• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Disgraceful opposition supporter hangs China flag. Mata ask her lim kopi

wMulew

A 54-year-old Chinese Singaporean woman is being investigated for an offence under the National Emblems

It is believed that the offence is related to a China flag that was hung over the parapet of a Hougang HDB block, right next to a Singapore flag.

The news first made headlines when photographs were taken of the flag and posted on citizen journalism website Stomp. They have since gone viral, with several concerned citizens asking if it is allowed.

In a statement posted on their Facebook page, the police clarified that the public display of state flags of any nation other than Singapore is "generally disallowed," unless an exception is catered for.

If convicted, the offender may be fined up to $500, imprisoned for up to 6 months, or both.

The Straits Times reported that the woman has not been arrested.

This is the second case in recent weeks involving a Singapore flag.

Last week, a teenage girl was arrested for allegedly setting fire to a Singapore flag at a pavilion in Ang Mo Kio.

The police would like to remind the public that the display of the Singapore state flag is governed under the Singapore Arms & Flag & National Anthem Act, which allows for the special display of the flag at HDB blocks during National Day period.

It is against the law to treat the national flag with disrespect. Offenders may be fined $1,000.

In addition, the Singapore flag may not be used for any commercial, advertising, furnishing or decorating purpose, unless express permission is granted by the authorities.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20120726-361470.html

In a statement posted on their Facebook page, the police clarified that the public display of state flags of any nation other than Singapore is "generally disallowed," unless an exception is catered for.

=> So is such overt and blatant display allowed? If so, why?

http://forums.vr-zone.com/chit-chat...undreds-china-flags-displayed-marina-bay.html

Netizen Shocked to see hundreds of China flags displayed at Marina Bay

Oct4_Flags.jpg

Dear The Real Singapore,

I was walking along the new Marina Bay Gardens By The Bay and i saw hundreds of China flags hung across an open padang area there. I was astonished and intimidated by the hundreds of China flags hung across the sky and i saw hundreds of PRC nationals there chatting loudly. Some of them were even singing the China national anthem and many Singaporean passers-by also seemed to be shocked and afraid of the large mob.

After taking a closer look i realized it was an opening ceremony for the Garden By The Bay and Singapore is having a joint performance with China celebrities. I do not understand why our Gardens By The Bay opening has anything to do with China. Is this part of the integration that our government talks about as there is a huge number of China nationals living within Singapore?

Will we start to see even more China Nationals coming to Singapore in the future? I don't think that we need any more overcrowding. I can understand that the government wants us to be more integrated, and it is probably a good thing if it could work, but i dont want Singapore to be any more crowded. I already wait everyday and miss several overpacked trains. I even must wait 3 months to make appointments with public polyclinics for dental. Does being integrated mean it is ok to bring even more people in for integration?

-Partrick Neo

Can anyone help Patrick answer his questions?

One cuntry, two law systems.

How about solving real crime instead of messing around with flag mischiefs, you poodles?

=> So is such overt and blatant display allowed? If so, why?

http://forums.vr-zone.com/chit-chat...undreds-china-flags-displayed-marina-bay.html

Netizen Shocked to see hundreds of China flags displayed at Marina Bay

Oct4_Flags.jpg

I believe this photo was clarified to be taken in HK, not Singapore. This was discussed in the Fabrications about PAP thread on Facebook..

If only it happened in Singapore, can't wait to see what action the police will take, if any at all :D

Singaporeans are idiots, They complain about foreigners and bla bla bla BUT don't want to show their Strength or Existent, They rather support other flags and bash their own. -- The most nonsence excuse " As long as PAP in power i will not hang flag" - GOOD, GIVE SINGAPORE TO PAP

Sinkies fucking deserve to be bashed! I've always maintained that the problem with sinkieland isn't the PAP per se but the 60% brainwashed PAPzi supporters and the significant subset of the remaining 40% who have no intention to dislodge the PAPzis from power.

Aiya, don't waste, take it down and make into underwear or swimming costume.

From what I've seen the material used in making of the Spore flag is very cheap.
I've bought flags that were made of superior material such as nylon. Even the flags used at statutory boards like the CPF building is cheap & flimsy.

How do we know it is a oppo supporter just because it's Hougang? It could be one who voted for Desmond Choo

I keep seeing free Tibet flags in angmo countries.

Nobody got investigated for doing so.

Why? Maybe angmo countries are more tolerant of FTs?