• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gan: CPF Life annuity scheme payout not guaranteed

Lee Hsien Tau

http://todayinsingapore.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/your-cpf-is-it-really-secure/

Your CPF: Is It Really Secure?
By todayinsingapore

Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong assured Singaporeans they will receive a monthly payout from the Central Provident Fund (CPF) Life annuity scheme for the rest of their lives, but he could not guarantee the amount paid. Strange, because anyone can purchase an annuity from a private company and they will guarantee the monthly payment over a period for which the premium is paid. As the aim of the CPF Life scheme is to provide the elderly poor with a secure retirement income, a flustered Member of Parliament (MP) Ho Geok Choo had to ask, "Where is the security when payouts are not guaranteed?"

The explanation from MP for Jurong GRC Halimah Yacob shades some light, "One cannot be certain what will happen years down the road if we have a different government in power and how they will treat their obligations to Singaporeans." In a twist on Goh Chok Tong's threat to turn constituencies into slums if they vote for the wrong political party, it is not difficult to infer that she is saying the citizens' CPF savings are being held as ransom to ensure the perpetuity of her political masters.

One thing's for certain, the way her political party has been treating their obligations to Singaporeans has been pretty shabby.

Thanks to one octogenarian's stubborn ideas about a welfare state, Singapore introduced CPF in 1955 as a compulsory savings scheme so that all workers have to fend for themselves in their retirement years. Under the scheme, a part of the workers' monthly income is set aside, accumulating till retirement age when the savings can be withdrawn. Or so they promised.

And since the state does not provide for health care needs, Medisave was introduced to tap into CPF savings for hospitalization expenses for themselves and their dependents.

In 1984 Howe Yoon Chong jeopardised his Minister for Health post with his then controversial proposal to raise the age for the withdrawal of CPF, but his successors seem to be emboldened to do worse. New laws were passed to postpone the age for withdrawal of the CPF funds from 55 to 62, and then 65.

Despite having attained the eligible age for withdrawal, a stipulated sum was still retained by the CPF board under the CPF Minimum Sum Scheme. CPF members were encouraged to participate in government annuity scheme CPF Life or buy approved life annuities with their Minimum Sum to give them a guaranteed income for life. Alternatively, they may place their savings with approved banks or continue to keep it with the CPF Board.

The latest law, passed without a whimper, legislates that from 2013, those who turn 55 and have more than $40,000 in their Retirement Account will be automatically included in CPF Life. No mention is made if provision is available to opt out of this scheme.

How true the words ring, "Repression is a bit like making love. The first time you have pangs of conscience, a bit of guilt. The second time you get more brazen, and you dig your heels in …"

Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong assured Singaporeans they will receive a monthly payout from the Central Provident Fund (CPF) Life annuity scheme for the rest of their lives, but he could not guarantee the amount paid.

Can you trust your govt when they likes to increase the CPF withdrawal age? Be careful. Pls dun think like a balless and brainless sinkie, open your eyes and brain.

CB Kia tonychat,

open your mind or brain???

:oIo::oIo: PSLE english fail huh

angie II

Strange, because anyone can purchase an annuity from a private company and they will guarantee the monthly payment over a period for which the premium is paid.

se62s6.jpg

"PAPee is not a private company but Singapore Inc."

Originally Posted by Lee Hsien Tau

Strange, because anyone can purchase an annuity from a private company and they will guarantee the monthly payment over a period for which the premium is paid.

The sinkie country suddenly becomes an insurance country overnight. Amazing.

but remember they are a better insurance company because they can pay you till death even you live till 1000 years old. BUt only IF you believe them. And they are trying very hard to make that happen.

Leegimeremover

http://todayinsingapore.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/your-cpf-is-it-really-secure/

There are implications by making the statements that the Leegime did. A private company makes that kind of guarantee based on the going concern premise. CPF Life is a sovereign state run pension with no sovereign guarantee. Leegime is implying that it is not representing a nation nor a company with on-going concern nor is responsible for running the fund effectively but yet makes the scheme compulsory.

It is tantamount to a loan shark taking your money forceably to gamble every year, saying that if heads he wins and may give some, tails you lose and there is nothing you can do.

Where is the responsibility of the State in all this? We must remember that the CPF pension is not even inflation adjusted as a pooled fund with fixed tight range band nominal returns. The State is telling you it cannot even manage the fund to provide citizens more than 5-% returns to pay you for 20 years? Do not forget, your CPF Life sum gets withheld from 55 to earn 10 years worth of interest or is used for government investment for 10 years.

Unless Leegime is trying to say it screwed up in its population policy and in the next 20 years, we could see 1 million people above the age of 65 who the overwhelming majority constitute the initial 2 million Singaporeans of this island during Independence?