• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

George Yeo KPKB ~

I_hv_adream

KNN, where got freedom of speech~

GE: Don't call voters "secret weapons", says George Yeo
Posted: 28 April 2011 2226 hrs

SINGAPORE: Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo said opposition parties should not use the voters to champion their own cause.

Mr Yeo, who is contesting Aljunied Group Representation Constituency (GRC), said the residents' needs and wishes should be top priority.

He was responding to his Workers' Party (WP) opponents' comments on voters being the Opposition's "secret weapon".

He said as a voter, it is important to examine the programmes the two political teams have to offer.

"I'll look at the individual characters, then I ask myself whom do I trust and you vote for the side whom you trust more, whom you believe will look after your interest and not use me for some national purpose," Mr Yeo said.

"I have mixed feelings about calling voters 'secret weapons' to be used and firing as cannon fodder.

"Voters' votes are what give us our right to be in Parliament. I think their needs, their wishes must come first. I won't use them as instruments to be chosen or discarded."

WP had said it wants to make a "breakthrough" in a GRC, to grow the opposition and teach the People's Action Party (PAP) a lesson.

Its chief, Mr Low Thia Khiang, said the party knows "there is a tiger in the mountain, but it's moving towards that mountain", to describe his contest with Mr Yeo.

Mr Yeo said: "We're rather mild, friendly people. I don't quite like the metaphor.

"I think what's important is not competition for power. I would rather we attend to real problems which people have on a daily basis.

"To me, that's how we're going to fight this campaign because it was on this basis that we become Members of Parliament (MPs).

"In the last five years, we've done a lot to raise living standards here and I believe most residents recognise that.

National issues are no doubt important but Mr Yeo said his team will not disregard the interest of the people in Aljunied because ultimately, their responsibilities lie in serving the residents here.

That is why earlier, the PAP team visited the area to court the support of more than 143,000 residents living in the area.

They also gave out little tokens to the residents.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had said that if the PAP team in Aljunied loses, the ministers will not be protected because the party does not have a fall back position.

The team in Aljunied has three office holders: Mr Yeo, the Foreign Affairs Minister, Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, Minister in Prime Minister's Office and Mr Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs.

To that, Mr Yeo said the team respects the will and wishes of the voters in Aljunied GRC.

He said they need to be elected first in order to become ministers.

Mr Yeo said these are the rules of the game.

-CNA/wk

vamjok

ask him go fuck spider la

knn we are the one making the choice, of course we are the weapon against open corruption

Equalisation

Talk Kok Sing Song ..... see him and his team stammerring and frozen during nomination speech sure points to them losing already lah ..... like some frightened rabbits ......

SneeringTree

what is this cheebye babbling about? we are the weapons against the pap machinary. low tk has said nothing wrong. indeed, he respects the voters enough to empower us with the ability to make the right choice. GY degrades us into base materialistic blur fucks.

His reply is really damn lame, bordering on pathetically humerous.
Call you tiger only, reply that you are mild and friendly.
Call the voters secret weapon only, say that the voters are not tools to be used and discarded.
This is not the military lah, you how long not general already?! :biggrin:

spotter542

"In the last five years, we've done a lot to raise living standards here and I believe most residents recognise that.

.................................................................................................

They also gave out little tokens to the residents.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had said that if the PAP team in Aljunied loses, the ministers will not be protected because the party does not have a fall back position.

The team in Aljunied has three office holders: Mr Yeo, the Foreign Affairs Minister, Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, Minister in Prime Minister's Office and Mr Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs.

To that, Mr Yeo said the team respects the will and wishes of the voters in Aljunied GRC.

He said they need to be elected first in order to become ministers.

Mr Yeo said these are the rules of the game.

For the past 5 years they have been fleecing the residents of their hard earn money.
Little tokens = bribery lah. KNN , they can really stoop that low sia :rolleyes:
Frog Prince also cannot save their asses should Gerogie and gang fail :p
Looks like Georgie will be the very first MIW full fledge minister to be ousted by the people ( keeping my fingers crossed )
Of course he lan lan gotta respect the voters decision.
Hope he get screwed by the very same rules of the game

coolguy

Just saw him talking on tv this evening.
I thought he has changed after 5 years.
But alas no.
He still has that cocky expression on his face.
This only reaffirm the chinese saying that
"A tiger will never lose his stripes."

A tiger no matter how friendly he tries to be,
doesn't hide the fact that it bites and kills.
It is still a pest to the people.

kazuo

What is he talking about? Any election in the world is about the people and the choices they make.

We are the ones giving the mandate, he obviously forgot he's just a servant, no make that slave.

Dun be so cocky, GY, you could be the first Minister to be voted out of office :biggrin:

What is he talking about? Any election in the world is about the people and the choices they make.

We are the ones giving the mandate, he obviously forgot he's just a servant, no make that slave.

Dun be so cocky, GY, you could be the first Minister to be voted out of office :biggrin:

PAP also used sweet carrots and lift upgrading as secret weapons. Besides that, they dangled it with THREAT!! We also know that PAP used the citizens as tools, slave and digits to claim credit for themselves.

KuanTi01

His reply is really damn lame, bordering on pathetically humerous.
Call you tiger only, reply that you are mild and friendly.
Call the voters secret weapon only, say that the voters are not tools to be used and discarded.
This is not the military lah, you how long not general already?! :biggrin:

This georgie boy really desperate liao! Talking nonsensical and illogical. He even quarrels with LTK's use of the tiger metaphor. Methinks he failed his Chinese even as a 2nd language. One can clearly sense his fear and insecurity! His team will be out of a job pretty soon.

LeMans2011

TYPICAL PAP STYLE. Pick on selected words used by opposition and twist them, and get Channel News Asia, Straits Times to broadcast their falsehood. Let's guess how many pages dedicated to PAP promo on Shit Times tomorrow - i say 20 pages :oIo:

Debonerman

<iframe width="640" height="510" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/L4tUBcyC8co" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>​

insomia23

CCB, if voters are not the weapons then voting is for what??? find ghosts or souls to vote issit??? this georgie go suck my Pnis

wowentian

他的团对走狗还厚言无耻的指责反对党形容选民为老虎,这些PAP团对的水准越来越差,连"明知山有虎"的意思都搞不懂,还谈甚么与中国搞外交,还是回去和家里的母老虎搞性交吧!

Debonerman

他的团对走狗还厚言无耻的指责反对党形容选民为老虎,这些PAP团对的水准越来越差,连"明知山有虎"的意思都搞不懂,还谈甚么与中国搞外交,还是回去和家里的母老虎搞性交吧!

Google translation............................

His group made of thick shameless lackeys also described the voters as the Tigers accused the opposition of these groups on the level of PAP is getting worse, with "knowingly tiger mountain" means all do not understand, but also to talk about engaging in diplomacy with China, The tigress is back and engage in sexual intercourse at home now!