• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Encourage TCB, TJS and TKL to go for NMP

Perspective

Let's encourage TCB, TJS and TKL to go for just-opened Nominated MP seats.

The 3 are different from the rest as they qualify for Presidential candidate. It would look absolute silly for the PAP govt to reject any of them as NMP, as the criteria for Presidential candidate would have to be higher than a mere NMP. If PAP rejects, another one bullet in the pocket for them.

brocoli

I'd rather they all make an official stand to reject and object to NMP scheme.

goot pt, its like a 5 steps back ....

might as well as nominate Chiam See Tong better....

these 3 are all opportunists in varying degree, parroting huat ah chiam has said for years

Perspective

Given where they are and as individuals, they gain no mileage rejecting the NMP scheme unlike parties. They are not party leaders or members. If they run for GE, they are unlikely to be elected even if they were Presidential candidates because for one reason - they and the WP will not want one another, and WP is the only ticket with a chance. Hence, NMP is the best option to get into Parliament and voice out.

TinyTower

Let's encourage TCB, TJS and TKL to go for just-opened Nominated MP seats.

The 3 are different from the rest as they qualify for Presidential candidate. It would look absolute silly for the PAP govt to reject any of them as NMP, as the criteria for Presidential candidate would have to be higher than a mere NMP. If PAP rejects, another one bullet in the pocket for them.

This idea is like telling the three presidential candidates to accept prawns when there's no fish. I don't think it will work.

Anyway, this is just my personal opinion.

wwabbit

[video=youtube;-UFj6o2spg0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UFj6o2spg0[/video]

Would be a bit hypocritical if he accepts an NMP post after what he said 20 years ago. This guy is a retired MP, I highly doubt stepping into Parliament as anything other than the President is the way forward for him.

Perspective

This idea is like telling the three presidential candidates to accept prawns when there's no fish. I don't think it will work.

Anyway, this is just my personal opinion.

In a way, yes. TCB, a former MP and nearly President, may feel downgraded. In addition, he rejected NMP. Maybe he should not and TJS and TKL should.

TJS would have gone for all 3 options of power in Singapore and would be seen as opportunist, although his 25% was decent. TKL is the best choice, but he lost his deposit. If among them there was a someone who scored like TJS and did not run for elections like TKL, it would be good.

But the issue is to test the NMP system and see how silly it looks. Furthermore, TJS and TKL can maintain dignity but has no power base unlike TCB as defeated candidates in both PE and GE (for TJS).

brocoli

[video=youtube;-ufj6o2spg0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ufj6o2spg0[/video]

would be a bit hypocritical if he accepts an nmp post after what he said 20 years ago.

exactly......

Tok until got dragon got tiger then still use the scheme buay paiseh!!!!!!

MightyMouse

exactly......

Tok until got dragon got tiger then still use the scheme buay paiseh!!!!!!

Hello, why you slamming TCB? Did he say he wants to be NMP? This is TS's suggestion, so don't anyhow mix the two issues together. Just go to his FB page, he has already rejected this idea in replying to a query from his fan.

I can understand why you took so long to come out of moderation. Anyhow slam people.

PS. I got out of moderation by my 5 posts. LOL.

brocoli

Hello, why you slamming TCB? Did he say he wants to be NMP? This is TS's suggestion, so don't anyhow mix the two issues together. Just go to his FB page, he has already rejected this idea in replying to a query from his fan.

I can understand why you took so long to come out of moderation. Anyhow slam people.

PS. I got out of moderation by my 5 posts. LOL.

lim peh gotch more pts than chiu.... STFU!!!!!

Fook Seng

Perspective said:
TKL is the best choice, but he lost his deposit. If among them there was a someone who scored like TJS and did not run for elections like TKL, it would be good.

But the issue is to test the NMP system and see how silly it looks. Furthermore, TJS and TKL can maintain dignity but has no power base unlike TCB as defeated candidates in both PE and GE (for TJS).

Why can't give TKL, the voice of the people, a chance to recover his deposit? When GMS said that something special was going to happen, he could be referring to this.

1. bingo!
2. the nmp scheme has little impact or what.
3. sheep need feedback! plenty: there the opps, grassroots, community leaders, running dogs, equally daft sheep & others.

Perspective

I wonder then, why they rather not make an official stand to reject and object to the EP scheme, but ran to split the non-Tony votes.

More $?

More publicity?

Remember that 2 out of the 3 chaps ran to speak up for the people, and that's not the role of the EP, but the role of the NMP.