• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Failing Business Heavily in Debt 2nd Chance Possible?

Justneeda2ndchance

Dear Bro/Sis,

Its has been a tough time for me after failing my business 3 years back and landing myself in about 300k debts from banks, suppliers, contractors and relatives.

Being your own boss is tough and often lonely. I started on my own when I'm 31 and had no proper coaches or mentor to guide me. Nobody really cares how tough your life is. Most people will just think that being a boss means time and financial freedom.

I couldn't described how tough it was back then, I didn't know what gave me that strength to move on. I pluck up the courage to cut losses and go back being a salaried worker and earn a regular pay to service my debts. It was really a lonely journey. Even the my closest love ones could not understand why my debts are so complicated and can't seem to lessen even though i concientiously service my debts regularly.

I'm often left with a few hundred dollars for food and transport. I can't go on tours and i can't bring my family for at least a decent meal at a zhi char stall.

When my parents asked me how much i still owe and when are you able to pay up this auntie or that uncle, I'm just lost with no answers.

Back in my mind i thought to myself, i did not splurge on anything luxurious, neither do i risk my monies on 4D or Toto, i just receive my regular pay and within a few days i transfer them to respective accounts of my creditors.

Although these tough times really carved me into a much more mature and intelligent being, (at least this is how i feel and my new employer and colleagues thought) i really do not know when i will be able to make that break and return to a normal life. Being only a regular salaried employee i have limitations, the numbers and sums are not on my side.

I just keep telling myself to keep my cool and not get affected by comments from my close loved ones. They probably thought i have kept some savings for myself and not return more monies to my relatives who had helped me financially. Similarly in our small industry, suppliers and contractors do talk about me letting go my pte lid company and not being responsible for the debts owed to them.

I got so many lawyer letters of demand, debt collectors coming to my doorsteps. So much so like it was already part of my life. It wasn't something that any normal person should get use to, shouldnt it? I dealt with it. Paid up a bit, delayed a bit, employed delay tactics, or whatever i could to evade payments just to keep the few hundred bucks for my food and regular household spendings.

I was writing this in this forum hoping that what i wrote now can at least helped me remove the negative energies that is lingering in me for the past weeks. I live as simple as i could for the past 8 years, including those days when my business gone downhill. And i really dont know when these could end. Not in the next few years basing on math.

And for those who have read to this point, thank you for your time and attention

All I can say is my best wishes to you. Press on.

Dear Bro/Sis,

Its has been a tough time for me after failing my business 3 years back and landing myself in about 300k debts from banks, suppliers, contractors and relatives.

Being your own boss is tough and often lonely. I started on my own when I'm 31 and had no proper coaches or mentor to guide me. Nobody really cares how tough your life is. Most people will just think that being a boss means time and financial freedom.

I couldn't described how tough it was back then, I didn't know what gave me that strength to move on. I pluck up the courage to cut losses and go back being a salaried worker and earn a regular pay to service my debts. It was really a lonely journey. Even the my closest love ones could not understand why my debts are so complicated and can't seem to lessen even though i concientiously service my debts regularly.

I'm often left with a few hundred dollars for food and transport. I can't go on tours and i can't bring my family for at least a decent meal at a zhi char stall.

When my parents asked me how much i still owe and when are you able to pay up this auntie or that uncle, I'm just lost with no answers.

Back in my mind i thought to myself, i did not splurge on anything luxurious, neither do i risk my monies on 4D or Toto, i just receive my regular pay and within a few days i transfer them to respective accounts of my creditors.

Although these tough times really carved me into a much more mature and intelligent being, (at least this is how i feel and my new employer and colleagues thought) i really do not know when i will be able to make that break and return to a normal life. Being only a regular salaried employee i have limitations, the numbers and sums are not on my side.

I just keep telling myself to keep my cool and not get affected by comments from my close loved ones. They probably thought i have kept some savings for myself and not return more monies to my relatives who had helped me financially. Similarly in our small industry, suppliers and contractors do talk about me letting go my pte lid company and not being responsible for the debts owed to them.

I got so many lawyer letters of demand, debt collectors coming to my doorsteps. So much so like it was already part of my life. It wasn't something that any normal person should get use to, shouldnt it? I dealt with it. Paid up a bit, delayed a bit, employed delay tactics, or whatever i could to evade payments just to keep the few hundred bucks for my food and regular household spendings.

I was writing this in this forum hoping that what i wrote now can at least helped me remove the negative energies that is lingering in me for the past weeks. I live as simple as i could for the past 8 years, including those days when my business gone downhill. And i really dont know when these could end. Not in the next few years basing on math.

And for those who have read to this point, thank you for your time and attention

Take care. Ya, life is tough. Hope that things will be better for you soon.

1. press on 2. don't siao and try any "get rich" stunts, that is trouble 3. press on 4. refresh yourself, get enough sleep 5. once refreshed, look for safe bets, like extra overtime pay, extra job 6. press on 7. don't care what people think

1. Stay positive! You're doing fine by repaying your debt and not getting new ones.
2. Invest in yourself while you can! By that I mean investing time to keep your mind and body healthy, for I'm assuming you're married with kids.
3. Talk to your loved ones. While we can provide a listening ear here, it's more important to gain the support from your loved ones.

The Sammyboy Spirit shall Prevail!
All together now!!! HUAT AH!!!

Thank you all for your support!! I didn't know that this forum is that active! I started the tread 1am in the night and got these replies early in the morning and it really brightens up my day. :smile:

Just a bit about my background, I am married but no kids. I just bought an EA (fortunately my CPF is enough for me not tobfork out any cash), renovated and recently shifted to my new place. Unfortunately i still have to get into new reno debts of 30k. But i managed to renovate and get in some essential furniture to live in. I don't have fancy electronics, i didn't even have a TV, oven nor microwave. Just a simple place for me to recharge and a place to call my own home.

My wife is not having a full time job. She is doing only ad hoc jobs and taking care of my aged parents. I became the sole bread winner of my family. It's only recently that my family seems to get "impatient" over my debts and started questioning me. Well... I'm holding a managerial role of gross 6k. And i have a 300k total debts. So the math is simple not considering interests.

I was really at a lost and started to question myself if what i was doing is correct, or then i don't have much option other than working honestly and living simple.

Though over these periods i started to realize and appreciate little things around me. I am easier contented but not to the extent of accepting things as it is. It's is tough for me, probably tougher for my love ones around me especially i was never able to explain how deep shit i had gotten into.

Sometimes i blame myself for pulling down my family, but i will get this thought out of my mind. I can't felt feeling guilty over times but similarly i can let these negative feelings harbour inside me for too long.

I know i should stay as bright and cheerful as possible and clear up all my obstacles one by one.

Nevertheless. Thank you again for all the encouragement and well wishes. This is really what i needed to start a day.

Thank you

Write a very emotional book on your experience. The insults and humiliation you tormented. The mistakes you made ( most likely bad planning). How it affected your kids. And what made you borrow from your relative in the first place?

Just a bit about my background, I am married but no kids. I just bought an EA (fortunately my CPF is enough for me not tobfork out any cash), renovated and recently shifted to my new place. Unfortunately i still have to get into new reno debts of 30k. But i managed to renovate and get in some essential furniture to live in. I don't have fancy electronics, i didn't even have a TV, oven nor microwave. Just a simple place for me to recharge and a place to call my own home.

My wife is not having a full time job. She is doing only ad hoc jobs and taking care of my aged parents. I became the sole bread winner of my family. It's only recently that my family seems to get "impatient" over my debts and started questioning me. Well... I'm holding a managerial role of gross 6k. And i have a 300k total debts. So the math is simple not considering interests.

And you still took a 30k loan for reno...

Not say I want to say la: EA? Increase loan by another 10%? These 2 really difficult to listen to you anymore. Anyway maybe EA can spare some rooms for rental to pay off loan. Hell why not rent the whole EA out and move in with parents by the time 35 loan almost all gone.

My initial intention was to move my whole family into the new EA and rent out my parents whole house. However they are not keen to move in because they find it too "troublesome" to move house.

I didn't buy an EA because of the "greed" for a bigger space or whatsoever. It was a 1400 ft2 that cost 455k, which is cheaper than some 5 rm flat. It was a calculated decision because i was able to use all my cpf to cover the cost.

The reno loan was also an aid from my friend who had an ID company. He helped me do the basic reno at cost and refund the unused monies for buying new furniture and appliances. There was some remaining monies which i used to pay off some debts.

The whole buying a new house "consipracy" was a move to gain some income but was not utilize since my old parents were reluctant to move.

And yes, we manage to rent out one room for extra income. Which again was used to service debts.

Dear Bro/Sis,

KNN earning gross of 6k can settle the debt pretty fast if you follow my uncle thrifty ways of finding free foods and even money. every month you are left with few hundreds of dollars - many sinkies also in this strait even without debt to service KNN at least you still have your wife and parents to be there for support - for some wifey will run rd. good that you didn't blame others for own failed business venture like some siaochi here KNN. take care and 加油 very soon this will be a history KNN

Why don't you just declare bankruptcy. After periodic payments of a fraction of what you owe, you will be discharged and can easily start again.

Will this threaten current job or even new job opportunities? Also I believe there is a travelling restriction.

U have $300k debt. Let's assume u need to pay 10% interest per annum.

In the worst case scenario, if you don't pay anything or a substantial amount to pay off the debt, it will snowball to more than double in the 9th year. U are better off selling off your house to pay off your debt first and renting one room for $800 per month. Good news is u don't have kids, just u and your wife.

calcuation amt.JPG