• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Employers May be Prosecuted,Face Harsher Penalties For Discriminatory Hiring Practices:MOM Minister

I've always been an equal opportunities employer for my serfs, regardless of race, gender and religion.

ChristJohnny

This move may backfires if MOM is not careful.

It will discourage MNCs to invest. A Korean company would always like to bring his staff here, with such regulation in place the Korean company may think twice coming here. Unless the profits out weigh the hassle. This is pure business sense.

On the hindsight, have anyone employ a local Sinkie. He or she may be smart and good on his work. However, after a short stint you can guess what they did. Jump ship. There is no loyalty and job commitment among them. Sad to say. So you cannot blame foreign company entirely unless Sinkie work attitude change for the better.

IQ and Race

shittypore

This problem lies within two nationalities, the Ah Nehs and Pinoys. The Ah Nehs in the financial sector, many are employed through HR being Ah Nehs. The food and beverage industry likewise where Pinoys are favoured once their own run the HR dept

I did not know there is such discrimination on Singaporeans in Singapore employment. I just know. I bet the good PAP also just found out about this and acted quickly to arrest the problem. PAP is so kind to Singaporeans - “Singapore for Singaporeans”

CPTMiller

Those days sinkieland was a developing nation. Labour cheap. So foreign corp poured their investment here. Now stagnant leow. To employ a sinkie is expensive. So employed foreign workers. Cheap cheap. If i have a co, i will also get a foreigner. Just being frank.
I believe what you mention is a nation progress of development.
But I disagreed that nothing can be done by government but only willing provide cheap labour to employers because employers want it.
So Singaporean who cannot accept cheap job will be left out completely.

I did not know there is such discrimination on Singaporeans in Singapore employment. I just know. I bet the good PAP also just found out about this and acted quickly to arrest the problem. PAP is so kind to Singaporeans - “Singapore for Singaporeans”
Indeed. Ultimately sinkies have to decide for themselves whether they want a responsive, responsible government or do they want wedges. :cool:

no_faith

That means such jobs discrimination to locals has been around for a period of time. Knn :biggrin:
Our mediacorpse never give awards to them meh

whoami

I believe what you mention is a nation progress of development.
But I disagreed that nothing can be done by government but only willing provide cheap labour to employers because employers want it.
So Singaporean who cannot accept cheap job will be left out completely.

One way is for the garment to share "cost". Top up employee salary. :biggrin:

whoami

On the hindsight, have anyone employ a local Sinkie. He or she may be smart and good on his work. However, after a short stint you can guess what they did. Jump ship. There is no loyalty and job commitment among them. Sad to say. So you cannot blame foreign company entirely unless Sinkie work attitude change for the better.

IQ and Race

Wat loyalty are u talking about. Its so easy for company to retrench staff. Reason....cost saving. :rolleyes:

ToaPehGong

20200116_213542.jpg

JuliaScissors

This problem lies within two nationalities, the Ah Nehs and Pinoys. The Ah Nehs in the financial sector, many are employed through HR being Ah Nehs. The food and beverage industry likewise where Pinoys are favoured once their own run the HR dept
Sampling (of 300+-) of few banks showed that no. Of ceca ah nehs alone are between 20%+ - 30%+. This is excluding other foreigners like Ang mos