Well-said! But why you so "suay" to see 3 India Indian docs?!
I'm glad that the opposition political parties are getting stronger in the past few years. Also glad to have social media reveal the shameless tactics of the SG government. We didn't have that benefit back before the days of Internet.
It doesn't matter if the opposition cannot win many seats. But from the way things are happening now, I can see the presence of the opposition parties alone makes the PAP wake up from their arrogance and brute force way of pushing local commoners aside in favour of mediocre or substandard foreigners.
Just read the Straits Times that the government has appointed CPF Board to look into allowing partial lump sum withdrawals and voluntary minimum top-ups. This happens only after countless attempts by the citizens and people like Roy Nerng (note: I am neutral towards him) who dare to protest. Now we know GE is coming soon!
Do you all realise one thing? We need to voice our complaints before this money-face government wake up from their deep sleep. Besides the CPF issue, below are some others:
- Expensive, under-supply of HDB flats (Then suddenly they built a lot more BTO flats. Now flats are over-supplied and prices are going down down down.)
- Overcrowded and often broken down MRT trains (Suddenly Straits Times showed Lui Tuck Yew doing his homework by taking MRT trains like the lazy schoolboy who only studies last minute for his exam)
- Over-priced Brompton bikes bought by NParks. (Khaw Boon Wan initially gave some stupid excuse that such bikes are necessary for the park rangers' comfort. Turned out the tender for the bikes was not done fairly.)
- Chinese cheat Yang Yin tried to steal the wealth of the elderly widow. Ang Mo Kio MP Intan Mokhtar simply submitted a recommendation letter to Immigration based on the fact that the woman suffering from dementia had claimed he was his grandson. Did she simply write the letter when she realised how "rich and successful" the China cheater is? (Only when the news broke out later that he forged his certificate and documents did the police step in to arrest him. If not, then what? This guy would have become an overnight multi-millionaire with his family getting citizenship in no time?)
- The infamous Sim Lim case where a Vietnamese man was cheated and literally begged to have his money returned by the shop (Only then did the authorities decided more needs to be done to remove such dishonest practices.)
There is a handful more. I am too tired to type but I am sure all of you can give some examples without thinking too hard.
Yes there are so many bad policies and lack of monitoring that gave crooks like Yang yin opportunity to fake everything to get his employment pass and PR. The recent columbarium incident also exposed the govt to be not doing their job well.
Yeah I was really quite suay to see three India indian doctors but there are so many of them in polyclinic so not that uncommon too. The first was a few years back at a polyclinic. The other two were recently.
You know what the first India indian doctor was chatting on the phone when his India friend called him in the midst of consultation. When I asked him after the call ended why he talked so long and that he shouldn't do this as he is paid by taxpayers, the nurse and him looked so shocked. He must have been doing this for ages with the poor patients waiting for him with no complaints.
But he quickly recovered and you know what he retort me? He asked me whether I pay tax?! I said of course I do. Obviously he thought polyclinic patients are poor and can be treated shabbily. Very arrogant third world doctor right?
Haha I got more story to tell about the second and third India indian doctors but maybe another day.