• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gan: More job losses expected

metalslug

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_359791.html

More job losses expected
By Lee Hui Chieh

ALPHONSUS-CHERN.jpg

Earlier estimates for the number of people laid off in the first three months of this year put it at more than 10,000. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN

UNEMPLOYMENT and retrenchment rates in the first three months of this year are likely to be higher than in the last three months of last year, Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong said on Sunday.
Speaking to reporters ahead of the release of the first quarter's figures this month, he said the economy was not out of the woods.

He also noted that more retrenchment notices went out in the first quarter than in the previous one.

In the last quarter of last year, unemployment was 3.7 per cent for Singaporeans, up slightly from the 3.3 per cent from the third quarter. If laid-off foreigners are included, the number of people retrenched in the last quarter of last year was 7,500, three times more than the quarter before.

Earlier estimates for the number of people laid off in the first three months of this year put it at more than 10,000.

With the downturn expected to last a few more quarters, Mr Gan said stemming unemployment and retrenchments and helping workers cope with the downturn were top on his list of priorities now.

He said: 'What's more important now is to focus on managing the downturn, managing costs so we can save more jobs.'

He wants more employers and workers on board the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (Spur), which gives employers higher training subsidies so they will retrain rather than retrench workers.

The four-month-old programme, which has enrolled more than 43,000 workers from more than 700 companies so far, has been successful in staving off some retrenchments by helping companies save costs.

metalslug

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/420260/1/.html

Unemployment rate for Q1 likely to be higher than Q4 2008
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 05 April 2009 1618 hrs

phpVmyI6U.jpg

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: With the first three months of 2009 just over, Singapore's Manpower Minister, Gan Kim Yong, said the unemployment rate for the first quarter of this year is likely to be higher than the last three months of 2008.

Speaking to reporters at a community event on Sunday, he said while his ministry is seeing more retrenchment notices being issued, schemes like the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (SPUR) is helping companies cut costs to save jobs.

Detailed statistics about the job market in the first quarter of this year will be released shortly, said the manpower minister.

But as the economy has yet to recover, the ministry's immediate focus is the unemployment situation and it will continue pressing on with the various schemes like SPUR and Jobs Credit Scheme to tackle the downturn.

Mr Gan said: "SPUR, Jobs Credit Scheme and the Workfare Income Supplement Scheme - so many programmes have been put in place, and we will continue to work hard with the tripartite partners to help our workers cope with the downturn.

"But we cannot just focus on the downturn. We still have to focus on the longer term fundamental issues, such as re-employment, employment of older workers and women. This is because when the economy recovers, the labour market will tighten again and so we must ensure we have this source of workers to support our economic growth in future."

Mr Gan believes SPUR has been very successful in the last four months. He said it has helped many companies reduce the number of workers who could have ended up being retrenched. With SPUR in place, some companies have decided to defer retrenchment and make a decision later.

But how quickly the Singapore economy recovers depends much on external factors like the global economy's performance.

Mr Gan said: "We must prepare ourselves for another few quarters of downturn. What is more important now is to focus on managing the downturn and managing costs so that we can save more jobs.

"Sometimes during a downturn, restructuring is inevitable and some retrenchments are unavoidable. If employees are retrenched, we want to reach out to them to help them to upgrade themselves and increase their employability so that they can find jobs faster."

Mr Gan added that there are several sectors in Singapore which have job openings and his message to job seekers is to be flexible and consider sectors they may not have worked in before.

- CNA/yt

popdod

With the downturn expected to last a few more quarters, Mr Gan said stemming unemployment and retrenchments and helping workers cope with the downturn were top on his list of priorities now.

He said: 'What's more important now is to focus on managing the downturn, managing costs so we can save more jobs.'

He wants more employers and workers on board the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (Spur), which gives employers higher training subsidies so they will retrain rather than retrench workers.

Tio retrenched, no $$$ to eat rice liao...still wanna go for simi courses.
Got guarantee + warranty + chopped after retraining course got jobs?

If no jobs, then whatz next?
Retrain again?

:o :rolleyes: :o

>>>Earlier estimates for the number of people laid off in the first three months of this year put it at more than 10,000. <<<

Mostly Pink ICers?

Watchman

I see the distasteful Singaporean mannerism !

I wonder how to punish each and every one of them !

This economic downturn is the only way to go !

Specialists at stating the obvious and making motherhood statements.

The SINgaporeasn are loosing their jobs, those with PINK IDENTITY cards, while this person in times like this, is getting a raise from a promotion, an acting minister to a full minister.

You looses income, he is getting an increment, what an irony!...SINgaporeans, you deserve it!:o

CB Manpower minisuck only got 2 zhao (strokes)

1st zhao : retrain and retrain

2nd zhao : dun be too selective, just work for bare minimum will do

:oIo::oIo:

CB Manpower minisuck only got 2 zhao (strokes)

1st zhao : retrain and retrain

2nd zhao : dun be too selective, just work for bare minimum will do

:oIo::oIo:

Retrain to do what?????, from an investment banker retrain to be a worker cleaning tables in a food court!

must eat humble pie or not? ( ask Devan!)

selective....can I be a Minister mentor, senior minister?? or prime minister?....I am not very selctive!...clean tables, sweep floor, drive bus, drive taxis..work in a factory if there is one...is not for me? I am not very selective...

nickers9

Tio retrenched, no $$$ to eat rice liao...still wanna go for simi courses.
Got guarantee + warranty + chopped after retraining course got jobs?

If no jobs, then whatz next?
Retrain again?

:o :rolleyes: :o

How come I never see any PAP Ministers go for retraining?

For example LKY or LHL? Or Wang Kan Seng or Nathan?

How come the ones mention above never go for retraining when they make mistakes in their policies?

They should go for retraining to straighten up their thoughts rite?

they want us to take any job, want us to get pay like blanga. but on the other hand, they tax us like hell. no way, most of the job , FW take can live on.

Thanks Gan Kim Yong for reminding us how useless he was and also put the blame on Lim Swee Say that his stupid Job Credit Scheme doesn't work. See how stubborn these mintoots are? Always to take note that our billion dollar reserves have in fact utilised to help foreigners keep job, so much for our taxpayers money.