• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fish Soup

Where are the best fish soup stalls in SG?
What are the different types of fish used in these fish soups?
I have mainly eaten batan and garouper fish soups. Prefer the sliced (non fried) soups, sometimes with rice and sometimes with mee sua.

jake

Maybe Porfirio Rubirosa can make some recommendations and postnew can post some photos :biggrin:

Porfirio Rubirosa

Not too keen on plain fish soup, but if you are ever thinking of trying Curry Seafood Soup then I recommend Wang Wang's at Beauty World Centre, very tasty and definitely worth a try if you are in the area:smile:

Wang Wang Curry Seafood Soup
Beauty World Centre
144 Upper Bukit Timah Road
#04-65

Maybe Porfirio Rubirosa can make some recommendations and postnew can post some photos

postnew

Not too keen on plain fish soup, but if you are ever thinking of trying Curry Seafood Soup then I recommend Wang Wang's at Beauty World Centre, very tasty and definitely worth a try if you are in the area:smile:

Wang Wang Curry Seafood Soup
Beauty World Centre
144 Upper Bukit Timah Road
#04-65

untitled318.jpg

untitled319.jpg

Frankiestine

Where are the best fish soup stalls in SG?
What are the different types of fish used in these fish soups?
I have mainly eaten batan and garouper fish soups. Prefer the sliced (non fried) soups, sometimes with rice and sometimes with mee sua.

I dun noe whether it is the best but i bet this one must be one of the cheapest slice fish soup around...Taman Jurong Food centre at level 2 staffed by a ah pek and his old lady..the stall is along the lift alley...for $3 at least five big and thick slice of fishes...

postnew

I prefer without 'milk' added.
Han Kee Fish Soup
Amoy Food Centre
7 Maxwell Road #02-129
fishsoup01.jpg
fishsoup02.jpg
fishsoup03.jpg

FishSoup.jpg
imgsize.php

imgsize.php

postnew

Another famous stall at Amoy St
Piao Ji Fish Porridge
02-100 Amoy Street Food Centre
10.30am to 3pm
Closed on Thurs
Stall.jpg
CIMG3425.JPG

CIMG3432.JPG

20102007075.jpg
Fish+Soup.jpg

my downstairs kopitiam gt 1 stall oso sell nice fish soup ... $3 cum wif 10 slices of fish, 3 pieces of crab meat, a few slices of bitter gord, lettuce n delicious sup in a bowl ... but me prefer their seafood soup though, oso same price ...

Kuailan

This gentleman in the picture has been in the fish porridge for a long time,
I still remember patronising his stall at Side lane of North Canal Rd, in the early 70s, he charge 50cts for batang fish, 70cts for promfret fish.

The standard seem to be same except for the price today! they are above $5.00 to $10.00. They were mother and son team, I believe his mum has already resign from planet earth.

Enjoy the fish soup!! I will patronising his stall again soon!!

cheers:biggrin:

• 3037284331_2931d576b1.jpg
    3037284331_2931d576b1.jpg
    88.9 KB · Views: 238

shelltox

if you are in the hougang area, you may want to try the stall at the jalan rengkam coffeeshop just opp lim ah pin road mobil petrol kiosk. It is the same row as the "AH YONG teochew kueh shop. there's a man duplicating keys during the day time at this coffee shop. try the promfret fish porridge. expensive but worth it

Thanks postnew.
As always, lovely pictures. :smile:
I don't like the milk either, prefer the soup to be clear.
What are the different types of fish you like for your soup?

if you are in the hougang area, you may want to try the stall at the jalan rengkam coffeeshop just opp lim ah pin road mobil petrol kiosk. It is the same row as the "AH YONG teochew kueh shop. there's a man duplicating keys during the day time at this coffee shop. try the promfret fish porridge. expensive but worth it
Shelltox
Can advise how to go by bus or mrt?