• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Five months ago: $60,000/year NTU engineer, now: $1600/month technician contract job!

Thomas came in to see me all perspiring after visiting Caliberlink at Brash Basah Road two hours earlier. He also has to return to work at 2.15pm for the second shift of his 3-month-old technician job with a MNC. The second shift ends at 11pm but Thomas is not complaining.

It was something that he desperately took up as he didn’t want to go jobless for too long after he was retrenched from a lucrative $60,000/year IT engineering position earlier this year.

He has worked there for six years and was fortunate to come out with a reasonable severance package.
However, his wife is a home maker and it would be disastrous for two adult family members to go unemployed at the same time.

He has two primary school-going boys and it was a challenge to make ends meet if there is no income for a prolonged period - to him the technician position was a God-sent.

“It was also something that kept me going even though the pay is 1/3 of what I earned,” he told me when I offered him a drink and tissue to wipe off his perspiration.

Looking younger than his mid-40s age, Thomas earned his engineering degree from NTU and life was rosy then as the lucrative semi-con industry has just took off and work was plentiful.

Nevertheless, all good things have to come to an end and he was soon retrenched from his engineering job early this year.

Unless the government drastically reduces foreign talents soon, we will see more Thomas running around – jobless and desperate.

We will also see more undergraduates opting to study the arts and social sciences in universities as this is the best way to gain entry to the secured civil service sector.

Singapore will in future face the unpleasant situation of not having enough local experienced engineers as currently most of the engineering positions are occupied by foreigners.

The profession may also be cheapened by foreign hirings who may one day take their experience with them to other developed countries who will treasure their skills more.

*The above article was first published on Transitioning.org here (http://www.transitioning.org/2012/05/22/...ract-job/)

Re: Five months ago: $60,000/year NTU engineer, now: $1600/month technician contract

That means he is earning $19,200/year technician contract job! More respectable and earns more money than driving taxi or cleaning job.

Re: Five months ago: $60,000/year NTU engineer, now: $1600/month technician contract

There are some life long skills that an engineer with a Bachelor's degree should pick up;

1. working with all kinds of metals, wood and masonry - joining, welding and cutting skills using welders, torches and machines
2. plumbing and electrical wiring skills
3. HVAC skills - heating/ventilation/aircon

The more hands on you are with these, the better state you will be in yr retirement. These are housemaking survival skills.

The other type is indoor homemaking skills - cooking, mending & stitching (working with leather, canvas, cloth)

If you master all these, you can migrate to any first world country and still survive and thrive. Over there, in these countries such blue collar workers command a premium hourly rate. you can run yr own house inspection business, property manager or agency, and general contracting jobs.

On top of these, you should already have business planning and general and operations management skills, so these "lower" skills provide the "meat' to make you an allrounder.

With these skills, you can build your own house, boat, car or bike.

been reading a lot of these kind of stories in this forum but are they true ????

i mean these grads can find higher paying job for sure..................maybe in another industry lah..............

if true, then S'pore is really finished...................

been reading a lot of these kind of stories in this forum but are they true ????

i mean these grads can find higher paying job for sure..................maybe in another industry lah..............

if true, then S'pore is really finished...................

Definitely not true, even dishwasher can earn $3k, how to believe this guy?

There are some life long skills that an engineer with a Bachelor's degree should pick up;

1. working with all kinds of metals, wood and masonry - joining, welding and cutting skills using welders, torches and machines
2. plumbing and electrical wiring skills
3. HVAC skills - heating/ventilation/aircon

in singapore, these jobs are hogged by malaysian and other S-pass workers. ITE should be training our boys for these jobs.

60K a year is a high-end paying job in Singapore?

Why he cow peh cow bu? $1500 can feed family of 8. And $1000 income can buy HDB flat....
Some people are just complain kings

That is the result of sinkie being ball-less loser, you lose in the end for being ball-less. Balllless to protest. Ball-less to demostrate on the street.What a sinkie loser!!!!

as usual it is the same important again :
who did he votedfor ?

degree , diploma in IT , COmputer science , electronic eng are all fuck useless.
unless you are in very specialised niched field , all the experience you gained through
years of working is as good as zero and you can be replaced easily.

vocation where experience adds to your value are doctor , lawyer , accounting related jobs ,
civil eng.

if you children what to be a web designer tell them to forget it. stay off IT related jobs.