• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

from edmwer asking : is the singapore dream dead?

gsbslut

Stupidman
https://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/threads/is-the-singapore-dream-dead.6961651/

When you were young, your parents told you to study hard, do well in exams, next time can afford condo, car, move up in social status.

Now, the dream is dead? You grow up, you realise you can only afford HDB flat. You cannot afford a car because of COE, take bus/mrt. What you earn is returned to gahmen thru increasing GST.

Everything is increasing in price - water, utilities, bus fare, conservancy charges - and the gahmen says if you can afford, do more to help the needy and pay more.

In the end, you start to ask yourself why do you work hard for? You get squeezed hard, your life see marginal improvements, you end up neither here nor there, cannot afford landed or condo, no car. There is nothing to aspire for. Even having kids is just to add on to your burden.

So are we really better off now? Did our standard of living improve? We laugh at Malaysia but they don’t earn much and drive car and live in landed. They don’t have GST.

What are we actually working for?

sbfuncle

I think is written by edmw boomer. The kids is still living the sg dream currently. He should tell or ask the kids instead of telling or asking the adults and boomers. Becos the sg dream is meant for kids not for adult to dream. The adults cannot dream for the kids too :cool:

If he is still asking the question means he is still dreaming.... wake up you fool

birdie69

When you were young, your parents told you to study hard, do well in exams, next time can afford condo, car, move up in social status.

Now, the dream is dead? You grow up, you realise you can only afford HDB flat. You cannot afford a car because of COE, take bus/mrt. What you earn is returned to gahmen thru increasing GST.

Everything is increasing in price - water, utilities, bus fare, conservancy charges - and the gahmen says if you can afford, do more to help the needy and pay more.

In the end, you start to ask yourself why do you work hard for? You get squeezed hard, your life see marginal improvements, you end up neither here nor there, cannot afford landed or condo, no car. There is nothing to aspire for. Even having kids is just to add on to your burden.

So are we really better off now? Did our standard of living improve? We laugh at Malaysia but they don’t earn much and drive car and live in landed. They don’t have GST.

I am trying to realise my dream in Malaysia, but problem to get PR approved by the relevant authority in Malaysia

congo9

Getting mudlaysia to give you PR is like going to the moon. It's not hard but it's very difficulty.

If you change your religion, go for prayers every Friday. Get to know the people inside the council. Then you can actually get it done.

True Believer

Now, the dream is dead? You grow up, you realise you can only afford HDB flat. You cannot afford a car because of COE, take bus/mrt. What you earn is returned to gahmen thru increasing GST. Everything is increasing in price - water, utilities, bus fare, conservancy charges - and the gahmen says if you can afford, do more to help the needy and pay more.
In the end, you start to ask yourself why do you work hard for? You get squeezed hard, your life see marginal improvements, you end up neither here nor there, cannot afford landed or condo, no car. There is nothing to aspire for. Even having kids is just to add on to your burden. So are we really better off now? Did our standard of living improve? We laugh at Malaysia but they don’t earn much and drive car and live in landed. They don’t have GST. What are we actually working for?
Based on my conversations with younger colleagues, they have lost hope of achieving the S'pore Dream that I had fresh out of NUS. My wife and I dreamt of owning a private property, car, enjoying overseas vacations every year etc. We achieved those dreams, and now look forward to early retirement. The problem is that most of the young white collar workers today no longer have this dream owing to the astronomical cost of living. The COE for Cat B hit $150,000 this month, while private properties are well and truly out of the reach of 80% of residents here. Most of the young who grew up living in the HDB heartlands and relying on public transport have little hope of ever upgrading their standard of living if they remain in S'pore.

Loofydralb

Have you not figured it out? That dream was meant for CECAkroaches.
Good job goes to CECAkroaches.
Good pay goes to CECAkroaches.
Good schools goes to CECAkroaches. They go to international schools, not like you poor Sinkies kids, having to go through the neighbourhood schools with cranky paranoid sex depraved men and women teachers.
Good homes end up being occupied by CECAkroaches. They live in condos while you live among lowlives who spit at every corner.
Best part is, foreigners are inside your parliament!

Here's free advise. MIGRATE!!!!
For the sake of your next generation.

dredd

Not him. He feels so rich.

Lim-Swee-Say-rich-CPF.jpg

True Believer

The elites are extremely good at replicating themselves through their children. As such, upward mobility is far more difficult to achieve than it was during my time as a young man. S'pore ranks 4th in the World Cronyism Index according to The Economist, Forbes and IMF. That means we have the 4th highest % of billionaires who have family or personal links to our politicians.

every sinkie elite generates generational wealth sexcept one goh family where one offspring degenerate burns cash and goodwill like zermatt downing 69 plates of nasty lemak in 69 minutes.