On a personal level you can take charge but it does not mean you should not demand accountability. Capable sinkees like you run away, then who is going to challenge the establishment and bring about change. Thankfully, there are a few willing to stake their lives doing so. We just need to increase this pool so that they can rally sinkees in masses to topple the PAP.
Most people need to be led and it is up to those that care for the country to step up to lead the people against the PAP.
Good for you for being able to do that. Not many can afford to do so.
I did think of staying to fight. But at what cost? And for what? For the people of Singapore? The man on the street that I realized was a staunch PAP supporter and voluntarily chooses to continue to be ignorant to issues? Refuses to acknowledge the truth? Only wants to complain but does nothing when it comes to the crunch? Men of no initiative and determination? No. In a war you have to assess the troops you have and the adversary. My assessment is that the people of Singapore still have it good. Singapore is a still a functioning country with good infrastructure. There is relatively low unemployment. There is peace and stability in the country.
Who is going to risk their futures and lives to go against a PAP government over things like expensive cars, (but a good public transport system), high housing prices (but a CPF HDB system that still makes owning a home possible), ERP? I dunno what lah.
Is it really worth destroying your entire future for Singpapore? A tiny city state smaller than Calgary? As scroobal says, Hobson's choice. No no no. Look at Chee Soon Juan.
It is only when things get much much worse that the PAP will be defeated. But that future is not what I want for my children either.
As it is, my assessment of the long term future of the tiny city state known as Singapore is that it is very limited in terms of advancement and growth.
Think about it. A booming economy and successful Singapore with more births would result in a more CROWDED Singapore. Is that good? Nope. But the opposite is probably worse for Singapore. No win situation. So in summary, you guys will be fighting for a small tiny island which I do not feel worth fighting for, with troops that have no belief and are self serving and relatively full in their bellies with little desire to fight. How to win? For what?
All of us in this forum only know how to talk talk talk. Any of us ever put our neck out, go stand for elections? Why not? Ask yourselves that question. It is one thing to write here and talk talk talk. Bravado essays and all. It is another to roll up the sleeves and really take action. Where do you find leaders? Forged in the fires of adversity and failures? (Not the scholar smooth sailing Generals the system creates. And also not in the high achieving academics who excel in school). "Capable people" so to speak. But true leaders who will stand to fight?
You also have to understand the Asian culture. Historically, the Chinese are used to Emperors. Confucius. Let the Emperor take care of the people. That is why anything goes wrong, blame someone. Things go right, thank someone. Never about doing it yourself. Till today for all the bravado the Chinese people speak, China is a communist country. Other parts of Asia? Philipines. Indonesia. The only place in Japan.
Migration is not a matter of whether you can afford to do so. It is whether you are determined enough to do so.
How many doctors do you know who have migrated? They all can afford it if you are talking about money. But they will tell you they CANNOT AFFORD to given that they have put so much effort in earning their degrees and post grad training to give it all up to start all over again in another country. I repeat they will say they CANNOT AFFORD to migrate!
Migration is about sacrifice and going into the unknown and not knowing what will happen. This is not something that is a piece of cake.
For those who desire to migrate, the only thing holding you back is your mind. Stop giving yourself excuses and do it. Of course if you have a family and wife, then your spouse is also very important. Without the spousal support, either you divorce or you stay in Singapore.