• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Syed Alwi wants Malay and Muslim issues to be addressed in TOC

104) Dr Syed Alwi on January 1st, 2009 1.04 pm Dear WKC,

Please read my writings on apostasy in Malaysia. I have come up in support of the freedom of religion. I think that I have been very supportive of the aspirations of the Malaysian Chinese. I am very sad. however, that the Singaporean Chinese are not willing to hear out Malay Muslim issues. Apparently some of you want a one way street.

Anyone who has read my writings in Malaysian cyberspace - knows that I am a liberal, progressive and a toelrant plus moderate Muslim. No one doubts that. You can read my writings and come to your own conclusions - as others have.

If you want Malays to be supportive of your aspirations - the you must also be supportive of theirs.
106) Mr Brown on January 1st, 2009 1.34 pm hallo, none of my bisness, but Syed. I think most of the people who can talk to you are not around lah. I hope the really intelligent and tokong ppl have not left Toc for good. I hope they are still around somewhere Andrew & Choo.

Syed this one not to angkat you, but your subject so cheem. I dun even know why you bring it up here. I came here to talk about sg blogoland, instead we are talking about this. How far you think you can go with some of this people? No insult to them. Me included as well. I know nothing abt this. So very easy lor shut up lor.
107) Mr Brown on January 1st, 2009 1.42 pm Syed you talking over all our heads. we all dont understand, not you, but what you want to saying. I see only a few fellow here who tokong enuff to talk abt this without getting into hot soup. Balji, he know, as he used to be editor, so he know how to buang this and that and still balance, like ridding bicycle. Another one is tanlk, he used to running ntuc, so he very good with people complain to him. then sd, he was once parachuted to pally with gulf gamers and grow that market, so he must be good, as cheena to learn to speak their lingo not easy I think. Leong aso can as he is good to argue with facts. Then maybe other people like gemani, he work, I think in customer complrain. then who else? No more.

So why u even bring this subject up here syed? Aso I dun know. Who else some more?
108) K Das on January 1st, 2009 2.04 pm Dear WKC, Just one correction. I did not say that Islam is a peaceful religion (not that it is not to the adherents though). What I said was that Islam is a beautiful and practical religion. Though I read quite a bit on all religions, my appreciation for Islam is based less on texts but more on what I see and perceive. The finer aspects (in my view) of the religion pertaining to communion with Allah (daily prayers on multiple times), giving part of income/savings to the poor/charity ( fitrah and zakat), respect for elders (it is a sight to behold to see tiny tots and full grown up adults paying obeisance to elders by holding and kissing their hands), personal cleanliness, and polygamy (yes polygamy!) are all attributes that facinate and attract me. Hopefully there will come another platform and opportunity for me to elaborate more on these views of mine. Regards.
109) patriot on January 1st, 2009 2.31 pm Dear K Das;

Your positive response gives me a very happy start to Year 2009, thank You so much.

It is so kind of You to bury the hatchet.

It’s New Year’s Day today, let us have a new start and I wish Every One Well.

Yours Truly: patriot

There must be give and take.

Regards
Dr Syed Alwi

Interesting information, thank you.

In any case, if we were to examine Malay/Muslim issues, then let us also examine the feelings of other races towards such issues.

Are Singaporeans able to do so in an objective manner?

Is Dr Syed Alwi able to do so in an objective manner?

If we are, let's go ahead.

You are welcome.

"Objective", well I think that may be a tad difficult, I would settle for calm rational maturity.

Different religions doesn't mean that they become a threat to everyone of us. It doesn't mean that if Islam doesn't allow the consumption of pork means they are somehow inferior to the main Eastern religions, or to Christianity.

In the end, religion has become somewhat inflammatory because of not of religion, but because of what a selfish minority has done using religion as an excuse to justify what's the worst in human nature.

When the Bosnian Serbs used the Muslim faith of the Bosnian refugees to massacre them by the thousands, that was wrong, and still is wrong. When Osama Bin Laden used Islam to justify 9/11 and the killing of 3000 people, that is wrong.

And when Christians used Islam as an excuse to start the Crusades, that was and is also very wrong.

In the end, in almost all episode of human conflict, religion is not what that causes it; instead its people who skewer the well intention of religion to start conflicts and to murder people. That's when its wrong, and should be fought against.

The main point is that he wants to discuss it in the TOC which is currently the de facto political blog.

Effectively casting a political slant to the Malay/Muslim issues.

In a discussion of this sort, no one will emerge the winner for the simple reason that for some, the intention is to gain more political advantages, others to get people to agree with them. Few will discuss this rationally. Even if they do, they will have to agree to disagree in the final analysis. But not before feelings become inflamed.

The Malays may well feel that more advantages be accorded to them. The others may feel that enough of the national pledge to be impartial to race or religion had already been violated.

Race and religion are fundamental things.

It does not mean that it should not be discussed. Rather it means that a fire will be lit and the issue may no longer be about fleshing out different points of view.

Interesting information, thank you.

In any case, if we were to examine Malay/Muslim issues, then let us also examine the feelings of other races towards such issues.

Are Singaporeans able to do so in an objective manner?

Is Dr Syed Alwi able to do so in an objective manner?

If we are, let's go ahead.

THis is the biggest worry. Would anyone be objective or are capable to be objective in discussing religious or racist issue?

Look at this forum and you could see many who are both irrational and unobjective in the way they comment about chinese education or even about the difference of gender. we culd find the minority in a mood or ability to have a logical and understanding discussion, but how about those who want to make use, abuse and misuse such discussion for their own explores? What are the checks and balances do we have against those who just want to stir trouble for their own fun sake?

I believe certain subjects on race and religions can be discussed and brought up. however, we need time to grow and i guess some people just cant wait.

Written by Nur Dianah Suhaimi, ST 10 Aug 2008

As a Malay, I’ve always been told that I have to work twice as hard to prove my worth

When I was younger, I always thought of myself as the quintessential Singaporean.

Of my four late grandparents, two were Malay, one was Chinese and one was Indian. This, I concluded, makes me a mix of all the main races in the country. But I later realised that it was not what goes into my blood that matters, but what my identity card says under ‘Race’.

Because my paternal grandfather was of Bugis origin, my IC says I’m Malay. I speak the language at home, learnt it in school, eat the food and practise the culture. And because of my being Malay, I’ve always felt like a lesser Singaporean than those from other racial groups.

I grew up clueless about the concept of national service because my father was never enlisted.

He is Singaporean all right, born and bred here like the rest of the boys born in 1955. He is not handicapped in any way. He did well in school and participated in sports.

Unlike the rest, however, he entered university immediately after his A levels. He often told me that his schoolmates said he was ‘lucky’ because he was not called up for national service.

‘What lucky?’ he would tell them. ‘Would you feel lucky if your country doesn’t trust you?’

So I learnt about the rigours of national service from my male cousins. They would describe in vivid detail their training regimes, the terrible food they were served and the torture inflicted upon them - most of which, I would later realise, were exaggerations.

But one thing these stories had in common was that they all revolved around the Police Academy in Thomson. As I got older, it puzzled me why my Chinese friends constantly referred to NS as ‘army’. In my family and among my Malay friends, being enlisted in the army was like hitting the jackpot. The majority served in the police force because, as is known, the Government was not comfortable with Malay Muslims serving in the army. But there are more of them now.

Throughout my life, my father has always told me that as a Malay, I need to work twice as hard to prove my worth. He said people have the misconception that all Malays are inherently lazy.

I was later to get the exact same advice from a Malay minister in office who is a family friend.

When I started work, I realised that the advice rang true, especially because I wear my religion on my head. My professionalism suddenly became an issue. One question I was asked at a job interview was whether I would be willing to enter a nightclub to chase a story. I answered: ‘If it’s part of the job, why not? And you can rest assured I won’t be tempted to have fun.’

When I attend media events, before I can introduce myself, people assume I write for the Malay daily Berita Harian. A male Malay colleague in The Straits Times has the same problem, too.

This makes me wonder if people also assume that all Chinese reporters are from Lianhe Zaobao and Indian reporters from Tamil Murasu.

People also question if I can do stories which require stake-outs in the sleazy lanes of Geylang. They say because of my tudung I will stick out like a sore thumb. So I changed into a baseball cap and a men’s sports jacket - all borrowed from my husband - when I covered Geylang.

I do not want to be seen as different from the rest just because I dress differently. I want the same opportunities and the same job challenges.

Beneath the tudung, I, too, have hair and a functioning brain. And if anything, I feel that my tudung has actually helped me secure some difficult interviews.

Newsmakers - of all races - tend to trust me more because I look guai (Hokkien for well-behaved) and thus, they feel, less likely to write critical stuff about them.

Recently, I had a conversation with several colleagues about this essay. I told them I never thought of myself as being particularly patriotic. One Chinese colleague thought this was unfair. ‘But you got to enjoy free education,’ she said.

Sure, for the entire 365 days I spent in Primary 1 in 1989. But my parents paid for my school and university fees for the next 15 years I was studying.

It seems that many Singaporeans do not know that Malays have stopped getting free education since 1990. If I remember clearly, the news made front-page news at that time.

We went on to talk about the Singapore Government’s belief that Malays here would never point a missile at their fellow Muslim neighbours in a war.

I said if not for family ties, I would have no qualms about leaving the country. Someone then remarked that this is why Malays like myself are not trusted. But I answered that this lack of patriotism on my part comes from not being trusted, and for being treated like a potential traitor.

It is not just the NS issue. It is the frustration of explaining to non-Malays that I don’t get special privileges from the Government. It is having to deal with those who question my professionalism because of my religion. It is having people assume, day after day, that you are lowly educated, lazy and poor. It is like being the least favourite child in a family. This child will try to win his parents’ love only for so long. After a while, he will just be engulfed by disappointment and bitterness.

I also believe that it is this ‘least favourite child’ mentality which makes most Malays defensive and protective of their own kind.

Why do you think Malay families spent hundreds of dollars voting for two Malay boys in the Singapore Idol singing contest? And do you know that Malays who voted for other competitors were frowned upon by the community?

The same happens to me at work. When I write stories which put Malays in a bad light, I am labelled a traitor. A Malay reader once wrote to me to say: ‘I thought a Malay journalist would have more empathy for these unfortunate people than a non-Malay journalist.’

But such is the case when you are a Malay Singaporean. Your life is not just about you, as much as you want it to be. You are made to feel responsible for the rest of the pack and your actions affect them as well. If you trip, the entire community falls with you. But if you triumph, it is considered everyone’s success.

When 12-year-old Natasha Nabila hit the headlines last year for her record PSLE aggregate of 294, I was among the thousands of Malays here who celebrated the news. I sent instant messages to my friends on Gmail and chatted excitedly with my Malay colleagues at work.

Suddenly a 12-year-old has become the symbol of hope for the community and a message to the rest that Malays can do it too - and not just in singing competitions.

And just like that, the ‘least favourite child’ in me feels a lot happier.

Each year, come Aug 9, my father, who never had the opportunity to do national service, dutifully hangs two flags at home - one on the front gate and the other by the side gate.

I wonder if putting up two flags is his way of making himself feel like a better-loved child of Singapore.

[email protected]

Comments on Nur Dianah Suhaimi: Feeling like the least favourite child
Dr Syed Alwi on Sun, 17th Aug 2008 11:37 pm
Dear E-Jay,

I don’t know what this girl’s bitching about ! Just lead your own life and to hell with the insecurities of others. Why the urgent need to get accepted ? I guess I am very Westernised and individualistic. Thats what I admire about the West. Asians are such conformists ! What a puke !

You don’t need to let others define you. You define yourself and build your own comfort zone. To hell with everybody else !

Regards
Dr Syed Alwi

2) Dr Syed Alwi on December 30th, 2008 11.46 am Dear TOC,

I would like to see TOC address ethnic issues. What do the Malays want ? What are their primary concerns etc ? At the moment - it seems to me that TOC is voicing the concerns of the majority ethnic group. For Malays - Islam is an important issue. But TOC has very little coverage of interest to the Muslims. This must change. Singapore does not exist in a vacuum. Singapore lies smack in the middle of the Malay Archipelago which is decidedly very Muslim and in fact, increasingly so.

So my request is that TOC must devote more space to ethnic issues and also issues affecting Malaysia and Indonesia.

Regards
Dr Syed Alwi

That response you quoted contradicted his post here (post #1).

Unless of course he considers the second highlighted points of more import than what that malay woman wants.

I must say I was confused by this post of Dr Alwi:confused:
That response you quoted contradicted his post here (post #1).

Unless of course he considers the second highlighted points of more import than what that malay woman wants.

111) Benjamin Cheah on January 1st, 2009 8.13 pm Dr Syed Alwi,

I have shown you what I felt was wrong about your previous posts: your tone and how you ignored everybody else and instead pushed your own agenda. Instead of addressing my points, you chose to disregard me by saying that you see nothing wrong, before pontificating on subjects totally irrelevant to this article, and out of the scope of nearly everybody on TOC, writers and posters included.

Nobody here cares about what you have done. Nobody here cares about what you represent. Nobody here cares about who you are. Nobody here cares who is backing you. They only care that you are ignoring them and venting about some rather sensitive topics which not everybody can appreciate. That is my message. I urge you to pay attention to what we are saying to you, because people will only listen to you if you show that you are listening to them. I strongly suggest that you make amends by acknowledging the points everybody has raised and addressing them accordingly.

If you fail to do so, then I see no reason to continue conversing with you. For that matter, I also see no reason why everybody else should bother with what you write here, now and forever.

The choice is yours. Choose wisely.
113) Dr Syed Alwi on January 1st, 2009 8.59 pm Dear Benjamin,

Thats where you are wrong. You use phrases like “nobody here”. But what you fail to realise is that your readership is not homogeneous. Neither do they all simply agree with you. There are Malays out there for whom the issues I raised is fair and valid.

Nobody cares ? Malays care ! I have repeated myself over and over again. What I said was just simply this :

That TOC should publish more articles of interest to the ethnic minorities in order to get their meaningful participation. But obviously you are not interested.

What you and some of your friends here are saying is this - don’t talk about Malay-Muslim issues because we are not interested. Don’t talk about Islam because TOC must be religion free. Thats what you and your friends are saying to me.

Well say what you like. I have lived long enough to know that no one is beyond political realities. Maybe today - you and your friends might not care. But of tomorrow - I assure you - you will be humbled to know that you have to care…Sadly it won’t happen until the reality dawns upon you. Hopefully it will not be too late then………

Regards
Dr Syed Alwi
115) K Das on January 1st, 2009 9.38 pm Editor TOC

I find the good Dr’s last paragraph highly threatening, as though he is privy to some dark clouds gathering. I pray that he does not teach in any of our institutes of higher learning. I suggest you take him off from this post henceforth.
K Das
116) Benjamin Cheah on January 1st, 2009 9.51 pm Dr. Syed Alwi,

Yours words have proven my point. You have twisted my words to suit your agenda, and you have ignored my point that your aggressiveness and inflexibility is turning everybody off. You have further demonstrated that you are more concerned with haranguing everybody about the Malay Muslim community, an issue that has no connection with this article and an issue that almost nobody here is willing to discuss owing to lack of expertise, interest, and other such factors.

We have been very reasonable with you. But you have chosen to lash out at us every time we try to explain to you that this is not the time and place to discuss such matters, and you are showing us that you are not willing to listen to any of us anyway.

My patience is at its end. Henceforth, I will stop conversing with you. I also encourage all readers to ignore you from now on. There is no point adding fuel to a wildfire. Goodnight.
117) SZ on January 1st, 2009 10.25 pm Syed Alwi,

There are so many people trying to reason with you in a nice manner and you are so aggressive….chill man….Who was it that started the hug campaign??? well,nvm, i will still give u a hug Syed Alwi to calm you down. now that the people have start to call for ignoring you, maybe you can do your part and rein in your temper. gosh, your post is just so aggressive and it is like hinting that…if you don’t do this, bad things will happen. that’s definitely not the way to grab positive attention
118) dr chia tin lek on January 1st, 2009 11.28 pm Mr Syed Alwi

Maybe you are right. But maybe so are they. The problem is most of the clever people who are best able to appreciate your rightness and discuss it rationally for some strange reason are no longer here or have decided not to post or whatever reasons. To me they just took off like a travelling circus. I dont even know why. Can anyone tell me? As I have been travelling lately. So even if you insist you are right, the current people engaging you may not be able to see your pov even if they wish too. That I fear may mean it may not be very productive for you or them either. Good night.
119) Dr Syed Alwi on January 1st, 2009 11.47 pm Dear Dr Chia Tin Lek,

Thanks for your advice. I am in agreement with what you say. 100% agree with you.

Regards
Dr Syed Alwi

120) Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) on January 2nd, 2009 12.34 am SZ, I started the hugs campaign. You can also read my post #76. I think everyone should take a chill pill. Dr Ayed Aiwi’s posts may be quite off topic by now, and his tone somewhat aggressive, but he isn’t entirely wrong. I looked back at Andrew’s comments on #3, and though I believe he didn’t intend it that way, it could also be misread as ‘condescending’. We all should always be mindful that online communication is not like face-to-face communication where you can get a better idea of the other party’s intent by tone of voice and facial expression.

Dr Aiwi’s points aren’t entirely new either. Back in university I had a Malay schoolmate, very smart, very well-informed, who also raised the issue of what he perceived as marginalization of Malay/Muslims in Singapore, or a really honest discussion of the Malay/Muslim issues in public. Whenever I could, I also spoke to my Malay friends to see if they felt the same way. Some do, some don’t. I don’t have enough statistics to verify. But the fact is, yes, we do have a segment of the Malay population who feel the same. The recent National Day article in ST by the Malay journalist proves as much. However, too bad they didn’t have a really honest discussion, and just put an alternate opinion by another Malay and left it at that.

However, for all your frustration, Dr Aiwi has to understand that many of the readers are possibly not Malays. Even if we do try to empathize, there is no way we can 100% identify with your genuinely felt agitation. This isn’t racism; it is a fact of life. I cannot make any claims, but I do believe that it must have been quite a challenge being in a Malay ‘peninsula’ and yet a minority, while at the same time having a faith that is largely misunderstood, or not understood in the historical context, by much of the world.. being seen as the Other. (just falling back on my shallow understanding of Edward Said) Correct me if I’m wrong. I have Chinese relatives living in Malaysia, and I can see their frustration living under bumiputra.

But you would also likely agree with me that it is a very very difficult topic to deal with. A discussion on race-religion issues require extraordinary patience and restraint, and a willingness to face the truth no matter how ugly. How many people are ready for that? Though I would also agree with you, that just because it is difficult doesn’t mean we should shun in. Shunning it in the past was what caused such touchiness in the first place (though you can’t really blame the PAPpies in lieu of what Lee’s generation went through)

I honestly do not think the TOC writers and editors intend NOT to talk about it at all. Like you said, and I do agree with you to a certain extent - the issue is there if we bother to look. I guess due to the recession and the perceived failure of the gahmen to deal with it properly, maybe that’s why such ‘policy-topics’ take precedence. Maybe in their haste to reply they didn’t take the sensitivity of the issue into account, and hence sounded dismissive to you.

I’ll share with you something that happened when I was in NS. Back then I found it fun to be slapping everyone’s head when they wore helmets. Then one day the inevitable happened - i whacked a Brunei-ian buddy on his head. And nearly got whacked in return. Only when I understood what getting slapped on the head meant for a Muslim did I understand his reaction.

As for the comments by the other readers, quite likely their response is not a result of your content, but your tone of voice. It doesn’t matter if you’re right or wrong. A person who is perceived as acting in an overtly aggressive way always gets the brickbats.

I dunno what is the Arabic word, (correct me if I’m wrong) I think it’s “ghufran” - forgiveness. Maybe we can all exercise a bit of ghufran here. Also, I believe, as TOC matures and grows in active members such that they have a similar Malay/Muslim of your intellectual calibre, there will be more space devoted to discussing the issues facing Malay/Muslims.

Ok? Is everyone fine with this? Can? Ready to hug?
121) Seelan Palay on January 2nd, 2009 1.08 am To Dr Syed Alwi,

I appreciate some of your comments on this site and I do agree that there are certain specific problems within the various cultural communities in Singapore that are very difficult for others outside those communities to understand.

Instead of asking TOC to include more articles that highlight the issues that you concerned about, you could start your own blog and take the first step in sharing your insight.

And after you start, TOC might link and feature some of your posts now and then. Do not seek their patronage. Do what you know best, and do it alone.
122) K Das on January 2nd, 2009 8.53 am Zelfy

A beautiful piece you have penned.

Subjects can be controversial or contentious but you can hold your ground and put across your hear felt views strongly and tactfully. I know it is difficult for the strong headed. But we must all try.

It is a tutorial for me too. Thanks a lot.

K Das

124) WKC on January 2nd, 2009 9.12 am To Joshua,

“Tough question. Quite honestly, everyone will react differently. You can expect a certain level of very strong disagreements from some people. In my case, as long as you don’t rub it in my face too much, I’ll just take it as another perception that is probably good to mull over for a while instead of getting worked up.

But what you had written is, what i would consider, as something that is best left for other blogs and websites and not TOC.

Lastly, I know this is tough, but I hope some of you, who are wont to be worked up by WKC’s comments, to exercise some restraint. Not that I agree with his views, quite the opposite, but if you reply, it will ultimately be an exercise in futility, and we don’t wanna spoil anyone’s new year.”

Precisely, Joshua.

As I have stated, religion is a sensitive issue to some [or many?[ people.
People discussing religion must be aware there are lots of people out there who may have different beliefs, religious or non-religious. My post was, inter alia, a precautionary notice to anyone who are inclined to think religious or race issues should be discussed in open forums like this. When anyone expouses his/her religious views/beliefs he/she can expect rejoinders from others, including of course atheists/agnostics.

Your post in response to mine is a clear example.
125) Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) on January 2nd, 2009 9.45 am WKC

I think perhaps, because the word ‘religion’ has so many connative meanings for everyone - some see it as the cause of millions of conflicts and sufferings around the world, some see it as having ’saved’ their lives and given it meaning, most people would rather not talk about anything related to it at all.

However, there is a distinction about discussion of the validity of one’s religion, which, in my experience, leads nowhere, unless one is open enough, and discussion of how religion affects the socio-economic fabric of a segment of people for example.

You cannot have a satisfactory or in-depth discussion of the Malay/Muslim community without an understanding of how Islam affects their lives. Or how Islam is not only a way to conduct one’s personal life, but also has a economic-political element to it, maybe (based on what scant readings I make) more so than other faiths.

Or, for example, (I’m just posing a hypothesis) the role that Chinese folk religion (ancestral worship, belief in many deities, ‘taoism’ etc) plays in affecting the psyche of the average non-Christian, non-buddhist Chinese.. and if there is a correlation between this sort of belief and their socio-economic status?

Anyway.. at the end of the day, I always feel it’s not the topic, but rather people’s willingness to engage in discussions in a respectful tone. But this is just my opinion, and it’s open to be convinced of otherwise. i mean, no loss to me even if someone else manage to persuade me to change my mind. And here’s where I believe is what causes so many such unnecessary conflicts. We always feel as if we got something to loss if we concede to a stronger, better-argued point of view (when in fact the only thing we lose is our artificial mental boundaries) And that is where all the emotional stuff start coming in. And we all huff and puff and blew the house down.
128) patriot on January 2nd, 2009 12.26 pm Dear Friends;

please bear with me here.

Kindly permit me to pen one last Statement Of Fact here and that is, Race(ethnicity) is predestined(natural) whereas Belief is an acquired(learnt) entity.
Although some religions are intricately linked to ethnicities, history does show us that Belief are changeable. Examples; the Chinese were(are) Ancestor Worshippers, when Buddhism(from India) was introduced, a large proportion of Chinese then became Buddhists and some embraced Christianity and Islam when these religions were introduced into China.

The Religious History of Indonesia is quite similar, originally Animistic, large section of Indonesia became Buddhist during the Majapahit Period when Indian Cultures were widely adopted. The Europeans came later and converted many to Christians. Later when the Middle-easterners came, majority of the Indonesians were converted to Muslims.

Throughout the changes of Faith, Race remains constant as it is non-changeable.

Due to the above, I opine that Ethnicity(Race) is of a totally different substance to that of religion. Lumping them together as one entity for open discussions will always result in very unpleasant developments as evidenced in the whole of Human History.
It is very unfortunate that Nature has created different ethnicities that divide/confuse the Human Race and the Races(ethnic) created religions to further complicate matters.
If only Humans can keep matters of the Heart WITHIN THEIR OWN HEARTS WITHOUT THE AMBITIONS OF INFLUENCING OTHERS, the WORLD WOULD BE BETTER AND NICER TO ALL.

I Maybe guilty of ignorance and being simplistic and I will also say that I lack the mental stamina to go beyond here.

Pardon me one last time.

patriot

Dear Porifirio

If Syed Alwai is the correct Syed Alwai, then instead of encouraging the TOC to take up Malay and Muslim issues he should take the lead and create a team of writers or write for the TOC.

Andrew has a point, if he does not have the talent or the bandwidth for writing on Malay issues he does not have it and there is no point on the Dear dr Alwi complaining about it. He has to contribute or shut up.

Asking Malaysians malays to write about SG Malays what sort of crap is that ?

Locke

Bro,

Joshua's post in 120) best sums up my pov on this sensitive critical issue.

I got the feeling that Dr Alwi was getting ultra defensive (which is understandable to a certain extent) as the dialogue progressed to the point of perhaps losing sight of the audience he was talking to and losing the plot viz your question below. His later exchanges with Benjamin and Das was curious to say the least.

To me this exchange has once again brought home how difficult it is to have an open full blown public discussion on ethnic and religious issues in S'pore. However that does not mean that it should be swept under the carpet either. The critical issue is how to facilitate such exchanges in a calm rational mature way to ensure progress rather than regression.

Dear Porifirio

If Syed Alwai is the correct Syed Alwai, then instead of encouraging the TOC to take up Malay and Muslim issues he should take the lead and create a team of writers or write for the TOC.

Andrew has a point, if he does not have the talent or the bandwidth for writing on Malay issues he does not have it and there is no point on the Dear dr Alwi complaining about it. He has to contribute or shut up.

Asking Malaysians malays to write about SG Malays what sort of crap is that ?
Locke

Bro,

Joshua's post in 120) best sums up my pov on this sensitive critical issue.

I got the feeling that Dr Alwi was getting ultra defensive (which is understandable to a certain extent) as the dialogue progressed to the point of perhaps losing sight of the audience he was talking to and losing the plot viz your question below. His later exchanges with Benjamin and Das was curious to say the least.

To me this exchange has once again brought home how difficult it is to have an open full blown public discussion on ethnic and religious issues in S'pore. However that does not mean that it should be swept under the carpet either. The critical issue is how to facilitate such exchanges in a calm rational mature way to ensure progress rather than regression.

I agree with you. When it comes to racial and religious issues, those who feel strongly for it will express how strong they are for it. Dr SA manifests exactly the reason why such issues should be kept in check.

Years ago, I attended a religious harmony seminar. Kevin Tan and Chandra Mohan were 2 of the 5 speakers (can't remember the rest). During the Q&A, a long queue formed behind the mic. Turned out that they appeared "bigot" and all were expounding their race or religion. There was an Arab who called for recognition of Arabs in Singapore. Another Falunggong practitioner wanted to clarify that Falunggong was a harmless group.

It seemed to me that none of the questions were directed to the speakers or anything they said had anything to do with what the speakers said. In the first place, none of them were really asking questions. They were all engrossed in their own world.

Saying that these sensitive critical issues should not be swept under the carpet either.

For instance I recall the np/police denied a permit for possibly the first time since Hong Lim Park was liberalised to a tamil chap who wanted to speak on the issues as to why tamil signs were not put up in certain places.

Now I am not saying that np/police were wrong not to the issue the permit, for obvious reasons. However these sort of issues should not be swept under the carpet either as they may be allowed to fester and foment especially if distorted by devious parties with their own agendas.

But how best to fascilitate such effective open dialogue I do not know.

I agree with you. When it comes to racial and religious issues, those who feel strongly for it will express how strong they are for it. Dr SA manifests exactly the reason why such issues should be kept in check.

Dr Syed has the material to be oppo member to fight for the minority race.

Nowadays, even the local chinese has become the minority group among the global singaporean village.

i hope this Dr syed joins oppo party and fight PAP next GE for the minority races.

according to Kuan yew, 80% voted for PAP last GE. i hope it was not true.

Dr Syed has the material to be oppo member to fight for the minority race.

Nowadays, even the local chinese has become the minority group among the global singaporean village.

i hope this Dr syed joins oppo party and fight PAP next GE for the minority races.

according to Kuan yew, 80% voted for PAP last GE. i hope it was not true.

Honestly, the opposition cannot have scrutiny standards that would allow someone like him to pass their candidate-selection test. The opposition has made mistakes like such in the past and it was only in the last GE that their candidates started to improve.

How many voters would a candidate like him offend if he has already been felt offensive by commentators in TOC?