• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Even Ex-Colonial Master Wanted to Reclaim SG!

[h=2]British flag found displaying at Casa Jervois Condo[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
July 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

A TRE reader has just sent in this photo. It showed a British flag displaying at the Casa Jervois Condo at 99 Jervois Road.
The reader said, “I was shocked this morning to see among all the flags celebrating our National Day, this British flag hanging out at a condo at 99 Jervois Road.”
He added, “Is the owner of the apartment trying to be funny? If this person is not Singaporean, he or she should show more respect (to Singapore).”
99-jervois-road1.jpg

Other netizens also did not like the idea of displaying foreign flags during the celebration period of Singapore’s National Day. In fact, in another incident, after a netizen posted online a picture of a China flag hanging over the parapet of a HDB flat in Hougang Ave 3 (‘Fancy flying China Flags at Singapore’s National Day?‘), it caused a storm with many netizens condemning the act.
flags-300x180.png
(Photo STOMP)

Meanwhile, in a Facebook posting on (25 Jul), the Police said that it had initiated investigations against a 54-year-old female Chinese Singapore citizen (‘Police investigating woman who displays PRC flag‘) after the story of the China flag hanging over the HDB parapet broke.
Police have highlighted that displaying a foreign flag in public may contravene the National Emblems (Control of Display) Act, Chapter 196.
Under the National Emblems (Control of Display) Act [Link], no person shall display any national emblems (i.e, any flags, banners or emblems etc) in public or within any schools. However, the Act does not apply to diplomatic foreign or consular representatives who otherwise can display their own country’s flags or emblems. The display of any national emblem on any ship or aircraft is also allowed.
The Act also states that any police officer may arrest without warrant anyone whom he has reasonable cause to believe has committed or is committing the offence. It also gives the police officer the power of entry and search if he has reasonable cause to believe that the offence has been committed. Anyone found guilty of this offence will be subjected to a fine not exceeding $500 or to imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or to both.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

Too many Sinkies are putting too much emotional significance onto a flag - a goddam piece of cloth.

Everyone should be allowed to fly any flag they like, in any manner they like, or use the flag in anyway they choose at any time of the year. Or they can choose not to.

You want to fly a Soviet Union flag, pirate flag or rainbow flag or cartoon character flag, carry on. You want to burn a flag, carry on.

Stop showing 'respect' to an inanimate object.

Lets see of this govt has the balls to touch an Ang Mo? Any bets?

!!

Too many Sinkies are putting too much emotional significance onto a flag - a goddam piece of cloth............................................................................................................................................................Stop showing 'respect' to an inanimate object.

I can't agree more. It's just a piece of cloth. Why get angered and agitated over it.

They should allow anybody to display any state flag they wishes.
I can bet Sinkie flag will be hugely outnumbered.

Relax lah!!!

People are celebrating London Olympics 2012.

It has nothing to do with August 9th.

If u were anywhere in europe during the euro championship, you would have seen many foreign European countries flags flying from cars and apartments and shops....

Since the Govt welcome them, they should also welcome their wishes.
Hope to see Flags of the World all over the island.

Incidentally, there was a VW lady local lady who display a German flag to
her car.....Still around the streets? ...real spg to the core; carry ang mo bolas

putting too much emotional significance onto a flag - a goddam piece of cloth.

A flag is not "a goddam piece of cloth" it is a symbolic representation of your country and so it must be respected.

Stop showing 'respect' to an inanimate object.

Again you are wrong.

Everyone should be allowed to fly any flag they like, in any manner they like, or use the flag in anyway they choose at any time of the year. Or they can choose not to.

You want to fly a Soviet Union flag, pirate flag or rainbow flag or cartoon character flag, carry on. You want to burn a flag, carry on.

Try to burn any flag of any Middle Eastern country or any foreign flag in Singapore and see what happens. :rolleyes:

[h=2]British flag found displaying at Casa Jervois Condo[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
July 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

A TRE reader has just sent in this photo. It showed a British flag displaying at the Casa Jervois Condo at 99 Jervois Road.
The reader said, “I was shocked this morning to see among all the flags celebrating our National Day, this British flag hanging out at a condo at 99 Jervois Road.”
He added, “Is the owner of the apartment trying to be funny? If this person is not Singaporean, he or she should show more respect (to Singapore).”
99-jervois-road1.jpg

Other netizens also did not like the idea of displaying foreign flags during the celebration period of Singapore’s National Day. In fact, in another incident, after a netizen posted online a picture of a China flag hanging over the parapet of a HDB flat in Hougang Ave 3 (‘Fancy flying China Flags at Singapore’s National Day?‘), it caused a storm with many netizens condemning the act.
flags-300x180.png
(Photo STOMP)

Meanwhile, in a Facebook posting on (25 Jul), the Police said that it had initiated investigations against a 54-year-old female Chinese Singapore citizen (‘Police investigating woman who displays PRC flag‘) after the story of the China flag hanging over the HDB parapet broke.
Police have highlighted that displaying a foreign flag in public may contravene the National Emblems (Control of Display) Act, Chapter 196.
Under the National Emblems (Control of Display) Act [Link], no person shall display any national emblems (i.e, any flags, banners or emblems etc) in public or within any schools. However, the Act does not apply to diplomatic foreign or consular representatives who otherwise can display their own country’s flags or emblems. The display of any national emblem on any ship or aircraft is also allowed.
The Act also states that any police officer may arrest without warrant anyone whom he has reasonable cause to believe has committed or is committing the offence. It also gives the police officer the power of entry and search if he has reasonable cause to believe that the offence has been committed. Anyone found guilty of this offence will be subjected to a fine not exceeding $500 or to imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or to both.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

The Spanish flag, and even the Union Jack in this country? Who and what are they, and are they subjected to extraterritorial laws? These filthy Westerners are coming here enjoying the best of the free market system and they spit at you Asians and even to the extent of disrespecting and disregarding your homeland. If you useless failures actually swallow these then I have nothing to say.