• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

F&B hit very badly, especially hawkers

covertbriar

It is a similar case for the people at Low Tide - a dual-level bar and eatery concept that offers food and Tiki-style drinks on the upper floor, and food in a speakeasy bar on the lower floor.

"It's harder this time because not only are we on a prime site like a corner shophouse in Club Street with higher overheads, it is fully staffed with a team of eight that we hired before we opened," said its co-founder Mr Gray, who is British. They also have a staff of seven at Sago House to look after.

"We barely had the chance to get the word out and we are already expecting to see losses within our first month of operations," he said. "There are suppliers and staff who need to be paid, and if this goes on for three months, we will need to look at refunding the business."

Hawkers and coffee shop operators have also been severely hit, and have experienced a 50 per cent to 70 per cent dip in sales, according to the Federation of Merchants' Associations, Singapore (FMAS).

Not all are able to pivot to deliveries. "Senior hawkers and wet market owners who are not tech savvy are suffering the most," said FMAS president Yeo Hiang Meng.

"We hope the government will send more digital ambassadors to help them, while our subsidiary, Heartland Enterprise Centre Singapore, is trying to assist them as much as it can."

https://tinyurI.com/f6hbuets

Why do people pity hawkers? They are the biggest tax evaders for decades. I have no sympathy for them.

When times are good, they raise and raise prices. Some are rude to the core.

They deserve it.

The hawkers and coffee-shop operators are happy with it. So far,no complaints. Thanks to the 61% !!!

KNN my uncle doesn't understand why hawker is hit KNN ter nao sinkies still need to jiak only leeference is lazy kind will call for leeleevery KNN my uncle then leescovered they ownself want to close shop early and then kpkb KNN 830pm my uncle went coffeeshop want to buy all close shop early KNN

Look on the bright side, they save time and money by not needing to wash the plates, bowls and cutlery. :biggrin:

Some hawkers they are humble and smile at you when you order food from them but some are arrogant and very rude ... you buy food from them they still give you black face like you owe them

Moreover now hawker foods are not consider cheap, it can be as high as above $5 and they just increase price as and when they wish

Treat this as a break for them

Some hawkers they are humble and smile at you when you order food from them but some are arrogant and very rude ... you buy food from them they still give you black face like you owe them

Moreover now hawker foods are not consider cheap, it can be as high as above $5 and they just increase price as and when they wish

Treat this as a break for them

I remember last year's CB, a Malay hawker actually approached me as I went past his stall, thinking I was a prospective customer. It's like the sun rising from the west! :biggrin:

This second CB has been bad for my events catering business. Even the uptick of business from my ghost kitchens can't offset my losses. Fucking oppies! If only sinkies were not led astray by oppies, they would have been more socially responsible and this wouldn't have happened.

Reactions: jw5
This second CB has been bad for my events catering business. Even the uptick of business from my ghost kitchens can't offset my losses. Fucking oppies! If only sinkies were not led astray by oppies, they would have been more socially responsible and this wouldn't have happened.

We should all try to support local hawkers as much as possible. :thumbsup:

Support bigger kitchens like mine by ordering 30 bento sets lah. Fuck the hawkers! Towkays like me hire dozens of staff. You want to see dozens of staff retrenched just to save some illiterate old fart who refuses to accept Grab payment?

OK please post the phone number here and you would get huge orders from tomorrow onwards. :thumbsup::biggrin:

Who did these hawkers vote for ? How many of them became hawkers because they are displaced by cheaper imports ? How many working past retirement age? Why ? How many are true blue Singaporeans?

You know how many hawkers and coffee-shop stalls operators drive vellfire/Alphards ? lol..........

you mean you didn’t pass your contact to the gahmen department ordering the food for those on quarantine? or you didn’t win the tender? was it on GeBiz? :cautious::cautious::cautious:

Reactions: jw5
I think this time round Singaporeans are more afraid of this B1617 covid variant than last year's CB.

Why?

Last year was first encounter. People were not sure what it was. Also death rate low. People generally felt more confident can get through it.

This time round it is a variant that 'broke through" the defences at Changi Airport. Defeated the Singapore self declared victory against covid. And is from India. And there are many reminders to local Singaporeans about Indians when they walk around Singapore these days. Also the media coverage of this variant from India is way scarier.

So very afraid.

I think this time round Singaporeans are more afraid of this B1617 covid variant than last year's CB.
so far ECDC side has B.1.617.2 labelled as a VOC, B.1.617.1 and B.1.617.3 are labelled as VOI only.

does WHO follow ECDC guidelines?

so far ECDC side has B.1.617.2 labelled as a VOC, B.1.617.1 and B.1.617.3 are labelled as VOI only.

does WHO follow ECDC guidelines?

To be honest. I have zero idea what you talking about.

VOI is variant of India? VOC is variant of china? Just guessing

What is ECDC?

To be honest. I have zero idea what you talking about.

VOI is variant of India? VOC is variant of china? Just guessing

What is ECDC?
ECDC - European CDC
VOC - Variant of Concern
VOI - Variant of Interests

India is currently known as South Asia, didn’t you know? :coffee::coffee::coffee: