• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Government to propose exit interview for SG Quitters

cydonia

As the saying goes, the grass is always greener on the other side. Which is really greener? i do not know, but 1 thing i know. Here in Singapore we are the one that make the decision, however small it is. But when we go out of here, our decision suddenly don't matter that much anymore.

At the end of the day, we chose how we want to lead our life; 1st class or 2nd class. We just want to be happy and feel appreciated :smile:

The_Latest_H

Well, I probably won't give up my Singgie red passport just yet. But I will take up the PR here and most likely, create my own family in Australia, or in Canada, and just let my future kids be educated and brought up here.

Knowing the style of the education system back home, I prefer to have them enrol here or in Canada instead. And if you have the money, you can afford to send them to better schools anyway.

The_Latest_H

Help comes in many forms. Receiving help also comes with different attitudes and acceptance.

Talk about getting help from govt., a person has to rely on himself first and foremost, then it is friends / relatives, employer and finally what little the MP and grassroots can do. There are many cracks and I am not happy about it either. Since I can't do much about it, I won't gripe about it too much either.

Our country's system is not perfect, far from it. I can list many personal examples. I also have relatives getting sick big time. The govt. was the last entity that we expect to receive help from.

For your info. if you add income tax together with the VAT/GST that you pay when making purchases and some other taxes, it comes close to half your pay checks in some countrries.

Don't dream about migrating, do it instead of habouring so much anger against the PAP. For me, I grew up poor. Never had a handout or a leg up from the govt. before and would never expect to receive anything. If I do, surprise, surprise.

For the next generation, we can only do our best in providing them with the education and the right values to be able to survive or even thrive in the future. This comes from Faith.

Everyday we wake up is a blessing.

Man, if you have seen thousands of body bags 3 days after an earthquake, nothing is important other than being thankful for being alive. We have to rely on ourselves.

While I respect your views as such, I believe as time progresses and as the rest of the world progresses, more & more people do not feel as such. If Malaysians can even have cheap cable, and satellite TV, while we have expensive cable and no satellite TV service, more people will question why.

Its the same when it comes to telecos and their services. Singaporeans are stuck with telecos that are inefficient, expensive and has crappy customer support systems. And all three are owned by the government. And while this is happening, there are fellow Singaporeans in the US, Canada and Australia, who pay way less, or at least get value for money services and have a free market to choose their operator for land lines, mobile phones and internet services. And almost all telecos are not government-owned.

So you see: if you think that people should be happy by just being alive day by day, well while that's true, its also rather simplistic. Life is complicated and as it is, its getting even more complicated. For better or for worse, as long as Singaporeans are deprived of services in Singapore because of the PAP regulations, and while they see those who have emigrated getting it, people will get unhappy and feel like moving.

By the time, if many feel that Singapore is now a hotel and not a home, that's when you're screwed.

thank u very much..

i can feel the air is fresher in spore already..:biggrin:

You think a Sporean leaving is a good thing???

Spore is facing a big net outflow of its citizens. Those left behind in Spore are in trouble because Spores got an aging population. Fewer people are contributing into the CPF sheme, one less NSman & future NSmen(kids), decrease in tax base, ....

He'll be replaced by a FT, but FTs do not have a stake in Spore & will leave Spore with all their money. :rolleyes:

vbchia

Brother how can one help themselve when they earn peanuts? Do you know that alot of elderly sinkees choose to die of whatever ailment they have than to ask for help from relatives and friends? They don't have the financial resouces to help themselve. If they were in canada and paid all their taxes, their money would be given back to them as free healthcare. My uncle died of cancer in Canada last year and what he got from the goverment in terms of specialist treatment and medication for the last few years of his life would bankrupt him and his family if he was here in sinkeetown. You talk like a true blue PAP man. But really, what is actually the role of a goverment? You tell me.

Eh Brudder, I am hardly a PAP man. Me old man cannot see eye to eye with that patriach. That's why in army I was a black horse (father ex-general but not the right kind). It is good that they can have that in Canada. But for those poor fellas in sillypore, they have no choice, really sad. The role of the govt. as far as I am concerned is to provide a stable environment to do our thing or for investment to continue to flow in. As long as we have the liberty to rely on ourselves and make good, then it is ok. But once they step over the line and stifle, we better hope there is someone who will do what Anwar is doing now to show that they are not forever secure.

But think of it this way, Singapore is ours because we sweat and sometimes bleed for it over 2 and a half years. Remember the SAF pledge? we will serve and protect the president and constitution (not the PM or the general). After all that hard work we deserve to call it our home. Unfortunately we are made to toe the line as there's no better choice at the moment. PAP suck up all the talents leaving the oppposition with no better candidates.

That's why I decided to make a living outside. But I won't be giving up my citizenship anytime soon. My sons will serve ns and do their part but I will make sure that they will be able to have a choice in the future and not have their back against the wall. I could have a silver spoon but as things turn out my old man did not sing the same song. So I grew up relying on myself.:wink:

Its the same when it comes to telecos and their services. Singaporeans are stuck with telecos that are inefficient, expensive and has crappy customer support systems. And all three are owned by the government.

That is the problem...

You think a Sporean leaving is a good thing???

Spore is facing a big net outflow of its citizens. Those left behind in Spore are in trouble because Spores got an aging population. Fewer people are contributing into the CPF sheme, one less NSman & future NSmen(kids), decrease in tax base, ....

He'll be replaced by a FT, but FTs do not have a stake in Spore & will leave Spore with all their money. :rolleyes:

Mr John, you dun have to talk sense to a sinkie. He doesn't know anything about his own country at all. The last time i check, one of his post, he works for the govt. And what do you think of the mentality of people who works for the govt.

It is up to you to think.

By the time, if many feel that Singapore is now a hotel and not a home, that's when you're screwed.

It is happening now. And worse still, a foreign hotel.

Powerman

Exit interviews are no more than just a waste of time. If a quitter (a term labelled by Wooden) fears repercussions by the MIWs, surely you wouldn't expect him to state his true reasons for quitting. When I applied my PR to Oz, the police clearance form asked the reasons for me applying for PR in OZ. It was mainly for the bad quality of life in the dot but I did not say it. I stated a more "friendly" reason.

The_Latest_H

That is the problem...

Here in Oz, whichever city you are in, there are 5 telecos, and 3, which is ran by Li Ka Shing's company, is pretty good and efficient, and its services are way value for money.

And even if you want an iPhone, 4 operators which has locked contracts offer the phone free upfront, and insist on a contract. Optus and Virgin are the better ones, but if again you have an unlocked iPhone, you can have a 3 contract for that iPhone.

If you want a Blackberry Bold, at 3 you just need to pay a $69 contract fee per month, and get $1000 in value every month in credit.

And as a result of so many competitors, most phones here are free upfront; you pay absolutely zero for the phone. Instead you just pay on a cap of say $29 to $109 or something and there are like many, many free stuff, from free sms to tons of internet services on your mobile phone.

Its way better to own a phone in Australia here than in Singapore.

The_Latest_H

Ang moh really know how to package and manage. Sinkeepore still have a long way to go:(

3 is a Hong-Kong based teleco, with branches in Australia, the UK, HK, Austria, Sweden, among others. And so its run by fellow Asians; the chairman is Li-Ka Shing, and I think the company is ran by one of his sons.

In any case, its no doubt you guys are getting ripped in Singapore. Completely.

Anyway, check out the LG U990 phone I got it for a $49 cap plan from 3 today. It also comes with an USB modem broadband key for laptops on the 3GB plan.

http://store.three.com.au/mobiles/LG-Viewty(U990)-Internet-Key-49-combo

P.S: still, all the figures I quote are all in Australian dollars. But in light of the fall of the Aussie dollar value, there's not much of a difference as compared in the past.