• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good times are here Property UP!

longbow

Seems like good times are back. Have to to some property launches and prices are up! Transactions show firming in demand and prices. Is the the beginning of another bull run?

kingat33

No, it is a sign of an impending major crash. Why? because once casinos starts to operate n singaporeans starts to lose money, they will lose their property as well. Developers know this and that is why they are clearing all their stocks as fast as possible and many vendors are doing the same. That explain the high transaction volume. Good property market indicator would be when their are more demand than supply when obviously this isn't the case.

longbow

I doubt if that many Singaporeans will lose their houses because of the casino. as it is we already have the gambling ships so those gambling addicts would already have been taken out.

So far prices have been increasing by quite a big - just look at transactions done. MIW have been bringing in more and more FT and if they stay in rented HDB that will push up HDB demand and lift pte property.

Also where in the world can you find a country that is safe, stable, clean, crime free, strong currency, widely respected passport, good shopping, fantastic medical care, good schools, easy to obtain PR/citizenship. We are very attractive to rich people, especially those from 3rd world nations with lousy passports and no law and order.

Property UP!

kingat33

U said it singapore only attract people from third world country and singapore having a strong currency, so how do you think these people could afford to buy. I reckon they came here to work n would only rent while they are here but will go back where they came from or move to a better country after they earn enough. If property price is going up, why dun the developer hold back all their launches n release them at the peak or release the launches one at a time. It is obvious that developers can't wait to clear stock, that's what happening and the media is helping them including people with vested interest including real estate agent.

ahpong

U said it singapore only attract people from third world country and singapore having a strong currency, so how do you think these people could afford to buy. I reckon they came here to work n would only rent while they are here but will go back where they came from or move to a better country after they earn enough. If property price is going up, why dun the developer hold back all their launches n release them at the peak or release the launches one at a time. It is obvious that developers can't wait to clear stock, that's what happening and the media is helping them including people with vested interest including real estate agent.

Yes, if the developers think that prices are going up, they would not rush to push out their units. They would hold them for higher prices. The fact that they can't wait to launch their backlog means only one thing, they see it coming, the big property tsunami.

longbow

My point is that with good rentals (remember they want to increase pop to 6.5M) HDB owners (SIngaporeans) can sell their flats for more and then up grade to lower tier private prop and owners that lived in lower grade pvt prop will upgrade an so on

SamuelStalin

I wish I lived in one of the spanking properties at Sentosa, with the new casino sprung up.

A beach, and a nearby casino at sunset... this is so like the settings for the Dead or Alive Volleyball game for the Xbox!! Zack's resort island!!

angry_one

I'm speaking from personal experience. Been trying to wait for prices to fall and buy a cheap flat, but it's been a very disappointing experience. HDB valuations stay constant. Condo prices never change. Worse still, sellers still asking for loads of cash above valuation.

And they manage to sell, because PRs are flooding the market for buyers. They can pay loads of cash above value because their financing structure is different from sinkees. For us it's CPF vs how much more cash. For them it's securing a bank loan to cover 80-90% of price.

I have seen a few good units that cannot sell because the lift upgrading is in process and PRs must pay 30K cash for that, so they shun them. And these units can't sell. Why? Buyer market for locals is very small!

coolguy

I'm speaking from personal experience. Been trying to wait for prices to fall and buy a cheap flat, but it's been a very disappointing experience. HDB valuations stay constant. Condo prices never change. Worse still, sellers still asking for loads of cash above valuation.

And they manage to sell, because PRs are flooding the market for buyers. They can pay loads of cash above value because their financing structure is different from sinkees. For us it's CPF vs how much more cash. For them it's securing a bank loan to cover 80-90% of price.

I have seen a few good units that cannot sell because the lift upgrading is in process and PRs must pay 30K cash for that, so they shun them. And these units can't sell. Why? Buyer market for locals is very small!

MM: you want the property price to fall? Wait long long.
It will never fall, but only go up up and up.
If not, how I and my cronies get our multi-millions?:biggrin: