• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FAP Kena Bullied Jiatlat in Burma, But Will Continue to Import FTrash From There...

[h=1]F&N LOSES CASE AGAINST MYANMAR FIRM ON RIGHT TO KEEP STAKE IN MYANMAR BREWERY[/h]
Post date:
1 Nov 2014 - 9:27am

A military-linked conglomerate in Myanmar has won an arbitration case that will allow it to buy out its partner in Myanmar's biggest brewery.
The ruling affects a 55% stake held in Myanmar Brewery by the Singapore-based food and beverage conglomerate Fraser & Neave Ltd (F&N), which is controlled by the Thai liquor billionaire Charoen Sirivadhanabhakdi.
Two Singapore arbitrators heard the case in the city-state from late June to early July and released their ruling on Friday, Reuters reported.
The ruling said that Myanma Economic Holdings Ltd (MEHL) was entitled to buy F&N's shares in Myanmar Brewery, MEHL said in a statement. It had said that F&N had defaulted on a term in the two parties' joint-venture agreement.
F&N said in a separate statement that it was reviewing the decision and all its options. It noted that the arbitrators had ruled that the $246 million MEHL offered to pay for the stake did not represent fair value.
The ruling is a blow to F&N, which first invested in the brewery 17 years ago at a time when junta-controlled Myanmar was shunned by most Western companies.
Now foreign investment is starting to pour in, with the likes of Coca-Cola, Nestle and Unilever all setting up in the country.
"We are disappointed that this dispute has arisen, at a time when Myanmar is opening its market, and is on the cusp of the introduction of international beer competitors," Huang Hong Peng, chief executive officer for beer at F&N, said in a statement.
Myanmar Brewery — which makes Myanmar Beer, Myanmar Double Strong and Andaman Gold — has an 83% share of the country's beer market, according to data from F&N.
Analysts initially saw the case as an example of the lack of legal protection for foreign investors in Myanmar and the pitfalls of doing business with an institution closely linked to the country's military.

However MEHL argued that there had been a clear default by F&N on their joint-venture agreement and that taking the matter to arbitration in Singapore showed it was dealing with the matter using proper legal channels.
"It is very important for Myanmar that foreign investors have confidence in the way we do business," Myint Aung, MEHL's deputy managing director, said in the statement.
"The conduct of this arbitration shows our commitment to the rule of law and that we will always adhere to due process."
It declined to comment on nature of the breach by F&N, but sources with knowledge of the case said it was related to the change of the shareholding structure of F&N after Mr Charoen acquired the company in 2012.
Myanmar Brewery was set up in 1995 by MEHL with Heineken through the latter's Asian arm, Asia Pacific Breweries Ltd (APB), which transferred its 55% stake to F&N in 1997.

Re: FAP Kena Bullied Jiatlat in Burma, But Will Continue to Import FTrash From There.

Price of Chang beer will increase.

Re: FAP Kena Bullied Jiatlat in Burma, But Will Continue to Import FTrash From There.

Those scholars aren't made for business.
In sinkieland easy to lord over sinkies and make money.....not the same for regional and world market where there is no pappy protection

Satyr

Those scholars aren't made for business.
In sinkieland easy to lord over sinkies and make money.....not the same for regional and world market where there is no pappy protection

Sadly true. Bitter experience. The success of our scholar class in the local environment has given them an inflated view of their abilities. Worse still they are fools bearing cash. Not their own I might add.

Excellent news. This has brought a smile to my face in an otherwise uneventful sunday afternoon.

Don't mess with my Burmese relatives or you'll regret it.

Kuailan

NTUC doing a booming business in Sickapoor but in Myanmar they failed miserably
have to closed shop when I was there some time back!!

You applied the same Sickapoor style marketing in Myanmar you flopped!!
Only Sinkies has no choice b'cos our gahmen has closed most wet market
leaving everything to NTUC being gahmen affiliated!!

of course anything can suceed in singapore,look at how crowded it is on weekends.....even the shittiest food establishments and chains can thrive here when u squeeze 5 million people into one island.

i just had my first fish and chips at manhattan fish market today,the entire restaurant was jammed packed....just typical fast food quality crap......cant even beat the mom and pop fish and chip stores in australia and those were way cheaper.

Well as they continue to fuck up in their investments regardless of which market they try to enter or which country or sector they still continue to have the money for investments and they still continue to retain their jobs.

It's good news in a way even as they piss away sinkies taxpayers funds.

There is no law in Burma. Burma is like Vietnam 15 to 20 years ago. You need to be prepared to pay kopi money.
That is how Malaysian retailer Parkson succeed. It will take another 15 to 20 years for the country to reach Thailand's level of economic development.

You think P&G and Unilever never pay kopi money....whahahaha....all these angmo companies are the worst.

I know that one of these MNCs is routing all its invoices to Singapore while actual goods flow in from a nearby country to Burma....:biggrin: