Easier to earn money if stay in Sg....rental not certain and if overspend, will be in trouble...
If I have a landed terrace house, and it can give me very very good profits from sale, I would consider buyiing a 2 bedroom condo and a studio, or 2 studios in SG, either rent both out or rent one out and use the other for myself. But just me day dreaming lah....:p
I thought of doing that too...with 2 condos can give passive income of S$3500 at least but with international school fees so high in JB, I still cannot retire then need a expensive Sg car to commute then got to work and tolerate jams just to pay for school fees and car very sian...maybe, one way is to send them to nearby Woodlands school on their own by school bus then I can sell my expensive Sg car...hmm, maybe can explore that idea...
Checked with MOE that daily commute for the kids is not allowed, so they have to study in a local or international school there...
Daily commute for Sg kids across the causeway is not allowed...
Compulsory Education Act
I thought of doing that too...with 2 condos can give passive income of S$3500 at least but with international school fees so high in JB, I still cannot retire then need a expensive Sg car to commute then got to work and tolerate jams just to pay for school fees and car very sian...maybe, one way is to send them to nearby Woodlands school on their own by school bus then I can sell my expensive Sg car...hmm, maybe can explore that idea...
Checked with MOE that daily commute for the kids is not allowed, so they have to study in a local or international school there...
If you are talking about IGCSE levels or Cambridge O or A levels, you can actually sit for these tests without going through international schools or colleges. In Malaysia, home schooling is another form of education. All you need is to register with The British Council for the exams. Anyway, there are more than 100 international schools in Malaysia offering GCE A levels and IB syallabus.I have had friends in kL who did home schooling for their kids from primary to secondary, plus attending elite tuition centre classes(with fees from rm 1k to 2k plus per mth). Most of their children did very well in gce '0' and 'A' levels, some good enough for most top Uni's. There may be similar avenues available in JB.
If you are talking about IGCSE levels or Cambridge O or A levels, you can actually sit for these tests without going through international schools or colleges. In Malaysia, home schooling is another form of education. All you need is to register with The British Council for the exams. Anyway, there are more than 100 international schools in Malaysia offering GCE A levels and IB syallabus.
I'm glad that MOE has that Act in place to protect our children. Seriously. I think the SG government foresee this could be a problem as more Sinkies are thinking of doing this in time to come, at the expense of their children's well-being.
If I were the kid of parents who simply want to move over to Johor cos of early retirement or want to have a bigger home space, then I got to travel hours each day to SG to study, or be placed in some Johor school (never mind even if it's "international"), I'd be damn pissed.
I watched a documentary some time back on such a family that moved from SG to Johor simply cos they wanted to live in a landed house. The camera focused on the kids waking up at 4+am and by 5+am or so, they got to leave their Johor home to make way to school in SG. The father interviewed sounded like it was the right move to do so. But I looked at the kids' half-asleep faces, I was like.... Oh my.... Poor kids. Have to go through this for how long? How will they have good health? Will they be able to concentrate at school? How will they perform? They have to go through this for their parents' selfish intentions?
Ok, the above are my opinions. I respect the views of those who do what they do, as long as their kids are getting the best possible upbringing and education. What MOE could be afraid is that some parents may think they know what is best for their young kids but it could be more detrimental than beneficial.
I'm glad that MOE has that Act in place to protect our children. Seriously. I think the SG government foresee this could be a problem as more Sinkies are thinking of doing this in time to come, at the expense of their children's well-being.
If I were the kid of parents who simply want to move over to Johor cos of early retirement or want to have a bigger home space, then I got to travel hours each day to SG to study, or be placed in some Johor school (never mind even if it's "international"), I'd be damn pissed.
I watched a documentary some time back on such a family that moved from SG to Johor simply cos they wanted to live in a landed house. The camera focused on the kids waking up at 4+am and by 5+am or so, they got to leave their Johor home to make way to school in SG. The father interviewed sounded like it was the right move to do so. But I looked at the kids' half-asleep faces, I was like.... Oh my.... Poor kids. Have to go through this for how long? How will they have good health? Will they be able to concentrate at school? How will they perform? They have to go through this for their parents' selfish intentions?
Ok, the above are my opinions. I respect the views of those who do what they do, as long as their kids are getting the best possible upbringing and education. What MOE could be afraid is that some parents may think they know what is best for their young kids but it could be more detrimental than beneficial.
I watched a documentary some time back on such a family that moved from SG to Johor simply cos they wanted to live in a landed house. The camera focused on the kids waking up at 4+am and by 5+am or so, they got to leave their Johor home to make way to school in SG. The father interviewedww sounded like it was the right move to do so. But I looked at the kids' half-asleep faces, I was like.... Oh my.... Poor kids. Have to go through this for how long? How will they have good health? Will they be able to concentrate at school? How will they perform? They have to go through this for their parents' selfish intentions?