• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-NUS Graduate: I’m a failed product...

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Ex-NUS Graduate: I’m a failed product...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:57 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Ex-NUS Graduate: “I’m a failed product of our meritocratic educational system”

PostDateIcon.png
January 27th, 2011 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions |
PostEditIcon.png
Edit

graduate-boy-248x300.jpg
I am a 35-year-old male home-grown Singapore Chinese citizen. I graduated in 2000 from NUS Business School and harboured high hope of a good life afterward.
However, when I started work in an operations position, my pay was only SGD 2100 – way below the general market rate of SGD 2500 for fresh grads.
At that time, job competition and wage depression were prevalent and I didn’t want to miss out on the opportunity as it was better that I have a job than nothing at all.
My situation may sound unbelievable to you but it is true – since then, I have been stucked in a prolonged underemployment and unemployment cycle of which I can see no light for the past ten years!
As of Jan 2011, I have been out of proper employment for 8 months after completing a contract operations job. Contractual work arrangement means that I will be working for a while and stay unemployed for another long period before I managed to secure another contractual work arrangement again.
Its not ideal for work security and there is no way that I can even think of starting a family with such unstable job arrangement prevalent in our current work environment.
Relentless marketing of so-called foreign talent by the PAP has reinforced the view that foreigners are better even though they may not be and their services are not actually cheap either.
I have heard of foreigners earning $5000 when I could barely earn above $2000 and I hailed from the prestigious world-classed National University of Singapore! Something must be wrong somewhere…
Local home-grown HR managers have told me that foreigners were being hired simply because these people were foreigners. Everyone liked the idea of a diverse workplace until they were badly affected by their adverse work ethics and knowledge.
When I was hired for contract positions, the supervisors were always anxious I would disappear suddenly and they had to find replacement. People of my profile are expected to cut and run after 3 months.
This was despite the fact that I have always completed my contract term. They just couldn’t commit to a more permanent work arrangement with me.
From my observation, organizations generally preferred females (including foreign females) for the positions I applied for. These positions include administration, accounting, banking, finance, operations (office-based), human resources, retail services and sales support.
Organizations only employed males for engineering, sales and technical positions. I did not have the relevant engineering and technical background.
I have also noticed that more sales positions are now occupied by females leaving me wondering what kind of jobs are available for guys!
The only sales area where males still maintain the majority count was those of a self-employed nature.
I have also stopped applying to insurance companies because they were only interested in me becoming an insurance agent.
Some people have suggested that I go into teaching or tuition. The idea of exhorting young students to study hard for a brighter future is totally repulsive as I am the clear example of a big failure from our renowned meritocratic educational system. We are encouraged to study hard, get good grades and graduate but in the end, we all struggled to get stable decent jobs and this unpleasant situation is not only unique to me… many of my peers are caught in the same tragic cycle too.
What good is it if you have all the A’s in your report card but you could not find ready employment long after you have graduated?
Furthermore, the Ministry of Education is likely to reject me just like any other civil service or related positions that I have previously applied for.
As I felt that my NUS educational background has been either irrelevant or a liability, I have been careful in taking up any upgrading courses. In 2003, I was even rejected for a position as I was still taking a part-time course!
Other people in my situation would have long emigrated or become self-employed. I need not describe my frustrations further as this has been repeated by many people here.
I hope you are able to assist me. Please keep up the good work on your website. Thanks.
Regds,
Chua S

* This letter was submitted to Gilbert Goh, the site owner of Transitioning.org. Transitioning.org is a non-profit registered society specially set up to cater to the emotional needs of the unemployed Singaporeans.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:07 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (3 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.3 in reply to 43798.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>OnceUponAtimeLocalUGrad:</CITE>
January 27, 2011 at 7:17 pm
Dear S Chua, I am sorry to hear about your plight, and I really do hope you find a permanent job (and with decent pay) soon.
I cannot advise you as to which industry which you can try for to maximise your opportunities, but what I can say here is that you should realise that your chances of breaking into the local banking industry is slim indeed in today’s environment, so you should divert your efforts elsewhere. But don’t take my word for it, you can still try, you never know and you may always get a lucky break.
Its not that there aren’t any jobs available in the financial sector here, just that these jobs are going to fresh foreign graduates (as well as experienced foreigners)in droves. Especially those working in offshore banks based here. The middlement management whom are driving the hiring decisions are themselves probably newly hired foreigner managers, instructing the local HR departments to source for graduate trainees from the best universities in India and China, or those who studied in prestigious universities outside (such as US)their respective home countries. Of course, their results also have got to be super top notch. Then these people are snatched up so quickly before you can even say “hi ho!”. (They are quite happy to come here and earn big bucks, back home they are probably not getting such chances. However, most of them leave for greener pastures once they have acquired the skills of the trade, maybe after 3-5 years.)
Local graduates are hardly worth considering or even shunned, as the common belief amongst such employers, is that they are too spoilt and demanding (asking for high pay, unwilling to work as hard and for long hours or OT) or not bright or worldly exposed enough. And for other biased personal reasons probably.
Sadly, this has not always been the case. For example, 10 years ago, there were jobs aplenty in the financial sector for local graduates, and moreover with bright prospects for their careers. But this is no longer the case.
Sure, there are schemes for local undergraduates to be attached to banks here (a government initiative) for a short stint(presumably to give them an edge or headstart), but I believe that in the final hiring exercises, again these young people are left in the lurch. There is no good follow through.
So there you have it in short. Again I wish you all the best in your career.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:09 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (4 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.4 in reply to 43798.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>matrempit:</CITE>
January 27, 2011 at 8:12 pm
i am saddened by the plight of the local graduates. In the place where i worked there are/have been many clerks whom studied at local colleges with twinning degrees from australia universities. after their tedious 2 to 4 year slogging hard they graduate hopping to be upgraded but much to their disappointed they are not accepted but foreigners with half past degrees which used to be good for maid jobs only are positions better than them. i am sure there are many of you out there whom can relate to this but feel very angry that these other FT (if you don’t know where from, just hop on the peak hour trains) whom could not get in are now displacing them. I am not against FT esp from India who are so good with computers etc but those pthers from neighbouring 3rd world countries have it good at expense of local talent. The only way to redress this is cull foreign low tech FT and keep them back esp their degrees are from half past 6 universities.
Good luck to those in such predicament… hopefully you get where you want to one day … the harsh reality is having a degree is no guarantee by gift of the gap is more important.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:09 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (5 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.5 in reply to 43798.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>nihon:</CITE>
January 27, 2011 at 7:01 pm
if you go see the mps, they will say upgrade, and the wda will say you r over qualified. don’t be choosy etc. if the grads are doing so badly, what about those without degrees?
my friend’s son graduated from nus last year, econs major, now still jobless. papigs will spin- due to globalisation, recession, falling birth rates etc, but they will not stop the indiscriminate inflow of fts/prs; as the largest employer, the gomen and gomen linked companies will benefit most from cheap labour, so now keppel is reporting increased profits. And the grateful copy sgs will likely vote the status quo since they gain from the ultra liberal immigration policies.
YOU and only YOU can stop this, by voting wisely, pls.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:11 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (7 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.7 in reply to 43798.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>Longtrader:</CITE>
January 27, 2011 at 8:14 pm
I finally got a job after one year and three months. Now where I work, they outsource the whole IT operations. I got the job thru a recommendation. The perm IT staff are mostly Singaporeans but the number is only about 10% as the rest are outsourced. You can forget about applying a job as they do not advertise.
As most companies employ only a few Singaporean IT staff, its mostly thru recommendations. I don’t know about other fields of work but I believe it’s the same. IT has been like these for many years but most jbs have been taken away leaving only 10% or less for Singaporeans. The rest of the Singaporeans good luck as you are competing with cheap labor.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:12 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(8 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.8 in reply to 43798.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>passingby:</CITE>
January 27, 2011 at 8:20 pm
Sorry to hear about Mr Chua. but it affect alot of local people. my niece is still looking after 11 months since grad.
i am working for a mnc, we have so many foreigners even for admin jobs, operational role etc which i thought are more suitable for fresh grad to gain a footing after graduation. then again, its either paying u $2000 or a foreigner $2000 but without the CPF. u do the maths.
honestly, i hv no idea why the govn do that. in other countries, its more expensive to hire foreigners than local. the application process is even harder.
then again, since when have the PaP thought abt its citizens?
all the MPs care about is to milk the cows, get into listed companies and collect directors fees, buy discounted condos, inside connection to biz deals, send their kids to elite schools so that they call tell poor people there are poor becos they are lazy.
then again, who give a shit since i have all the 6Cs.
then again, i served my country for 2.5 years, pay taxes, donate to charities, reservisted for 13 years.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:13 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (9 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43798.9 in reply to 43798.8 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><CITE class=fn>Bullied at workplace by FT bosses:</CITE>
January 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm
Do you know the number of local native grads working under FT bosses who are being bullied. They are made to work long hours and pressured with impossible deadlines. They go home late nights usually by taxi without any reimbursement as they have to be in the office on time next day. They are made to come back on weekends to clear work backlog. They are poorly paid in the range of 2k to 2.5k per month. They are given some executive titles hence unable claim overtime. Their FT bosses leave on time together with the other stupid local native bosses who got no b-lls, and other FT bosses. The FT bosses treat other FT juniors better than locals. Promotions are given to their FT kind although they are as not as good as locals workwise. Many locals are resigning at the first opportunity. Replacement against these resignations are being filled up by same
FT types. I have heard so many such stories. What is happening? Somebody in
Charge in charge is fast asleep.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

why he did not join pap youth
why did he not sign on army or police
why did he not join pap

i already can name 3 reasons why it is his own fault

The economy is growing 15%, the fastest in the world

There are lots of high paying jobs if the applicant has the right attitude

Look at the Recruit section on Saturdays, look at the hiring surveys

Jia tor cannot, be flexible - switch to 'pian' lah. Collect 4D, be soccer runner etc all make more money.

Young man, your future is still bright. You are not a failure. The fact that you are thinking what went wrong goes to prove you have a chance of succeeding.

Never follow the example set by mehmeh and marcelos. They have no chance to succeed just because they think they speak good English. You are miles ahead of them if that is any consolation at all.

I wish you well, from the bottom of my heart.

If that is his picture, he is a liar. That is not the gown of an NUS graduate. :D

Check out the Canada Immigration website http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index.asp
And do the skills assessment test to see whether you can each score 67 points or more....note by taking a short converational course in French can earn them two more points.
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigra.../Education.asp

Education, Car, Home, Food, Jobs, Lifestyle, compare them and do you still want to continue to be a 3rd class SUCKER in Singapore?

In the last 5 years there is a exodus of Singaporeans to Edmonton, Alberta and I am sure the other major western countries will see even bigger number. Many countries like Canada and Australia would not officially admit but if given a choice they will choose the Singaporeans over most other nationalities to immigrate into their countries for obvious reasons.
Once you become a PR, you must get your parents along immediately as we have universal health and hospitalization is free, not like those "subsidized" expensive hospitals in Singapore.

If your parents continue to live in Singapore, ask them whether they can see much cheaper hospital bills 20 years done the road? In 1990, a a year before I immigrated to Canada, I saw my special needs daughter's hospital bill suddenly shot up after they "privatized" the Singapore General Hospital. We knew this is the sign of things to come 20 years from then, so my wife and I got to give up all our self-employed businesses and immigrated to Canada to rough it out.

We could have remain in Singapore can earn at least $250,000 per year of combined income but I might have ended up screwing our maid and my now 14 year old son will have to serve the "boys scout" army 4 years from now and then imprison by another 13 to 15 years of reservist liabilities and live in the fear of losing out to the FT for jobs.
We are not rich in money now, but we are happy as a FREE family and oh I forgot to add....this Friday my son is going SNOWBOARDING with his school.....what's more, he has his full set of equipment.

Testimony of Alberta Education....my son hardly has homework even at age 14 grade 9 and they can choose elective subjects of their choice according to their interest.
http://www.edmontonjournal.com/news/...411/story.html

Cars in Edmonton...no silly COE and no road tax.
http://www.webermotorsltd.com/invent...model/B-Class/
http://www.mayfieldtoyota.ca/new.html

If you can afford a 3-room flat in Singapore, you can afford to buy a "bungalow" in Edmonton!
http://homes.point2.com/CA/Alberta/E...al-Estate.aspx
http://www.edmontonhomesforsale.biz/

Food
http://www.realcanadiansuperstore.ca...e/?storeId=872

Jobs and US$9 TRILLION oil sand...3 times more than Saudi:
http://edmontonjobs.com/
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=excuFP8JQHE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ro0LW...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALCTO...eature=related
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athabasca_oil_sands
http://www.canada.com/Business/Nexen...tml?id=1461208
http://www.energy.gov.ab.ca/OurBusiness/oilsands.asp

Our city and playground
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_of_Edmonton
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Edmonton_Mall
http://www.discovertherockies.com/

Join the thousands of ex-Singaporeans who had pick up to courage to break out of the PAP brainwashing machine and seek for themselves and children real freedom just to be HUMANS....not super human....just ordinary HUMANS and citizens who are appreciated and protected by the government and not scolded, lectured on and even replaced by the PAP govt. We realize that if our fore parents dare to immigrate to Singapore why we do not dare to emigrate out?

Do you know that a falcon can fly up to 200 miles per hour (wikipedia)? But if you put a 6' by 6' fence round it, even with the top OPEN, the falcon cannot fly out! They need the space to "take off". The PAP govt. through all the brainwashing (called social engineering) in pre-kindergarten to the army to work place and whole society via Straits Times, has placed the fence round you and all other Singaporean FALCONS.......they have limited your space to take off. Even now the top is opened.... you are free to go and not lock up like in Cuba or North Korea, do Singaporeans dare to think seriously to immigrate, let alone try to your extend now.

I feel sad for them and for you. Many of you do not know see the fence and worse do not know you have the power to fly like a falcon! It simply breaks my heart to see fellow human beings being reduced to such a stage and trapped with those HDB, car loan, fear of a FT taking over your job and then join the rat race to success which will lead them to be a better RAT.....yea still a successFOOL rat.
Or after work you just lock yourself in your room to listen to old CDs so as to shield from the rapid changes and stressful life in SINKgaPOOR. Stop lying to yourself, stop being depressed by the Singpaore system. Singapore has let you down. Singapore does not deserve to have you and me.

Thanks for giving me the honour to pull the fence apart and lead you to discover that you can now take off and fly like a falcon to Canada and land as a sheep to roam nature. It's now up to you to take the calculated risk.

"Courage is not the absence of fear; courage is ACT despite fear."
"There is always a PHILOSOPHY for the lack of courage". Albert Comus.
"We don't see things the way they are. We see things the way we are." Talmud.

What are you waiting for?
Welcome to Canada!

Bernard CHAN
9090-51 Ave
Edmonton, AB Canada T6E 5X4

If that is his picture, he is a liar. That is not the gown of an NUS graduate. :D

NUS grad or not, I think I know this person. He is marcelos the power england but bo lui anti-social angmo tuakee lover.

The economy is growing 15%, the fastest in the world

There are lots of high paying jobs if the applicant has the right attitude

Look at the Recruit section on Saturdays, look at the hiring surveys

LoL it's like posting a dozen jobs when 10,000 people are applying for it .

<table class="msgtable" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="96%"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td rowspan="2" style="vertical-align: top;">
</td><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">
My situation may sound unbelievable to you but it is true – since then, I have been stucked in a prolonged underemployment and unemployment cycle of which I can see no light for the past ten years!
count was those of a self-employed nature.
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

If his grades and qualifications are good but he's getting nowhere, he obviously has a character or personality flaw.

He's not alone. There are bucket loads of such characters out there. While they may be armed to the teeth with paper qualifications, they simply don't inspire confidence and respect.

In the nineties it's a few thousand competing for a entry level post .

By now most either gave up or settle for less .

Goldendragon:

If this guy say he is a "failed product" I just wonder where those "N" level graduates stand in Singapore. No matter how they upgrade, they cannot even get a degree like this guy.

What is worse, these lower educated "N" level graduates are fast being replaced by Pinyon FT who are younger, speak better and most have a college diploma.....but willing to accept lower pay like Sin$1,300 compare to these "N" level mid 30 years old ladies who are drawing $1,800 + CPF.

Would the employer retain the true-blue Singaporeans?

At mid 30s, these Singapore single ladies are too old to be "expensive" whores and even in this "profession" at a low rate of $30 to $50 per session "making love" with those FT workers (with stinking armpit smell and bear and smoke mouth), they face stiff competitions from those mid 20 year old PRC, Pinyon and Thai FT. In fact it is like out of the frying pan into a fire situation.

Even the "N" level Singapore spinsters want to marry an Ang Mo to immigrate, they need to compete with the FT PRC and Pinyon who are younger, more pretty and more lady like.

Poor thing, they are so depressed tht even given a help and chance to immigrate, they will not dare and give all kinds of excuse not to leave Singapore! Other groups flare not much better.

One of the solution is after work (if they still have one) to lock themselves inside their room and listen to old CD sounds to "protect" and shield themselves to the harsh Singapore society.

The whole bloody Singapore system has failed them these 10 years and the next 10 years it will be worse.....cannot even imagine the next 20 to 25 years. They will grow old "disgracefully".

Goodendragon:

By the way, could you recommend me a good Hakka restuarant in Singapore?

A Singapore lady told me she needs to reserve a place in that Hakka restuarant; she has stop emailing me so I do not know which restuarant she is refering to. I would like to birng my 90th year old dad to eat.

Since you have own nightclubs before, I am sure you know this Hakka Resturant which is so good that we need reservation.

Thanks.

why he did not join pap youth
why did he not sign on army or police
why did he not join pap

i already can name 3 reasons why it is his own fault

Like I said many many aeons ago . You choose
not to fight the system . The system will eject
and spit you out . Eliminating you .
When the system timed for a reprogramming .
The system realizing it's failing somewhere but
could not pinpoint itself to correct itself nor tell
all the predecessors to reboot or face self-immolation .

Bullied at workplace by FT bosses:
January 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm
Do you know the number of local native grads working under FT bosses who are being bullied. They are made to work long hours and pressured with impossible deadlines. They go home late nights usually by taxi without any reimbursement as they have to be in the office on time next day. They are made to come back on weekends to clear work backlog. They are poorly paid in the range of 2k to 2.5k per month. They are given some executive titles hence unable claim overtime. Their FT bosses leave on time together with the other stupid local native bosses who got no b-lls, and other FT bosses. The FT bosses treat other FT juniors better than locals. Promotions are given to their FT kind although they are as not as good as locals workwise. Many locals are resigning at the first opportunity. Replacement against these resignations are being filled up by same
FT types. I have heard so many such stories. What is happening? Somebody in
Charge in charge is fast asleep.

There was a time .
And there is a gathering between
the elites and employers . The working class and
middle class are growing in their wealth and become choosy, complacent in their work attitude . You can
look from many angles . Depending if you the giver
or the receiving end .

This choice appearing to have given the working class some civil disobedience .
This mechanism have to be in place to check the power and new wealth of the common folks . In place is the FT system innocently filled up initially as a placement for
jobs shunned by society . Soon this rot will slowly
eats it's way to the top .

Societies prefers better pay and job placement .
Employers cannot afford to have people come
and go and leave work undone .

Just too long and my thoughts too fuzzy .

I will just say that people in Singapore do not care
enough for a good fight . Never fight for the poor,
never fight for the rich and never ever in a good
fight for anything
worthy . Because it's never my concern .
Singaporeans always so comfortable to think that everyday they will be left alone .