• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Four teenagers with choppers were arrested

†††††

Teens found with choppers nabbed

Four teenagers allegedly linked to gang activities were arrested early yesterday morning at a chalet. Choppers were also found.

The teens, aged between 14 and 18, included two girls. They had been invited to the Costa Sands Resort in Pasir Ris by friends.

Two choppers were found by officers checking on the chalets at about midnight. A police statement said the weapons were found under a boy's shirt and inside a girl's handbag.

The four will be charged with carrying or consorting with people with offensive weapons. The offence carries a jail term of up to three years and at least six lashes of the cane.

Bedok Police Division commander Teo Chun Ching said that young people will not be treated lightly 'simply because of their age'.

The police will deal with all forms of gang behaviour firmly, he added.

The arrests come after two recent gang-related incidents involving weapons.

On Oct 30, student Darren Ng, 19, was killed in a fight at Downtown East after a meeting between two gangs.

Last Monday, members of a gang allegedly went around with knives to target people they believed were members of another gang.

The police caught at least 40 suspected gang members in the raids that ensued.

Teh Joo Lin

They deserved it.Wat's the reason for them to carry a chopper?

†††††;606365 The arrests come after two recent gang-related incidents involving weapons. Teh Joo Lin[/QUOTE said:
Now we are aware our police needs something to happen first, even if it is murder, to start working.

How to arrest someone for murder if nothing happens first? Even for attempted murder, the act of attempting murder must happen first. If you're talking about rounding up gangs under CLTPA, how to arrest them for hanging out in pubs playing billiards and darts or having indoor parties? Something must happen first.

No police office or even detective would dare to arbitrarily invoke CLTPA without ministerial directive, for the Act comes with severe restrictions on civil liberties and legal rights.

How to arrest someone for murder if nothing happens first? Even for attempted murder, the act of attempting murder must happen first. If you're talking about rounding up gangs under CLTPA, how to arrest them for hanging out in pubs playing billiards and darts or having indoor parties? Something must happen first.

No police office or even detective would dare to arbitrarily invoke CLTPA without ministerial directive, for the Act comes with severe restrictions on civil liberties and legal rights.

Mr Ramseth, I am not crazy to suggest police will be at right place right time to prevent a murder. Not even the best police in the world is capable of that.

I am just lamenting why all the raids here and there only after a tragedy took place. Could all these recent enforcement action be taken on a continous basis in the past? Could better intelligence be gathered before this DTE incident? Could the police have underestimated the behavior of these "just street corner gangs" etc.

Mr Ramseth, I am not crazy to suggest police will be at right place right time to prevent a murder. Not even the best police in the world is capable of that.

Glad you understand this point.

I am just lamenting why all the raids here and there only after a tragedy took place. Could all these recent enforcement action be taken on a continous basis in the past? Could better intelligence be gathered before this DTE incident? Could the police have underestimated the behavior of these "just street corner gangs" etc.

This is both political and policing matter, allocation and deployment of manpower. In years of relative peace from gangland violence, police manpower and priority would naturally be decreased correspondingly. Otherwise the "peacetime" folks would be complaining about police wasting manpower on harrassing their teenage kids who were causing no harm.

Now that there's a sudden surge in gangland violence, though I'm no fan of PAP, I'd say the reaction and corresponding increase in manpower allocated and priority accorded has been quite swift. Of course, from your perspective and expectation, you may feel it too little, too slow and too late.

Now that there's a sudden surge in gangland violence, though I'm no fan of PAP, I'd say the reaction and corresponding increase in manpower allocated and priority accorded has been quite swift. Of course, from your perspective and expectation, you may feel it too little, too slow and too late.[/QUOTE]

They should just close down SSB coz secret societies of the past no longer that active (that's what they say) compared to street corner gangs. What's next? From SSB to SCGB - Street Corner Gang Branch? Hahaha.

What about CLEB (Criminal Law Enforcement Branch) with an OC empowered to invoke CLPTA without going through commissioner or minister.

Ah Beng : Oei, you disappeared for a year now then come back, where the hell you went die to?

Ah Seng : No lah, last year I kena Clebbed go inside, kena jialat-jialat, I want to resign liao.

Ah Beng : How can like that? Suka-suka resign.

Ah Seng : They say either I resign from gang or turn informant. I don't want to betray you all lah, so resign lor. You say leh?

Ah Beng : OK OK lah. KNN I let you resign but don't go tell them stuff ever, understand?

An Seng : Yah lah, sure sure, don't worry. I don't want to get chopped, also don't want to go back inside again.

What about CLEB (Criminal Law Enforcement Branch) with an OC empowered to invoke CLPTA without going through commissioner or minister.

Bro Ramseth, the OC in your time very powerful coz OC were in-charge of police stations. Nowadays, OC only in-charge of teams - OC Housebreaking team, OC General Investigation team, OC Foreign Offenders Squad, OC Scene of Crime Unit.

The OC NPP also upgraded liao. Now, they are known as Commanding Officers. Don't play-play ok? OC mata chu now known as Commander.

In SSB, OC only handle a sector. The old OC SSB now known as Head SSB.

I see, I see, thanks for the update. Let's have a CLEB Director then, or CLED also can, Criminal Law Enforcement Department, to sound bigger. :D

That being the case, CLED must move out of CID. Can't have Dir CLED reporting to Dir CID within CID itself. Too many directors also a problem. Who is going to act if everyone becomes a director?

Hahaha!!! Nice pun! :)

I think Mindef Gombak got this problem also. I heard flick a pebble also hit a director.

Not only MINDEF. If you look at AGC, also sama sama. I think it is all across the Civil Service today. A director title looks good on name cards. It too satisfies some needs of civil servants.

Reminds me of the many AVPs of banks. They may be branch managers but the AVP title will be stated in their name cards.

In the Civil Service and banks whereby directors and AVPs are plentiful, I suppose it does no harm to anybody. To the organisation, it doesn't mean more pay to these chaps. To the individuals, if it boosts their morale, I say go for it! Everybody's a winner.

The police equivalent is that when there are major seminars today, you throw a stone sure hit a Supt. 3-5 years ago, sure kena a DSP. 5-8 years ago, an ASP should teok cheok tau.

Even in Malaysia, Corporals and Sergeants are still respectable, duly earned and deserved ranks as also in the US and other western countries. Singapore has made ranks a joke. I think Singapore has more Colonels and Superintendents as ratio to population than any other country.

I suppose this is being done to manage their officers' expectations. If you don't manage it, they leave. New chaps come in, same problems. They leave. Cycle repeats itself.

Personally, I see no harm - give them their ranks. Just make them do more work and perform.

Malaysian police works differently. They are not a scholar entity. They either work their way up or are politically well-connected. Don't recall any scholars being their IGP before.

Now that there's a sudden surge in gangland violence, though I'm no fan of PAP, I'd say the reaction and corresponding increase in manpower allocated and priority accorded has been quite swift. Of course, from your perspective and expectation, you may feel it too little, too slow and too late.

As in all things, this spike in gang violence did not happen without a reason.

If you study gang history, you will know that gangs flourish only if there is money $$$ to fuel their growth.

For a long time, gangs were in a steady state and there were hardly any problems because the economic pie was relatively small.

In the past 2 years however, 2 major events occured to change the landscape dramatically.

The first was the legalisation of the Chinese girls in Geylang. While previously, they used to solicit in the streets and were subject to frequent raids, they have been discreetly moved in indoors. This legitimisation removed many of the smaller players and consoldiated the economic beneifts into the hands of a small number of individuals. It also brought fresh blood to underworld in the form of new players supplying these girls. For a while, there was a quiet struggle for territory and turf in Geylang which went largely unoticed by the bulk of the population. Things seem to have simmered down as the parties reached a truce to earn money peacefully together.

The second major development was the opening of the IRs. Many of the loansharks were invited to go legit and become legal moneylenders. To make it attractive for them, the law with regard to interest was amended. Going by the 300% to 400% increase in adverts, business appears to be booming.

By creating conduisive economic conditions, the underworld is now flush with money. To maintain and consolidate their positions, the players need to recruit young men who can safegaurd their business interests. As there has been "peace" for so many years, there isn't a ready market for seasoned and experienced gangsers who can fill a middle managment role of controlling fresh young blood. Instead we have the ranks filled with young kids who grew up watching HK gangster movies like "Young and Dangerous".

SPF and MHA will now do the usual dog and pony show to sooth public concerns. Behind the scenes, they will probably send people to talk to those holding the purse strings to control their men. Things will therefore quieten down and Singaporeans will blissfully go on with their lives, unaware of the underworld which will enjoy years of good growth thanks to the policies of the PAP.

Reminds me of the many AVPs of banks. They may be branch managers but the AVP title will be stated in their name cards.

How little you know. Branch Managers were big shots then - some even VP level, but if more quite senior AVP. AVPs on the other hand were dime a dozen.

This is both political and policing matter, allocation and deployment of manpower. In years of relative peace from gangland violence, police manpower and priority would naturally be decreased correspondingly. Otherwise the "peacetime" folks would be complaining about police wasting manpower on harrassing their teenage kids who were causing no harm.

Ramseth, lately your responses about defending the mata have been "interesting". The SPF, you point out, has become a reactive rather than a proactive force to combat crime.

The truth is the mata has lost alot of credibility in the recent years. I don't know when or how that happened. Was it due to outsourcing to certis cisco? Was it due to change in top leadership? Or because of the heavier burden after 9-11? Or is it they rather catch people making seditious posts on the net?

I'm not expecting you to answer these questions. But I believe they are points to ponder.

I remember a time when the mata used to be feared and respected by citizens. Now it seems they have alot of excuses.