• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Everitt family may be evicted

streetcry

The Chans allegedly missed several of their monthly payments on a loan from DBS bank, which is seeking a High Court order to possess the property. One option is for the Chans to sell the house on their own and settle their debt. -- ST PHOTO: CAROLINE CHIA

A FAMILY whose long-running spat with their Everitt Road neighbours led to several widely publicised stand-offs in court is now facing a suit of a different kind.

A bank wants to turn them out of their home for allegedly missing payments on a loan and is seeking a High Court order to possess the property.

The family, who has lived there for more than 15 years, is made up of retiree Chan Cheng Khoon, 74, his wife Chua Gek Eng, 71, and their daughter, Dr Chan Soo Yin, 47.

Years of feuding

# 1993: The Everitt Road dispute reportedly started over parking space, and escalated into a tit-for-tat war involving chains, video cameras and allegations of abuse on both sides.

# 2002: The quarrel drew media notice when seven families sought help from MP Chan Soo Sen.

Mediation efforts failed to resolve the conflict. The escalating quarrels drew wide interest, with the street attracting curious observers from outside the neighbourhood.

A slew of police reports and court complaints followed.

# 2004: In July, Mr Chan Cheng Khoon was fined $4,000 for insulting Madam Teo Suan Moy and another neighbour, Ms Bency Chua.

# 2005: In November, Mr Chan was again fined for insulting another neighbour.

# 2006: In February, Mr Chan was fined the maximum $2,000 for harassing Mr Loh Beng Lee, who lived diagonally across from his house.

His daughter, Dr Chan Soo Yin, 47, was fined $2,000 in January for insulting a neighbour.

# 2009: Dr Chan said she filed 25 magistrates' complaints against various neighbours between 2005 and 2006 - one leading to a $500 fine being imposed on Madam Tan Bee Hua, which was set aside in August.

She added the others were either resolved, settled or dismissed.

so who's the "bad" guy and "good" guy in the everitt incident?

this is also known as the Joo Chiat case?

Be afraid. Be very afraid. They may move to a house near you.

Even worse, they may split up and move to houses near three of you.

Be afraid. Be very afraid. They may move to a house near you.

Even worse, they may split up and move to houses near three of you.
I'm looking forward to it. At the stage of my life where I never turn down the chance for a good spat.
If they split up, it will make it easier to handle them, wouldn't it?
I wonder if they really can't pay or simply "kwai lan" and don't want to pay.

You haven't see those bank outsource legal debt collector. Their livelihood depend on collection amount. and they have deal with all sort of people leow. they make a living out of being kwai lan. professional kwai lan!

he he he! i think even bird and monkey in the sembawang park will run away from this family.

heard there's cheap housing in a place called Oxley Rd. Would be a nice place for this family :)

They are smarter than they look, they will be millionaires once they sell their home.

Finally all the neighbours can have some peace if the Chan's property is repossesed. This is called Karma for being "Kwai Lan". I have never like the Chan's family, and if they were to behave in such manner in Malaysia, their fate won't be so easy. It is their neighbours who have been putting up with chan's craps all these years.

They are smarter than they look, they will be millionaires once they sell their home.

You mean you can default payment as long as you have an intention to sell?

This family really writing their own laws sia.

Good lah, possessed by bank then auctioned off cheap cheap.

1m can get?

Ya, understand that premises were vacated because owner and family are staying at the Istana which is rent free.

heard there's cheap housing in a place called Oxley Rd. Would be a nice place for this family :)

Ya, understand that premises were vacated because owner and family are staying at the Istana which is rent free.

If you check the housing in that area you will find the prices is surprising low.

Seems that nobody likes to have the old man as a neighbour. Regular security checks, rules on who, what,... you can do in your own property. It is like living in HDB with their rules & regulations :)

Even if the old man spends most of his time in "his big house", he still owns the old place.

Dear Johnny333,

Please don't boast your ignorance for all to read. Do some homework first. The houses there recently went for $1.48 mil, $1.538 mil and $1.55 mil (A friend of mine viewed one of the houses). That averages around $870+ psf. That's not low.

There are some 15-20 houses there and the trouble the Chans have are only with 3 houses. The rest have no problems with them. In fact, my friend spoke to one of the neighbours there and this neighbour who has a cordial relationship with the Chans said the 3 houses are not as innocent as they make themselves out to be. They go around the neighbourhood gossipping and trying to recruit the other neighbours against the Chans. The owner of the house my friend viewed was also on good terms with the Chans.

So there you have it......what to believe??? Of course it's very simplistic and simple minded to think there is only black and white but real life has shades of gray.

chansy, out of the curiousity. 1.55/870 = 1781 sqf. so the house that "your friend" view is semi-d or stand-alone? quite reasonable price for joo chiat area.

is it still for sales?

chansy,

u might as well ask samleong how much he charges for advertising here.

a lot of rich ppl here u know. who knows maybe can get a good deal for your that 'fren':D

Dear Johnny333,

Please don't boast your ignorance for all to read. Do some homework first. The houses there recently went for $1.48 mil, $1.538 mil and $1.55 mil (A friend of mine viewed one of the houses). That averages around $870+ psf. That's not low.

Ehh Do you mean a house in Oxely Rd. ?

Do you know that is considered very, very cheap for private property in the Orchard Rd area :eek:

This is an area where condo's cost many millions.

You can imagine just how much more properties would fetch if it wasn't for the old ones presence in that area :rolleyes: