• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forest City

winners

Very true. I am staying at Mandarin Orchard this Sunday and all I will see is thousands maids sitting on the streets opposite. What is happening to this lovely 5 star road? No incentive to walk around liao.
Maids are at least safer than bombings and firearms in Jalan Bukit Bintang, right?
You should go to Hongkong (Admiralty MTR station) during the weekends. You'll think you are in The Philippines. Go to Chungli in Taiwan on weekends and you'll see all the Thai workers congregating as Chungli is an industrial town, like a mini Hatyai.

As you'd said in your own words before, if you don't like the country, don't go. Why still hanging around and complain?

Tekkun

Maids are at least safer than bombings and firearms in Jalan Bukit Bintang, right?
You should go to Hongkong (Admiralty MTR station) during the weekends. You'll think you are in The Philippines. Go to Chungli in Taiwan on weekends and you'll see all the Thai workers congregating as Chungli is an industrial town, like a mini Hatyai.

As you'd said in your own words before, if you don't like the country, don't go. Why still hanging around and complain?

It is an observation, not complaint.

Tekkun

As an employer, you should spare a thought for these people. Maids are also humans and they need recreational activities. Some more say you are a caring boss. Chey......

This is what you should do then.
---------------------------------------

[FONT=&quot]Some condominiums in Singapore continue to enforce strict rules preventing domestic helpers from using the facilities, such as swimming pools and gymnasiums, as they are meant for homeowners only.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]PropertyGuru understands that this is a long-standing practice implemented by a number of Management Corporation Strata Titles (MCSTs), also known as condo managing agents, due to complaints arising from residents.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Take the case of Mary (not her real name), a Filipino domestic helper who has worked in Singapore for more than 20 years.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]A few months ago, she began working for an American expat family who live in the ultra-posh Four Seasons Park condominium near Orchard Road.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]The 43-year-old shared that a staff member at the management office told her that she could not use the condo’s pool as those were the rules in case the facilities were damaged.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]“The lady I spoke to was nice, and she did say (the practice) was not right or fair, but this is how they do things here,” said Mary.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/prop...ill-cant-use-the-pools-other-condo-facilities[/FONT]

winners

[FONT="]Some condominiums in Singapore continue to enforce strict rules preventing domestic helpers from using the facilities, such as swimming pools and gymnasiums, as they are meant for homeowners only.[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#555566][FONT="]PropertyGuru understands that this is a long-standing practice implemented by a number of Management Corporation Strata Titles (MCSTs), also known as condo managing agents, due to complaints arising from residents.[/FONT]

[FONT="]Take the case of Mary (not her real name), a Filipino domestic helper who has worked in Singapore for more than 20 years.[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#555566][FONT="]A few months ago, she began working for an American expat family who live in the ultra-posh Four Seasons Park condominium near Orchard Road.[/FONT]

[FONT="]The 43-year-old shared that a staff member at the management office told her that she could not use the condo’s pool as those were the rules in case the facilities were damaged.[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#555566][FONT="]“The lady I spoke to was nice, and she did say (the practice) was not right or fair, but this is how they do things here,” said Mary.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/prop...ill-cant-use-the-pools-other-condo-facilities[/FONT]
This is a private property issue. But Orchard Road is for public access. No one has the right to administer or jurisdiction over its use for peaceful purposes other than the police. You still don't get it.

Do you also allow your production workers to eat and work at the same time? Ask yourself?

rotikok

[FONT=&quot]Some condominiums in Singapore continue to enforce strict rules preventing domestic helpers from using the facilities, such as swimming pools and gymnasiums, as they are meant for homeowners only.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]PropertyGuru understands that this is a long-standing practice implemented by a number of Management Corporation Strata Titles (MCSTs), also known as condo managing agents, due to complaints arising from residents.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Take the case of Mary (not her real name), a Filipino domestic helper who has worked in Singapore for more than 20 years.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]A few months ago, she began working for an American expat family who live in the ultra-posh Four Seasons Park condominium near Orchard Road.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]The 43-year-old shared that a staff member at the management office told her that she could not use the condo’s pool as those were the rules in case the facilities were damaged.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]“The lady I spoke to was nice, and she did say (the practice) was not right or fair, but this is how they do things here,” said Mary.

How if a good owner let their maid use, or even fake them as part owner of the ppty if enforcer query? Anyway, how they differentiate users? Looking at skin? Then owner that looks like bangla or got Maria face really paiseh leh, they got the poor ppl looks.

Very true. I am staying at Mandarin Orchard this Sunday and all I will see is thousands maids sitting on the streets opposite. What is happening to this lovely 5 star road? No incentive to walk around liao.
Perhaps future forest city and jpo do not have this problem bcoz maids do not have car?

rotikok

Despite all the pessimism and sarcasm in this forum, forest city is forging ahead. With the opening of the hotel partially and the commercial street this month, forest city is starting to deliver promises, not talk only. Wish them all the best, and pls don't sink !! (literally).

https://www.theurbandeveloper.com/40bn-forest-city-eliminate-discomfort-skyscrapers/

I truly believe there is deep down unexplored demand for such venture, not many people are aware yet to such unexplored demand. Many PRC want to lives in ang moh countries but too expensive and not easy to get visa. If create a shangri-la place filled with basic infrastructure like hospital, branded shopping mall, maybe a rail direct to HSR, restaurants, scenery even better than those ang moh countries. Do you think it will attract people to stay there? No need a lot, 10k as primary target, normal rich can liao, then crowd will slowly follow, reputation will build up and will be no brainer place to retire even for the super rich. I remember 10 years ago those ang moh countries like australia canada also slowly gaining traction for rich PRC to come and stay, it do not happen overnight. Forest city, if everything turn out right, can be a self made island for retirement by china developer, supported by the china central gov one belt one road initiative, china central gov have greater incentive for such project to be succeed, better to let their countrymen spend on a project that chinese own, than spend on angmoh countries that they own nothing, and subject to discriminatory treatment.

sgtsk

I truly believe there is deep down unexplored demand for such venture, not many people are aware yet to such unexplored demand. Many PRC want to lives in ang moh countries but too expensive and not easy to get visa. If create a shangri-la place filled with basic infrastructure like hospital, branded shopping mall, maybe a rail direct to HSR, restaurants, scenery even better than those ang moh countries. Do you think it will attract people to stay there? No need a lot, 10k as primary target, normal rich can liao, then crowd will slowly follow, reputation will build up and will be no brainer place to retire even for the super rich. I remember 10 years ago those ang moh countries like australia canada also slowly gaining traction for rich PRC to come and stay, it do not happen overnight. Forest city, if everything turn out right, can be a self made island for retirement by china developer, supported by the china central gov one belt one road initiative, china central gov have greater incentive for such project to be succeed, better to let their countrymen spend on a project that chinese own, than spend on angmoh countries that they own nothing, and subject to discriminatory treatment.

CG's lady boss in China also runs in private more than hundred of private educational institutes and schools. CG is well aware of demand for overseas education in PRC market and FC is built to meet such demand from prc market. There are some 800k PRC students in US alone and a few millions globally. Edu city needs to target to attract just 20k to 50k students to make at least edu city a success. According to South Hampton branch head educ city now has 4000 students and hoping to achieve 16k by 2025.

There are millions of wealthier prc try to preserve some of their wealth overseas, at the same time hoping to let their children have some oversea education(prc children living overseas have advantage to get into top China U back home if not continuing in oversea U). To many prc parents, they would think it is worth their money and while to invest in their children's education.

Tekkun

CG's lady boss in China also runs in private more than hundred of private educational institutes and schools. CG is well aware of demand for overseas education in PRC market and FC is built to meet such demand from prc market. There are some 800k PRC students in US alone and a few millions globally. Edu city needs to target to attract just 20k to 50k students to make at least edu city a success. According to South Hampton branch head educ city now has 4000 students and hoping to achieve 16k by 2025.

There are millions of wealthier prc try to preserve some of their wealth overseas, at the same time hoping to let their children have some oversea education(prc children living overseas have advantage to get into top China U back home if not continuing in oversea U). To many prc parents, they would think it is worth their money and while to invest in their children's education.

Talking about China University students, the Xiamen University Malaysia is a 60 hectare campus. Enrollment had started with 500 students arriving already. It plan to have total of 2000 students.

http://english.cntv.cn/2016/03/03/VIDExgWoMGeX0BaAryZPWjWK160303.shtml

snowbird

6月23日,项目已与寺库集团正式签约。奢侈品旗舰店预计今年年底之前开业,Hermes、PRADA、LV、CHANEL等品牌全线进驻,最低5折起即享当季大牌奢侈品,比香港及新加坡更具冲击力。

http://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI...fecbf93a0194e92138019&scene=0#wechat_redirect

According to the report in the website, besides having a duty free branded shop selling highend products like Prada, Hermes LV etc, Forest City had already had the following agreement in order:
MOU with UIB/Christy's to provide quality home for the aged
This is a China 1 Road I Belt initiative with Guangzhou
FC will be a free trade zone, duty free shopping and free corporate tax.
Direct link to CIQ with 6 express lanes
Direct maritime CIQ so ships can call and berth drectly.
All carparks will be underground and ground above will be parks and gardens.
Direct flights from Guangzhou to FC.
MOU with reputable US hospital and healthcare to set up shop.

All these were obviously aimed at the Mainlanders.
How many of those "promises" are achievable, like new airport and maritime port in FC etc.?
How many are obviously empty promises?
Think about it.

tstar

actually china has a strange rule that any mainland chinese on long residential visa (not student or employment) like sg pr or mm2h, their children are entitled to enter top china universities at a much lower score.

The only requirement is that the child should stay at least two years overseas.

It is very tough for china people to get PR in a short time be it in sg or canada or OZ or US. A long time waiting and several years staying in the country and a lot of other factors.

Mm2h gives these buyers a tremendous advantage. no time needed and easy to get. The child can study in FC two years and then get back to take uni entrance exams. believe or nor,,they would rather spend much more money to get this benefit.

tstar

FC price is not expensive. it is priced as a third tier city in china. the average price in beijing psq meter is sgd 15k. the target would be mainlanders in top or second tier cities.

sgtsk

actually china has a strange rule that any mainland chinese on long residential visa (not student or employment) like sg pr or mm2h, their children are entitled to enter top china universities at a much lower score.

The only requirement is that the child should stay at least two years overseas.

It is very tough for china people to get PR in a short time be it in sg or canada or OZ or US. A long time waiting and several years staying in the country and a lot of other factors.

Mm2h gives these buyers a tremendous advantage. no time needed and easy to get. The child can study in FC two years and then get back to take uni entrance exams. believe or nor,,they would rather spend much more money to get this benefit.

These are some reasons why I have good confidence at least the edu city part in iskandar would be a success.

sgtsk

According to the report in the website, besides having a duty free branded shop selling highend products like Prada, Hermes LV etc, Forest City had already had the following agreement in order:
MOU with UIB/Christy's to provide quality home for the aged
This is a China 1 Road I Belt initiative with Guangzhou
FC will be a free trade zone, duty free shopping and free corporate tax.
Direct link to CIQ with 6 express lanes
Direct maritime CIQ so ships can call and berth drectly.
All carparks will be underground and ground above will be parks and gardens.
Direct flights from Guangzhou to FC.
MOU with reputable US hospital and healthcare to set up shop.

All these were obviously aimed at the Mainlanders.
How many of those "promises" are achievable, like new airport and maritime port in FC etc.?
How many are obviously empty promises?
Think about it.

I think the direct flight to FC refers to senai airport which is about 20 plus km away. Well, may be it is easier to guess which one could not be achieved?

snowbird

I think the direct flight to FC refers to senai airport which is about 20 plus km away. Well, may be it is easier to guess which one could not be achieved?

If it's flight from Guangzhou to Senai then they should just say so but instead, they specifically mentioned a "direct flights" between GZ and FC!
But anyway, you can see that FC is a Chinese initiative as part of the ambitious 1 Road 1 Belt thingy.
With CG doing all the major marketing in China, particularly in GZ ( surprisingly very little in SG) perhaps they are trying to turn FC to something like Dongguan a city where lots of rich Mainlanders keep their mistresses in nice apartments there.
FC will become a genuine Chinatown.

sgtsk

If it's flight from Guangzhou to Senai then they should just say so but instead, they specifically mentioned a "direct flights" between GZ and FC!
But anyway, you can see that FC is a Chinese initiative as part of the ambitious 1 Road 1 Belt thingy.
With CG doing all the major marketing in China, particularly in GZ ( surprisingly very little in SG) perhaps they are trying to turn FC to something like Dongguan a city where lots of rich Mainlanders keep their mistresses in nice apartments there.
FC will become a genuine Chinatown.

Nowadays not many city planners build their air ports in the middle of cities. Even KLIA is some 57 km away from KL sentral. FC targets PRC home market demand for oversea education, wealth and health preservation. Singaporeans could cater for themselves very well already.