• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Susan Lim asks - Is it an offence to be expensive?

MarrickG

susanlimarticle.arthurleechbt.jpg

The Court of Appeal on Thursday reserved judgment in the case of the prominent surgeon accused of overcharging a royal patient from Brunei.

Dr Susan Lim is trying to overturn a High Court decision that the Singapore Medical Council inquiry into the allegations should go ahead.

The surgeon, who is in her 50s, is said to have charged Pengiran Anak Hajah Damit $24.8 million for seven months of treatment, although she argues that the figure was lower and included the cost of flying the patient between Singapore and Brunei.

During Thursday's hearing, her lawyer said the case was merely a commercial dispute and should never have escalated into disciplinary proceedings.

cobragold

the govt should look in the mirror and ask why they rejected the bid for the land at paya lebah mrt area as they said not good price. If you go to best private doc you cannot say expensive later. If the brunei govt did not bring this up to sg govt and somebody inside started this whole thing, there will be no story as Dr Lim cannot collect if brunei refuse to pay up. Who inside sg govt is responsible for this problem, COW. No money don't go private doc, is this not what our govt has said all the time. I agree with what this doc said as there is no law to set the price of medical services and as such why is she being investigated.

Is it an offence to be expensive?

Maybe our Ministers can answer the same question too?

If you want to charge so much better make sure you can provide results. Just look at the PAP, they are THE highest paid in the world & many unemployed Sporeans don't think they are doing their jobs:rolleyes:

M

Mdm Tang

http://www.tnp.sg/content/surgeon-hires-spin-doctors-handle-media

PRIVATE surgeon Susan Lim has hired a top public relations firm to handle the media in her ongoing legal tussle with the Singapore Medical Council.

After initially hiring former newspaper editor P. N. Balji as her PR consultant, Dr Lim has now also engaged international communications firm Hill & Knowlton to represent her.

A four-member team, including managing director Baey Yam Keng, turned up for Dr Lim's hearing to appeal against a
High Court decision which dismissed her application to block a probe by the SMC into allegations against her.

Read the full story in The New Paper today (Nov 11).

Leckmichamarsch

susanlimarticle.arthurleechbt.jpg

The Court of Appeal on Thursday reserved judgment in the case of the prominent surgeon accused of overcharging a royal patient from Brunei.

Dr Susan Lim is trying to overturn a High Court decision that the Singapore Medical Council inquiry into the allegations should go ahead.

The surgeon, who is in her 50s, is said to have charged Pengiran Anak Hajah Damit $24.8 million for seven months of treatment, although she argues that the figure was lower and included the cost of flying the patient between Singapore and Brunei.

During Thursday's hearing, her lawyer said the case was merely a commercial dispute and should never have escalated into disciplinary proceedings.

Not at all expensive esp if you look at Geylang & Niteclub fucks, etc...

Place other than Geylang you can get fucks for $20...... in Geylang $200 & Niteclubs $500++
So if you are sicko, go to Dr Quek charges you $5 & you die on the table. Dr S Lim charges you much more but you live a lot long & live shiok, shiok.

So if she has no case, then PAP ministers cannot charge millions while citizens feeling poverty pains.

M

Mdm Tang

Not at all expensive esp if you look at Geylang & Niteclub fucks, etc...

Place other than Geylang you can get fucks for $20...... in Geylang $200 & Niteclubs $500++
So if you are sicko, go to Dr Quek charges you $5 & you die on the table. Dr S Lim charges you much more but you live a lot long & live shiok, shiok.

So if she has no case, then PAP ministers cannot charge millions while citizens feeling poverty pains.

Bro , is it that ALL who committed suicide at Bedok Reserviour can

ask for Discipline action on official . Simple reason : paid well

and yet they have to commit suicide :eek:

M

Mdm Tang

Title: Surgeon asks: Is it an offence to be expensive?

Source: Straits Times
Author: Selina Lum

THE Court of Appeal yesterday reserved judgment in the case of the prominent surgeon accused of overcharging a royal patient from Brunei.

During yesterday's hearing, her lawyer said the case was merely a commercial dispute and should never have escalated into disciplinary proceedings.

Senior Counsel Lee Eng Beng pointed out that there are no fee guidelines for doctors and nothing in the ethical code that says they cannot charge more than a certain amount. 'Is it a disciplinary offence for a medical practitioner to be too expensive?' he asked.

Mr Lee said that the council did not have the power to discipline his client simply because of the size of her bills. He argued that it was being unreasonable by pressing ahead with the charges, and ignoring her long professional relationship with the patient.

Dr Lim had been treating her since 2001, he added, and her earlier bills were checked, verified and paid in full by the Brunei government.

The surgeon was brought before a disciplinary committee last year, but it stepped down voluntarily after her lawyers alleged that it had prejudged the case. A second one was then convened.

The decision to appoint this second committee was not valid, Mr Lee argued yesterday. He criticised the way the council went about doing this, saying that its members were not properly consulted and crucial information was withheld from them.

More than a month after the first committee disqualified itself, two e-mail messages were sent to the 17 council members asking for their approval to revoke its appointment.

They were also asked to approve a list of proposed names for the second committee. If they did not respond by the following day, it would be taken that they had no objections.

Mr Lee said this method of seeking approval was not a true consultative meeting of minds, and there was no evidence that all of the members received, read or understood the e-mail messages.

It therefore failed to comply with the requirements of the Medical Registration Act and did not constitute a valid decision.

He added that the e-mail messages made the way the first committee stepped down sound like merely a 'procedural' matter and downplayed the gravity of what had happened. Crucial information was withheld from the council members and their silence was deemed to be assent.

Dr Lim's lawyer also argued that four of the members should never have received the messages because of their connection to the case.

One of them was Professor K. Satku, the Ministry of Health's director of medical services, who was linked to the circumstances leading up to the original complaint against Dr Lim.

Two members of the first committee also received the e-mail messages, as did a prosecution witness who had testified at the earlier hearing.

The court asked for affidavits from the council members to be submitted to address the issue of whether they had received and understood the e-mail messages.

It will give its judgment at a later date.

M

Mdm Tang

Council is allowed to do what it sees fit
[2011] 11 Nov_ST

Title: Council is allowed to do what it sees fit
Source: Straits Times
Author:

THE Medical Registration Act permits the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) to make decisions in any way that it sees fit.

Its move to appoint a second disciplinary committee (DC) to hear allegations of overcharging against Dr Susan Lim by e-mail message was thus a valid one, said Senior Counsel Alvin Yeo, the lawyer for the SMC.

Dr Lim's counsel had argued that the decision was not valid, and that the appointment of a DC could take place only through a formal meeting.

Mr Yeo said the High Court had correctly rejected this argument on the basis of her failure to offer support for the proposition.

Setting out the framework for the disciplinary process for doctors, Mr Yeo said a complaint lodged with the SMC must be referred to a complaints committee.

If this committee orders a formal inquiry, the SMC is obliged under the Medical Registration Act to appoint a DC to conduct the formal inquiry.

Mr Yeo said the SMC's role is to facilitate and administer the disciplinary process; it does not get involved in the inquiry.

In Dr Lim's case, a formal inquiry was begun before a DC, but not completed.

As the Medical Registration Act does not have a specific provision addressing this situation, Mr Yeo argued that it would have been consistent with the objective of the Medical Registration Act to appoint a second DC to complete the inquiry.

As for Dr Lim's contention that the SMC had failed to exercise discretion on the need for the case to go to a second DC, Mr Yeo said the SMC had no such discretion, and was obliged to do so in order to complete the inquiry.

Mr Yeo also disagreed that the issue with Dr Lim's invoices was simply a commercial dispute.

He argued that doctors are expected to charge fairly for work done, and that, in the absence of fee guidelines, the act of overcharging would amount to professional misconduct.

Mr Yeo said the Brunei government was not simply looking to negotiate a lower fee, but was taking issue with her 'exorbitant' bills.

He asked the court to dismiss her appeal so the charges against her can be fully investigated, resulting in a decision that could be for or against her.

'She may well be cleared by the DC,' he said.

And even if she is not, he added, she still had the right to appeal.

SELINA LUM

blur sotong

If the salary review concluded that $4.2 million pay for the roti prata is too high, will they bring the prata man to court?

Is roti prata man's $4.2 million for doing his best too expensive?

If so, is it an offence?

Ditto for all the millisters?

M

Mdm Tang

If the salary review concluded that $4.2 million pay for the roti prata is too high, will they bring the prata man to court?

Is roti prata man's $4.2 million for doing his best too expensive?

If so, is it an offence?

Ditto for all the millisters?

His Prata very special one ... Can be measure by S$$$.

Susan Lim should argue on this line . Her service and treatment for the dieded patient

cannot be measured ...

nanbeh if you want the best 24/7 you pay for it. you want the best world class leaders you pay for it.our first class leaders are the world's best paid leaders.why complain and why discipline.i old uncle only see opd.i can't afford to pay. sometimes i go to my friendly gp next door if my legs too painful to walk.the gp charges me like opd.i know one specialist who does not charge me because i no work.he operated on my knee and said no charge.kind doctor.

why charge a doctor for charging expensively for his professional work.i no understand. doctors should charge accordingly.i poor doctors charge me less.you rich doctors charge you more.you want premier services,you kana charged premier fees. what's wrong with that. nanbeh.this world is like this. i go starbucks my kopi becomes $5.I go to shangrila my kopi becomes $12. i stay here and limkopi...80cents!!! so can i sue shangrila??? ...sue your head lah nanbeh!!!

M

Mdm Tang

http://forums.vr-zone.com/newsroom/409308-news-capitaland-ceo-gets-20m.html

How Come NoBody Say Anything On Liew's Bonus ??? :eek::eek::eek:

CapitaLand CEO gets $20m

Amount awarded to Liew Mun Leong for property boom year 2007

By Joyce Teo

'Although the sum is the highest, it is accrued...so it's put into a bank account and you are only allowed to take one-third out,' said Mr Liew. 'If you ask if it's the highest, if you take one-third out, then it's not.' --ST PHOTO: GEORGE GASCON

CAPITALAND'S president and chief executive Liew Mun Leong was awarded a bonus of $20.52 million in 2007 for helping the property developer achieve a record profit of $2.76 billion that year.

The huge bonus, notched up in a year the local property market was white hot, is believed to be a record for any executive at a Singapore listed company.

Mr Liew, 62, married with two daughters and a son, is a civil engineer who spent 22 years as a civil servant before taking the corporate world by storm.

Details of his 2007 bonus emerged yesterday in CapitaLand's 'Summary report 2008', along with a smaller $2.98 million bonus for the year ended Dec 31, 2008.

His base pay was $1.15 million in 2007 and $1.19 million in 2008.

The reason both bonuses were disclosed together is that CapitaLand has just changed its bonus disclosure system.

Before, it disclosed what it paid to Mr Liew for that financial year. The payment was for bonuses that had been awarded for the performance of past years.

But now it has started disclosing bonuses awarded, though not actually paid in full, relating to the year just gone.

Mr Liew's bonus goes into an individual bonus account and he takes home one-third of the balance every year. In a bad year for CapitaLand, that running total in his bonus account may be clawed back.

In other words, he might not eventually pocket all the bonuses awarded to him.

Mr Liew gave a brief press conference yesterday at Capital Tower. He said while his bonus was believed to be the largest here, he may not get all of it.

'Although the sum is the highest, it is accrued...so it's put into a bank account and you are only allowed to take one-third out,' said Mr Liew. 'If you ask if it's the highest, if you take one-third out, then it's not.'

The top bonus believed to have been paid at a listed firm here was between $16.75 million and $17 million, including non-cash perks, paid to Venture Corp's chief executive Wong Ngit Liong in 2005.

Mr Liew's $20.52 million bonus works out to about 0.7 per cent of CapitaLand's $2.8 billion profit. The average bonus of some top company executives here is 2 to 4 per cent, Mr Liew told reporters.

Knight Frank director of research and consultancy Nicholas Mak said: 'Top executives at property firms were getting big bonuses in 2007 because the property market was at its most buoyant in the past 10 years.'

That year, Keppel Corp executive chairman Lim Chee Onn earned up to $9 million.

CapitaLand's bonus plan for key management is an Economic Value Added (EVA) incentive plan introduced in 2000. EVA measures the net operating profit after tax less the cost of capital employed.

Mr Liew said his EVA bonus in 2003 was negative - which meant his bonus account was clawed back.

'A pay-for-performance plan does introduce volatility into your pay,' said co-director of the Corporate Governance and Financial Reporting Centre Mak Yuen Teen. 'The EVA plan is generally seen as a good plan because it takes into account the cost of capital. If you have a plan with a clawback feature, it is better. That would ensure the CEO takes a longer-term horizon in making a decision.'

Mr Liew's 2008 bonus includes $10,000 worth of shopping vouchers. The company said last month it will distribute a small part of this year's bonuses to about 680 managerial staff here in the form of $1 million of shopping vouchers.

Yesterday, Mr Liew said he has already used some of his vouchers to buy a small computer, a grooming set and a shaver.

In December, CapitaLand announced that senior management would receive salary cuts of between 3 and 20 per cent. Mr Liew's salary was cut by 20 per cent.

CapitaLand's share price peaked at $7 in April 2007, after taking into account the recent rights issue. Yesterday, its shares rose nine cents to close at $2.29.

source: CapitaLand CEO gets $20m