• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Four year old Brit girl joins Mensa with 159 IQ

13 April 2012 | Last updated at 11:54

Four-year-old Heidi Hankins joins Mensa with 159 IQ

_59638236_imag0451.jpg

A four-year-old girl from Hampshire has been accepted into Mensa with an IQ just one point below Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking.

Heidi Hankins from Winchester has a 159 IQ. She taught herself to read and was able to count to 40 at two years old.

British Mensa chief executive John Stevenage said Heidi's parents "correctly identified that she shows great potential".

According to Mensa, the average adult IQ score is 100.

In 2009, Oscar Wrigley, aged two and a half at the time, from Reading in Berkshire became the youngest ever child to join Mensa with an IQ of 160.

Mr Stevenage said: "We aim to provide a positive environment for younger members to develop."

According to Mensa, the signs of a gifted child include an unusual memory, reading at an early age, intolerance of other children and an awareness of world events. A gifted child will also ask questions all of the time.

Always intrigued by these cases for want of a better term. They can go either way. Hope she goes on to make the world a whole lot better.

Actually many of them will fizz out. You should know more about the success rate of our gifted program which started in the 80s.... I know at least one of them died of heroin OD.

Many smart guys I know today are late bloomers.

Its quite natural for those who are highly intelligent to break the bonds of societies norm if they do not see a compelling reason for it. Unfortunately intelligence and one's physiology are not connected. Heroin is a classic case where the body become dependent on the drug and not the mind. you can have a strong mind and really intelligent but its not help much after you go past the physiological barrier.

The other issue that impacts them is their social capacity to interact. They become isolated because of the lack of adequate peers. I ,entioned this before about a colleague with 153 or something that is so scared to offend other socially that he downplays his intelligence.

I am sure the gifted programme will throw out some very good lessons. Know 2 highly intelligent teachers in the programme. Both left their jobs, one migrated for sanity and the other joined IBM. The second after 2 years in RI handling the programme. Demanding and quite draining. Both extremely intelligent and capable.

Actually many of them will fizz out. You should know more about the success rate of our gifted program which started in the 80s.... I know at least one of them died of heroin OD.

Many smart guys I know today are late bloomers.

gifted ? please lah... look at all the gifted PAP scholars and dogs...they usually lack EQ...i remember in a meeting with TPL husband where he call people who does not support the PAP govt as "enemies of the state"... god knows what world this retard lives in!

"A gifted child will also ask questions all of the time"

no wonder those religious ppl are stupid ...;) i bet that 4 years old is smarter then kinana , breaknews and pslam23 ..even they combine their brain , they also lost to a 4 years old kid .

all i can say is that a good start does not guarantee a good finish. It helps but there's still lots to be done.

Those gifted and high intelligent are often the one most miserable. The movie, "A Beautiful Mind" is a good watch.

Come to think of it, never met an intelligent person who is born again christian or a new convert of a religion. That does make sense.

"A gifted child will also ask questions all of the time"

no wonder those religious ppl are stupid ...;) i bet that 4 years old is smarter then kinana , breaknews and pslam23 ..even they combine their brain , they also lost to a 4 years old kid .

Some are intelligent and many are not. They worked real hard to get perfect academic scores and they have gamed the system by working real hard.

Take Zorro Lim and Lim Boon Heng. In all their years in politics, both of them have a history of gaffes and a not single instance of making a moderately profound statement. Looking at TPL and what she says and think, are you surprised by the husband. The attraction must be mutual.

gifted ? please lah... look at all the gifted PAP scholars and dogs...they usually lack EQ...i remember in a meeting with TPL husband where he call people who does not support the PAP govt as "enemies of the state"... god knows what world this retard lives in!

Agree. It tends to be a lonely world. But bro, when you meet a highly intelligent person, you can actually note the speed and clarity of mind. A real experience.

Those gifted and high intelligent are often the one most miserable. The movie, "A Beautiful Mind" is a good watch.

Agree. It tends to be a lonely world. But bro, when you meet a highly intelligent person, you can actually note the speed and clarity of mind. A real experience.

I guess as one matures, the definition of "intelligence" changes. However, speed of thought, ability to apply knowledge and reasoning remain important.

If a person is not blessed with the sharpest mind, accumulated wisdom and willingness to learn (humility) are both very important traits. I've sat in classes with many mature students. One was a former truck driver in his 40s and he consistently tops the class.

I've had the honor in this forum many times. He goes by the initials D.R.M J. Quite mind boggling if I may say so.....LOL

Top 2% among what?...local Sinkies?...Guess who is this bright spark?....Well don't know how it goes with football bets.....but in gambling on political winners......this one tried to lit a candle underwater....LOL

To all those people who said I will never get into Mensa ... Well, screw you (Especially the very fugly NUS law kid who so determindedly predicted so. Who's the smartass now, huh?).

Uh uh! Unless you have taken the test and passed it, you cannot say "Big deal!", simply because it is quite a big deal to be have intellect at the top 2% of the general populace; if you have taken the test and "passed" it, well, I'm on par with you.

Jolly good Xmas present Mensa! Thanks! =)

Well well well. Top 2%? IQ 148 and above? This must be the biggest achievement in my life! The second biggest is that my PSLE is 269, and that's only top 3%! My gosh!

More hao lianing later, Eileen is coming over to my place. She said to stay over and watch DVDs but I know her. She doesn't really like my company. She is just hankering over my 1 litre bottle of Bailey's. Tsk tsk. Shall let it pass.

- My IQ is so staggeringly high, I startle myself sometimes.-

If you had the 2 guys IQ tested I dun think they will score very high.
Ditto for some of those scholars....high IQ people usually do well academically (with minimal effort) but not all who aced exams have superior IQ.
Some are intelligent and many are not. They worked real hard to get perfect academic scores and they have gamed the system by working real hard.

Take Zorro Lim and Lim Boon Heng. In all their years in politics, both of them have a history of gaffes and a not single instance of making a moderately profound statement. Looking at TPL and what she says and think, are you surprised by the husband. The attraction must be mutual.