Haha... good comparison of the CPF to the Ponzi scheme! Though it is not, it feels like it. It is clear the CPF is no longer a reliable scheme to depend on for a respectable retirement. I think it has largely to do with the huge rising cost in housing and cost of living. Most common citizens' CPF are wiped out even when they buy HDB flats (not private properties!). It's a ridiculous lifestyle in SG now. Another cause of it is that salaries are not rising fast enough to catch up with the high costs.
Yes, I have a feeling they might just increase the minimum sum in CPF in the next couple of years and then give the excuse that since life expectancy is increasing in SG, the drawn down age will increase again. The truth is, this country is too expensive a place to retire for commoners. It's not so much to do with the increasing life expectancy. In Europe, I saw many old folks in their 60's and 70's happily holding hands, going for teas, hiking, reading their books in the parks. Why aren't they also working like a workhorse that many old Singaporeans do? Aren't the Europeans living longer also?
All the SG government can miserably do now is to brainwash citizens by telling them they have to be "realistic" or "manage their expectations". They paint a hopeful SG100 goal. But what I think is going to happen is that more smaller (and expensive) flats will be built in time to come and the future young generation will have to squeeze into them. I won't be surprised if there will be 50 sq m, 2-room BTO flats for small families in future.
The problem is that the SG government became too greedy too quickly. I'm not impressed at all whenever it is featured in the news that Singapore is No.1 in this and that, or that its economy is strong, etc. All these were achieved at the expense of the commoners' well-being. They imported so many foreigners in the past and gave them citizenship easily. They employed many foreigners in the workforce at much lower salaries, axed their own Singaporeans, and warned others if they don't accept lower salaries and work hard, they might not be guaranteed jobs.
With this sort of tactic, what's there to be proud about when Singapore does well? The government knew Singaporeans are super weak like lambs and will never protest but listen like little kids even when bullied. Any country that does what Singapore has done will also succeed. Maybe even better cos of their much larger population. But the overseas government can never bully their citizens like what the PAP has done -- favoring foreigners over their own for many years until they lost more seats in GE2011 where they woke up and realized Singaporeans have a limit.
Even when I visit the doctor nowadays, I see those from India, Philippines and Myanmar. Wah lau eh.... I have nothing against them in general but if some of them have language barrier, how are they going to care for patients? Why is our government doing this? Again, to save cost I presume and up the economy.
Your fears for your kids are certainly valid.
Sometimes, I feel like CPF is like a Ponzi scheme too, getting more people in to contribute so that there is enough to pay out to those retired....makes me worried when more gets retired and more payouts are needed and they reach a population limit then r they going to delay drawdown age or come up with other policies? Probably something to do with our property as that is our main asset...
Have many fears and worries about Sg's future and my kids' future in Sg...hope they can find overseas jobs in future and settle down overseas as it will get tougher for my grandchildren's generation...