• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Friendly Taxi Driver - Beware

Read somewhere here someone complained about Singapore's taxi driver. Well I had me fair share last evening.

Called a cab to go to the airport. When downstairs saw the cab already waiting. Was struggling with these towards the cab with these -

8D409C69-1C05-462B-A1F4-F4B17927A3F7-137-00000008A092145A.jpg

Stopped about 15m away and waved at the driver (hoping he will help), he looked at me gave a big smile and waved back and continued to sit there. When I was at the back of the car he did not get up. I had to open the trunk myself and then load up everything myself. When I opened the door to get in he again gave me a big "Colgate" smile and greeted me as if nothing happened.

I was very mad and wated to take down his particular to give NTUC Comfort my feedback for them to improve their service to my surprise I could not find the driver's work pass which is normally on the dashboard or on the windscreen. See here the plastic pocket which is supposed to hold his pass:

D883E335-03D8-4BED-9ABC-D4990893FD37-2777-000002D193588EF0.jpg

I then wondered if this is a licensed driver or a pretend driver.

I did not speak to him throughout because I was fuming mad but I still hope that he will help me later.

This is the guy:

612E880C-F317-440C-B618-68EDE0FCBAE6-2777-000002D7BAB39916.jpg

When I arrived at the airport and gave him the money he took my $50 and took a long time to give me back the change so I no choice got out and got out to get a trolley and then opened the trunk myself and unloaded all my staff, all this while he was sitting inside waiting and waiting. I very angry and did not want to get the change from him and also did not want to close the trunk door waiting for him to get out.

He finally got out gave me the change and again with a big "Darlie" smile said "thank you" to me and also "oh you finish already ha?" all the while head shaking left right left right left right. I did not even want to answer him and quickly took this picture and bugger off.

64CA24E6-3705-4A1D-A1B7-25DB45A351B8-2777-000002E2747347CE.jpg

This is my receipt.

4AEEC54E-5128-4F37-9303-8E8F57128AE9-2777-000002E256C2895D.jpg

Ok I believe there is no law to say that taxi drivers must help passengers in Singapore however from all my traveling all over the world the least the driver could do is to show some care and concern with struggling customers and get up from their fat ass and offer some form of help, it could be simply carrying your small shopping bag or something. I did encountered a driver in Hong Kong before who got out help me pull my luggage but apologized profusely that he is not able to help me load up because of bad back and I felt thankfully sorry for him.

Many Singapore taxi drivers are like this guy who simply refuse to help or at lease show some care. I really hate it when this guy show me his perfect white teeth and big smile and shake his head left right left right left right and pretended nothing happened.

8CBD7CC4-C316-49C8-B496-95540EE702AD-2777-000002D194381FA5.jpg

WTF! Your place to airport is SGD 32.65!! KNN, Not too long ago, only slightly more than 20 dollars. Sometimes 20 dollars even got change.

You're not wrong it's only $21.90 slightly more than your expectation but look at al the +++

taxi driver saw you were wearing a relax watch. so he relac lah.

You're not wrong it's only $21.90 slightly more than your expectation but look at al the +++
Wah Lan Eh, all the +++ is already more than 50% of the fare. No wonder taxi driver is lazy.

hello joe,

you should have confronted the taxi driver on the spot, instead of ranting on a useless forum.

that is why singapore is the way it is today. all talk, little action.

taxi driver saw you were wearing a relax watch. so he relac lah.

Knn early morning kenna suan. But seriously I hate pretemders like this keeper smiling and thanking me and head and neck like dancing cobra left right left right. Knn really 见鬼了!

WTF! Your place to airport is SGD 32.65!! KNN, Not too long ago, only slightly more than 20 dollars. Sometimes 20 dollars even got change.

walao eh bro chon, u how long never take taxi to airport in SG already? :rolleyes: :D

Old uncle may not be aware to help. Younger ones maybe. The problem in Singapore is that tipping is not compulsory, that is why cab drivers adopt a heck care attitute. It would also be helpful if you open your mouth and ask politely that you need some help.

well is sinkie, why do you expect them to carry ur luggage at the first place?

Hi there joetys

1. Sinkie mentality is generally like that these days. SMRT now have a video which shows a man giving way to a schoolgirl on a bus, and they consider this as an act of kindness. Don't hold your breath expecting greater "acts of kindness" in SG these days. You're probably lucky that he smiled at you and asked u if everything was all right. There are worse cases. Not surprising considering that sinkies nowadays are considered good, kind and decent people, if they are good to their family members. Forget about strangers, there's no benefit in being good to them.

2. Thanks for the 4D number. ;)

3. Beware of the "monk".

walao eh bro chon, u how long never take taxi to airport in SG already? :rolleyes: :D
Last time took a taxi not too long, about 8 months ago.

Still remember the Airport to home is always more expensive than the Home to airport fares especially if return after midnight surcharge. Now I see the peak hour surcharge of 25% for 7pm which is quite a lot. Not sure what is define as peak hour liaoz. Don't tell me 1600 -2300 hrs.

And how come got ERP? Joetys, did you use PIE instead or ECP? I remember Portsdown Road/ECP route no ERP leh.

Hi there joetys

1. Sinkie mentality is generally like that these days. SMRT now have a video which shows a man giving way to a schoolgirl on a bus, and they consider this as an act of kindness.

JW, if like that is kindness, then I am very very very kind liaoz. This is call "zhi tong" or automatic. :)

hello joe,

you should have confronted the taxi driver on the spot, instead of ranting on a useless forum.

that is why singapore is the way it is today. all talk, little action.

Amitabha Loong poo.

1. I was rushing to check in as my flight was 8.50pm

2. I did not want to waste time argue with a person who has no heart in the first place

3. I came in here this morning to share my bad experience and if possible warn fellow forumers

4. I had already made an official report to Comfort last night to let the driver's company handle this

Ommmm Amitabha Hari Hari Krishna

Last time took a taxi not too long, about 8 months ago.

Still remember the Airport to home is always more expensive than the Home to airport fares especially if return after midnight surcharge. Now I see the peak hour surcharge of 25% for 7pm which is quite a lot. Not sure what is define as peak hour liaoz. Don't tell me 1600 -2300 hrs.

And how come got ERP? Joetys, did you use PIE instead or ECP? I remember Portsdown Road/ECP route no ERP leh.

Alamak sure Portsdown ECP la

does your thread come with _ guess which race ?

Wait kenna fuck for nothing, I already wrote head left right left right like dancing cobra this is as far as I dare to venture looney

I think you are slightly off
OK, me just check.

23:59 - 0600 = midnight charge (50% of fare).
06:00 - 0900 = morning peak hour charge
18:00 - 23:59 = night peak hour charge

18:00-20:00 call peak hour still acceptable. KNN, 2200-23:59 also can call peak hour?

well is sinkie, why do you expect them to carry ur luggage at the first place?

If you shopping for a short and promoter just sit there cho-bo-lan you think you dulan or nor?