• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do Indians in Singapore face racism and if so what forms does it take?

rajmanickam

Do Indians in Singapore face racism and if so what forms does it take?

main-raw-55971619-zyjajtfwbadwxbgprsuvdgtagcsguswz.jpeg

By : Anushya Lakshmi, lives in Singapore
Answered Nov 10, 2017

Yes, they do.

And there's only one form I can think of right now, and that is Casual Racism.

Casual racism doesn't mean casually shooting Indians for being in someone's country(aka America) or casually throwing rocks and stones at them. It is just... Casual. When people unintentionally engage in negative stereotypes about people from a certain race or religion, that's casual racism. And it can be found almost everywhere in Singapore.

Before we go deeper though, we must first ascertain whether you're talking about "Singaporean" Indians or "Indian" Indians. If you're a Singaporean Indian, then you probably won't be facing many of the problems said below.

1) "Indians always have smelly hair!" ~ Chinese girl who was my frenemy.

I used to have such a hard time with this. Apparently, coconut oil is considered by many Chinese to smell worse than Durian, and that says a lot. And you see, I had studied in India for 2 years and then came back to Singapore. So obviously I brought back my Indian habits when I came back to Singapore and one of that was applying coconut oil on my hair. And I had faced many difficulties because of this.

I remember during my primary school, a Chinese girl was sitting right behind me when taking the SA2(Year end paper). If I'm not wrong, the girl had dropped her pen on the floor so she leaned forward to pick it up. And then she quickly flinched back, covering her nose and pretending to puke. Why? Because apparently she took in the "gross" smell of my hair. And I knew this because many of my friends who were sitting behind her had seen it happen and they told me about it once the exam was over. Apparently she also commented that “All Indians are smelly” even though the truth is far from that. I was immediately disgusted with that girl. And this was just one of the many incidents. At one point, I couldn't take it anymore and cried to my parents to let me stop using oil. I still don't use it, for fear of getting bullied. And guess what? I'm half bald now.

main-qimg-d5e027ef3f6e45543c14f62861576670.webp

Damn it, you Indian advertisement. I shouldn't have believed you. Boys are running away from me instead of appreciating me for my super “silky and smooth” hair that you promise to give me.

2) You would be made fun of when you try to fit in.

Well as I said above, even though I'm actually a Singaporean Citizen, I still studied in India for 2 years and then came back. And when I did so, I had a hard time fitting in in my primary school.

One fine day, my classmates and I were on a bus, in a learning journey to Kampong Glam. To pass time, many of my classmates started singing songs like Wrecking Ball and Royals, which were one of the "hot" songs in those times. Since I knew the lyrics of the songs, I decided to join in the fun and sing along with them. And guess what? The moment I started singing, the whole bus turned silent. For one moment. And in the next, all I could hear was an enormous belly laughter coming from all the others in the bus. Some just smirked while others asked me things like, "Do you even know the song?". To say I was pissed off was an understatement. Just because I was Indian doesn't mean that I wouldn't know English songs. But of course, those kids didn't realize that and kept laughing.

Also, now in my secondary school, a lot of Indian scholars have entered. After some time, they try to fit in and say things like "lah" and "walao". Let me tell you this. If people didn't know they were Indian scholars, they would probably think that these are just normal Singaporeans, because the way they say it is actually quite normal. But because they all know that these kids are from India, many people always snicker when such things happen.

3) You would be made fun of when you do the "Indian-ish" things.

Be it writing with a cursive handwriting, or with a heavy Indian accent, you'll always be screwed over by others.

When I came back from India, I would always write using my cursive handwriting. And guess what happened? Many students and even teachers would comment that they couldn't read my handwriting. At first I could understand, after all they've never been used to such things so it's pretty obvious that they will have difficulty reading it. But then there were some people who made it a point to make fun of me whenever I used my cursive handwriting. Because of this, I forced myself to change my handwriting into the standard one. Of course, none of these problems continued in my secondary school. It was only in my primary school, which was also the breeding place for immature pieces of poop.

Anyways, the more obvious problem would be when you use your strong Indian accent. People almost always judge you and make fun of you for it. And the endless memes doesn't really help either.

main-qimg-044e02665a69ae51c825b275e105a087.webp

I spent so many years trying to make you perfect…only to let you go. Damn you, cursive writing.

4 ) You would hear some "funny" things from others.

This can be seen everywhere honestly. I hear things like "Go back to India lah!" or "Black!" every single time. In schools, mostly. Most of them are not aimed towards me but towards other people who are actually from India.

This is mostly said in a humorous way though, especially after you make a mistake is maths or other subjects where Indians are expected to excell. And many Indians also take these comments as a joke and move on. So it's not really as if the non-indian Singaporeans are trying to hurt us. They're just blissfully ignorant.

5) Your infamous “head shake” will be made fun of.

I don't know why but we Indians seem to do this weird head shaking thing. If someone asks us something, we say “yes” and do the head shake. If the answer is “no”, we still do the same head shake. I guess it comes naturally to us. And the Chinese and Malays here have picked up on it. So many times, they will ask you a question, just to make fun of you, and then giggle and exaggerate your head shake while trying to do it themselves. It's so annoying.

main-qimg-f92b063d13ec3970ef80694febbf9268.webp

A guide to Indian head shakes.

6) You would hear some “funny” things about you and the IT field.

In my school, there are many who say things like “Oi, you Indian tech support,” and “Next time you work in IT ah?”. I guess after some time Indians just get used to these remarks. But it's still pretty annoying to know that many others still stereotype you as an engineer or an IT person when what you want to do in the future is the complete opposite of these fields.

Of course, I'm not saying that all non-indian Singaporeans are like this. It's just a few, immature ones. And after experiencing all these, when you look back, all you want to do is to laugh at these people. Because these kids never actually intended to hurt me, they just thought it was funny.

Anyway, if you're an Indian coming to Singapore, there's a high chance that you'll be facing such racism. You won't be shot or killed, but you might encounter some words which may leave a lasting impact on you. Be prepared.

Source : https://www.quora.com/Do-Indians-in-Singapore-face-racism-and-if-so-what-forms-does-it-take

Casual racism example: your mother give you kopi O instead of milk?

Just to share how we feel about Singapore and our challenges adapting into the Singaporean society ... No offence intended. :)

How does the casual racism that Indians are subjected to in Singapore compare to what the lower caste have to put up with in India?

Foreigners often have a mistaken impression that the caste system is discriminatory to the extent of evil.

First, every country in this planet has some form of social class system. Even in Singapore, it is termed as High SES, Low SES. Other terminologies include political elites, and so on.

Aliens unfamiliar to India like yourself called it the Caste system. In India, we refer to it as Jati. The term jati appears in almost all Indian languages and is related to the idea of lineage or kinship group. There are perhaps more than 3000 jatis in India and there is no one all-Indian system of ranking them in order of status.

The jati system is not static in which all groups stay in the same position. Just like in Singapore, you can move from Low SES to High SES if you become successful.

However, there is a fundamental difference. Unlike the Singapore SES system, jati class group move as a group and not as individuals.

Mobility in the system and jatis have changed their position over the centuries of Indian history. A jati can improve its position in the class system by advancing economically and emulating social groups with money and power.

Mobility in the caste system has been termed “Sanskritization”.

To gain higher sankritization position, a lower jati copies the habits and behavior patterns of the dominant jati in the area. This may mean a lower jati will change its name to one of a higher jati, adopt vegetarianism, observe more orthodox religious practices, build a temple, and treat its women in a more conservative way. The type of emulation will depend on the habits of the dominant jati being copied.

If the jati can gain acceptance for its new name, new history, and new status, it will then marry its daughters to members of the jati in which it is seeking to gain membership.

In due time the new position on the social scale will be solidified and accepted by other jatis.

This practice is not totally unlike that of a lower SES Singaporean marrying into an upper SES family. Even in South Korea, you have the well known Chaebol system.

Every society in this world has some form of Jati or "caste" system. It's unfortunate that the Indian caste system has gotten too much negative media attention.

Please do not misunderstand me. I do not absolutely agree with the Jati system. It is a system that evolves through time and I hope that one day, we will all be judged according to merit and not social classes.

Last but not least, FYI., the Indian Constitution has outlawed the practice of Untouchability and the Indian Government has established special quotas in schools and Parliament to aid the lowest jatis.

Caste discrimination is not permitted in gaining employment and access to educational and other opportunities.

But this does not mean that caste is illegal or has faded away. India just like China are big countries. It will take time for a billion people to change their mindset. Singapore is a small and compact country and it's far more easier for the current sound and good government to push through equality policies which were introduced in the educational sphere recently.

Oh please. Dont even try to make india equal. Theres nothing normal about your attitude. Now i will follow the racist and say go back to india

India got caste system very chim one.Casual racism is nothing compared to their caste system.Daughter can get killed for bringing back lower caste bf.

Its about time indians tell the chinese to " balik tongsan". This island has a indian name.indian scent and surrounded by indian island( indonesia).

How about Indian whores in Geylang? Only one small corner for them, and they're $20-30 cheaper than the usual market rate for beautiful PRC or Viet ladies. :wink:

MOE,HDB should revive Sembawamg naval base school and start a rubber plantation on the Northern tip, build living quarters and walled them in.

must also have illegal distillery of toddy and samsu to cater to this special enclave and inhabitants. the abundance of wild boar meat to go with the moonshine is a bonus - and no one will bother about the noisy and boisterous rendition of "surangani" all day :whistling:

TS reminds of me of that fat fuck shitskin Sangeetha Thanapal who is jealous of chinese privileges and despises the fact that she herself isn't of superior stock like the chinks and AMDKs. There is white privilege and chinese privilege, no such thing as shitskin privilege, hence TS is bitching about casual racism. There is always a reason for a phenomenon. I believe there are sufficient documented or witnessed events, display of character traits, and lifestyle choices that serve to form that opinion of shitskins in the minds of the other races.

Maybe TS is actually Sangeetha Thanapal? Welcome! :biggrin: