• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Toh: PAP is using people’s savings & telling them how to spend their savings

I would like to put this question to the Minister for Health or the Minister for Labour who is responsible for administering the CPF. What would this percentage be if the withdrawal age were raised to 60 or 65? Of this amount that was withdrawn, two-thirds were spent on buying houses, mainly HDB flats. So only one-third was spent on retirement…

What is irksome is this: that the Government is using people’s savings and telling them how to spend their savings. That is the nub of the problem…
We need to clearly define the boundaries within which the CPF will be used for retirement. We must spell that out. You just cannot say, “Let us raise the withdrawal age to 60 or 65.” It must be 60. It must be 65. Now, at which age? This Paper does not contain any calculation at all to say what will happen if it is withdrawn at 60, or what will happen if it is withdrawn at 65…

I think fundamental principles are being breached. The fundamental principle is this. The CPF is really a fixed deposit or a loan to Government, which can be redeemed at a fixed date when the contributor is 55 years old. If I were to put this sum of money in a commercial bank and, on the due date I go to the bank to withdraw the money, the manager says, “i am sorry, Dr Toh, you will have to come next year”, there will be a run on the bank! It is as simple as this, that the CPF has lost its credibility, the management of it. This is fundamental. You were taken by surprise by Medisave. Then they say, “6% of your Special Account will be kept for Medisave and you cannot withdraw that, even if you were to die.”

Now I ask the Minister for Health, and I asked him last time, whether his word is binding on future Ministers. Neither will the Minister for Labour’s word be binding on future Ministers for Labour. Can any Government or any Minister guarantee that in future years a law will not be passed that will say, “All Special Accounts in the CPF cannot be withdrawn until you die”? Your Special Account now is up to 10%; 6% Medisave, 4% for what? So unless you use the CPF to buy property, your money is in real danger of being kept under lock and key by others, not under your own lock and key. This is the nub of the problem – the credibility of the management, gradual encroachment into the purpose of the CPF which was instituted really to provide for retirement…

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2014/06/criticism-on-the-deferral-of-cpf-withdrawal/

TCCBreached_zps88e8feac.jpg

TCCAbstain_zpsfb6b65e9.jpg

TCCOwnWorkersCannot_zpsa7da5a91.png

TCCLockedCPF_zps83c86139.png

TCCTryingAnotherFastOneV1_zps6dd7e3f9.png

This was the report, parliamentary debate that led to a rebellion within PAP member ranks and ground troops. And cabinet minister Howe was asked to go. And he left. And Chiam rushed thru the door with his broad grin and became a constant thorn for next 2 decades.

Is Howe still alive?

Passed away some years ago.

I do admire that he was highly principled man. True blue Perm Sec with standards. When he became of Minister of Defence, his son was in the obese platoon for SBMT in Tekong. Got whacked good and proper by PTIs and Cpl. After a while the platoon realised that the father must have removed white horse status. They respected the father for it.

Is Howe still alive?

those were real patriots. they will not let even their own party screw the citizens. compare to the clown car of new yes man now

real patriot and he still abstained from the vote? U must be joking. Your standard for politicians is damn low. he knew the CPF had turned into a screw sinkie scheme, and still he did not vote against it. and abstention is not the same as a nay. He is just as bad as they are.

Dear All,

I want to bring up a point about the CPF and the tax system in Singapore. I was told in the past having the CPF is better than having an ang mor progressive tax system with welfare and all that crap. Paying CPF at 20% is better than paying tax at 20% as CPF is your money and use for your retirement. So all in all the CPF system when it was 1st introduce was a better system than those ang mor welfare bullshit. Now in Oz, pensions and welfare is being cut left right and centre. The compact in the Ang Mor countries now is going out the window. The ang mors are dealing with high tax and low pensions and health care also kenna cut. Look at the Oz budget,,old age is treated like an abomination and that retirement age is set at 70. Like as if peoples health are as good at 70 when they were at 30. The next step the Oz gahmen will do is to increase the draw down age of the Superannuation. Oz people are not having the same problems as us Singkies...

The thing is I am against the shit the PAP is doing to the country and the CPF. whatever they do, they use some kind of shit formula to justify their crap policies. For example, they increase the minimum sum,,,implement a shit annuity that pay out is crap and all other sort of rent seeking behaviour nonsense. That is what the people are piss off with.

PAP in the past came up with better policies like CPF and HDB etc,,but look at these sacred Cows and how PAP is milking it for their benefit. The last chance to prevent this crap was in 2011 and the voters failed. Come 2016, it might be too little too late,,,,

the party whip, stupid. in unique singapore, abstainence equals no. I am shocked you dont even know that

scroobal said:
I wonder if anyone can recall Howe Yoon Chong.
He too became Perm Sec and entered politics late in his life and just like Khaw only wanted to serve 1 term. Both became controversial and interestingly the controversy was about old age. I could not help the identical manner that they behaved while in political office and whether years of policy making and execution had moulded them differently.
Both were known to be excellent administators, great execution skills and noted for their thoroughness. Both were also bold and spoke their mind.

How is it that both failed to read the ground. Is this a sign that the civil service had detached itself

hahaha...scroobal as usual doing his story telling time....
first he said Howe wanted to serve only 1 term.....
then he said that Howe was to go....
which version is correct???
this type of story teller also can be trusted...then shit can also be eaten.

hey i just did that....didnt taste all that great even though i added pepper and salt....but i must admit i feel better. Will keep on doing this in the following days and give FR.

please read my signature. it can do wonders to your gi tract. :D

People here need to stop fawning over this guy, if I recall he whacked the NUS student activists while he was the Vice Chancellor there. really showed his true colours back than. He was just a mini Tyrant version of LKY on the NUS campus. As far as I am concerned, he is like one of them. Abstain my ass, got balls vote no lah.

If the gahmen have no ulterior motive for the cpf than allow people to draw down their cpf at 55. However make them sign a waiver that if they loose the money. Kenna swindled by prc mei mei etc. They are not to demand benefits from the tax payer. I think that is fair. If cannot take it go jump off a bridge etc...

People here need to stop fawning over this guy, if I recall he whacked the NUS student activists while he was the Vice Chancellor there. really showed his true colours back than. He was just a mini Tyrant version of LKY on the NUS campus. As far as I am concerned, he is like one of them. Abstain my ass, got balls vote no lah.

So far in the history of Singapore, when the party whip is not lifted no PAP MP voted against (or vote no).
Thus, it is a a no brainer that the consequences of voting against (or vote no) must be grave.

Abstaining from voting is different from no vote (or not voting which spineless Inderjit Singh did).

Abstain from vote is consider defying the whip (akin to people spoiling their vote).
It takes a MP with a spine to abstain from voting.

No vote are those absent on the day of voting and are recorded.

Source: PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES, TWELFTH PARLIAMENT
ABSENT:

Dr Chia Shi-Lu (Tanjong Pagar).
Mr Lee Kuan Yew (Tanjong Pagar).
Mr Raymond Lim Siang Keat (East Coast).
Ms Tan Su Shan (Nominated Member).
Mr Alvin Yeo (Chua Chu Kang).
PERMISSION TO MEMBERS TO BE ABSENT

Under the provisions of clause 2(d) of Article 46 of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore, the following Members have been granted permission by the Speaker to be absent from sittings of Parliament (or any Committee of Parliament to which they have been appointed) for the periods stated:

[table="width: 500"]
[tr]
[td]Name[/td]
[td]From
[/td]
[td]To
[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]Mr Lee Kuan Yew[/td]
[td]08 Feb[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]Ms Tan Su Shan[/td]
[td]08 Feb[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td][/td]
[td]08 Feb[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]Dr Vivian Balakrishnan[/td]
[td]10 Feb[/td]
[td]13 Feb[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td]Dr Teo Ho Pin[/td]
[td]14 Feb[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td][/td]
[td]19 Feb[/td]
[td]26 Feb[/td]
[/tr]
[tr]
[td][/td]
[td]22 Mar[/td]
[td]24 Mar[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

The Hansard record shows that the spineless Inderjit Singh was present on that day and did not vote.

In another news article, Inderjit Singh was quoted as saying "All I want to say is I was not present for the vote. I spoke from my heart and will do what I can to change things."

the whole socio economic political landscape has changed
and ts is still dreaming and masturbating the old issue

cpf has to change with the changing landscape
got it you idiot

Your idoitic suku is calling for your bkt.

got it you idiot

We are talking about the government's broken promise to return the people's money at age 55.

It has nothing to do with changing socio economic political landscape.

You idiot.