• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good start for Dr Koh - well done!!!

More childcare centre services at void decks.

That’s what the People’s Action Party’s candidate for the Punggol East by-election Dr Koh Poh Koon says he will be looking at to ease the problems faced by many young parents in the area.

“I don’t see the point in building childcare centres, far far away and while they have a space , they still will face logistic challenges of bringing the child to the child care centre in the morning and bringing the kid home,” the 40-year-old colorectal surgeon said during a walkabout at Punggol East on Thursday.

“We need to have a little bit more conversation with the stakeholders to see if it is possible and whether the infrastructure and the void decks’ structure allow for it to be possible,” said Dr Koh to reporters during his walkabout.

There is also the possibility of a childcare centre being built at the upcoming community centre that is being planned in the ward.

Dr Koh said half of the funding needed for the community centre is ready but residents and stakeholders would need to be consulted to see if perhaps a student care centre or elderly services centre may make more logistical sense at the new facility.

During his walkabout, he visited the Punggol East Education Centre where he spoke to a few young parents.

One of them was Ms Vena Xie, a 35-year-old police officer, who has been finding it tough to find a childcare centre for her child who will be attending Primary One next year.

She said she’s tried four childcare centres but they were fully booked. Dr Koh assured her that he will also look into trying to get relevant schools in the area to provide after school services.

Besides the need to increase the number of childcare centres, the rising cost of living in Singapore was also brought up.

Remisier Lim Eu-Gene, 40, spoke to Dr Koh about the challenges of raising three children at a time when prices are going up.

The PAP candidate said he understood the problems and also remarked that a lot of people are facing such issues.

Help from PAP heavyweights?

Meanwhile, Dr Koh reiterated to reporters that he doesn’t want to rely on party heavyweights to lend support during his walkabouts.

"I prefer to have a personal touch when meeting with residents. I prefer to interact with them personally. Of course we have people helping to distribute flyers, but my preference is always to listen, appreciate, empathise and also have a chance to communicate with them, so I prefer to be knocking on doors myself,” he said.

• kpkvena.jpg
    kpkvena.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 317
A warm and joyful tribute to the colo-rectal surgeon....

He looks like he wanted to give that little girl a rectal examination.

Dr Koh looks so humble, so sincere, so committed and so serious. He makes a good MP I am quite sure...IMHO hor.

OMG. That is heavyweight coming from u. :D

please lah..kopisai is nothing lah...just a bystander watching ....the heavy weights here are silent ones....and they are the godfathers.

"His message: You bend over for me"

cannot say like this lah...he is taking notes like a good doctor...and then he will dispense the medicines like a good doctor. the residents of the pE will be very very happy to have him as their MP....

please lah..kopisai is nothing lah...just a bystander watching ....the heavy weights here are silent ones....and they are the godfathers.
I say Kopi, why are you aLways the one who's trying to invite troubLes ?..:*:

who is the char bor standing beside Koh? mother of one of the kids? looks sluttish/whorish! :D

display_image.php

See what you will get if you continue to vote in the PAP...so those who want ACTION should vote the right MP from the right Party...

more childcare?

sgplians are not having babies.

why have more childcares?

CNA showed a good clip on the four candidates. Desmond was predictably fumbling at the interview.Understandably so.But okay...typically Singaporean with young GREEN supporters. KJ stood alone like a Lone Ranger distributing his pamphlets and flyers to largely indifferent and bohchapp Singaporeans. Ah Lian IMHO got the warmest hugs and thumbs of approval. Ah Lian looks prettier, more attractive , very energetic and she also looks slimmer but her assets are still very prominent.Good rapport with the people and she also received many hugs and kisses too.Good chance.

But the best is Dr Koh - eating with the ordinary singaporeans at the food centre, mixing well with the ordinary folks and going around shaking hands...He even shook hands with KJ and Dr Koh's rare smile was very heart-warming. This is the first time I saw him smile..nice fella. I think he will win he election , quite easily. That's my 2 cents for this evening...

PAP 8 WP 6 SDA 2 RP 2 The winner for tonight's impression is Dr Koh of the PAP

Good Kopiuncle, you can go there have your diapers changed

please lah, dun act like as though you already have been voted in .. knn you call that humble????

Child care??? wahahhaha What happen to parents taking care of the children.. stupid sinkies... growing up in sinkieland is so devoid of parental care..

Remember more child care means more money for the govt and less for yourself.... and child care is getting more and more expensive , especially those that are newly built. good luck sinkie for having an ass MP is you want it.