This thread is both helpful...and amusing
See quite a few discussing abt Rm60k+ local cars....well most msian dont even want to touch proton cos they're sick of locally made cars, middle class locals prob have their parents pay d/pmt for them n get a vios, honda city, kia, hyundai etc.....the poorer ones (esp fresh grad) starting out on their 1st job will almost definitely go for myvi...and the really really poor ones (yes very likely poor fresh grads as well) tends to stick to their trusty kancil that they have been driving in uni/college. And so....2nd hand protons (1-2 yrs old) is actually the best bet & bargain, esp if its just your ka-ta jb drive around car)
If one is on a budget, whether by choice or circumstances, then even more reason you shdnt be looking at new cars, brand new Peroduas (Myvi/Alza) is not cheap by RM standard. At RM60k+ u can actually get a 2-3 yr old Honda City.
In summary, my RM 2 cents recommendations are:
1)If you totally dont have budget for a car but still want to have 4 wheels to go to the market or mamak for supper in JB
*7-8 yr old 2nd hand kancil 660/800cc RM6-8k (SGD 2.5-3k)
*8-10 yr old Proton Wira 1.5/1.6 RM8-10k (SGD 3.5-4k)
2) If u have some spare cash but yet do not want to feel the pinch of having a car in JB;
*3-4 yr old Proton Waja 1.6 RM25-35k Consumption generally higher then Toyota/Honda/Myvi but powerful (most KLIA/LCCT limos are Waja), maintenance ok as parts are everywhere
*3-4 yr Proton Persona 1.6 RM 32-36k Bigger, newer than Waja, 4-door (imagine Nissan Sunny range), better consumption than Waja, less power, maintenance again idiot proof, any tom dicky harry workshop can service/repair with eyes closed
* 3-4 yr old Proton Satria Neo 1.3/1.6 RM28-35k (3 door hatchback, Mitsubishi Colt base) My fav if you dont have 2 kids, granny and whole family to ferry around.
3) If u want to reap full benefit of SGD - RM, and not having to pay COE, and if u have more spare moolah;
* 1-2 yr old Honda City 1.5A RM68-75k (or Vios/Altis etc)
* 5-6 yr old Nissa X-trail 2.0 RM50-60k
* 6-7 yr old Merc C180/200 RM100-120k (previous gen c class, still a looker, comfy, reliable)
* Of course not forgetting all the 4WD like Mitsubishi Triton, Toyota Hilux etc ard RM60-100k
4) If you really wana go over the top, and have plenty of RM notes under your bed;
* Recond (refurbished) 5-6 yr old Porsche Cayman RM200-300k
* Used Nissan 350Z RM130-160k
Well hope that'll help, disclaimer price quoted are very bare estimates, u might get even cheaper deals..or kena carrot headed paying more...and i personally feel that used car is the way to go in JB, as for new cars, esp local cars, whether Proton or Myvi, 1st few year depreciation is great + hire purchase interest is high.