at public places must clear their tables of used trays, crockery, and litter after meals, in line with Section 17(1) of the Environmental Public Health Act (EPHA).
Offences under this section could invite a range of penalties, including fines up to S$2,000.
As of 1 June 2023, first-time offenders who don’t return their used items will receive a written warning, second-time offenders will be slapped with a S$300 composition fine, and further offences could incur court fines.
However, the recently surfaced video has unveiled a potential discrepancy or misinterpretation in these rules.
Pankaj is seen questioning the NEA officers about the extent of the diner’s responsibility in cleaning the table, particularly concerning food or drink spillages.
While Pankaj and several netizens believed the mandate only required diners to clear solid waste and return trays and utensils, the officers insisted that diners should also wipe the table clean of any spills.

The heated exchange between Pankaj and the officers revolves around the clarification and perhaps the ambiguity of the guidelines, “Are you saying to me that if I dirty the table, I am supposed to wipe the table?”
Pankaj was recorded saying. The officers affirmed, adding that it is indeed the responsibility of diners to ensure the table is clear and clean after their meal.
The viral footage has ignited a flurry of reactions online, with numerous netizens expressing astonishment and confusion over the cleaning requirements.
Many were under the impression that the NEA’s regulations simply required them to return trays and dispose of litter, not to clean spillages.
Several comments pointed out practical issues, such as a lack of cleaning materials available to diners, “What happens if we don’t have any tissues especially men..men usually don’t have tissues w them..how to clean?” queried one user.
Others used sarcasm to vent their frustrations and disbelief, “Normally at the hawker centre after I eat I will sweep, mop the floor and wash the dishes,” a netizen quipped.
Communism-lite in action in SG.

Anyway next they will insist you cleaning the seats too.

Followed by cleaning the floor.

What's next? The toilet of course!

So you want to eat at hawker centre or restaurants?