• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Got Sinkie bid $2.8 mil for the roast duck recipe

RonRon

ST_IMAGES_LJDUCK22.jpg

The asking price for the famed recipe and premises of Kay Lee Roast Meat Joint is a cool $3.5 million, but one day after this was reported, inquiries came streaming in.

More than 40 parties - 39 from Singapore - have expressed interest, with the two highest bids at $2.5 million and $2.8 million.

Senior property consultant Raymond Lo of Knight Frank, the real estate broker for Kay Lee's owners, said: 'Most of the callers are businessmen or restaurant operators, and most are interested in hiring people to work for them. It's an investment of sorts.'

Mr Lo, who is confident he will close a deal by the year end, obviously thinks the eventual buyer will have a clear winner on his hands. He said: 'It's profitable. As long as you take over, you make money.'

Sadly, once this old couple quits (or dies) the food won't be as good as it once was.

You need more than just a 'secret recipe' for making good food. You need heart and emotional content.

The new owner of the secret recipe will most likely franchise the shit out of the Kay Lee brand, setting up branches islandwide, around the region and outsourcing everything.

Go eat at Kay Lee Roast Meat Joint while you still can.

Look here, there are even people who got the money to pay even more than $2 million.

Below are the forum's sinkie low life losers' post who dun have the money and try to sour grape the roast duck seller's business acumen.
A fine example of a worthless low life loser sinkie behavior..

Post taken from : http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?112763-2-million-for-roast-duck-recipe

He can bring the recipe to his coffin lah..... so expensive...

If $500k, maybe i believe.....

I have eaten better ducks elsewhere. The food is not fantastic. Over-rated is the word.

This is marketing ploy to get free publicity.
Boycott this stupid stall....

tried once, expensive and you probabaly get better in redhill or tiong bahru, con job

Knn, there are really alot of rich idiots out there. 3.5m...can last me a lifetime.
note: $3.5 million to rich people is an amount for investment to build a business economy in a land. not about spending it by yourself. The mindset difference between a worthless sinkie fuck and a millionaire mind.

Many TS should find out how ppl bid up the prices at ebay auctions.:D

Never heard of Kay Lee roast;) Good meh:confused:

Indeed i also never heard before.......got any foodie sites review bo?

The profit is $2,000 a day.

About 2.5 years to break even for the 2 million.

If so good, why don't family members continue with the biz:confused:

The kids don't want to take over.

Not everyone wants to work in a kitchen with heat and grease.

What you get in earnings in receipt, you lose in glamour and prestige.

Watch out also for the Teochew duck rice shop at South Buona Vista Road. The owner is not getting any younger. Not sure if he has children or disciples who will take over the business.

And who is the broker helping to spin this crap? I bet he can't even get a 100k offer.

Watch out also for the Teochew duck rice shop at South Buona Vista Road. The owner is not getting any younger. Not sure if he has children or disciples who will take over the business.

Brother, you got any lobang for me to be a hawker? I don't need 2k a day earnings. Just $500 nett profit a day will do. I don't mind working 14 hours, 7 days a week. Thank you in advance :D

...the roast duck seller's business acumen......note: $3.5 million to rich people is an amount for investment to build a business economy in a land.
I'm getting more confused... I thought you're against humans eating animals? :confused:
But now, you seem to be supportive of it, as long as it's financially profitable?

For all you know the own people may be buying it through a special purpose vehicle........to one extreme current owner fund the purchase:p Also, read uncle ram's post:)

But then, what do we know:confused::D

Actually, once the recipe is sold, he can always 'sell' it to others, or teach his family and disciples and they can open their own stalls somewhere else.

In food recipe, it cant be patented hor,,

The profit is $2,000 a day.

About 2.5 years to break even for the 2 million.

$2,000 a day? Got pay tax or not? I am sure IRAS will be knocking on his door pretty soon.
Many hawkers got screwed this way after they appeared on TV boasting how nice their food are and how good their business is!

If this is a real arms-length business transaction, which dum dum will go and buy.:D

Actually, once the recipe is sold, he can always 'sell' it to others, or teach his family and disciples and they can open their own stalls somewhere else.

In food recipe, it cant be patented hor,,