• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Even 154th Du Lan With Ho Jinx's Reckless Punting Ways!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Temasek should clear the air
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>It must not shrug off BoA losses as a blip if it is to emerge stronger </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Ignatius Low, Money Editor
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->What is one to make of Temasek's decision to sell its entire stake in Bank of America (BoA)?
The move has resulted in one of the largest-ever realised losses from a single investment in Singapore's history. The number is so large - at least US$2.3 billion (S$3.4 billion) - that one has to wonder exactly what it was that compelled Temasek to bite the bullet.
After all, outgoing CEO Ho Ching reiterated this week that the investment fund takes a long-term view, at least 10 years and up to 50 years. So it could have well waited a few years for the global economy to recover and cash out then.
12053030hochingm.jpg

$ no enuff lah! *KNN*

Instead, it will now face the wrath of the Singapore public, already shaken by news that Temasek's portfolio shrank 31 per cent in the wake of the financial crisis and its recent $401.5 million investment in Australia's ABC Learning Centres has likely lost most of its value.
There are probably three reasons why Temasek chose to cash out.
The first has to do with the fact that, unlike the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC), which invested in UBS and Citigroup, Temasek did not end up with what it paid for.
Temasek's original US$5.1 billion investment was in Merrill Lynch, a truly global business engaged in high-yielding activities like corporate finance and private banking. BoA, on the other hand, is focused on more traditional businesses like consumer and corporate lending.
More importantly, Temasek owned as much as 13.7 per cent of Merrill. But after BoA's takeover, it owned only about 3 per cent of the merged entity. In other words, Temasek went from owning a major stake in a global investment bank to a minor stake in a gigantic US lender.
If BoA did not fit into Temasek's strategy, it was entitled to exit the investment.

=> But why exit at the lowest point? More importantly, the Familee is investing to jep up their #1 ego than to make $!

If Merrill had been bought by a similar type of institution, say JP Morgan or Goldman Sachs, Temasek would not have been in such a dilemma today.
Secondly, there were very real fears a few months ago that major US banks could be nationalised.
If a bank like BoA was nationalised, the value of its shares would likely plunge to zero or near-zero. That risk was enough to prompt many other shareholders to rush to exit their investments early this year, however painful the loss.
Finally, BoA is showing some signs of distress. A recent US government stress test showed that 10 US banks needed US$74.6 billion more in capital, with BoA making up almost half that amount at US$33.9 billion.
Leadership problems have also emerged. Once hailed as a hero, chief executive Kenneth Lewis was recently ousted as BoA chairman. His position as CEO is now in doubt, and the US government has urged BoA to revamp its board.
So if one is inclined to take a charitable view, Temasek's action is similar to that of an investor cutting his losses and trying to recoup his money by betting on winners somewhere else. But such arguments are unlikely to assuage Temasek's critics.
There is just no running away from the fact that the investment fund has lost as much as US$4.6 billion of the nation's reserves (the topmost end of the loss range) from a single investment in just over a year.
Here, Temasek will need to clear the air on two major issues. The first is the timing of the sale.
Temasek unloaded all its shares by the end of the first quarter of this year when prices averaged US$6.73, just before an April rally that saw BoA shares double from US$7 to US$14. It is impossible to time the market perfectly, of course, but could Temasek have waited a little while more for the situation to improve?
Just three days ago, US Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner was quoted as saying that the US financial system has completed a big part of a painful adjustment away from its excessively leveraged state, and was 'starting to heal'.
Tellingly, none of the other sovereign wealth funds that had ploughed into the global investment banks at roughly the same time had exited their investments.
The Singapore Government has already admitted to buying into these mega-banks too early. Did Temasek make it two wrongs by also selling too early? Could it have hedged its bets by selling only part of its stake?
The second issue is whether Temasek had taken sufficient measures to protect itself against downside risk, knowing full well that it was investing such a hefty amount in a US bank in the middle of a gathering financial storm.
The comparison with GIC is illustrative. GIC invested US$6.88 billion in Citigroup just one month after Temasek's investment in Merrill Lynch. But GIC's investment came with a protection clause: It could opt not to convert its investment into shares should the stock price dip, and instead receive 7 per cent in coupon interest in perpetuity.
That clause came in handy when it was asked by the US government to convert its investment into shares three months ago. To give up its right to that coupon interest income, Citigroup was forced to offer GIC and other similar investors a fairly low conversion price of US$3.25 a share - so low that other Citigroup shareholders complained.
As a result, GIC is not in Temasek's position. It is, in fact, sitting on a small paper gain today, going by Citigroup's closing price of US$3.55 yesterday.
To be fair, neither Temasek nor GIC - or any shrewd investor - could have predicted the ferocious market meltdown that occurred in September last year. These are, after all, extraordinary times, and so extraordinary outcomes - and losses - will be expected.
Still, Temasek should not shrug off the loss as yet another wiggle in the curve it had no control over. It must not stop doing what it does best, which is to continue to be aggressive and obtain the best possible returns for the people of Singapore.
But some serious soul-searching is in order at the 35-year-old institution so it can emerge stronger and better-equipped for the job ahead. [email protected]

Devil Within

<
To be fair, neither Temasek nor GIC - or any shrewd investor - could have predicted the ferocious market meltdown that occurred in September last year. These are, after all, extraordinary times, and so extraordinary outcomes - and losses - will be expected.

What bullshit! Jim Roger was telling everyone to go short on the US banks way back before Temasek even got into it! Also Peter Schiff of Euro Pacific Capital has been warning about the impending major meltdown of US economy as far back as 2 years ago! And he gave VERY CLEAR EXPLANATION of why the major meltdown will come very soon!

Only idiots in Temasek didn't see it coming. People say you pay peanuts, you'll get monkeys. But we pay millions, we still get monkeys! :mad:

R4g3

What bullshit! Jim Roger was telling everyone to go short on the US banks way back before Temasek even got into it! Also Peter Schiff of Euro Pacific Capital has been warning about the impending major meltdown of US economy as far back as 2 years ago!

Only idiots in Temasek didn't see it coming. People say you pay peanuts, you'll get monkeys. But we pay millions, we still get monkeys! :mad:

You forgot our peanuts here are very expensive, 1.2 million dollar can only buy 2 peanuts.

It is really judgement day for the PAP. I cannot believe they screwed up everything from small issues to larger matters. I cannot even accept the fact that they are still clinching onto their million dollars salary. LKY is a true liar with a retarded son and a useless daughter-in-law. The whole Leegime is completely corrupted!!! I cannot tell the difference between Marcos empire in philippine and pap in Singaopore.

R

redlightmeansgo

Boy boy Ignatius be careful. You might just join the queue for the unemployed. Do not bite the hand that feeds you

KuanTi01

Jinx is on record as saying " She has no regrets!" "If she has the chance to do it all over again, she will still do the same thing."

Alas, all the creme de la creme super-talented highly-paid govt scholars and multi-millionaire ministers cannot see through the mist. knn. anyhow invest! what long term investments? Already liquidated to cut losses! All gone case liao! All these $billions lost can never be recovered. So in future pleaase tell GIC and Temasek not to blow their trumpets so loudly. Really howlian and baykiansiao!:mad:

R

redlightmeansgo

66.6%

first the number of the beast
now the bride of the beast

2lanu

Ho Jinx's track record has already tell the world before hand that what she touch turn shit. And yet she was at it again this time with Temasek. The person who put her in that position ought to be shot!

Meltdown

The losses we are seeing is just the tip of the iceberg.

I can foresee that Temasek will lose massive billions in the months & years ahead regardless of who is the CEO. Mr Badyear is no better or worse than Madam Ho Ching in managing Temasek's assets. If the global financial system is fundamentally corrupt being run by legalized criminals, it ain't matter who's the CEO unless it's Jim Rogers, Robert Kiyosaki, or Peter Schiff.

littlefish

Imagine if that $3billion is simply placed in term deposit earning 3% interest annually. The interest amount per year would be $30million. Imagine if that interest is then distributed to help the poor, those who lost jobs, local businesses struggling to keep afloat, provide funds for encouraging entrepreneurship, infrastructure projects to improve our quality of life or even given to reduce our transport fares or utility bills.

Alas, the money is now all gone, used by our elites to play the stock markets. What is worse is that with all that money available, our elderly still need to slog until the day they die. I would have forgiven them for the losses if all profits from those investments were used to provide the people with some form of safety net.

Vendetta

Imagine if that $3billion is simply placed in term deposit earning 3% interest annually. The interest amount per year would be $30million. Imagine if that interest is then distributed to help the poor, those who lost jobs, local businesses struggling to keep afloat, provide funds for encouraging entrepreneurship, infrastructure projects to improve our quality of life or even given to reduce our transport fares or utility bills.

Alas, the money is now all gone, used by our elites to play the stock markets. What is worse is that with all that money available, our elderly still need to slog until the day they die. I would have forgiven them for the losses if all profits from those investments were used to provide the people with some form of safety net.

Bro, PAPigs already lost their heart to serve the people liao, they now serve a higher God... God of Money...

So don't expect much done for the poor and jobless...

All those acts of concern for the economy and charity are just for show nia...
They are politicians afterall whose concern is to hold onto power for as long as possible, even if it means dragging the rest of the people down together...

:mad:

Vendetta

But you care when their squeeze you.......or else why whine and kaupei kaibu here........he he he.......:biggrin:

I am comfortable with my current life now, nothing to whine about.

I have 2 cars, 1 bike, 1 property, some shares at hand and some loose cash in the bank.

I pay my due taxes on time.

I don't owe the pigs anything.

Si ki na, please don't fuck around with Uncle me.

You will not like what you will see down that path.

:wink:

Vendetta

Ha ha ha .....asshole eating asshole shit for breakfast......I bet it is your mother asshole with dripping cum from my prick.....he he he....:biggrin:

Hahahaha!

Asshole TLLM si ki na got small dick still dreaming of assing people...

Do yourself a favour, cut that pathetic little dick of yours, cut 1 slit become pussy, kena fuck there and in your asshole, better right?

:rolleyes:

yogi1973

3 billion??? ohh pls...she most probably made trillions, so wats a couple of billions.she is a brilliant investor.