• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fish soup at Compasspoint

What are you writing? Your English is so poor I can hardly understand you. If you aren't fluent in English, surely you can make the effort to learn before posting on an English forum.

So solly hor I type too fast lor that's why on the way grammar drop off middle of the road.

Hehehe. One of my favourite topics. :)

Best fish soup places imho:

-- Market Street Food centre, think it's called Rui Ji or something. Run by one of the nicest couples u could ever expect to meet.
Fish fresh, soup clear and nice.

-- Amoy street food centre. 2 stalls there, very fresh fish and the soup clear and nice. Queue always very long.

-- Golden mile food centre got 2 stalls one upstairs wil milky soup, downstairs clear and they have red garouper whichis really rare these days.

Fish soup at foodcourts not so nice and mainly run by chinese nationals. :(

If u like or want to try salmon soup, there's this food court outlet called "Ed's Fish" which sells it.
Think that it's in most of the orchard road food courts.
Not cheap at $5.50 for small bowl (few pieces) or $7.50 for big bowl (not that many also), but quite tasty and it's salmon after all.

Btw one of the stalls at Amoy Street sells pomfret soup, at $10 per bowl! Tasty though and it's rare to find pomfret soup anywhere these days. My personal preference for fish soup is always the fresh not fried type. Keep the fried fish for fish n chips or sweet and sour fish. ;)

Best original Teochew fish soup that I've eaten, 29 Bendemeer hawker centre, near Boon Keng MRT. Left corner second stall with carpark facing Bendemeer Road. More than 50 years' history since his father's stall at old Kempes market across Boon Keng Road. Now he himself is also already elderly uncle. Still very reasonable price at S$3.50 for fish soup and rice. The fish slices are superbly fresh and smooth, the soup is classic Teochew and the rice is also top quality fragrant and cooked to perfection. Only Japanese rice can beat that, but at at least twice the price.

Thanks for the suggestion.
Do you know what their opening hours are, including Sat and Sun?

Thanks for the suggestion.
Do you know what their opening hours are, including Sat and Sun?

My estimate is 11 morning to 7 evening. It's sure closed on Sunday.

My intro - a humble stall called 韩江 in bedok south hawker center where famous hill street char kwayteow also there.
Cheap and good.

My fav Teochew fish soup is at River Valley, beside Spize (Boon Tong Kee area), $4/5/6, the fish is thick and the soup is nice because they put blue ginger.

My intro - a humble stall called 韩江 in bedok south hawker center where famous hill street char kwayteow also there.
Cheap and good.

When I order from the stall I tell the lady not black or white. Please make it red with lots of chillies and put more deep fried fat but hold the cockles.:D I usually order $5.00 plate. Superb Kway Teow!

You pay $5 for a plate of char kway teow mai hum? :confused: What do they use to make their kway teow? Japanese rice? :rolleyes: Anyway I'm a hum eater. For $5 I go find a seafood stall and order one full plate of hum and eat until shiok. ;)

Try and stay away from cockles. An architect that I knew died at a young age leaving behind a wife and 2 young kids. One kid is handicapped and his wife was a housewife. He had Hepatitis B which develop into liver cancer and he died. The cause, eating contaminated cockles.

I went thru the full course of jabs for Hep A and B immune already. Anyway back to the food, if you don't want hum, what else is there worth $5 for char keow teow? The cheapskate fishcake and lapcheong surely don't worth that much.

If you believe you are immune go ahead and eat them. This is just a heads up not to you alone.

Before the fish soup was made from the flesh of the pomfret fish. Today they are giving us meat from the toman which is a freshwater predator and farm bred. The meat is not very tasty.

I don't eat too much even when the dish is real good because at the end the 'overeaten' feeling will cause the rating for that dish to drop :).

As for fish soup, the one at Old Bukit Timah Hawker Centre is really good, the soup is superb. Always long queue.

The Char Kway Teow opposite Golden Miles is supposed to be 'healthy' because they don't use lard, but it's still as good. Eat without the guilt.

I don't eat too much even when the dish is real good because at the end the 'overeaten' feeling will cause the rating for that dish to drop :).

As for fish soup, the one at Old Bukit Timah Hawker Centre is really good, the soup is superb. Always long queue.

The Char Kway Teow opposite Golden Miles is supposed to be 'healthy' because they don't use lard, but it's still as good. Eat without the guilt.

Contrary to unfounded beliefs, lard is not so bad:

"Lard is evidently enjoying a renaissance of sorts. Which is all well and good, but, I mean, it's lard. Totally bad for you, right?

OK, it's not exactly health food, but lard may not be as bad as it's commonly made out to be. In recent years, we've learned a lot about the difference between "good" fats and "bad" fats. The bad fats are the saturated and trans fats, while the good fats are the monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats.

Any guesses how lard stacks up? Not too badly, as it turns out. Lard contains:
  • More monounsaturated fats ("good" fats) than sunflower oil and corn oil
  • More polyunsaturated fats (also "good" fats) than olive oil
  • Thirty percent less saturated fat than butter
  • No trans fats at all!
Lard is beloved by bakers because it makes the most sublime flaky pie dough. And given that the most common alternative to lard is vegetable shortening, which is chock full of nasty trans fats, lard might actually be the healthier choice."

Hep B is blood borne disease, from human to human, usually mothers to their children. Which is why never allow people to kiss yr baby in the mouth, for Granny to feed food to baby after chewing, for eat with dirty relatives from China licking food with their chopsticks. Make sure baby and you get Hep B jab before too late.

Try the one at Potong Pasir opp Indian temple. Large portions of sliced fish (Correction. Humongous fish not cheap dory battered with flour). $5.00 one bowl but fair price though.