• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

get a life

cass888

it is understandable that there are people like you, who are indifferent to the suffering of the populace, people like you who benefited from the LeeRegime is forever indebted to them, irregardless if they have failed their jobs at the later stage of their rule...you still paint a bright future for the country, really a sad story for you....

The sad story is about you, not him. Whining like a loser will not get you anywhere.

n01215

it is understandable that there are people like you, who are indifferent to the suffering of the populace, people like you who benefited from the LeeRegime is forever indebted to them, irregardless if they have failed their jobs at the later stage of their rule...you still paint a bright future for the country, really a sad story for you....

suffering? damn! have you being tortured while under interrogation by isd or perhaps force to be a prostitute or cannot afford your daily meals or find a place to sleep? tell us how you are suffering... please!

Hope

true, almost everyone "bitches" and this coffeeshop is meant for letting off steam but there's a distinct diff when one starts to get all personal, emotional and unreasonable.

baseless accusations and senseless judgement on one's own country and its people is pure ludicrous.

worse off are locals who hail angmo countries as the epitome of a great society. chow kin-chio!
You are only partially right only.

while many Sammies here worship Ang Mohs for the political system where leaders themselves appear happily to be defected or replaced by their political opponents.Aka Bush Junior and McCain.

But PAP worship the Ang Mohs for their peanuts($$$)

So all guilty leh?

Satan

suffering of the people? how badly are you suffering? or are you just a spoilt brat expecting the gov to spoon feed you?

and if you truly understand ppl like me as you have said, then you wouldnt have said that im a sad story.

im happy where i m. there were (and still are) ample opportunities for me to make a career and create a home here. I MAKE MY OWN LIFE. the gov, (IF its a good one) enhances my lifestyle. whether they are good or otherwise, i shall not comment. but surely, i live a free and happy life here with most of the necessities i'd want in life.

one important note... there is nothing to stop you from leaving this country and staying out... if you are suffering sooooo badly.:biggrin:

From your post, it seems like you are either a fresh graduate just stepping into the corporate world and is still single without a family or one of the clowns who have benefitted from the Leegime. If you are the former, then you should wait till you have a family to feed , >40 years of age and lose your job to an Foreign Trash. You'll then be playing a very different tune. If you are the latter, then you are likely to have been brainwashed by the Leegime so I it is understable as to why you are speaking this way.

n01215

From your post, it seems like you are either a fresh graduate just stepping into the corporate world and is still single without a family or one of the clowns who have benefitted from the Leegime. If you are the former, then you should wait till you have a family to feed , >40 years of age and lose your job to an Foreign Trash. You'll then be playing a very different tune. If you are the latter, then you are likely to have been brainwashed by the Leegime so I it is understable as to why you are speaking this way.

dude, if you are the boss of a mnc, will you hire a local grad who has worked for say, 3 yrs locally or.... an FT with international dealings (same 3yrs experience) who is willing be paid local salary?

for whatever i'm doing, i can speak 2 foreign languages quite fluently (excluding my local 2nd language), done my footwork in these foreign countries and established a decent network coverage for my business dealings. anything can happen to my career but i m quite far from the expendable category at this moment in time. i make a concerted effort that im not expendable by my constant upgrade.

what leegime or clown are you talking about? the tools are all out there for you to build your career. i dont attribute my job success to the gov and the only joke or clown is you.

why does one lose his/ her job to an ft? coz they are either cheaper, better, more exposed or more efficient/ hardworking. one or a combi of these. so who is to blame? the gov? where or when does your personal ability fall into this equation of job security?

anything can happen to my career but i m quite far from the expendable category at this moment in time. i make a concerted effort that im not expendable by my constant upgrade.

Even LKY & LHL is expandable thats why they find it necessary to "fix" the opposition.

Everyone is expandable lah. Have seen the MD, GM, directors etc replaced overnight. If you are in an MNC, alot of what goes on is beyond local control. This is other than the local politics of local vs foreign salaries.

If you think otherwise you are only deluding yourself. Personally have seen mass retrenchments. If you work in a American MNC, retrenchment is a way of life. :rolleyes:

cass888

Why is it that anybody who is successful/happy/contended is brainwashed by the PAP government? It is more likely that the dissent and unhappiness are the result of the sorry efforts of the reCHEEme.

If you are the latter, then you are likely to have been brainwashed by the Leegime so I it is understable as to why you are speaking this way.

angry_one

dude, if you are the boss of a mnc, will you hire a local grad who has worked for say, 3 yrs locally or.... an FT with international dealings (same 3yrs experience) who is willing be paid local salary?

what leegime or clown are you talking about? the tools are all out there for you to build your career. i dont attribute my job success to the gov and the only joke or clown is you.

Businesses are always out to get the best for themselves, often at the expense of the societies they operate in. That's why there are laws to protect the society. Almost all countries have laws to safeguard local employment. No one is saying that we want the top jobs over the talented foreigner. The problem here is that these 'foreigners' are useless and only get the job here because they are cheaper.

So your question is ridiculous because it's equivalent to asking "Which MNC would spend millions to clean up their waste, when they can dump them in the local river for free??"

Your views of the government are misguided as well. Sure everyone has some freedom to make their lives better, but all governments affect the lives of their societies deeply. You want your own house, but house prices are astronomical here; you want to start your own newspaper or TV station - PAP won't allow it; you want to make a controversial art piece - PAP say cannot. You got a scholarship to UK at 18 - PAP calls you up for NS.

nonstop complains about:
ns
erp
gst
hdb
pap
tcs
temasek
ir
ndp
recession
tcs
police
ah lee/ ah lian/ ah beng/ ah kua... etc...

wa lan eh.. going by the intensity of complaints hitting this coffeeshop, this must be the worst country in the whole world to stay in?!!
while the country is not perfect, i think some of us in here are expecting the country to spoonfeed YOU. in return, YOU just bitch, rant and rave!
i give credits to those who are against the country's gov/ policies AND who did or are doing something about it like immigrating or are making a reasonable (not anonymous) effort to be heard by the authorities.
but for those who are regular armchair complainants, you are just bitching like a bitch would.:rolleyes:

You still living in denial. You should have seen it with your eyes open.

myo539

That's because unlike others, Sporeans want their cake and eat it. And not only that, they want to sell the cake too to make more cakes!

The PAP gahment has a tough time looking after them - that accounts for the large salary ministers are getting because few want to be in gahment. But other people like CSJ thinks it's great to be in gahment and dying to become one!

kakowi

That's because unlike others, Sporeans want their cake and eat it. And not only that, they want to sell the cake too to make more cakes!

The PAP gahment has a tough time looking after them - that accounts for the large salary ministers are getting because few want to be in gahment. But other people like CSJ thinks it's great to be in gahment and dying to become one!

I find yours and similar posts full of leading statements.

(1) Singaporeans want to have their cake and eat it? -> applies to the PAP too. The only difference is that where the PAP is concerned, we must be more careful with our words - compared to when we are talking about singaporeans or opposition.

(2) The PAP raise their own salaries because few of their own people want to be in government? -> The ministers and MPs' salaries, bonuses and allowances come from taxpayers' money. Since all Ministers and almost all the MPs are from the PAP, taxpayers' money are effectively funding PAP's recruitment exercise.

Of course you can argue that taxpayers' money are used to pay for successful election of the PAP candidates by the public. That is not wrong. But the raising of their own salaries is done at a time when they have total control of the whole government machinery. Others can argue that is not right either.

(3) CSJ thinks it is great to be in government? -> has he said so? Or why not say that he finds the Prime Minister's salary and position attractive? Especially since you are all experts in character defamation. And of course, he has no money to sue you.

n01215

Businesses are always out to get the best for themselves, often at the expense of the societies they operate in. That's why there are laws to protect the society. Almost all countries have laws to safeguard local employment. No one is saying that we want the top jobs over the talented foreigner. The problem here is that these 'foreigners' are useless and only get the job here because they are cheaper.

So your question is ridiculous because it's equivalent to asking "Which MNC would spend millions to clean up their waste, when they can dump them in the local river for free??"

Your views of the government are misguided as well. Sure everyone has some freedom to make their lives better, but all governments affect the lives of their societies deeply. You want your own house, but house prices are astronomical here; you want to start your own newspaper or TV station - PAP won't allow it; you want to make a controversial art piece - PAP say cannot. You got a scholarship to UK at 18 - PAP calls you up for NS.

majority here are complaining about the law and you want more of it to protect the society? be reasonable. do you want some bumi law or "affirmative action" to help solve this issue? which angle are you looking from? the employees' or the employers' or a balanced view from both? if local employees are to be downright "protected" in job security, where are our mncs gonna stand internationally?

employer's choice of a better candidate for hire is hardly a comparison to the moral issue of dumping toxic waste.

really dude, who drives the prices of houses up? lky? lsl? if you want to start a tv station with the sole intent of better programs, kudos to you. but there are elements (opposition) out there who would use it as an effective political instrument which can create unrest. wft scholarship to uk. many have spoilt market by studying overseas and remaining there.. in attempt to evade ns liability. so you have opportunity to study abroad. does that mean the better off kids get to evade ns more effectively?

wasnt it not too long ago that a neighbouring country said something to the extent of: a small fart country like ours is not being respectful to its bigger brother? obviously lots of locals didnt see the implication or the potential threat. i grew up eating rice with tau yew as a dish. on a good day, i get vege and having meat was considered a grand feast! majority of gen-y grew up with all the conveniences of life. now that you are away from the protection of your mother's skirt, you bitch, complain, rant and rave coz you have to work for a living!

angry_one

There are good laws and bad laws. The bad laws enacted by dictatorships, people complain about. The good laws that protect the vulnerable, must be retained. Of course it's proper to compare local employment laws to waste dumping. We are societies with an obligation to better our fellow citizens. Companies exist for profit only and they often harm society. Bringing in cheap foreign labour that displace qualified locals and cause social problems is a threat that society and laws must fight against.

You are arguing with the mindset of "if it doesn't affect me, it's not my problem". You need to think beyond yourself....think of at the other workers not as 'talented' as you and displaced in their own homeland, or the scholarship holder who may lift his family out of poverty, but NS ruined it. Just because you're not hit by a bad law, doesn't mean you shouldn't care.

n01215

There are good laws and bad laws. The bad laws enacted by dictatorships, people complain about. The good laws that protect the vulnerable, must be retained. Of course it's proper to compare local employment laws to waste dumping. We are societies with an obligation to better our fellow citizens. Companies exist for profit only and they often harm society. Bringing in cheap foreign labour that displace qualified locals and cause social problems is a threat that society and laws must fight against.

You are arguing with the mindset of "if it doesn't affect me, it's not my problem". You need to think beyond yourself....think of at the other workers not as 'talented' as you and displaced in their own homeland, or the scholarship holder who may lift his family out of poverty, but NS ruined it. Just because you're not hit by a bad law, doesn't mean you shouldn't care.

quote:The good laws that protect the vulnerable, must be retained. unquote...
you mean the ones that favor u are the good ones. tell me, how many of these law out there favors everybody? what u think is good may be despised by others.

We are societies with an obligation to better our fellow citizens.
can tell us what u have done for your fellow citizens? or u expect it to be a 1 way traffic (receiving only)

Companies exist for profit only and they often harm society.
do u know of other kinda organizations that exist for something else other than $? will u run a company and prioritize your high moral values over profits to the extent of a long term loss? perhaps you'd like to join a charitable org.

Bringing in cheap foreign labour that displace qualified locals and cause social problems
know of many or any locals these days who r willing to do what the banglas, filipinas or mainland chinese r doing here? do u know of many local iconic mnc managers/ ceos here with international dealings n exposure to the trend and customs of organizations in other countries? in the lower spectrum, locals are too spoilt to handle that kinda jobs. on the higher end, we do not have the experience or expertise in certain areas. thats where the fts come into play.

You need to think beyond yourself
halleluja.. the wise one has spoken!

Just because you're not hit by a bad law, doesn't mean you shouldn't care
hey dude, i happen to pay n pay n pay... just bcoz i dont bitch n bitch n bitch like u... doesnt make you a more caring person!

last but not least... MERRY CHRISTMAS!