• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Francis Khoo passes away

LAWYER Francis Khoo Kah Siang, who was wanted by the Internal Security Department for questioning in the 1970s, died in his London home on Sunday. He was 62.

Mr Khoo fled Singapore for London in 1977 as the government launched an extensive security operation against alleged Euro-communists.
He left behind his wife Ang Swee Chai, an orthopaedic surgeon and a prominent activist for the Palestinian cause in the 1980s.
Dr Ang wrote about her time with the Palestinian refugee camps in a book, From Beirut To Jerusalem, published in 1989.
Friends close to the family said Mr Khoo had had a kidney transplant some months ago.
His wife, returning to London from an overseas trip, found him dead. It is believed he died of a heart attack.
Mr Khoo came from a big family. His brothers include the ventriloquist Victor Khoo and Senior Counsel Michael Khoo.

I only remember Victor Khoo on Rediffusion and Michael Khoo as Judge awarding case to JBJ when LKY sued him. Michael Khoo resigned from Judge and became SC lawyer. Later more famous for defending and losing the TT Durai case.

Francis Khoo, R.I.P.

From the back of an envelope.

FIFTEENTH OF FEBRUARY

'twas the 15th of February
at dead of the night
they kept knocking
and banging my door
i slipped quietly away
but the others could not
and i know that
i'd see them no more

they had taken so many
how many i know not
well, there's maha
and mike and samy
and there's jing quee
and others
the brave and the tall
and they're once more
behind changi wall

then i packed
my small green bag,
some clothes
and my toothbrush
never knowing
what lies ahead
though the darkness
surrounds me
i'll hold my head high
and i know
i'm no longer afraid

o my dear bride,
my dearest
just two weeks we're wed
please remember
the vow that we made
i have left my homeland
for a place far away
but i know
i'll be back home someday

o my people,
my homeland
the ones that i love
i will never
see you again
till the storm clouds gather
at break of the dawn
and bungaraya
shall bloom
in the rain

his death is like....................a tree losing a leaf....................what's the big deal..................

To a coward? No.

To a Singaporean who could not return because he stood on the wrong side of politics. It is a big deal.

Francis Khoo probably passed away unable to bear the election of Janil Puthucheary to Parliament. Firstly a Malaysian and secondly, his father Domic was the catalyst that led to the operation that rounded up a number of people. Francis fled to London, never to return. His wife, Dr Ang Swee Chai was arrested at the hospital operating theatre, detained for 1 week and interrogated.

Dominic kissed and made up with the old man and turned up for the launching of MIW and his son became an MP. Those who were arrested during the round-up because of him are still on the other side of the fence. Lost forever. Citizenship was also lost.

A stupid incident over an interview, the passing of the interview script and the vanity of one old man.

It was also same incident that led to the arrest Ho Kwong Ping.

By the way, Dr Ang Swee Chai is world renown and a respected identity and worshipped in parts of the world. She brought more glory than anyone else to Singapore. The Singapore Press Holdings and the captive media and this govt has never even acknowledged her existence. Read what she has done in the field of medicine and for humanity. The British Govt and the Queen have recognised her and she carries state honours. She continues to practice in Stepney Green, a lower income area of London. A lady of small build who was detained and threathened not because she was involved but to force her husband's surrender.

The next time you see Janil, please spit on the prick.

It is Sir Janil's birthright then! His father's involvement has quelled a sinister rebellion threat. His family's loyalty to the Crown is noted. For this alone, knighthood and hereditary peerage is appropriate, but mightbe Ole Dom did not want to be overly conspicuous with his... facilitation of the arrests.

Francis Khoo probably passed away unable to bear the election of Janil Puthucheary to Parliament. Firstly a Malaysian and secondly, his father Domic was the catalyst that led to the operation that rounded up a number of people. Francis fled to London, never to return. His wife, Dr Ang Swee Chai was arrested at the hospital operating theatre, detained for 1 week and interrogated.

Dominic kissed and made up with the old man and turned up for the launching of MIW and his son became an MP. Those who were arrested during the round-up because of him are still on the other side of the fence. Lost forever. Citizenship was also lost.

A stupid incident over an interview, the passing of the interview script and the vanity of one old man.

It was also same incident that led to the arrest Ho Kwong Ping.

By the way, Dr Ang Swee Chai is world renown and a respected identity and worshipped in parts of the world. She brought more glory than anyone else to Singapore. The Singapore Press Holdings and the captive media and this govt has never even acknowledged her existence. Read what she has done in the field of medicine and for humanity. The British Govt and the Queen have recognised her and she carries state honours. She continues to practice in Stepney Green, a lower income area of London. A lady of small build who was detained and threathened not because she was involved but to force her husband's surrender.

The next time you see Janil, please spit on the prick.

It is Sir Janil's birthright then! His father's involvement has quelled a sinister rebellion threat. His family's loyalty to the Crown is noted. For this alone, knighthood and hereditary peerage is appropriate, but mightbe Ole Dom did not want to be overly conspicuous with his... facilitation of the arrests.

dun understand???

scroobal, you must be really old to remember all this shit...
what did Dominic do ???

who is this Francis Khoo??? i am too young to give a fark about the 70s....

why run away ...? you run away mean you are not a sinkie liao... no matter what 1 think of CSJ and Teo Soh Lung, @ the very least they are still here in sinkieland...

really despise people who run away

I just want to pick on your last point.

It is not just cowards who run away, that will be too simplistic view of life. Just as some fools will stay needlessly.

Even LKY ran away and left DAP to the cats.

Even in Sun Tze Art of War and the 36 strategies, "running away" is an option. Running away is not always in defeat. It is possible to lose a battle running away and finally win a war. British occupied Singapore is an example.

Also, You will invite criticism from a lot of refugees and political exiles who chose to "run away" to live another day.

bro................when people say the Crown..................they're referring to the Rothschilds...................the true rulers of the British Empire

Blasphemy! There is only one true Crown in sg.

It is not just cowards who run away, that will be too simplistic view of life. Just as some fools will stay needlessly.

Even in Sun Tze Art of War and the 36 strategies, "running away" is an option. Running away is not always in defeat. It is possible to lose a battle running away and finally win a war. British occupied Singapore is an example.

Also, You will invite criticism from a lot of refugees and political exiles who chose to "run away" to live another day.

huat is the farkin pt of leaving for 40 over years....?? i rather go to detention and earn my badge like Teo Soh Lung...
still can sell books somemore

you leave = complete EPIC failure and defeat... yes refering to Franis Seow, Tang and every1 who run away ......

Well said.

huat is the farkin pt of leaving for 40 over years....?? i rather go to detention and earn my badge like Teo Soh Lung...
still can sell books somemore

you leave = complete EPIC failure and defeat... yes refering to Franis Seow, Tang and every1 who run away ......

It is your view.
Tomorrow, if I arrest you because I am not happy with what you are doing and I think it is illegal, and you spend the next 23 years detained w/o trial. I give you a chance but you do not run away because you will miss home.
No CPF for you. You better hope you can sell enough books for retirement.
Maybe you think you are brave, but I will be laughing at your foolishness.

23 years is far far too unjust. I find it particularly cruel to be silenced for standing on the wrong side of politics. It is worse than death.

I support and feel the unjust given to all Singapore ISA detainees, all of them appeared have some mental health issues as a result of this wicked inhuman treatment.

So far, they looked defeated, even after released. Do you think the average Singaporean really care what they sacrificed for? The winner is still the old man, because he is not forced to released them.

To me, Francis Seow looks a winner. How dare he escape from my kingdom!!! He should be obediently be a hero and be detained at my pleasure. When I release him, he can win my Old toothless Hero badge.

I do not want to belittle these ISA detainees, they had no chance of escape.

My first post to show my humble respect to those who have suffered under the "necessary evil" regime.

[video=youtube;zrrAWjin5MI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrrAWjin5MI&feature=related[/video]

A silent reader in this forum for the past few months

Here a short brief on the origin.

Old man everyone knows likes to give foreign correspondents a lecture about how the world should. Circa 1975, he gives an off the record interview to Derek Davies of Far East Review at Sri Temasek. Derek Davies returns to his hotel and recalls from memory the interview and records it on his dictaphone. 2 copies are made. He calls the FEER local correspondent a copy to be sent to HK. The correspondent Arun Senkuttavan makes a copy and passes it to Janil's father in JB. Bear in mind that Dominic Puthucheary is banished from Singapore as result of Operation Coldstore. He cannot enter Singapore at that time.

A year later Singapore Intelligence finds out that the tape exist and that it might have been given to Malaysian PM Hussein Onn by Dom thru his brother. Old man panics as there are comments about the PM and the Malaysian leadership. ISD launches operations and detain Arun who spills the beans. One by one people are picked up. 3 decades later the tables are turned. Dominic and family kiss and make up. No longer banned. By the way, one of those who are picked are Teo Soh Lung's boss.

Why should you surrender to this govt?
huat is the farkin pt of leaving for 40 over years....?? i rather go to detention and earn my badge like Teo Soh Lung...still can sell books somemore...you leave = complete EPIC failure and defeat... yes refering to Franis Seow, Tang and every1 who run away ......

Welcome.A country where school kids grow with no clue about their past.
My first post to show my humble respect to those who have suffered under the "necessary evil" regime.[video=youtube;zrrAWjin5MI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrrAWjin5MI&feature=related[/video]A silent reader in this forum for the past few months