• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fresh Graduates Have Too High Expectations Perhaps?

Porfirio Rubirosa

Employment worries of graduates
Tuesday, 23 December 2008, 7:49 am | 450 views
The writer of this article wishes to remain anonymous.

For the coming batch of fresh graduates, there will be no doubt that employment will be the biggest worry on their minds. With the financial crisis, companies will be facing serious cash flow problems due to stricter lending policies by the banks. Not only are the banks (one of the biggest employers in the past) cutting the number of graduate hires, corporations in other industries will also be doing the same. In addition, retrenched workers will inevitably be fighting for a smaller number of jobs with fresh graduates.

There are serious implications to the graduate glut this employment season. For one, we are sure that many graduates will be forced to take on temporary contract assignments. What about the graduates who fail to find any decent employment? Are they expected to work on temporary assignments for say, $6 - 7 dollars an hour? How will this pay enable them to pay for sustainable support for their retiring parents and their marriage plans?

A decision to take on an undergraduate degree programme is an expensive one. The opportunity cost is 3 to 4 years of experience and wages applicable to an A level holder or a diploma holder. Assuming the prospect works for $1500 a month for that 3 to 4 years (including a compounding rate of 4% to take into consideration inflation rate and real growth rate of money), the amount could be up to $73,000. Along with this opportunity cost, we add the tuition fees of approximately $30,000 for a 3 to 4 year course in a local institution and we discover that the real cost of undertaking a graduate programme is about $100,000 SGD. With this amount of investment, how do you expect any graduate to even consider marriage, child birth or taking care of retiring parents? To add to this amount, we know to consider that a tuition loan charges the graduate interest soon after his graduation, therefore the expected amount might increase even more!

As an undergraduate leaving school in the coming month of May, I worry about landing a job and facing the huge tuition loan ahead. At the age of 24, I also wonder how long before I can even start thinking about getting married and having my first child. In this light, I can confidently say that the birthrate will not increase. The quality of life, which is heavily dependent on job security, will be affected. With more stress and uncertainty, our work efficiency will also be affected.

The process of graduate recruitment is at best, at a crawling pace. The graduates and the retrenched are now fighting for a smaller pool of jobs. I wonder if the government will address this pressing issue soon. On a final note, finding employment, to a graduate, is not just about finding financial independence. It is the answer to one’s social and emotional security, the solution to retire their tuition loans and the only tool to start a family and to support their retiring parents.

———–

About the author

The writer is a first class honours student from a local university with double majors in Banking and Finance and Marketing. He remains jobless at the point of writing this essay. Graduate recruitments programmes usually end around November to early January period

lifeafter41

Employment worries of graduates
Tuesday, 23 December 2008, 7:49 am | 450 views
The writer of this article wishes to remain anonymous.

For the coming batch of fresh graduates, there will be no doubt that employment will be the biggest worry on their minds. With the financial crisis, companies will be facing serious cash flow problems due to stricter lending policies by the banks. Not only are the banks (one of the biggest employers in the past) cutting the number of graduate hires, corporations in other industries will also be doing the same. In addition, retrenched workers will inevitably be fighting for a smaller number of jobs with fresh graduates.

There are serious implications to the graduate glut this employment season. For one, we are sure that many graduates will be forced to take on temporary contract assignments. What about the graduates who fail to find any decent employment? Are they expected to work on temporary assignments for say, $6 - 7 dollars an hour? How will this pay enable them to pay for sustainable support for their retiring parents and their marriage plans?

A decision to take on an undergraduate degree programme is an expensive one. The opportunity cost is 3 to 4 years of experience and wages applicable to an A level holder or a diploma holder. Assuming the prospect works for $1500 a month for that 3 to 4 years (including a compounding rate of 4% to take into consideration inflation rate and real growth rate of money), the amount could be up to $73,000. Along with this opportunity cost, we add the tuition fees of approximately $30,000 for a 3 to 4 year course in a local institution and we discover that the real cost of undertaking a graduate programme is about $100,000 SGD. With this amount of investment, how do you expect any graduate to even consider marriage, child birth or taking care of retiring parents? To add to this amount, we know to consider that a tuition loan charges the graduate interest soon after his graduation, therefore the expected amount might increase even more!

As an undergraduate leaving school in the coming month of May, I worry about landing a job and facing the huge tuition loan ahead. At the age of 24, I also wonder how long before I can even start thinking about getting married and having my first child. In this light, I can confidently say that the birthrate will not increase. The quality of life, which is heavily dependent on job security, will be affected. With more stress and uncertainty, our work efficiency will also be affected.

The process of graduate recruitment is at best, at a crawling pace. The graduates and the retrenched are now fighting for a smaller pool of jobs. I wonder if the government will address this pressing issue soon. On a final note, finding employment, to a graduate, is not just about finding financial independence. It is the answer to one’s social and emotional security, the solution to retire their tuition loans and the only tool to start a family and to support their retiring parents.

———–

About the author

The writer is a first class honours student from a local university with double majors in Banking and Finance and Marketing. He remains jobless at the point of writing this essay. Graduate recruitments programmes usually end around November to early January period

Such is the expectation of the local graduate, it is just a matter of time before they find this forum and start to complain over here as well.

This person write as if armed with a degree, the whole world owes them a living, expecting to be paid top dollar for the job that they are going to do in the cushy comfort of a office located at Marina Bay view area, have to take care of them, their family if they are married with kids, have to take care of their parents, have to take care of their tuition loans and whatever lock stoack and barrel.

Perhaps this financial crisis did come at a right time to let them know that nobody owes them a living and in a way, would go about tempering their expectation too and show some humility.

Pica_NA

Let me share one of my experience 2yr ago when I interviewed a fresh grad from NTU.

Me: Morning
FreshGrad: Morning
Me: Do you understand the job scope and our working hour?
FreshGrad: Yes, Of cos. I read up before I came. (Fucking attitude reply)
Me: ... Ok.. that good...

** Normal Interview routine goes on....... **

Me: I can see that you have limited knowledge to the current technology and the market, and also your skill set are limited. However, I see that you are asking for an expected salary of $2,800 per month. May I know based on what criteria/qualification that you are asking for $2,800 per month?

FreshGrad: hmm.... Becos I am from NTU....

Me: (WTF !!! I nearly want to kill him!!!) Ok... Just becos of that reason?

FreshGrad: Yes. We, fresh grad from NTU are well-known and have good market reputation.

Me: Ok.. Thanks for your explanation. I believe you have mis-understand the meaning of NTU fresh grad reputation in the current market. Anyway, Thanks for coming and we will inform you if you are shortlisted.

Pica_NA

Ever since that interview, I will reject all applications from local U... even my HR know the "Standard" of the local U fresh grad..... arragont... and pure IDIOT !!! PUI !!!

VIBGYOR

About the author

Time to join the opposition? :biggrin:

ahleebabasingaporethief

Ever since that interview, I will reject all applications from local U... even my HR know the "Standard" of the local U fresh grad..... arragont... and pure IDIOT !!! PUI !!!

All brainwashed to think S'pore is #1 in everything.

When you go to proper ranking sites for world unis, our S'pore unis are not even in the TOP 100. I really do not know where our newspapers get their rankings from.

ALSO, how to have good education here when books and movies are banned. And you can only learn what they want to teach you. How can our unis be TOP RANKED?

Also, other than medicine and law, 99% of Scholars go to overseas unis. That in itself is the most telling sign that our unis are Fuck All!

shOUTloud

aiyah, why you like dat? fresh graduates mah. not sure how to answer that question. you dun have to reject all applications from local U.

congo9

Me: I can see that you have limited knowledge to the current technology and the market, and also your skill set are limited. However, I see that you are asking for an expected salary of $2,800 per month. May I know based on what criteria/qualification that you are asking for $2,800 per month?

Graduate shd have said : I shd be able to learn and adapt new technology relating to my work in double short time. Though i may be a fresh graduate, i must say that i am confident that i be able to add value to the work i am task to do. Salary aside, it just a figure on how much an employer think i am worth to your company. I can quote you a salary of 5K, but if i cannot do the job well if you task me to do , i be embarassed to receive even 1K per month salary as my starting pay.

Wah liao wei , sweet and easy , throw the question back to the employer ......... UNCLE me only a 5 O level graduate with 2 attempts , can even answer better then the GRADUATE !

Now i know why our dear PM only love to talk to students ONLY. Becos local students CANNOT THINK on their feet !

The_Latest_H

When I return to Western Australia to resume my studies, and looking longer term over there, I'd expect that I most likely will get a job over in WA.

Am I keen to work here? My issues about working here are deep, broad and long, and as such, the motivation to work here is a gap to be bridged, compared to working in Australia, which wouldn't be too difficult in most situations.

shOUTloud

First class honours can easily get a position in any of the govt agencies. I knew an idiotic first class honours who panicked and took up a position at Spring Singapore. She could have tried for the tier 1 agencies such as EDB, IES or MFA. gong gong go and sign Spring.

Neh_Neh_Pok

FreshGrad: hmm.... Becos I am from NTU....

Me: (WTF !!! I nearly want to kill him!!!) Ok... Just becos of that reason?

FreshGrad: Yes. We, fresh grad from NTU are well-known and have good market reputation.

Me: Ok.. Thanks for your explanation. I believe you have mis-understand the meaning of NTU fresh grad reputation in the current market. Anyway, Thanks for coming and we will inform you if you are shortlisted.

Wahahahaha.. the NTU fresh grad is a typical arrogant snob :biggrin:

For IT field, hire those overseas unis with more specialized and technical areas. Those local NUS/NTU/SMU IT course all so theory based, honestly speaking there are of no use in IT work

Porfirio Rubirosa

Aiyah the writer appears to think too highly of himself/herself, probably wants to join some 'gold brand' MNC and think that he/she can draw an $8-10k starting salary at the sametime.:rolleyes:

First class honours can easily get a position in any of the govt agencies. I knew an idiotic first class honours who panicked and took up a position at Spring Singapore. She could have tried for the tier 1 agencies such as EDB, IES or MFA. gong gong go and sign Spring.

king_of_abalone

This person write as if armed with a degree, the whole world owes them a living, expecting to be paid top dollar for the job that they are going to do in the cushy comfort of a office located at Marina Bay view area, have to take care of them, their family if they are married with kids, have to take care of their parents, have to take care of their tuition loans and whatever lock stoack and barrel.

Perhaps this financial crisis did come at a right time to let them know that nobody owes them a living and in a way, would go about tempering their expectation too and show some humility.

That is why sometimes I think that Ms Wee Shu Min was not completely wrong when she told that loser grad to fuck off. Although she could have pt it across a little more diplomatically. But the fucker was expecting everything handed to him on a silver platter, just because he's a grad. And he couldn't even write in proper English (according to Ms Wee).

Pica_NA

Bro congo9 ... i like you answer... it is appropriate and just nice, not too over... :biggrin: :biggrin:

Bro Neh_Neh_Pok, Great mind think alike... HAHA.... :biggrin:

besotted

Our fresh graduates have very bad attitude so employers will also hire PRC grads as long as they have decent command of English. Some from Beida speaks better English than many of our grads but only a small proportion

The problem will our society is that the uneducated - like the desperado taxi drivers - look down on PRC and think every PRC woman is a Geylang or KTV hooker, while our NUS, NTU undergrads taking pocket money from father mother look down on PRC and call them ah tiong

A whole generation of Singaporeans brought up with their parents sweat, never knowing strife and acting like they are champion, why...

Because they imbibe all the Hollywood Westernised values where Britney Spears shows off her cunt and people marry their same sex and as a result the whole society weakens

I wish I could be more positive but I look at the generation of fresh grads and I get goose pimples thinking this is our future, heaven help us..