• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

General Election 2025

GE2025: PSP’s ‘anti-foreigner rhetoric’ will affect jobs and businesses in S’pore, says SM Teo​

Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean speaking to supporters during the PAP's rally at Jurong West Stadium on April 27.

Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean speaking to supporters during the PAP's rally at Jurong West Stadium on April 27.ST PHOTO: BRIAN TEO
Ng Wei Kai and Syarafana Shafeeq
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – The PSP’s “anti-foreigner rhetoric” will drive away international companies, as well as jobs and businesses for Singaporeans, said Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean.

Singapore’s unity, stable government, and its consistent and rational policies are strong attractions for such companies to operate here, he said at a rally in Pioneer SMC on April 27.

The rally, held at Jurong West Stadium, featured speeches by the party’s candidates for Pioneer SMC and West Coast-Jurong West GRC. In both constituencies, the party faces a challenge from the opposition PSP.

Many companies are now seeking to rebalance their operations and find the best places to locate themselves, he noted.

SM Teo said what the PSP is doing will “make our pie smaller”.

“Instead of spending our energy like the PSP to try to pit one group against another group to snatch more of the pie, let us see how we can work together to make the pie bigger, so that everybody can have a little bit more rather than trying to snatch from each other.”

Singapore needs the politics of unity and not the politics of division, SM Teo said.

He outlined challenges the country faces due to uncertainty over worldwide tariffs introduced by US President Donald Trump.

He said: “The damage to the wider world trading system in the long term can already be seen.”

The World Trade Organisation has forecast that world trade will shrink in 2025, and Singapore’s economists and the International Monetary Fund’s (IMF) economists have forecast that Singapore will grow more slowly than earlier predicted, he added.

SM Teo noted that the PSP has called these challenges fearmongering tactics by a PAP trying to retain its power.

“Really, is the PAP really so powerful that it can tell the IMF and the World Trade Organisation how to forecast the world?”

More on this Topic
PAP does not give up any constituency, says SM Teo at walkabout in Aljunied GRCReject racial, religious identity politics, uphold multi-racial unity: SM Lee
To try and brush this away is “just totally irresponsible”, SM Teo said.

PSP leaders had earlier in April stated that the Government’s response to the US tariffs was “overblown”, with party chairman Tan Cheng Bock saying that the Government’s rhetoric might be aimed at swaying voters through fear.

PSP chief Leong Mun Wai later said the party had no intention of downplaying the tariffs. Both Dr Tan and Mr Leong are contesting West Coast-Jurong West GRC under the PSP banner.

SM Teo asked: “Has the PSP any solutions to this? Perhaps because the PSP knows that it has no solutions to offer, it tries to sweep aside these real problems with assertions that it is not a real problem.”

He went on to detail the PAP’s efforts to ensure Singaporeans can have good jobs and salaries, including policies aimed at making sure people have avenues to upskill.

He said: “These are real measures to address the real issues that Singaporean workers face, so that for the long term, our workers can continue to have good jobs and salaries that keep up, not just with inflation, but with the better quality of life that Singaporeans want for themselves and their families.”

SM Teo said the PAP does not take risks with Singapore and Singaporeans, and must prepare for all eventualities.

The PAP Government does not have all the answers or the solutions yet, because it does not know the extent and the nature of the problem yet, he pointed out.

“But we still must prepare,” he said.

To do so, Singapore must strengthen itself as much as possible, not only in its financial reserves but also in its “community reserves of social resilience and unity”, he said.

SM Teo began his speech in Malay, saying that the conflict in Gaza has surfaced many emotions among Singaporeans.

“Rather than letting conflict elsewhere divide our community, Singaporeans, regardless of race and religion, have come together as one to send help to the victims in Gaza,” he said.

The Government’s stand is clear, he said, and it condemns the use of violence against innocent civilians, and has voted in support of a two-state solution.

He urged Singaporeans to give Prime Minister Lawrence Wong a strong mandate so that he has the means to negotiate with the leaders of other countries. This will also give investors confidence to invest in Singapore, and create jobs for Singaporeans, he said.

SM Teo, who announced his retirement after 33 years in politics on Nomination Day on April 23, also touched on why he is not contesting the general election.

While he was on walkabouts in Pasir Ris and Punggol – where he was previously anchor minister – residents had asked him to carry on, he said.

He said he told them he did not want to leave them either, but had to be sure that he could commit himself “fully and energetically for the full five years, not just the 10 days of an election campaign”.

“Otherwise it’s not responsible for me to ask you for your vote.”

He added that he hopes his residents will have peace of mind knowing that they have “good, strong teams to help take care of them for the full five years for the future, and not some group that comes along and campaigns for 10 days and says, ‘I will look after you’”.

SM Teo added that the PSP has said that PM Wong does not need a strong team, as Singapore has overcome crises in the past and will weather this crisis as well. “After all, we also have a very good civil service. This will see us through. Is it so simple? Is this like a driverless car on AI...?”

That is not the way running a country works, SM Teo stressed.

“It requires good leadership, good government and unity of the people... We need a strong government. We need unity.”

GE2025: ‘I’m the underdog’ – WP’s Jalan Kayu candidate Andre Low on facing labour chief Ng Chee Meng​

WP Jalan Kayu SMC candidate Andre Low (right), accompanied by Mr Low Thia Khiang (2nd from left) and Mr Png Eng Huat, interacting with residents during a walkabout at Fernvale Hawker Centre and Market on April 27.

(From right, standing) WP’s Jalan Kayu SMC candidate Andre Low, with former WP chief Low Thia Khiang and former Hougang MP Png Eng Huat interacting with residents during a walkabout at Fernvale Hawker Centre and Market on April 27.ST PHOTO: KEVIN LIM
Wong Pei Ting
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – WP candidate Andre Low, 33, sees himself as the underdog in going up against labour chief Ng Chee Meng in Jalan Kayu SMC.

Speaking to reporters during a walkabout in Fernvale Hawker Centre and Market on April 27, he said he represents “a very different kind of candidate” from Mr Ng, who is 56 – not only are their ages more than 20 years apart, they come with different experiences.

“(Mr Ng) is a scholar and a general. He has reached the very top of the military career pathway, and I spent my entire career in the private sector doing very different roles,” said Mr Low, a former lawyer who is now a tech professional.

Adding that Mr Ng’s background is “slightly over-represented in Parliament”, he said: “I feel like it is time for Jalan Kayu residents to make a choice if they want a different kind of parliamentarian – someone fresh, someone energetic, someone with new ideas.”

Mr Ng, a former lieutenant-general, was elected as an MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC in 2015. He held portfolios like minister for education, and became NTUC secretary-general in 2018 – a post he continues to hold. He led the PAP team that lost in Sengkang GRC in the 2020 General Election.

Mr Low said he “relishes the challenge” of going up against Mr Ng, who he said represents many things that he does not like about the way Singapore is governed.

“Mr Ng comes with a star-studded CV. He literally has three stars to his name. I do not have a single one to my name,” he said.

But he urged voters to “really choose between whether they want someone experienced in the old way of doing things, or someone who offers a fresh perspective”.

Mr Low said that if elected, he would fight to improve access to public housing for groups such as single mothers and singles under the age of 35. He also intends to speak up on cost of living and housing affordability.

Asked about the online posts circulating about the role Mr Ng had in the Income-Allianz deal, including one by former chief executive of NTUC Income Insurance Tan Suee Chieh, Mr Low said he did not want to delve into the issue, as it is “just representative of a broader issue with the way governance is done in Singapore today”.

He said there remain many unanswered questions. “I think Singaporeans at large, not just Jalan Kayu residents, deserve some answers,” he added.

WP chief Pritam Singh, who also spoke to reporters, said he fielded Mr Low in Jalan Kayu as the newcomer brings something different to the table.

“We have enough scholar-generals in Parliament. Let’s have some fresh thoughts, fresh ideas,” he said.

Mr Singh was asked for his response to Education Minister Chan Chun Sing’s statement that voters should support the labour chief and labour MPs, so they have a greater mandate and confidence to speak for workers beyond NTUC.

Disagreeing, he replied: “Any NTUC secretary-general by virtue of the symbiotic relationship with PAP can easily, I believe, lobby for our workers with the Government.”

Mr Singh added that the labour movement is a “trampoline” for losing PAP candidates. “The way our system is organised will not prevent good people from serving the country. But opposition MPs don’t have these safety nets. That is the reality.

“So, when we offer a good slate of Singaporeans for elections, I request Singaporeans to think carefully and consider seriously for having more solid opposition voices in Parliament.”

Asked about Prime Minister Lawrence Wong’s point that having more opposition MPs in Parliament will weaken the PAP team and jeopardise its leadership transition, Mr Singh said: “If the Prime Minister is saying that he needs more than two-thirds of Parliament to be full of PAP MPs, then I think we have a serious problem in terms of how robust PAP processes are, and how robust our political system is.”

“I believe that we have good people in various verticals in government,” he added. “Even if you have a Parliament with one-third of it comprising opposition MPs, you will have a government that is free to address the problems of the day and problems of tomorrow.”

Responding to a question about the length of time that WP took to respond to Facebook posts by self-styled religious teacher Noor Deros, Mr Singh said: “We didn’t take him seriously.”

Mr Noor had, in a series of posts, claimed he had spoken to all the Malay candidates from the WP. His posts are among a number of online messages by Singaporeans that have surfaced during the election period, which the authorities said contained racial and religious undertones.

“If somebody really comes along and says, ‘I have got the WP MPs on my side and I am going to run my ideas through them’, anybody can say that,” Mr Singh said.

“The question is, will Workers’ Party MPs do it? We will not. We will exercise our voice in Parliament on behalf of all Singaporeans in a multiracial context, in a secular context.”

Mr Singh was also asked to comment on the role of mayors and community development councils (CDCs), which other opposition parties had questioned the relevance of.

He said the CDC nomenclature is “due for a serious relook”, as the areas that the councils had looked after, including what social service offices currently cover, have gone to other agencies.

“You talk about CDC vouchers. I can call it MOF vouchers and that would still be legitimate... a legitimate transfer from the Government to Singaporeans,” he added.

Mr Singh was asked about what PAP’s Jalan Besar GRC candidate Denise Phua had said, that mayors help aggregate the needs at a district level, and “make things happen”. Ms Phua is Mayor of Central Singapore District.

“Mayor Denise Phua has made her views known, and I humbly suggest that Singaporeans have made their views known,” Mr Singh said.

GE2025: Income-Allianz deal made in good faith, NTUC will do better, says Ng Chee Meng​

Labour chief Ng Chee Meng is campaigning to get back into Parliament by winning in Jalan Kayu, where he faces Mr Andre Low of the Workers’ Party.

Labour chief Ng Chee Meng is campaigning to get back into Parliament by winning in Jalan Kayu SMC, where he faces WP candidate Andre Low.ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI
Sue-Ann Tan and Kimberly Kwek

SINGAPORE – The sale of NTUC’s Income Insurance to German insurer Allianz was proposed in good faith and seen to be reasonable, said labour chief Ng Chee Meng on April 27, in response to criticism that the labour movement had not spoken up against the deal.

Speaking at the PAP rally for Jalan Kayu SMC, the single seat that he is running in, he said: “We thought in the labour movement that it was a reasonable deal.”

Noting that Income’s market share had fallen from 20 per cent to 6 per cent in the past 10 years, Mr Ng said: “The proposed deal could strengthen Income and, most importantly, protect the interest of Income’s policyholders.”

A stronger Income would also enable the National Trades Union Congress to continue its social mission in areas besides insurance, he said.

However, the proposed $2.2 billion deal came under public scrutiny after questions were raised about Income’s ability to continue its social mission after the sale, and the Government eventually put a stop to it in October 2024.

A Bill was also passed in the same month to amend the Insurance Act so that the Monetary Authority of Singapore would have to consider the views of the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth when an application for regulatory approval involves an insurer that is either a cooperative or linked to one.

“NTUC couldn’t have known (that) the law would be changed. But we sincerely respected the Government’s view and accept it,” said Mr Ng.

He added: “(We) humbly acknowledged the public feedback that we have received. I’ve initiated a review in NTUC Enterprise so that we can learn the right lessons.

“In NTUC, we will do our best, and sometimes, I’m sorry that it is not good enough, but... we will do better.”

Mr Ng, who led the PAP team that lost to the Workers’ Party in Sengkang GRC at the 2020 General Election, is campaigning to get back into Parliament by winning in Jalan Kayu, where he faces the WP’s Mr Andre Low.

In recent days, the WP has questioned NTUC’s support for the Allianz deal.

At a rally in Tampines on April 26, WP chief Pritam Singh noted that not one of the labour MPs had asked questions about the deal in Parliament, and called the labour movement a “guaranteed trampoline” for losing PAP candidates.

In response, Mr Ng said there is “no safe harbour”, adding that he had to stand for re-election in 2023 to continue as NTUC secretary-general, a role he was elected to in 2018.

“I stand before you because I want to serve, not with any safety net. As ironic as it sounds, when I stand to fight and champion workers’ interests to anchor job security, I am, interestingly, the only one without real job security,” he said.

Mr Ng said he knew “it would be a hard fight” coming into the 2025 General Election. “I know the opposition would drag these issues up, just as it’s happening now,” he said.

On losing in Sengkang GRC in 2020, he said: “The loss had a big personal impact not only on me, but also on my family, my union brothers and sisters, and the PAP. I had to ask myself in that time, ‘What should I do?’ Some have asked me to ‘jiayou’ (‘press on’ in Mandarin) and carry on, others say it is time to move on.”

But he added that he could not walk away from helping workers, who were losing their livelihoods during the Covid-19 pandemic.

“I understood then, what it meant to stand in the gap between desperation and hope. I’m just glad that the NTUC, together with our employers, partners and the Government, we were able to bridge the gap and... emerge stronger,” he said.

Besides Mr Ng, the PAP candidates for Ang Mo Kio GRC as well as Kebun Baru and Yio Chu Kang SMCs also spoke at the rally at Fern Green Primary School.

At around 9pm, Mr Ng had to pause his speech to call for paramedics after a woman in the audience fainted.

“Make space, give the person some air, please,” he said.

She was conscious when stretchered off and received medical attention in an ambulance at the rally site.

The last speaker of the night, Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong, who is leading the PAP team in Ang Mo Kio GRC, endorsed Mr Ng in his speech.

Mr Ng had the “grit and sense of responsibility” to continue serving as labour chief, he said, and “proved himself reliable, trustworthy, committed” during the Covid-19 crisis.

Calling the proposed Income-Allianz deal “a serious matter”, SM Lee said the labour movement had deemed the sale reasonable and that the Government had also initially supported it because it met regulations.

But the Government later changed its mind after looking further into the matter, he said, and changed the law to block the deal.

“NTUC cannot do that. The Government has to do that. But it shows we are brothers with them – a symbiotic relationship. You make a decision. I look at it impartially, objectively, afresh. There is no groupthink,” he said.

SM Lee noted that while the labour MPs did not ask questions about the deal in Parliament, six PAP MPs and one WP MP did.

He added that the WP had abstained from voting when it came to the legislation to block the deal.

Mr Abdul Samad Abdul Wahab, an NTUC vice-president and a union leader, also spoke up for Mr Ng at the rally.

He said Mr Ng had helped to get pay rises for workers who go for training, better pay for lower-wage workers, laws to protect taxi drivers and private-hire drivers, as well as flexible work arrangements, among other things.

“These are real actions, real outcomes for workers that make a difference (to the) lives of workers,” he said. “Imagine if he gets into Parliament, he can do even more.”

GE2025: SDP candidates will be full-time MPs, can outdo those from PAP, says Chee Soon Juan​

SDP chief Chee Soon Juan said SDP candidates are committed to becoming full-time MPs, taking aim at ruling party MPs who also hold full-time jobs.

SDP chief Chee Soon Juan said SDP candidates are committed to becoming full-time MPs, taking aim at ruling party MPs who also hold full-time jobs.ST PHOTO: KELVIN CHNG

Shabana Begum
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – If elected into Parliament, candidates from the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) will outdo those from the PAP any time in managing town councils and raising pertinent issues in Parliament, SDP chief Chee Soon Juan told voters in Sembawang at a rally on April 27.

That is because the SDP candidates are committed to becoming full-time MPs, he added, taking aim at ruling party MPs who also hold full-time jobs.

“Most, if not all, PAP MPs have a full-time job on the side, and they do their MP duties only on a part-time basis... I just don’t see how anyone can possibly do it on a part-time basis,” said Dr Chee.

Speaking at a field next to Sun Plaza, he noted that his opponent Poh Li San had “accused (him) of not doing ‘real work’” in Sembawang West SMC, the single seat that they are both vying for in this election.

Before Nomination Day, Ms Poh had told the media that residents would be able to “discern clearly between who has done real work and is committed to stay here... versus someone who just shows up one month before the election”.

Dr Chee said on April 27: “This real work can only be done if you spend your working hours full-time in the estate and among the residents Monday to Friday, not just on weekends.”

Ms Poh is senior vice-president at Changi Airport Group.

Dr Chee added that while many PAP MPs were performing their duties only on a “part-time basis”, they continued to draw an allowance of about $16,000 a month.

“Tell me how many of you can work part-time and draw $16,000 a month,” he said to the crowd.

In addition to Sembawang West SMC, the SDP is contesting Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, Sembawang GRC and Bukit Panjang SMC.

SDP’s slate for Sembawang GRC comprises party vice-chairman Bryan Lim, 49; treasurer Surayah Akbar, 42; deputy head of policy James Gomez, 60; and party members Damanhuri Abas, 54, and Alfred Tan, 59.

Several of them also took aim at Health Minister Ong Ye Kung, who is the anchor minister for the PAP’s Sembawang GRC slate, comprising two new faces – Mr Ng Shi Xuan, 35, and Mr Gabriel Lam, 42, alongside incumbent MPs Vikram Nair, 46, and Mariam Jaafar, 48.

Mr Tan said the Government “(taxes) and spends like nobody’s business”, adding that there was a lot of wastage, such as in the healthcare sector.

For a small country, having three healthcare clusters was unnecessary and had resulted in three times the administrative costs, manpower costs and infrastructure costs, he added.

“All these brainwashed, blind followers of the PAP, stop asking where the money is coming from. Ask instead – where is the money going to,” he said.

He urged Sembawang GRC voters not to worry about voting out the PAP and losing a minister, adding that the SDP had a “more relevant and qualified health minister for the country” in SDP chairman Paul Tambyah, who is an infectious diseases senior consultant at National University Hospital.

Mr Gomez, meanwhile, said Singapore’s health policies had pushed up medical costs and resulted in much stress for caregivers, and put the blame on Health Minister Ong, whom he described as “unresponsive” and “underperforming”.

Professor Tambyah said that amid a turbulent global climate, what Singapore needed was a fresh set of ideas, diverse views and honest arguments, instead of a “not-so-fresh team resolved to keep doing the same thing”.

Therefore, voting in opposition MPs would not be risky for Singapore, and would in fact put the country in a better position to address the fresh challenges it faces, he added.

Besides the PAP, the SDP is also up against a team from the National Solidarity Party (NSP) in Sembawang GRC.

Mr Damanhuri took a dig at NSP when he said: “Mr Ong Ye Kung did express somewhat of a concern when he learnt that SDP is coming into Sembawang GRC. It has been easy-peasy with their last opponent, am I right?”

In the 2020 General Election, the PAP won Sembawang GRC with 67.29 per cent of the vote against the NSP.

“Minister Ong Ye Kung also now must realise that the SDP GRC team are not a bunch of fly-by-nights. We are serious contenders for this GRC; we want to win,” said Mr Damanhuri.

GE2025: Good government needed to take Singapore through changed and troubled world, says SM Lee​

PAP Ang Mo Kio GRC candidate SM Lee Hsien Loong speaking at the PAP rally held at Fern Green Primary School on April 27.

PAP Ang Mo Kio GRC candidate SM Lee Hsien Loong speaking at the PAP rally held at Fern Green Primary School on April 27.ST PHOTO: GAVIN FOO
Chin Soo Fang
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - For Singapore to have a good government in a troubled world, it is important for the country to have a good team of ministers and MPs, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

In an election rally speech on April 27, he set out the crucial role that good government plays in Singapore, and the consequences of not having such a team in place.

“The world has changed... It will be harder to make a living, harder to export, harder for our companies to have stable jobs, harder for people to predict what they can do over the next five, 10, 15 years,” he said.

“The problem is not transient. It’s not going to go away, because the world has changed, and we have to be psychologically prepared.”

SM Lee also said voters should not vote against the PAP to give opposition parties “a little bit more votes”, in the hope of getting two or three more opposition MPs into Parliament.

“You will not get it right and we can mess everything up. Just vote according to your heart,” SM Lee said in his 40-minute speech at Fern Green Primary School. “You think PAP is good – vote for it. You think we are bad – vote against us. Don’t play games. It’s very dangerous.”

During the Covid-19 pandemic, lives were saved because Singapore had a strong team in place, he said. Now, Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong is leading Singapore’s response to the American tariff situation. DPM Gan is anchoring the PAP team for Punggol GRC, which will face off against a WP team.

SM Lee pointed out that DPM Gan is in charge of the economy, foreign trade and the Monetary Authority of Singapore. He has also been in talks with the United States Trade Representative, even during the election campaign.

“And he is in charge of our crisis response, to survive whatever tariffs and upheavals and trade wars are to come,” SM Lee said. “You lose him, you can replace him? Somebody cheaper? Are you sure you want to save money like that? It’s very expensive to save money like that,” he added.

“Good government is about good people, good ministers, MPs – a team. And to do that, to have a good team, you must first vote them in, right?” SM Lee said. “We have ministers and MPs and potential office-holders all over Singapore and (in) all the GRCs, including the hotly contested ones.”

He added: “You lose a minister? Well, OK, I make do. I lose two ministers? Harder to make do. I lose three ministers? I’m in some trouble.”

Even opposition MPs know that the PAP has done a good job, he said.

“Because after 60-plus years, they don’t say ‘vote me, change, I will be better’. They say ‘don’t worry, I only got less than one-third of the seats contested, so you are sure to have a strong PAP government after the election’.”

He added: “Everything is correct except the last bit – and that means we have lived up to our responsibilities. We have upheld the trust, we have done the right thing and our conscience is clear by Singaporeans.”

The rally on April 27 was held by the PAP teams for Ang Mo Kio GRC, as well as Jalan Kayu, Kebun Baru and Yio Chu Kang SMCs.

The PAP’s four other Ang Mo Kio GRC team members – new faces Jasmin Lau and Victor Lye, as well as incumbent MPs Darryl David and Nadia Ahmad Samdin – also spoke at the rally.

Other speakers included labour chief Ng Chee Meng, who is the PAP’s candidate for Jalan Kayu SMC, Kebun Baru incumbent MP Henry Kwek, Yio Chu Kang incumbent MP Yip Hon Weng, and Dr Lam Pin Min. Dr Lam, who is helming the PAP’s Sengkang GRC team, started his political career as an MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC.

During his speech, Mr David pushed back against comments that PAP backbenchers are not as effective in Parliament as opposition MPs, as they toe the party line.

The party’s backbenchers are not “yes men and women”, he said. “PAP MPs scrutinise and debate every government policy and Bill. If we feel there is a good reason, we push back, speak up, we challenge.”

Mr Yip also said that over the past five years, he has spoken up more than 500 times and delivered 132 speeches – more than any opposition MP.

“Some may say, ‘Only opposition MPs ask the tough questions. PAP MPs are silent backbenchers’. But let’s be honest – that’s a convenient myth,” he said.

He added: “What they don’t see is that so-called silent backbenchers work even when cameras stop rolling. We speak directly and frankly to ministers. We shape solutions behind the scenes.”

Rounding up his speech, SM Lee urged Singaporeans to focus their attention on the issues that matter in a troubled world.

The PAP has a good team for 60 years now, and is introducing a good mix of experience and fresh young energy this time, bringing a new resolve to take Singapore forward, he said.

Voters need to choose a good government that can take the country through the troubles ahead, SM Lee added.

“One that will bring steady hands and concrete plans to help us all pull through, one that is honest and open with you, that you can trust to fight for you, and fight for your children too,” he added.

“We do not tell lies, and we do not tell lies about not telling lies. We speak the truth to you and to everyone. That is one thing which can keep Singapore special for many years to come.”

GE2025: What the parties said about key issues at roundtable discussion​

Presenter Otelli Edwards (in pink) with (clockwise from her left) PAP’s Chee Hong Tat, WP’s Michael Thng, RDU’s Ravi Philemon, PSP’s Stephanie Tan, PAR’s Lim Tean and expert Joseph Liow at the Mediacorp roundtable debate on April 27.

Presenter Otelli Edwards (in pink) with (clockwise from her left) PAP’s Chee Hong Tat, WP’s Michael Thng, RDU’s Ravi Philemon, PSP’s Stephanie Tan, PAR’s Lim Tean and expert Joseph Liow at the Mediacorp roundtable debate on April 27.ST PHOTO: JASON QUAH
Tay Hong Yi and Aqil Hamzah
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – The five political parties fielding the most number of candidates in the general election participated in a televised roundtable discussion on April 27.

They discussed, in turn, issues surrounding geopolitics and the economy, immigration and jobs, and the cost of living.

All parties were asked a common question on these topics before being asked different follow-up questions by academics.

The incumbent PAP was allocated half the speaking time, while the other parties shared the remaining half equally.

Here is a summary of what they said:

1. Geopolitics and the economy​

The question posed to all candidates by CNA newscaster Otelli Edwards was: “The global outlook is increasingly uncertain. It appears free trade is in decline. How do you see this impacting Singapore and how does your party propose to help Singaporeans deal with these challenges?”

People’s Alliance for Reform (PAR)​

PAR chief Lim Tean said warning signs that globalisation would fray emerged as early as 2022.

Yet, the PAP did not heed those warning signs and kept talking about globalisation, said Mr Lim, who is contesting Potong Pasir SMC.

In contrast, PAR thinks “glocalisation” is the way forward, he said, referring to working with trustworthy regional partners closer afield.

“We cannot carry on to the drumbeat of the Americans (who) led globalisation. We must start to cooperate with our regional partners, like the Indonesians, the Thais, the Malaysians.”

Professor Joseph Liow, senior research adviser at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, then asked Mr Lim if he could reconcile PAR’s view that the impact of the Trump tariffs might be exaggerated with Singapore’s heavy reliance on global trade.

Mr Lim mooted setting up a bank to finance small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), so they can expand globally and regionally.

He said he saw the Trump tariffs as, primarily, a tool to contain the rise of China.

“How it’s going to end is beyond anyone’s comprehension.”

Progress Singapore Party​

Ms Stephanie Tan, the PSP candidate for Pioneer SMC, said the party recognises that tariffs imposed by the US can impact Singapore’s economy.

Singapore cannot overly depend on multinational corporations and needs to build up local enterprises, she said.

“At the same time, Singapore must maintain our trading relationships with various trading partners to hedge our risks in times of uncertainty.”

Prof Liow asked Ms Tan how Singaporeans should prepare for the trade war between the US and China.

Ms Tan called for steps to strengthen Singapore’s domestic capacities.

She proposed reducing the cost of doing business by issuing national guidelines on rent increases for commercial properties.

Red Dot United (RDU)​

RDU secretary-general Ravi Philemon expressed concerns about the decline of free trade as Singapore is a “price taker” in the global economy.

However, he added, what worried him even more was whether Singapore is reading the right signals from trading partners.

“I think we need to get back on track and read the right signals and make sure that Singapore is well positioned for this change that is coming,” said Mr Philemon, who is leading the RDU’s bid for Nee Soon GRC.

Prof Liow asked Mr Philemon what policies the Government could adopt to strengthen its domestic economic foundations to deal with the exacerbating trade tensions.

Mr Philemon said Singaporeans must feel that their backs are covered.

Cutting the goods and services tax back to 7 per cent from the current 9 per cent would put more money in people’s pockets and spur consumption, he said.

Workers’ Party (WP)​

WP Tampines GRC candidate Michael Thng said the first thing Singapore needs to do is to look at deepening ties with friendly nations – such as those from Asean – that still welcome trade with the Republic.

But he noted that some Singaporean workers might be displaced nonetheless.

For these workers, Mr Thng said measures, including redundancy insurance and mandatory retrenchment benefits, must be in place to allow them a chance to bounce back.

Prof Liow asked him what strategic opportunities Singapore could take advantage of.

Mr Thng answered, saying industries in Singapore may have become more price-competitive as a consequence of the trade war, and also sought the creation of more home-grown industry leaders.

He cited the semiconductor industry in the first category. For the second, he suggested an export-import bank to give home-grown firms an easier access to capital.

People’s Action Party (PAP)​

Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat said the PAP government has been laying the foundations to deal with the effects of increased uncertainty, especially on the job market and workers here.

Even more than the looming tariffs, what bothers businesses is the uncertainty that stops them from making investment and hiring decisions, he said.

Mr Chee, who is leading the PAP team contesting Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, also said a large part of the $143 billion Budget passed in 2025 aims to help Singapore companies and workers stay competitive in the medium to longer term, while enabling them to tide over in the interim.

He said the task force set up to tackle the impact of US tariffs will look at how to grow the economy by reconfiguring trade links. The nation also stands to gain from its strong international reputation that the PAP government has built up since independence.

“We stay connected with the world because we believe that is the best way to grow our economy,” Mr Chee said.

He added that Singapore has inked numerous pacts to build economic links with countries, amounting to about 30 per cent of the global economy, aside from the US.

Singapore’s ease of doing business, stability, ability to plan for the long term and strong tripartite partnership are all signature attributes that attract investors, particularly in the current environment, he said.

Singapore’s fiscal resources and reserves, accumulated over generations, will come in handy, said Mr Chee.

“They give our people the confidence that when we promise to support Singaporeans, we have the resources to do it, not just for now, but also into the future, for as long as it is needed,” he said.

Singapore resisted the temptation to dip into its reserves unless there was a critical need and now Singaporeans can navigate uncharted waters by staying together, he added.

So how would Mr Chee make a case for Singapore’s interests if he were to meet US President Donald Trump, Prof Liow asked.

To this, Mr Chee outlined a fourfold response: That Singapore will not want to choose sides between the US and China; that it would like the US to remain engaged in Asia; that Singapore may be small but has alternative options; that Singaporeans are united.

Calling Mr Trump a “tough negotiator”, Mr Chee said: “If he knows that we have no other options, he will squeeze us hard.”

This means Singapore needs to show how it has like-minded partners to forge new trade links with, as well as help its firms become more productive, and workers, more skilled.

“So, if we want to be able to navigate in this more complex, uncertain world, and to be able to deal with tough negotiators like Mr Trump, we have to demonstrate to them that… we will stay united.”

2. Immigration and jobs​

CNA asked all candidates: “As the Singapore economy transforms, some workers could be left behind. But the Singapore economy is also heavily reliant on foreigners. How would your party balance these two challenges?”

PAR​

Mr Lim said the PAR has always been known as the party that insists that Singaporeans be prioritised for jobs here.

“We make no concession on that whatsoever.”

He added that the party will insist employers must employ Singaporeans first, unless they can show that no Singaporean is capable of doing that job.

He said the PAP government has fostered an economy where employers actually prefer hiring foreigners to locals.

Economics professor Jessica Pan from the National University of Singapore asked Mr Lim how the PAR would resolve the tension between supporting local SMEs and stricter access to foreign skilled manpower, even as it seeks to protect Singaporean workers.

Mr Lim said the PAR opposes “very harmful treaties” such as the Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (Ceca) with India.

“Once (Ceca is) abolished, we may talk about being open to foreign workers, but the balance has tilted too far in the last two decades.”

PSP​

Ms Tan said the PSP has never, and will never, argue for a closed Singapore.

“We are aware that Singapore needs talents from other countries, but, in our opinion, it should be done in a way that is complementary to our Singaporean workforce.”

The PSP wants to strengthen the current fair consideration framework, imposing a modest levy on an Employment Pass (EP) like those for the S Pass and work permit, as well as imposing a quota on EP holders.

Prof Pan asked Ms Tan how the PSP would ensure its proposed tighter controls on EP holders do not limit access to essential foreign skills that Singapore needs.

Ms Tan said the PSP’s proposals are not entirely new, or different, from what the Government has in place.

In the latest term of Parliament, the PAP government launched the Complementarity Assessment Framework (Compass) and raised the qualifying salary for EP holders successively, she noted.

RDU​

Mr Philemon agreed with Mr Chee that Singapore has no choice but to remain an open society.

However, care must be taken to ensure the privilege of citizenship “is better accentuated” in such a society.

Prof Pan asked how RDU would ensure Singaporeans continue to have access to good, secure jobs even as it calls for a shift away from gross domestic product-focused growth and a citizens-first hiring policy.

Mr Philemon said the SkillsFuture Jobseeker Support scheme is the “flimsiest of safety nets for Singaporean workers”. He wants citizens to be prioritised above foreigners.

WP​

Immigration has to remain the cornerstone of Singapore society, Mr Thng said. But he said immigration policy must uplift Singaporeans and not sideline them. For this, WP has proposed ensuring more deliberate skills transfer between foreign talent and the local workforce.

“(It’s) well and good for us to allow that foreign talent to come in, in the first generation of employees... (to) really try and make a dent in that particular industry.

“We must create the right incentives such that companies have a reason to then start trying to transfer (those) skills across, so that while the first generation of workers may be foreign-born, after that, you may have opportunities for Singaporeans to take more of the jobs.”

Prof Pan asked him how the WP’s stronger emphasis on skills transfer differs from existing frameworks such as Compass.

Mr Thng suggested requiring companies to invest in training for local employees, and pairing local and foreign employees in mentorships.

PAP​

Mr Chee said Singaporeans remain at the heart of all of the Government’s economic and manpower policies.

While competition with foreign talent naturally arises from needing to trade with the world, Singapore needs to welcome complementary international talent, he said.

Instead of closing doors, helping workers and businesses here to stay competitive is necessary, he added.

Mr Chee said the PAP has strengthened safety nets to help people in need to bounce back into better jobs.

He said this is all achieved through Singapore’s strong model of tripartism – the three-way relationship between the unions, employers and the Government.

Taking aim at minimum wage proposals from opposition parties, Mr Chee said the PAP believes the Government’s Progressive Wage Model is more practical and effective in helping workers.

The model sets out sector-specific minimum salary levels tied to a worker’s skills and productivity improvements, which Mr Chee said means workers earn higher wages “in a more sustainable manner” better for workers over the longer term.

In contrast, a one-size-fits-all minimum wage may have unintended consequences, causing job losses, he said.

He also challenged the WP’s call for independent unions following the practices of other countries.

“Now, our unions are already independent, so I think what the Workers’ Party is really calling for is a more confrontational relationship between the unions and the Government,” he said.

This would affect Singapore’s economy and reputation, he added.

While the PAP’s policies are pro-Singapore and pro-Singaporeans, Mr Chee said, Singaporeans must avoid a zero-sum mentality, in which foreigners deprive locals of economic opportunities.

“It is about how we can work to grow the economic pie, to enlarge the economic pie so that there’s more that we can share with Singaporeans, more and better job opportunities, better wages.”

He also said the PAP wants to help businesses to transform, including by improving productivity.

However, to successfully be pro-worker and pro-business in this more turbulent and uncertain world will need unity and stability, Mr Chee said.

Singapore will need to forge its own way forward, eschewing welfare for Workfare, and a minimum wage for multiple wage and skills ladders for different industries, he added.

“Through strong tripartism, sound policies that achieve good outcomes in a sustainable way, we enable all Singaporeans to be able to share the fruits of our sustainable economic progress.”

Prof Pan asked Mr Chee what more could be done to address Singaporeans’ concerns surrounding immigration.

Mr Chee said the Government does give priority to locals, with training schemes and safety nets extended only to them.

Singapore cannot close its economy in trying to protect jobs, which will cause economic disruption that affects how competitive Singapore businesses are, he said.

These businesses may decide to move elsewhere, which means jobs for both locals and foreigners are lost here.

He also said the difference between what the PAP has done and what the PSP proposes lies in the very close consultation with tripartite partners the PAP undertakes, allowing the right balance between protecting workers and ensuring competitiveness.

He also touched on a range of policies aimed at investing in the skills of Singaporeans, beyond SkillsFuture.

Mr Chee cited numbers to show that increases to resident professional, managerial, executive and technical jobs added to the Singapore economy over the last decade far outweighed the EP and S Pass holders brought in.

He added that to tap opportunities that emerge from a more turbulent, uncertain environment, Singapore needs to send signals that it still welcomes foreign investments, integrates new immigrants, and yet also protects its people.

3. Cost of living​

Candidates were asked: “Many say the GST hikes contributed to inflation. Yet taxes are a key source of revenue to finance services and infrastructure in healthcare, housing and transport. How would you finance the growing needs of Singaporeans?

PAR​

Mr Lim said there was “absolutely no need” for the GST hikes, given the inflationary environment.

He said that Budget surpluses accumulated from 1999 to 2019 was about $40 billion in all.

“There’s a lot of money to finance free healthcare, free education, free school meals, as PAR has suggested,” he said.

Professor Terence Ho, adjunct associate professor in practice at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy in NUS, asked Mr Lim for his response to comments that PAR’s proposal for price controls on necessities could lead to over demand and under supply of these goods.

Mr Lim said his alliance never proposed price controls on necessities. PAR had called instead for GST to be removed from essentials such as groceries and utilities.

He reiterated his alliance’s call to stop permanent residents from buying HDB flats “because they are the cause of the surge in price”.

PSP​

Ms Tan said a number of proposals in the party’s manifesto will increase revenue, such as a $1,200 levy on Employment Pass holders.

The PSP’s housing proposal will also eliminate a large part of HDB’s deficit that arises from providing home buyers with subsidies, she added.

Another suggestion, to amortise the revenue from government land sales for commercial and industrial land, will also result in the proceeds contributing to the Government’s budget, rather than having to be put straight into the reserves, said Ms Tan.

Assoc Prof Ho asked how PSP would ensure fairness between existing and new home owners under its proposed housing model, where land costs are excluded from the price of new flats.

Ms Tan said the affordable housing scheme will not crash the resale market, as flats under the scheme will constitute less than 10 per cent of total HDB flat supply after five years.

The resale market is also underpinned by “a large pool of demand” from buyers who are ineligible for BTO flats or want to live in specific locations, she added.

RDU​

Mr Philemon said he agreed with the PAP on the need to maintain Singapore’s competitiveness, and that there is no question that taxes are a key source of revenue, and it is important to get implementation right.

However, he said the perception is taxes are aimed more at ordinary Singaporeans and the wealthy are not taxed enough.

In response to Assoc Prof Ho’s question on how RDU will finance its proposed “Citizens Dividend” unconditional cash transfer for Singaporeans, especially in years when there are no surpluses, Mr Philemon said it would be financed through reported surpluses.

“For two straight years in a row we have (had) over $6 billion of surpluses, and we can use that to start a pilot on the Citizens Dividend,” he said.

He said this will give Singaporeans peace of mind in the years to come, given rising pressures on jobs.

WP​

Mr Thng said the decision to raise GST rates in 2022 following record-high inflation was “the wrong tool used at the wrong time”, and placed a tremendous burden on the average Singapore family.

There are other ways to raise the revenue that is needed, such as the WP’s proposals to change the Net Investment Returns Contribution to “allow a little bit of buffer there” and for a minimum corporate tax rate in line with most other countries, he added.

Assoc Prof Ho said the WP had advanced suggestions to manage costs of various services such as utilities, healthcare and transport, and asked which among them the party considered the most pressing.

Mr Thng said they are equally, yet differently important to each Singaporean family, depending on their spending patterns.

He highlighted a proposal to introduce tiered pricing for utilities, so that those from smaller households who use less water and electricity would pay lower rates.

This would incentivise socially conscious behaviour while relieving pressure on households, he added.

PAP​

Mr Chee said the PAP government understands that cost of living is a key concern for many Singaporeans, and said it will continue to provide support for as long as it is necessary to help the people cope.

Singapore imports most of what it consumes and therefore also imports global inflation, but Mr Chee said the Government has taken measures such as maintaining a strong Singapore dollar, which helps mitigate the impact of imported inflation.

Schemes such as CDC vouchers, SG60 vouchers and the permanent GST vouchers scheme also provide help, as do additional initiatives provided at the constituency level, he added.

“The PAP believes that the best way to cope with rising prices is to ensure we can grow our economy,” said Mr Chee, as this means businesses do well and workers earn higher wages exceeding the rate of inflation.

The Government will therefore continue to invest heavily in bringing in investments, creating quality jobs, upskilling workers, transforming businesses and looking after lower-wage workers.

He noted that workers at the 20th percentile of incomes saw a 5.9 per cent increase in real wage growth from 2019 to 2024, compared with the 3.6 per cent increase for the median worker.

The PAP also wants to help Singaporeans with major expenditures, such as housing and healthcare, by making sure they remain affordable and accessible.

Mr Chee cited how eight in 10 families buy their first HDB flats with little or no monthly cash outlay, while eight in 10 patients at public healthcare institutions pay less than $100 out-of-pocket in medical bills.

The Government has achieved this through fiscal discipline, he said.

“We must not borrow or gamble on savings and reserves of future generations,” he said

On the opposition’s proposals to roll back the GST rate to 7 per cent, exempt certain items from the tax, and to loosen the use of national reserves, he said Singaporeans need to consider if such proposals are sustainable.

Mr Chee highlighted the need to invest in workers’ skills, education and lifelong learning, as well as the healthcare needs of seniors and retirement adequacy.

In a more turbulent world, Singapore must also maintain a strong social compact and to grow the economy – not as the sole objective but so that the country has more resources to strengthen its social safety nets, he said.

Mr Chee also critiqued the PSP’s alternative housing proposal, and said the opposition party could not know that such a move would not crash the housing market.

On the WP’s proposal to rely more on corporate taxes, Mr Chee said the recent government surpluses were mainly from corporate tax as Singapore’s economy had done well.

“With a more uncertain, more turbulent world, how can we be so confident that this trend will continue? It’s a question mark,” he said.

4. Closing remarks​

PAR​

Mr Lim said voters should ask themselves if their lives will be better five years from now if they continue voting for the PAP.

The ruling party will never be able to tame costs, while his alliance has proposals to do so, such as for free healthcare and free education, he added.

He said another reason to vote for PAR is because “PAP MPs are like a range of extinct volcanoes – there’s no fire in them”.

While no PAP MP challenged the GST hikes, Mr Lim said if elected he would do so in Parliament.

“I look forward to cross-examining Mr Chee, (Law and Home Affairs Minister) K. Shanmugam and his other colleagues in Parliament if I am elected,” said the lawyer.

PSP​

Ms Tan said Singaporeans are assailed by challenges on all fronts, and that robust and constructive debate in Parliament is needed to find the best way forward for Singapore.

For that to happen, sufficient alternative voices are needed, and she said the PSP has shown itself to be a responsible opposition party that has fought hard to improve Singaporeans’ lives.

She highlighted the work done by PSP’s Mr Leong Mun Wai and Ms Hazel Poa, who had filed more than 700 parliamentary questions and raised eight full motions as NCMPs in the 14th Parliament.

“More PSP MPs mean more voices to fight for you and ensure transparency and accountability from the Government,” she said.

“While any losing PAP MP will still serve you as a grassroots adviser.”

RDU​

Rather than voting for RDU or PAP, Mr Philemon said Singaporeans are going to the polls on May 3 to vote for themselves.

He said that Singaporeans should consider several issues, such as the growing disparity between the haves and have-nots, and called for a new social compact where there is collective prosperity, a comprehensive housing reset, better healthcare and civil liberties.

The policies proposed by RDU “will put Singaporeans first in our own country, the only home that we have”.

“We call on Singaporeans to vote for themselves, to vote for RDU, for we are your vehicle to make Singapore better,” he said.

WP​

With uncertainties lying ahead, it is crucial to build a system that will get policies right, because there is “far less margin for error”, said Mr Thng.

To do so, more perspectives in Parliament are necessary to ensure blind spots are not missed and mistakes are not made.

In a call back to Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s comments that no one has a monopoly on good ideas, he said that Parliament should also not be monopolised by a single party.

As the PAP is likely to maintain its supermajority after Polling Day, he said Singaporeans should vote in WP to “keep the PAP on their tippy toes”.

Mr Thng added: “We’re asking you to vote for the Workers’ Party to allow us to bring our brand of rational, constructive politics into Parliament and deliver it for the Singaporean people.”

PAP​

In his closing remarks, Mr Chee said Singaporeans have to decide not just the ideas that work best for Singapore, but also the kind of politics they would like to see, and the values and principles that Singapore should be governed by.

Singapore must not have politics and policies that will pit one segment against another and divide society, he added.

He singled out the WP as imitating the PAP’s policies and positions.

“Sometimes they improvise, with an occasional half step to the left or to the right, depending on how the wind blows, because they want to score political points,” he said.

Bringing up the WP’s slogan of “Working for Singapore”, he said many of its proposals do not actually work, and that its position on policies such as GST and housing have been inconsistent.

“They like to claim credit for policies that are implemented by the PAP, but they will not take responsibility when their proposals turn out wrong,” he said.

He cited the WP’s recommendation prior to the Covid-19 pandemic to build fewer HDB flats, given the soft resale market.

“If we had listened to what the Workers’ Party had proposed… more Singaporeans will have to wait longer for their flats,” he said. “So fortunately, we did not listen to that advice.”

He also cited the WP’s suggestion in its manifesto to remove the statutory retirement age.

Noting that the law prevents employers from dismissing workers before they reach that age, Mr Chee said that while its intentions may be good, the result is “unintentionally causing more problems for the people you are trying to help”.

Mr Chee said there is no chance of the Government having a “blank cheque” in Parliament, but that voters should also not give the opposition a “free pass”.

He urged Singaporeans to judge both PAP and the opposition candidates on the quality of their proposals, and the quality of their character. Doing so would give the best outcome for Singapore and Singaporeans, he said.

“Make the PAP work harder, but also make the opposition work harder for you,” he said.

The PAP will not play games with Singaporeans when implementing difficult policies – it will put Singapore and Singaporeans first, and never gamble with the lives and futures of Singaporeans, he added.

“When we make promises, you know we will deliver,” he said.

The PAP will also keep faith with principles such as strong tripartism, long-term planning, fiscal discipline, and ensuring that it looks after not just this generation, but also future generations, said Mr Chee.

“These are the hallmarks, the cornerstones of the PAP government’s leadership,” he said.

He reiterated that the PAP will continue to support Singaporeans through the stormy times ahead.

“Vote for the team that can form a good, effective government to secure a brighter future for you and your family. Vote for a safe pair of hands that you can trust,” he said. “Vote for the PAP.”

GE2025: Fullerton rally attendees urged to take public transport, check crowd levels​

The event will take place at the Promenade Area beside UOB Plaza from noon to 3pm as part of the General Election 2025 activities.

The Fullerton rally will take place at the Promenade Area beside UOB Plaza from noon to 3pm.ST PHOTO: MARK CHEONG

Vihanya Rakshika
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - The police have reminded those who plan to attend the Fullerton rally on April 28 to take public transport to the venue.

The event will take place at the promenade area beside UOB Plaza in Raffles Place from noon to 3pm as part of the 2025 General Election.

The public is also strongly encouraged to check real-time crowd levels, area closures and available transport nodes on the Crowd@UOBPlaza website at https://go.gov.sg/crowd-at-uob-plaza

The Fullerton rally is one of six election rallies that are set to take place on April 28, as political parties head into the final week of campaigning ahead of the general election on May 3.

Details of the rallies on April 28 are as follows:

1256ed0dab7f8ad05ce6b3955926b2cbf18733f789c5e2780a417add3128ba37

PHOTO: SINGAPORE POLICE FORCE
Motorists travelling near the rally sites should expect traffic diversions and possible lane closures. Drivers are advised to tune in to radio stations for live traffic updates.

Carparks in the vicinity may also be restricted to Season Parking holders only. Vehicles found to be illegally parked or causing serious obstruction may be towed away.

Security checks will be conducted in and around the meeting site. Members of the public are advised not to bring large bags or any dangerous items.

These items are banned:​

• Firearms/parts of firearms, including empty magazines and spent cartridges
  • Live and blank bullets
  • Air pistols and rifles or parts
  • Spear guns
  • Explosives, blasting caps, dynamites and corrosive substances
  • Fireworks and firecrackers
  • Parangs and machetes
  • Bearing scrapers
  • Walking sticks with daggers
  • Antique pistols and guns
  • Stun guns
  • Batons and t-batons
  • Night sticks
  • Signal flares and other flammable materials
  • Handcuffs
  • Tear gas and pepper spray
  • Nanchakus
  • Knuckledusters
  • Crossbows
  • Industrial acid
  • Bulletproof vests
  • Keychains in the shape of a bullet or gun
  • Wooden or metal spears
  • Lighters in the shape of a gun, pistol, bullet or grenade
  • Toy guns that resemble actual guns
  • Kirpans
  • Sharp or long objects, such as knives, that can be used as a weapon
  • Glass bottles
  • Laser pointers
  • Canned drinks

GE2025: PM Wong appeals to voters to pick the best team, says more opposition will weaken S’pore​

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong urged Singaporeans to think carefully about the consequences of their choice when they go to the polls on May 3.

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong urged Singaporeans to think carefully about the consequences of their choice when they go to the polls on May 3.ST PHOTO: TARYN NG

Hariz Baharudin
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - Midway into the 2025 General Election hustings, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong has appealed to voters to pick the best team, saying that a weakened government will undermine Singapore’s position in an increasingly volatile world.

Speaking at the PAP’s lunchtime Fullerton rally, he cautioned that should the opposition gain more ground, it would severely weaken the PAP’s ability to govern effectively, even if the party is returned to power.

He said: “If opposition parties break through in several constituencies – not just one, not just two, but a few – then even if the PAP were to be returned to govern, it would be with a severely weakened mandate. It’s not just the loss of one minister. I could lose three (or) four ministers.”

PM Wong added: “Losing three to four ministers will weaken the Cabinet team, will weaken the Government, will weaken Singapore.”

Addressing the WP’s call for voters to compare opposition candidates with PAP candidates backbencher to backbencher, he said this is not how elections work.

Serving ministers are contesting group representation constituencies, he said, stressing that their loss would be immediately felt.

PM Wong said: “A vote for the opposition is not a free vote for more alternative voices in Parliament. It is a vote to weaken the PAP team – the team that is truly working for you.”

He urged Singaporeans to think carefully about the consequences of their choice when they go to the polls on May 3.

“If you, in your heart of hearts, believe that the PAP is still the best party to take Singapore forward through these uncertain times, then support me and my team,” he said.

He added: “Your vote matters – in every constituency, all across Singapore. Because I need a team. And this election is not just about forming today’s government. It’s also about building tomorrow’s leadership.”

Singapore now stands at a new crossroads, said PM Wong, adding that the PAP has walked every step of the country’s journey alongside Singaporeans, including through every crisis, hardship and triumph.

5849fa628beec95ab7fbbc6dc7d941784064ab6b1ef00f54ad09248c1069a570

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong taking a wefie after the rally on April 28.ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY
The opposition, on the other hand, has not had any serious discussions about the critical challenges looming over Singapore’s future, he said.

“Throughout this campaign, have you heard any opposition party talk seriously about the challenges we face? Not a single one, because to them, this is the PAP’s burden to carry,” PM Wong said.

“They want the PAP to form the government. They only want, as they say, more seats in Parliament. More seats, but not more responsibility.”

Individually, opposition parties may not have enough candidates to form a government, but collectively, their numbers are not small, PM Wong said.

He noted how WP and PSP are already in Parliament, focusing on the eastern and western parts of Singapore, respectively, to grow their presence. Across the island, other parties are keen to make breakthroughs too.

“When you add them all up, the numbers are not small, and you start to wonder, what is the kind of politics we are going to have in Singapore? And that’s why I said from the very beginning, this is a tough election, and it has proven to be so,” said PM Wong.

Leadership renewal
Amid this backdrop, PM Wong emphasised the importance of leadership renewal within the PAP.

He noted how several experienced members of his team – Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean, Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat, and Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen – have chosen to step down.

Holding them back would be doing Singapore a disservice, said PM Wong. “Renewal must happen, for Singapore’s sake, for your sake. We need fresh perspectives and new energy to build a better Singapore.”

be57f7dcc198d9abec7360d5b384ce1a8c541c23c6fcf7799d96be6f00f69104

PM Wong emphasised the importance of leadership renewal within the PAP.ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG
But the team still has strong leaders, including Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong, who is leading the Singapore Economic Resilience Taskforce.

PM Wong also mentioned other members of the task force, including National Development Minister Desmond Lee, Digital Development and Information Minister Josephine Teo, and Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat, as well as labour chief Ng Chee Meng.

The Prime Minister said of Mr Gan: “When there is a challenge, he rolls up his sleeves and he gets things done. We saw that during Covid, and we will see that again during this economic challenge.”

PM Wong pointed to how some have called Mr Gan the “task force man”, and said he had told him to “wear it (as) a badge of honour”.

Turning to the new candidates, PM Wong said the PAP has fielded 32 new candidates for GE2025, the largest batch of fresh faces in decades.

He highlighted how among these were fresh talents who could grow into larger leadership roles: Mr David Neo, who is contesting Tampines GRC, Mr Dinesh Vasu Dash in East Coast GRC, and Mr Jeffrey Siow in Chua Chu Kang GRC.

After the election, and assuming the PAP is returned to government, PM Wong said, he would have many countries to visit as part of his duties. Conducting foreign policy would be more difficult in a world where “might is right”, he said, as bigger powers would not hesitate to use coercion and force to pursue their interests.

Small states like Singapore must work even harder to safeguard their position, he stressed, noting that his counterparts abroad would be closely watching the election outcome to assess his political strength.

“With a clear mandate from you, my team and I can speak up for Singapore confidently, and we will do our utmost to ensure this little red dot continues to shine brightly even in a troubled world,” he said.

968cc20f1aac8422352b7ef88207969bf5e3cb5a3f48a5ad7dc43a2659cad27d

PM Wong cautioned that should the opposition gain more ground, it would severely weaken the PAP’s ability to govern effectively.ST PHOTO: MARK CHEONG
PM Wong acknowledged that while Singapore has achieved remarkable success, many now feel life has become a “pressure cooker”, especially for their children. He said Singapore must work hard and stay competitive as no one owes it a living, but also warned against pushing too hard and becoming overstressed.

“We must find a better balance. A better balance where we work hard to secure our living, but we also have space – space to breathe, space to dream, and space to live our lives to the fullest,” he said.

PM Wong added that changes were already under way, including education reforms and enhanced parental leave.

Looking back on how Singapore weathered the Covid-19 crisis, PM Wong pointed out how Changi Airport looked like a ghost town during the pandemic and has now returned to pre-Covid traffic levels. He added how in two weeks’ time, ground will be broken for Terminal 5.

He told Singaporeans that the trust placed in him and his team during the pandemic had enabled the country to save lives, protect jobs and emerge stronger.

“Now that we face a new storm, I ask you once again – trust the PAP one more time. Give me and my team the chance to do our best for you,” he said.

GE2025: GST hike was implemented with ‘great care’, opposition ignored facts to maximise votes, says PM Wong​

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong speaking at PAP’s lunchtime rally held at UOB Plaza's promenade on April 28.

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong speaking at PAP’s lunchtime rally held at UOB Plaza's promenade on April 28.ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG

Lim Min Zhang
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - Great care was taken in implementing the goods and services tax (GST) hike so that Singaporeans who are less well off pay less than the 9 per cent rate, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

He said on April 28 that the Government explained in Parliament “with data and the facts” why additional revenues were needed to take care of the rising number of seniors, and how support was enhanced in tandem to keep the system fair and progressive.

“The opposition had no counter to this in Parliament. But then when elections come, they conveniently choose to ignore all this,” he said at his first Fullerton rally as PM.

“Why? Because, politically, they know it’s to their advantage to make this an issue, to stir up unhappiness, just to maximise their votes.”

The permanent GST vouchers ensure that lower- and middle-income Singaporeans pay less than the headline GST rate, PM Wong noted.

“Who pays the full rate? Three groups: foreigners, tourists and higher-income families,” he said.

“The opposition wants these three groups to pay a lower rate. Would you? I wouldn’t.

“I think it’s fair and right for them to pay the full rate, but for lower- and middle-income Singaporeans, we protect you, we shield you... and that means you pay an effectively lower GST rate. That’s how our GST system works.”

The GST was raised from 7 per cent to 9 per cent over two years, in 2023 and 2024. The hike has been the focal point of criticism by many opposition parties in the campaign leading up to the May 3 polls, with the WP, PSP and Singapore Democratic Party calling for a rollback to 7 per cent or less to alleviate cost-of-living pressures.

PM Wong said the opposition wants to blame cost pressures on the Government, and on the GST, but that inflation was largely imported owing to overseas conflicts and global supply chain disruptions.

“We’ve dealt with this through sound monetary policies, and it’s working because inflation here has been coming down faster than in many other places.”

If the PAP government had taken the easy way out and delayed the GST increase, public finances would be weaker, said PM Wong, with insufficient resources to take care of Singapore’s seniors, and to support Singaporeans amid this economic storm.

He reiterated that the support package in the Budget was not a one-off, and that the Government will provide the help for as long as it is needed.

“Why is it that I can give you this assurance now? It’s only because we made the tough and responsible decisions earlier to ensure that we have sound public finances,” he said.

“And that’s why today we can confront the challenges ahead with confidence. We have the resources to support you, we have the resources to steer Singapore safely through this crisis.”

PM Wong also took aim at opposition parties’ proposals for a minimum wage, such as the PSP’s call for a universal minimum wage of $2,250.

The PAP also wants to uplift lower-wage workers, and the Workfare scheme and Progressive Wage Model are showing results. But the opposition wants an across-the-board minimum wage by law, PM Wong noted.

While it sounds good on paper, PM Wong said that if implemented, costs for companies will rise, and these can be recovered only by raising prices for what they sell to Singaporeans.

“How does this solve cost-of-living pressures?” he asked. “It will only make things worse.”

Companies may also cut back on hiring lower-wage workers, who would become more expensive, with the result being more unemployment among those who are least able to cope, he added.

“These are things the opposition will never acknowledge. Their manifestos may have many details – a long wish list. But are they feasible? Are they viable? Are they sustainable?” he asked.

“If something sounds too good to be true, it probably is too good to be true. There is no such thing as a free lunch.”

Despite the economic uncertainties, PM Wong said there are opportunities that Singapore can benefit from, such as companies wanting to reconfigure their supply chains and which are looking for a trusted base to invest in Asia.

But this will require a major restructuring of the economy, which will have to be carefully managed. Experienced hands will be needed to steer Singapore through it, PM Wong said.

“The new jobs will be different from the ones that we have today, and so we will also invest significantly in Singaporeans – to help you reskill, upskill; to help you prepare yourselves well for these new opportunities,” he said.

He asked new graduates not to fear, as the Government will step up career counselling and job matching, and help them secure apprenticeships and traineeships.

Those already in the workforce will get a substantial injection of skills through the SkillsFuture system, which will continue to be improved so that it becomes easier to find suitable courses that can lead to better jobs.

And for Singaporeans who are retrenched, PM Wong said the Government will be there to help them bounce back.

He said the SkillsFuture Jobseeker Support scheme launched earlier in April is better than unemployment insurance as it provides not just payouts, but also coaching and job training.

“If there are more retrenchments, there will be a safety net to help you and support you... We will continue to fine-tune it, improve it and make sure that every Singaporean is well taken care of,” he said.

GE2025: Govt will have ‘enough leeway’ even if all WP candidates are elected, says Pritam Singh​

Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh (centre) speaking to the media during a doorstop in Tampines on April 28.

Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh (centre) speaking to the media in Tampines on April 28.ST PHOTO: HESTER TAN

David Sun
Apr 28, 2025,

SINGAPORE - Even if all 26 WP candidates are voted into Parliament in this election, the Government will still have enough space to deal with the issues of the day, said WP chief Pritam Singh.

If Singaporeans vote all the opposition party’s candidates into Parliament, the ratio of WP MPs to ruling party MPs will be only “about two or three to nine”, he said on April 28.

“The Government has enough space, enough leeway, enough focus to deal with the issues of today and tomorrow,” added the Leader of the Opposition.

He was speaking to reporters in Tampines Avenue 2 on the sixth day of the 2025 General Election campaign, alongside WP chair Sylvia Lim and the party’s Tampines slate.

Mr Singh was asked to respond to comments made by Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong the day before at the PAP’s rally at Fern Green Primary School in Fernvale.

SM Lee had said voters should not vote against the PAP to give opposition parties “a little bit more votes”, in the hope of getting two or three more opposition members into Parliament.

The Senior Minister also spoke about the proposed deal between NTUC’s Income Insurance and German insurer Allianz, saying that six PAP MPs and one WP MP had raised questions about it.

This was after Mr Singh said on April 26 that no PAP labour MP had asked questions about the deal in Parliament when the issue surfaced.

On April 28, Mr Singh said SM Lee had sidestepped the point he raised about the absence of PAP labour MPs weighing in, adding that while six PAP MPs and one WP MP had raised questions, the ratio of PAP MPs to WP MPs was about nine to one.

“The way the Senior Minister characterised the issue is, if we were in Government or if we were in charge, but we weren’t in charge,” he said.

The proposed $2.2 billion deal was called off in October 2024 after it came under public scrutiny.

SM Lee said the deal would have happened if the WP was in charge.

The WP, noted the Senior Minister, had abstained from voting on a Bill to amend a law that would allow the Government to block the deal.

On April 28, Mr Singh said SM Lee may have forgotten why the WP had abstained from voting.

“There was a good reason that was provided in Parliament... maybe the Senior Minister has forgotten about it, or wants to present only one side of the facts.”

Ms Lim defended the WP’s reason for abstaining from the vote.

“To suddenly change the law to affect a live transaction, business certainty-wise, is actually not good for Singapore,” she said.

She added that to pass a law that would affect parties in a live transaction, the logical and right thing to do would be to let it go to a parliamentary select committee, to understand how the law might jeopardise or undermine affected parties.

Ms Lim said: “We didn’t oppose the Bill, but we had to abstain because we value Parliament as a check on government actions.”

NTUC secretary-general Ng Chee Meng, who is contesting Jalan Kayu SMC under the PAP banner, said at the ruling party’s rally on April 27 that the Income-Allianz deal was done in good faith.

Mr Ng also responded to Mr Singh’s description of the labour movement as a “trampoline” for losing PAP candidates. He said there is “no safe harbour”, as he had to stand for re-election in 2023 to continue as labour chief.

Mr Singh told reporters on April 28 that he disagreed with Mr Ng’s rebuttal. “Have workers been disenfranchised in any way because of his leadership in NTUC and also not being in Parliament at the same time? I don’t think so.”

Mr Singh was also asked to respond to SM Lee’s point that the Government would be in trouble if it lost more MPs who were good ministers. He said it was a weak argument, pointing to former foreign minister George Yeo, who lost his seat in the 2011 election.

“Did suddenly our Foreign Ministry lose its bearings?” Mr Singh asked. “It did not, because there’s so much depth in Parliament.”

He added that Singapore now has a more diverse political system, and Singaporeans want to see that expressed in Parliament.

“The Workers’ Party record in Parliament speaks for itself – very rational debate. Where we agree, we are not hesitant to say we agree. Where we disagree, we will explain why we disagree.”

On foreign interference in Singapore politics, Mr Singh said the concern was real, and that was why he extended his April 26 rally speech by two minutes to address it.

He said then that the WP categorically rejected the involvement of any foreign element in Singapore’s politics.

The Government had earlier blocked Facebook posts by three foreigners for attempting to interfere in the election.

The authorities directed social media giant Meta to block access to posts by two Parti Islam SeMalaysia politicians and a former Singaporean who was an Internal Security Act detainee.

One of them had expressed support for WP vice-chair and Tampines GRC candidate Faisal Manap.

SM Lee took aim at the opposition’s inaction, saying it stated its position on foreign interference only after the PAP Government took action.

Mr Singh said he was not aware of the Facebook posts until the authorities issued their statement.

Separately, the WP disputed claims by self-styled religious teacher Noor Deros that the party’s candidates had agreed to take up concerns raised by asatizah, or Islamic religious teachers, regarding Singapore’s Malay/Muslim community. Mr Noor is not authorised to teach in Singapore.

Mr Singh said he had known about this slightly earlier.

“I knew one or two days earlier that there’s this gentleman who’s saying that there’s some secret handshake that the WP has done with him, which was not true,” he said.

On April 28, the WP’s Tampines GRC team said it has received a warm reception from residents.

WP candidate Michael Thng said: “The most common refrain we keep hearing is how long they have waited for us to be here.”

He said his team is committed to ensuring “we get their estate right”.

“We will lean on the experience that we have had in Aljunied, Sengkang and Hougang to ensure that we keep the corridors clean, the plants pruned, the paint fresh, and to ensure that they would have a very nice living environment.”

Responding to Mr Ng’s criticism that the WP does not have a plan for areas where party members are not the incumbents, Ms Lim said that the party can put up feasible plans for an area only if it is in office.

The team has to understand the funding available and the town council’s financial position.

“It doesn’t make sense for contesting teams to make promises that have no substance,” she said.

GE2025: Opposition selling ‘myth’ of same results with fewer PAP MPs in Parliament, says Indranee​

Ms Indranee Rajah, who is standing for election in Pasir Ris-Changi GRC, speaking at a rally held at UOB Plaza's promenade  on April 28.

Ms Indranee Rajah, who is standing for election in Pasir Ris-Changi GRC, speaking at a rally held at UOB Plaza's promenade on April 28.ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG

Ng Wei Kai
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – The opposition has been selling the “myth” that even if more of them are voted in and there are fewer PAP MPs, Singapore will still get the same results, said Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Indranee Rajah.

That is not true, she said in a speech to open a lunchtime rally at UOB Plaza on April 28 – the sixth day of the hustings.

Addressing a crowd that included many office workers, she said: “Many of you work in companies that are organised by teams... We have all worked on team projects, and we all know if you keep pulling out team members, you won’t be able to produce the same results no matter how hard you try.”

Ms Indranee, who is standing for election in Pasir Ris-Changi GRC, said: “The opposition says you can just substitute with others.

“But you and I know it’s not just a matter of numbers, it’s also a matter of experience and skill sets.”

While new people can be brought on, it takes time for them to get up to speed, she added.

If the opposition truly believes it is just a matter of numbers and that anyone will do, then it should not matter which candidates they field and where, she said.

“But you can see how carefully they have calibrated their teams and the electoral divisions in which they stand or not, as the case may be. They know the value of having the right team in the right place.”

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong has put together a team with “that right mix and that right blend”, Ms Indranee added.

Turning to the opposition’s call to vote for them as Singapore needs alternative voices in Parliament, she said this is presented as a binary choice – that voting PAP means there will not be opposition voices in the House.

“But that’s not true,” she said, noting that having alternative voices in Parliament is guaranteed.

The PAP amended the Constitution so that there will always be at least 12 opposition MPs, she said.

“And the opposition has not hesitated to take full advantage of this provision to its benefit.”

She was referring to the Non-Constituency MP scheme, which admits up to 12 best losers from the opposition into Parliament if they do not win constituencies outright.

“You are the ones who will decide who are constituency MPs and who are Non-Constituency MPs,” Ms Indranee said to voters.

“But it is important for you to know that it is never the case that there will be no alternative voices in Parliament. It is not a binary choice.”

Singaporeans will go to the polls on May 3.

Ms Indranee said: “In that quiet moment when you are standing in the ballot booth, you will be deciding the future of Singapore.

“That vote that you cast will decide what path our nation takes, what kind of society we will be, and which political party will form the Government, and importantly – whether the team that forms the Government will have the bench strength to do all the things that need to be done for you and for Singapore.”

Her speech was followed by seven from PAP first-time candidates David Hoe, Syed Harun Alhabsyi, Bernadette Giam, Jagathishwaran Rajo, David Neo, Hazlina Abdul Halim and Goh Hanyan.

Mr Neo, a former Chief of Army who is contesting Tampines GRC, appealed to Singapore’s youth, saying: “Our young people are discerning, thoughtful, and you care deeply about Singapore’s future.

“You know the difference between noise and action.”

He added that young voters are not looking for “fairy tales”, but are looking for leadership that secures “real opportunities”.

“You know that the future of Singapore doesn’t depend on who shouts the loudest, but on who rolls up their sleeves and gets things done,” he said.

Mr Hoe, a charity director who is contesting Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC, recounted comments that he has received about his suitability for politics.

He said people have told him: “You don’t look like any one of them. You still make grammar errors. You can’t speak effectively bilingual.”

Mr Hoe said his response is that for whatever he lacks, he will compensate with hard work.

“I will run faster, I will listen longer. I’ll write longer. I will ask for help. Why? Because at the end of the day, it is about caring for every single resident,” he said.

The former teacher added that he is standing for election because he cares about creating more access to opportunities.

Ms Goh, a former senior civil servant contesting Nee Soon GRC, said she joined politics to create a better Singapore for her three children.

To do so, Singapore must be a society with hope, she said.

“What is hope? Hope is the belief that our children will live a better life,” she said, adding that to “get hope right”, the Government must create good jobs for all.

She said: “We drastically transformed our economy from manufacturing mosquito coils and textiles to semiconductors and pharmaceuticals.

“We will continue to fight for Singapore on the global stage because, if we get hope right, tomorrow will be better than today.”

GE2025: 6 election rallies to be held on April 29​

The rallies are scheduled to run from 12pm to 3pm and 7pm to 10pm.

The rallies are scheduled to run from 12pm to 3pm, and from 7pm to 10pm.ST PHOTO: KEVIN LIM

Vihanya Rakshika
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - Six election rallies are set to take place on April 29, as political parties ramp up their campaigning efforts just four days before voters head to the polls on May 3.

The rallies are scheduled to run from 12pm to 3pm, and from 7pm to 10pm. Large crowds are expected to gather at the venues.

Details of the rallies on April 29 are as follows:

a99062790fda94e770361ee26046657b2e54e9560776295f4a8901b740cf1380

In an earlier press statement on April 24, police said rally attendees are strongly encouraged to take public transport as large crowds are expected at the venues.

Motorists travelling near the rally sites should anticipate traffic diversions and potential lane closures. They are also encouraged to tune in to radio stations for real-time traffic updates.

Carparks in the area may be reserved for season parking holders only. Vehicles that are illegally parked or are causing major obstruction risk being towed away.

Security checks will be carried out in and around the rally venues, and members of the public are advised to avoid bringing large bags or any dangerous items.

Attendees are also warned not to bring items that are disallowed at rallies, such as laser pointers, canned drinks, night sticks, fireworks and firecrackers.

Other banned items include parts of firearms, live and blank bullets, spear guns, air pistols and handcuffs.

GE2025: WP’s Faisal says contest in Tampines GRC not between him and PAP’s Masagos​

Workers' Party candidate Faisal Manap speaks to the media during a doorstop in Tampines on April 28.

Workers' Party candidate Faisal Manap speaks to the media during a doorstop in Tampines on April 28.ST PHOTO: HESTER TAN
David Sun
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - The WP’s Faisal Manap, who is leading the opposition party’s slate in Tampines GRC, said he does not see the contest as a battle between himself and the PAP’s Masagos Zulkifli, but rather as a competition between teams.

During an interview in Tampines Avenue 2 on April 28, Mr Faisal was asked about being pitted against Mr Masagos, who is the anchor minister for the PAP’s team there.

Mr Faisal said: “It’s a competition between two teams. It’s more of a team versus another team, so I don’t see myself going against Masagos.

“But again, being in a GRC, which is a system established by the PAP, you must have a minority. And here I am, you know, a minority for my team.”

Mr Faisal, an incumbent MP for Aljunied GRC who oversaw the Kaki Bukit ward, was moved to contest Tampines GRC in the upcoming election.

WP chief Pritam Singh previously said Mr Faisal had been asking him for “quite a long time” to contest in the constituency.

Besides Mr Faisal, the five-member WP team in Tampines GRC comprises Mr Jimmy Tan, Dr Ong Lue Ping, Ms Eileen Chong and Mr Michael Thng.

The PAP team comprises incumbents Mr Masagos, who is Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs, Mr Baey Yam Keng and Dr Koh Poh Koon, and new faces Charlene Chen and David Neo.

Aside from the PAP and WP, teams from the National Solidarity Party and People’s Power Party are also contesting in a rare four-cornered fight in Tampines GRC.

During the interview on April 28, Mr Faisal was also asked about self-styled religious teacher Noor Deros, who claimed he had spoken to all the Malay candidates from the WP. Mr Noor is not authorised to teach religion in Singapore.

Mr Noor had said that the WP had taken seriously his call to raise in Parliament issues surrounding the regulation of Islam in Singapore. He had also criticised Mr Masagos and pushed for support for Mr Faisal.

The WP had disputed Mr Noor’s claims, with Mr Singh saying: “If this gentleman thinks that his advocacy will lead to the issues being brought up by the Workers’ Party, I think he is sadly mistaken.”

Mr Faisal said on April 28 that he is open to meeting everyone to listen to them, and has pressed for open conversations in Parliament even for sensitive topics.

“There’re so many things that I press for in Parliament which are deemed as sensitive, but I tell them that that’s the right way to move forward. We must believe in the value of unity in diversity,” he said.

“It doesn’t mean that when we listen to people, that we agree with them. We acknowledge them, we listen to them, to show that we respect your views, but it doesn’t mean that we agree with you.”

Asked if he had anything to say to voters influenced by Mr Noor, Mr Faisal said: “I believe that all voters are smart enough to consider, to weigh the different factors and to weigh the different arguments.”

He added: “So I leave it to the intelligence of the voters, and I respect the voters’ decision to vote whoever they want to vote.”

He also said that in his time in Kaki Bukit, he has not felt a divide between himself and Chinese residents just because he is a Malay Muslim, and does not think this is a hurdle in Tampines GRC either.

“I don’t think there’s any issue with me being a minority, that I cannot represent or become the voice of the Chinese majority in Tampines GRC,” he said.

GE2025: Is my vote really secret?​

The Straits Times looks at how ballot papers are accounted for on Polling Day and in the days after.

The Straits Times looks at how ballot papers are accounted for on Polling Day and in the days after.PHOTO: ST FILE

Vanessa Paige Chelvan
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – As Singaporeans prepare to head to the polls on May 3, some might be wondering: “Is my vote really secret?”

To answer this question, The Straits Times looks at how ballot papers are collected, counted and accounted for on Polling Day and in the days after.

This is part of a series of explainers and listicles The Straits Times has put together ahead of the polls.

Let’s start with the question: Why is there a serial number on each ballot paper?

The serial number​

A serial number on the ballot paper allows for the accounting of all ballot papers issued and cast, and guards against counterfeiting and voter impersonation.

When the ballot paper is issued, the voter serial number is written on the ballot paper counterfoil to facilitate the detection of illegally cast votes if necessary.

These serial numbers also allow the authorities to verify that only eligible voters have voted – for instance, in the event of a court order following an election petition or a challenge to the result.

But ballot papers may be examined only under strict conditions, and safeguards are in place to make it difficult to find out how any particular individual voted.

Such an order will only be given if the court is satisfied that votes were fraudulently cast or that counterfeit ballot papers were used in a way that affects the election results.

Before polls open​

Steps are taken at every polling station to ensure that votes are kept secret.

Before the start of the poll, the boxes are sealed in such a way that ballot papers cannot be removed without breaking the tamper-proof seals.

And before polls open at 8am on Polling Day, election officials must show the candidates and polling agents at their station that the ballot boxes and their covers are empty.

After polls close​

Once voting ends at 8pm on Polling Day, the slits in the ballot boxes – through which voters drop their marked ballot papers – are sealed to prevent anything else from being dropped in.

When election officials have sealed the ballot boxes after polls close, candidates may affix their seals or sign on the ballot boxes.

Candidates may also observe the transport of the sealed ballot boxes, which is carried out under police escort from the polling station to the designated counting centre. Police officers will guard the ballot boxes throughout the journey.

As votes are counted​

Votes are counted by hand at counting centres – typically schools or community centres – across Singapore.

At the counting centre, candidates may once again inspect the ballot boxes before they are opened.

This time, it is to check that all boxes are accounted for and that the seals have not been tampered with.

The seals are then broken, the ballot papers poured out, sorted and counted.

The emptied ballot boxes are also shown to candidates.

The ink from the X-stamp that voters can use to mark their votes is permanent and cannot be erased.

To ensure the security of the votes, there is no break in the chain of custody of the ballot papers from the polling stations to the counting centres, and from the counting centres to the Supreme Court.

If ballot papers are lost or destroyed before counting, and the number of missing votes affects the result, fresh polls will be held.

In such a scenario, all voters assigned to the affected polling station will have to recast their votes.

This has never happened in Singapore.

1ad402ec977dd11b449fb7625275aec907237653ab6c9b86edd2e2f4c8816138

When the result is announced​

Once the election result is announced by the Returning Officer, all ballot papers and other election documents are placed into boxes and sealed.

These boxes are stored in the vault at the Supreme Court for six months before being destroyed.

For transparency, candidates and their agents may observe the destruction of the boxes.

GE2025: Sustainability a key pillar of PAP’s plans for West Coast-Jurong West GRC, says Desmond Lee​

ST20250428_202512800270 Hester Tan/  audes29 /  Exclusive interview with Desmond Lee , anchor minister for West Coast Jurong West GRC at MND Building Office on April 28, 2025

National Development Minister Desmond Lee is the anchor minister for the PAP team contesting West Coast-Jurong West GRC.ST PHOTO: HESTER TAN

Audrey Tan
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE – The heavily industrialised western parts of Singapore, often associated with factories and other manufacturing infrastructure, will get an infusion of nature and culture if the PAP candidates for West Coast-Jurong West GRC are elected.

This could include programmes to involve residents in nature appreciation or tree-planting, or grassroots sustainability initiatives such as e-waste recycling schemes or detergent refill stations.

There will also be more schemes to boost community gardening, and “green markets” that will bring residents together to buy and sell local produce or pre-loved items.

As for culture, the intention is to imbue West Coast Park with more of the area’s history, with enhancement plans transforming it into a “destination park”. Such parks are large, regional parks with thematic identities and unique features to attract visitors from all over Singapore.

The plans were laid out by Minister for National Development Desmond Lee on April 28, in an interview with The Straits Times ahead of his house visits to constituents.

Mr Lee is the anchor minister for the PAP team contesting West Coast-Jurong West GRC.

The sustainability initiatives make up one of nine pillars of a plan that Mr Lee’s team has developed for the group representation constituency. The others include initiatives to help residents cope with rising costs of living, aid job seekers in their search for good jobs, empower young people and those with disabilities, and support seniors in their old age.

The overarching plan for the GRC had been announced in a press conference on Nomination Day on April 23, just hours after it was confirmed that the PAP would once again face the opposition PSP at the polls. Both the PAP and PSP had faced off at the 2020 General Election, with the PAP winning 51.69 per cent of the vote.

The PAP team in West Coast-Jurong West GRC on April 25 detailed its plans to help residents cope with cost of living and job security concerns. On April 28, Mr Lee fleshed out plans for the green pillar.

He acknowledged that sustainability issues have not been discussed during the hustings, as voters have many other bread-and-butter concerns.

“There are many pressing issues that we need to address. People are concerned about issues like cost of living, job security, healthcare, transport, housing,” Mr Lee said.

“But some things, like climate change, are existential. And it may not be on people’s minds for the GE, but I think it deserves to be kept in the public consciousness.”

Repeating a point he made during his maiden rally speech this election on April 27, where he said that the PAP has always planned to help the country overcome present-day challenges while keeping an eye on the future, Mr Lee said it is important to plan for the long term and back this up with the discipline of good implementation.

“This is possible when you have stability,” he said. “Political stability gives us the confidence to plan long-term, gives the public service, gives the statutory boards, gives our partners the confidence to work with us to plan for the long term and know that they can commit resources to implement with discipline, because they know it will be done and there will not be flip-flops.”

Mr Lee said that projections by climate scientists have shown escalating climate impact, such as rising sea levels. Temperature records have also consistently been broken.

Planting trees can tap nature’s cooling powers to make the urban western areas more liveable, Mr Lee said, pointing to how the Jurong industrial estate suffers from the urban heat island effect, where urban areas are warmer than rural areas.

Coastal protection is another important area for West Coast-Jurong West GRC, Mr Lee said.

During the Budget debates in March, it was announced that a site-specific study looking into how Singapore’s south-western coast can be protected against sea-level rise will begin by 2026.

Tuas Port is being developed in four phases and will be the world’s largest fully automated port when completed in the 2040s.

Operations at the Tanjong Pagar, Keppel and Brani terminals will be moved to the port by 2027. Pasir Panjang Terminal will remain open until its operations are consolidated at the Tuas Port by the 2040s.

“Tuas is in West Coast-Jurong West, and it will give us the opportunity to work with residents,” Mr Lee said.

Residents have already approached him with concerns about what these developments could mean for them, in terms of property prices or the living experience there, he said.

Mr Lee added: “Residents with little kids – they want to know what’s at stake for them, long-term residents of the west, they want to know what’s going to happen when Pasir Panjang moves out.”

Singapore goes to the polls on May 3.

Besides Mr Lee, the PAP slate for West Coast-Jurong West GRC includes Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Finance and Education Shawn Huang, three-term MP Ang Wei Neng, orthopaedic surgeon Hamid Razak and lawyer Cassandra Lee.

They will be facing off against a PSP team that includes its top three leaders – party chairman Tan Cheng Bock, party chief Leong Mun Wai and first vice-chairperson Hazel Poa. The other two candidates are Mr Sumarleki Amjah, head of packaged food and business development at a food and beverage (F&B) firm, and in-house legal counsel Sani Ismail.

On a broader level, Mr Lee pointed to plans by the National Parks Board to enhance the 13 parks in the south-west, ranging from major parks, such as West Coast Park, to smaller town parks like Clementi Woods Park.

This can help to create recreational opportunities for residents, he said, and offers the opportunity to push for more greenery or heritage elements to be woven in.

“You have the East Coast Park, which is a destination park. And a lot of my residents say, ‘Why can’t West Coast Park be as good, if not better?’” Mr Lee said.

“And indeed, we are going to upgrade West Coast Park into a destination park. We’re going to make it better. We’re going to have more greenery, we’re going to let it have recreational and F&B options, heritage elements as well.”

Asked how he strikes a balance between his role as an MP and his Cabinet portfolio as Minister for National Development, who oversees Singapore’s greening strategy, Mr Lee said that all MPs, whether from the ruling party or the opposition, have the opportunity to work with the government of the day to ensure good implementation on the ground.

He also said MPs represent their voters when it comes to debating legislation, constructively critiquing policies in Parliament and raising issues of national interest.

“The third role of a Member of Parliament, and this is not discretionary, is to run the town council, and that is being an estate manager,” Mr Lee said. “You run the town council, you attend to municipal issues, you make sure the town council runs in a financially sustainable way and achieves results.”

Looking after the estate means also looking after the residents – not just raising issues in Parliament but also trying your best to resolve them, whether you are the ruling party or the opposition, Mr Lee said.

“So all these are three roles that I think should be expected of Members of Parliament, and I think all three need to be given equal weight.”

His remarks come after an exchange of views on the role of an MP between the PAP and the PSP in West Coast-Jurong West GRC.

While on the campaign trail, the PSP team had initially challenged the PAP to a debate on national policies.

The PAP’s Mr Lee in turn called on voters to ask contesting parties about their plans for the constituency. The PSP’s Mr Leong responded by saying that the main role of an MP is not to manage an estate, but to debate policy in Parliament.

GE2025: Expect more scrutiny, faux pas in the last week of hustings, say experts​

ST20250426-202547200335-Lim Yaohui-pixgeneric/Flags, posters and banner of Tampines GRC candidates from People's Action Party (PAP), Workers' Party (WP) and People’s Power Party (PPP) near Block 823 Tampines Street 81 on April 26, 2025.   Three opposition parties will duke it out in the quest to win Tampines GRC and unseat the incumbent PAP team led by Social and Family Development Minister Masagos Zulkifli. After successfully submitting their nomination papers at Poi Ching School in Tampines Street 71, the Workers' Party (WP), National Solidarity Party (NSP) and People’s Power Party (PPP) will go up against the People's Action Party (PAP) when Singaporeans go to the polls on May 3.(ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI)

Observers say voters will likely see more scrutiny of parties’ proposed policies and their past shortcomings, and to anticipate future slip ups.ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI

Anjali Raguraman
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - Amid the flurry of rallies and ripostes, new faces and new arguments, expect things to heat up even more as we head into the last third of the hustings.

As the Republic races towards the May 3 general election with a nine-day campaign that kicked off on April 23, observers say voters will likely see more scrutiny of parties’ proposed policies and their past shortcomings, and to anticipate future slip ups.

This will lead to more robust debate, with parties expected to continue using public platforms like rallies and media doorstops to “strike back” and respond to claims from the other side, said independent political observer Felix Tan.

This is especially on issues like the handling of the scuppered NTUC Income-Allianz deal, which has come to the fore in recent days, Dr Tan said.

The proposed $2.2 billion deal between NTUC’s Income Insurance and German insurer Allianz fell through after public outcry over Income’s ability to continue its social mission after the sale. The Government eventually put a stop to the deal in October 2024.

On April 26, Workers’ Party chief Pritam Singh said at a rally that no PAP labour MP had asked questions about the deal in Parliament when the issue surfaced. At another rally the next day, Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong pointed out that six PAP MPs and one WP MP had raised questions about it.

On April 28, Mr Singh countered by saying Mr Lee had “sidestepped” the issue that no labour MP spoke up about the deal. He told reporters: “It puts into perspective the ratio of how many PAP MPs there are in parliament, and how many Workers’ Party MPs there are in parliament. The ratio isn’t one is to six, it’s closer to one is to nine.”

More questions will be asked on issues such as the NTUC-Allianz saga, and there will be pressure on the ruling party to respond, observers said.

Dr Tan said: “I think there are many issues that have not been raised and answered coherently and consistently, so it leaves the door open for more questioning and for more critical analysis by the voters themselves.”

There will also be more faux pas and “people putting their feet in their mouth”, said Dr Rebecca Grace Tan, a political science lecturer at the National University of Singapore (NUS).

The Singapore Democratic Party’s (SDP) Gigene Wong went off script on April 26, using a racial slur to describe fellow candidate Ariffin Sha during a rally. The Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC candidate also mispronounced Mr Ariffin’s name, calling him “elephant” instead.

Her remarks, and especially the use of the derogatory term - historically used to demean people of Indian descent - has caused an uproar on social media. The party leadership and Dr Wong apologised publicly the next day.

“As people get more heated, you get more material, and you want to respond to other rallies...and that’s when they start improvising,” said NUS’ Dr Tan, adding that the crowds will get bigger, more responsive and candidates will get “more emotional”.

The last day of the campaign will be on May 1, when Prime Minister Lawrence Wong will hold his maiden May Day Rally. Unlike election rallies which are open to the public, PM Wong will address union leaders and tripartite partners of the National Trades Union Congress.

Dr Gillian Koh, a senior research fellow from the Institute of Policy Studies said: “Then, we expect the PAP to lay out its responses to everything from labour relations, labour issues, helping and supporting workers through troubled times...and give some facts and figures on wages.”

The experts agreed that May 1 will mark the climax of the hustings, as opposition parties will likely address points raised in the May Day Rally during their own rallies that night.

“(On May 1) I expect there will be robust debate on the PAP’s policies to help workers, income and employment security,” said Dr Koh.

Standouts in GE2025 so far​

Taking stock of the last six days of campaigning, several observers agreed that GE 2025 has stood out for having the first walkover since 2011 in Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC, and also more multi-cornered fights compared with recent GEs.

“The PAP played their hand well on Nomination Day, managing to secure a walkover in the GRC despite moving out anchor Minister Tan See Leng to Chua Chu Kang GRC, and fielding DPM Gan Kim Yong in Punggol GRC to fend off the WP challenge there,” said Professor Terence Ho, adjunct associate professor in practice at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy in NUS.

Prof Ho noted that while there had been speculation on whether the WP would move its heavyweights out of Aljunied GRC to contest adjacent constituencies, only vice-chairman Faisal Manap ended up moving to contest Tampines GRC.

“It has also proved difficult for opposition parties to coordinate among themselves to avoid multi-cornered fights this time, given the number of parties contesting and changes to electoral boundaries,” he added.

In 2025, the usual behind-the-scenes horse-trading talks between opposition parties - to hash out who competes in which constituency and avoid multi-cornered fights - fell through. Instead, most negotiations took place bilaterally between the parties.

Tampines, Sembawang and Ang Mo Kio GRCs, as well as the single seats of Radin Mas and Potong Pasir, will see multi-cornered fights.

Tampines GRC, in particular, will see a four-way fight with three opposition parties - the WP, National Solidarity Party (NSP) and People’s Power Party (PPP) going head to head to unseat the incumbent PAP.

NUS’ Dr Tan said “the narrative of abandonment” is a new one that has surfaced this year, involving a back and forth on ascribing blame to who owes the duty to the voters, and who has walked the ground.

WP attributed its decision not to contest Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC to the redrawing of electoral boundaries and the lack of resources.

SDP candidates rebutted Health Minister and Sembawang GRC anchor minister Ong Ye Kung’s claim that SDP chief Chee Soon Juan had “abandoned Bukit Batok to come to Sembawang West”.

The Bukit Batok single seat, that Dr Chee had walked the ground in for nine years, has been absorbed into the new Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

Party chairman Paul Tambyah said he could not believe Mr Ong “actually accused the candidate of abandoning his residents to go to a constituency for political agenda”.

He then took a jibe to say that he was not sure if Mr Ong was referring to his own partymates DPM Gan or Dr Tan, who moved on Nomination Day to head the PAP’s slates for Punggol and Chua Chu Kang GRCs, respectively.

The PAP and opposition parties have also trotted out familiar lines to make their respective cases for votes, said Prof Ho.

Opposition parties have emphasised the need for alternative voices in Parliament to hold the government to account, citing recent lapses in governance, he said. Meanwhile, the PAP has argued that every seat counts to give PM has the strongest possible team to take on key roles in government, particularly at a time of heightened risks and economic uncertainty.

He also noted that issues such as foreign interference in the election has emerged as a key concern, adding: “It is good that this issue has been squarely addressed by the PAP and WP leadership.”

But while these issues have dominated headlines, observers pointed out that pre-election chatter around scandals such as extramarital affairs among former members of the PAP and WP respectively; WP chief Singh’s appeal on his conviction and sentence; and former minister S Iswaran’s conviction, have quietened down.

“Compared to previous GEs, broader questions on the integrity of candidates (have not been broached yet), and we’ve not seen that narrative on trustworthiness,” said NUS’ Dr Tan.

“Perhaps it is a sign of maturing.”

GE2025: Opposition’s plans to put money in people’s pockets lack details on funding, says Grace Fu​

Chin Hui Shan
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - Opposition parties want to put more money in people’s pockets by cutting GST rates, but their proposals stop short of suggesting who will pay for their promises, said Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu on April 28.

Hitting back at the Red Dot United (RDU), whose chief Ravi Philemon had in a televised roundtable discussion on April 27 suggested cutting the goods and services tax from 9 to 7 per cent, Ms Fu said: “It is easy for the opposition to criticise. Our opposition here wants to put more money in everyone’s pocket.

“So good, such a lovely idea. But it is hard to pay for. After these nine days, after all the promises that have been made, who in the opposition is here to sign the cheques?” said Ms Fu, who is the anchor minister of the PAP team contesting Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

She added: “Who will pay for their promises? Is it the Government? The Government is only the custodian for Singapore. Ultimately, it is Singaporeans that will pay, either Singaporeans today, like you and I here, or Singaporeans of the future, your children.”

The PAP team will face the RDU at the May 3 polls.

Addressing the crowd at a rally in Jurong East stadium, Ms Fu – who was one of 12 speakers at the event – said the decision to increase the GST was not an easy one.

But the GST allows Singapore to tax tourists, as well as people who have no income here but spend on items like cars and watches, she added.

Get key highlights in the lead-up to Polling Day. You will also receive the ST Morning Briefing.
By signing up, I accept SPH Media's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy as amended from time to time.

Yes, I would also like to receive SPH Media Group's
SPH Media Limited, its related corporations and affiliates as well as their agents and authorised service providers.
marketing and promotions.
She said the Government understands the pain caused by the GST on people with low or no income, adding that this was why the GST increase is accompanied by a “permanent” support system, which includes the GST Voucher programme and other rebates to help the lower- and no-income households.

“We may be taking a chicken wing from you but we are giving you a whole chicken,” she said.

The GST was raised from 7 to 9 per cent over two years, in 2023 and 2024.

This increase has been a focal point of criticism by many opposition parties on the campaign trail, with the WP, PSP and Singapore Democratic Party calling for a rollback to 7 per cent or less to alleviate cost of living pressures.

During the RDU’s first rally on April 26, the party’s candidates had zeroed in on other bread-and-butter issues, such as public housing affordability and the cost of living.

Some candidates also portrayed the ruling party as being out of touch with the issues Singaporeans are facing, and that opposition voices are needed in Parliament so they can speak up for residents.

But Ms Fu said more debates do not give Singaporeans better policies and good governance.

She added: “We see countries with flowery debates, many different colours, many different parties, long debates in the Parliament. Do they give you better policies? They give you policies that lead nowhere.”

Acknowledging residents’ concerns about jobs and the rising cost of living, she assured them that her team knows what the residents in Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC and Jurong Central SMC are going through.

For instance, to alleviate the cost of living for residents in Yuhua, where she was the MP for 20 years, Ms Fu said initiatives such as vouchers, financial assistance as well as food rescue programmes, were rolled out. The Yuhua single seat is now part of the Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

“These initiatives give immediate help, practical help, even in the smallest of gestures, can make a difference in addressing cost of living concerns,” Ms Fu said.

She also outlined the party’s plans for those who worry about employment, including matching residents to jobs in the community, creating micro-jobs like sewing for stay-at-home residents and bringing job fairs for middle-aged workers.

Ms Fu likened the community in Jurong East-Bukit Batok and Jurong Central to a kampung where residents in the community step in to help one another.

“Over the past five years, we have lived through a turbulent time - we had the pandemic, the rise in inflation, and we watched the world become uncertain,” she said.

Ms Fu also said in Mandarin that the world may be roiled in much uncertainty, but the ruling party has extensive experience in international negotiations.

The PAP also brought the country through the Covid-19 pandemic and has the ability to stabilise the economy, she added.

“Our single-minded focus is to look after and serve you. Not just to get a ticket to the Parliament,” she said. “And we want to build a Singapore where your hard work matters, where dignity is protected, where no one is left behind.”

During the rally, Ms Fu was joined by her teammates contesting Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

They include Minister of State for Law and Transport Murali Pillai, Minister of State for Health and Digital Development and Information Rahayu Mahzam, political newcomer David Hoe, and Mr Lee Hong Chuang, who contested the Hougang single seat in the 2015 and 2020 elections.

The PAP’s candidate for Jurong Central SMC, incumbent MP Xie Yao Quan, also made a pitch to residents at the rally, which kicked off with speeches from party volunteers who drummed up support for the PAP’s slate.

The RDU is fielding a team which has two candidates with political experience in Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

They include entrepreneur and author Liyana Dhamirah, who was a RDU candidate for Jurong GRC in 2020, and waste management company director Osman Sulaiman, who was a Singapore People’s Party candidate in 2020.

The RDU team is rounded out by contemporary artist Benjamin Puah, marketing agency director Marcus Neo and principal software engineer Harish Mohanadas.

GE2025: Murali warns against populism, polarisation taking root in S’pore politics​

Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC team member, Murali Pillai speaking during the rally at Jurong East Stadium, on Apr 28, 2025.hsrally28 / ssrally28

Minister of State for Law and Transport Murali Pillai speaking at the PAP rally at the Jurong East Stadium on April 28.ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR

Syarafana Shafeeq
Apr 28, 2025

SINGAPORE - The dysfunctional political systems seen in some bigger and more advanced countries must never take root in Singapore, Minister of State for Law and Transport Murali Pillai said on April 28.

He said he heard a commentator in a podcast attributing such dysfunctional systems to three reasons - populism, polarisation and post-truth.

Speaking at the PAP rally at the Jurong East Stadium, he cited an example of how one opposition MP had highlighted the plight of local businesses and how they are suffering from high costs during the Budget debate in February.

Another MP from the same party said workers’ wages are too low and should be higher, he added, without naming either MP or their party.

“Now, if both messages were said by the same person, the audience will be confused. If the cost is too high, how can wages be too low?” said Mr Murali, a PAP candidate in the new Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

“It can, if you are a populist.”

One statement will sound good to small and medium enterprise bosses, while the other would appeal to workers, he said.

“These are not hard truths. These are half-truths, and they create a house of cards at the end of the day,” added Mr Murali, who has been the MP for the Bukit Batok ward since 2016. The SMC was absorbed into the new GRC following the revision of the electoral boundaries in 2025.

A “more nuanced speech”, which would be difficult, would be needed if one “really wants to make a difference”, he said. This would require acknowledging that not all businesses are struggling, and not all workers are underpaid.

“The right thing to do” would be to identify the businesses and workers who are struggling, and take steps to resolve their issues, he said.

Mr Murali added: “What would be irresponsible is to turn workers against businesses. That is polarisation.”

The 57-year-old also spoke about the “dramatically changed” world order, brought on by the trade war between the US and China, and how this may affect jobs and livelihoods.

For Singapore to survive, its political leaders must work hard on the ground on national affairs and in the international arena, he added.

The “highest standards of behaviour”, as well as values like honesty, integrity and character are non-negotiable for politicians, Mr Murali said. Responsibility is also important, he stressed.

“In life, things can go wrong. When they go wrong, politicians should not duck. They should accept responsibility, square with Singaporeans and make the system stronger.”

He recounted how he “took political responsibility” for a fire in a rental flat in Bukit Batok in 2019. A woman died, and it was discovered that the water riser had been accidentally switched off. The riser was managed by a town council contractor.

Mr Murali said his team helped to take care of the woman’s funeral expenses and found the family lawyers to claim compensation, among others.

An employee of the contractor was eventually fined for negligence, while the riser system has since been modified such that an alarm goes off if the system is switched off, Mr Murali added.

His GRC teammates - Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu, Minister of State Rahayu Mahzam, newcomer David Hoe, and PAP’s former Hougang candidate Lee Hong Chuang - also spoke at the rally. So, too, did Mr Xie Yao Quan, the PAP candidate for the new Jurong Central SMC.

Mr Xie acknowledged that “the PAP is not perfect. It has never been”.

“It does not have all the right answers all the time, and it does not get everything right every time. But it has done well, and it has done right by Singaporeans,” the 40-year-old said.

He cited “important policies” from the PAP government, such as the Silver Support Scheme and Workfare Income Supplement.

“And while it is not perfect, I can tell you that the PAP is determined to keep becoming better, and do ever better for Singapore and Singaporeans.”

PAP Jurong Central?SMC candidate, Xie Yao Quan, during the rally at Jurong East Stadium on Apr 28, 2025. /hsrally28 / ssrally28

The PAP’s Jurong Central candidate Xie Yao Quan speaking at the rally at the Jurong East Stadium on April 28.ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
The PAP candidates all spoke of specific incidents where they have helped residents in the area.

For example, Ms Rahayu, who has overseen Bukit Batok East for the last decade, said she helped a retrenched father get support with his career transition and interim assistance with utilities and household expenses. He eventually bounced back on his feet, she said.

Ms Rahayu added: “Residents of Bukit Batok East, you know me. You have seen me. I may not be everywhere every time, but you know what I have been doing. You know my heart. You have seen me work and walk with you.”

The PAP candidates spoke of plans for infrastructural improvements if they are elected, such as sheltered walkways and barrier-free access, and opportunities for residents there to connect with one another.

These are in addition to more community help schemes, with the likes of study awards and active ageing programmes already implemented there.

Mr Xie said: “I deeply respect the opposition candidates for stepping forward as loyal Singaporeans and presenting themselves as a choice to fellow Singaporeans.

“But I must also say, all the candidates in the PAP… are loyal Singaporeans too.”

He asked voters to choose the candidates who would best serve and represent them.

Mr Xie said: “The PAP has always been with you, and the PAP will always continue to be with you.”