• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Even a fishmoger can be a state representative

batman1

Yes, even a fishmonger can be state rep
Dr Mana | Jul 13, 09 4:21pm
An assemblyman’s role is to serve the people. Many go into politics with the ideal intent of serving the people but in some cases they end up serving themselves. This happens not only in Malaysia but also in many other countries.

Societies have seen how some politicians have enriched themselves after securing power. They own palatial homes and a fleet of luxury cars, flaunt a lavish lifestyle, have all their children educated overseas, own houses and properties overseas and heap themselves with businesses and other properties. These are some of the insincere politicians who have served themselves more than the people who have voted them in.

Educated or uneducated, some politicians do have some of these weaknesses. To brand a hopeful candidate in the Manek Urai by-election as less educated and to keep highlighting his present profession as a fishmonger utterly to despise him has backfired in this constituency. The people – both educated and uneducated – have shown their disgust at this comment from some quarters in our society.

Dignity is elemental when it comes to human pride. No man would want to be relegated or looked down upon in society just because of his profession or vocation. Even a beggar on the streets has his pride.

Educated or uneducated is a relative measure of a man’s integrity and credibility in life. Education, no doubt, does help to turn a man into a better person but it takes more than education to become a good human being.

No person should despise a person just because he is less educated or is just doing some menial job. Is it wrong for a farmer or fisherman to lead the society? If he has the aspiration and personality to lead the more educated, then let it be.

Many doctors and lawyers of today were brought up by parents who are farmers and fishermen. Could we say that they were not good parents? Many drug addicts in society are also children to educated parents. What then went wrong with these educated parents?

A fishmonger or a university professor, what is important in society is whether the person is sincere, decent and is earning a living in an honest way. If he does not rob or cheat but work hard for a living and willing to serve the people, he can certainly lead.

Of what pride do the highly educated have when they are habitually involved in corruption, cheating and swindling the people? Let’s therefore not have a jaundiced view of human qualities just because some people do not belong to the ‘elite’ group.

Education these days does not necessarily change a person to become honest or truthful. We see white collar crimes committed by those who have achieved high education.

Some have educated themselves to cheat the organisation they lead or work in. Even religious education is not a guarantee that it can create honest people. We have often observed those who grew up with religious values involved in crimes and vice.

So what would then assure the people that the leaders they vote in are going to be sincere and honest? Can the people have faith in them to bring changes to their state of life? Do we need to have candidates who have strings of degrees to lead the people?

Perhaps, at the federal level we need politicians who are educated and knowledgeable to steer the country to success. However, beyond this is trustworthiness. The people do not need those with high education but utterly corrupted to lead the people.

At the state level, where the ordinary people want an ordinary politician to help them, a simple person suffices to do the job.

As in the case of Manek Urai, in Kelantan there is a simple, honest and down-to-earth candidate in the by-election who earns an honest living in the fishing sector to feed his family and help the people.

He is uncorrupted, unselfish and forever loved by the people here for his simplicity and deeds that have made the poor people of Manek Urai treasure him. He is known to have helped many poor families in this area. He has fed many poor families with his hard-earned money without asking to be recompensed for his heartfelt sacrifice.

This man has an exemplary character not many can match though he may not have been to the university or hold a degree. This is the kind of personality the ordinary people in the village want in a politician. So, let’s not despise him just because he does not belong to the ‘elite’ cluster of our society.

Our perception of a person should change. Educated or uneducated, it’s the heart that matters. Sincerity, honesty and kindness come from the heart and not from one’s intellectuality.

Yes, even a fishmonger can be state rep ...
dun tink tis can happen in sg leh ...

during erection, if he goes ard shaking hands ... dose nose-in-ze-air gr8er mortals definitely wun want 2 shake hands wif him 1 ... lidat how can he win? ... :rolleyes:

SamuelStalin

Behind the meaningful facade is boring preachiness. This is something you don't say too often to girls, at least not in full.

This article is written by and posted by those who feel oppressed by the system. People are such hypocrites. If you are against the system, you suffer and you write subjective dung like this that masquerades as something objective. If you are with the system, or even, among the constructors of the system, you accept whatever perks that comes, you do what your superiors suggest and do, and you enjoy the benefits of your office quietly without complaining out loud.

So how many of you are of the caliber of a moral politician or even a politician at all?

Eurekas

I believe Taxi Drivers, kindergarten teachers, jamban cleaners etc make good politicians if they have the sincerity and high EQ to serve the people and to understand the ground sentiments better. Most of the MPs in PAP enter politics to serve and enrich themselves. They approved themselves to collect million dollar salaries, drive limousines, live in bungalows and mansions and sent their children to US and Uk universities using taxpayers' money. Even when you pay these people $10 million with lucrative GLC monopolies deals, mansions and other luxuries, you just can't change the greed and corruption inside those scums minds. A major revamp of our society is needed to change people who serve politics to enrich themselves and their families to people who serve politics to genuinely help the disadvantaged people.

kensington

When those thieves pay themselves huge salaries, it is a wake up sign but everyone seemingly are still, zzzz......

the only paragraph that caught my eyes:

A fishmonger or a university professor, what is important in society is whether the person is sincere, decent and is earning a living in an honest way. If he does not rob or cheat but work hard for a living and willing to serve the people, he can certainly lead.

the fishmonger we know lives in abc market who is also a desperate troll of a housewife. the UNI professor is a nerd who is also a mastershapeshifter and looks like my pet snake in my avatar.:biggrin:

their presence in politics is to create social anger, unrest and hopefully turn sgp topsy-turvy. when that happens - touch wood NO! - they would be totally clueless about how to contain the mess. as usual ala carte chee soon juan's blurking style.:biggrin:

myo539

I believe Taxi Drivers, kindergarten teachers, jamban cleaners etc make good politicians if they have the sincerity and high EQ to serve the people and to understand the ground sentiments better.....

In the Philippines and India, many actresses become politicians. There is even a boxer in the Philippines who wants to become one. I would be very happy if your grandmother or mother becomes an MP and serves me without being paid a salary.

guavatree

the only paragraph that caught my eyes

lanjiao sucking unemployed parasite old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, betrayer, all rolled into one!

you stole temple donation money and the chief monk told you to fuck off!

you bashed your 80 y.o.father until bloody when he threw away your gay porn!

you called your mother LAUCHEEBYE when she reprimanded you for doing fuck all at home except prostituting yourself round-the-clock in cyberspace!

you also stole handphones and claimed that handphones waved at you!

you steal others forum password!

you tried to con a forummer's property!

you tried to con the same person to include your name in his will when he discovered you tried to con his property!

you cursed an old man at his death bed!

you tried to con laukwayboos but you end up only con some free makan!