• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Difficulties faced by small companies in engaging workers , local or foreign.

pachinko

run a sole proprietorship business with my spouse for almost 16 years and we used to have a delivery man/general worker intermittently all these years. Our workers generally stay for a short while , as there are little prospects for promotion or big jump in salary due to our small business. Our goods consist of heavy carton boxes of 20 to 30 kgs to carry up to the 2nd level of our premise and deliver them to our clients as when required , this is job is often shunned by locals. Those who are above 45 years of age are unlikely to take up this offer as they find this too taxing and back breaking . The younger ones dont want such a job because they prefer lighter duty and something more glamorous, especially with this new generation of youths from "two is enough" families, they are all pampered and will not take on tough jobs.

We are in a dilemma , having been in this business for 16 years and we wish to continue running it to keep ourselves mentally/physically fit instead of retiring . Our business is still viable and we wish to continue it as long as possible but our biggest problem is staffing . We are both above 55years , paperwork, marketing and general management of the business do not worry us but we need an able bodied general worker to assist us in the heavier duties which locals are not keen.With the new rules in employment of foreign workers , I am afraid that we are going to encounter difficulties in getting a helper. There are probably some other family owned small enterprises here facing similar difficulties which the MOM could have overlooked when the quota system was being drawn up. I sincerely hope that you will kindly assist us in this instance as we do not wish to circumvent the rules.

We are also trying not to exceed our monthly expenses by employing a high powered ( preference work permit instead of S-pass /E-pass ) person to do general duties , a worker with little skills is more than adequate for this post. I wish to add that we have exhausted all our efforts in trying to get a local for this job without luck and we cant go on without a helper . In our previous advertisements , we tried employing Singaporeans as first choice and Malaysians as our next choice, after offering the Singaporeans a salary of $1200 to $1600 depending on experience ( with class 3 salary at higher end ) we hoped they will work diligently . Instead all 6 candidates selected from 6 advertisements did not stay more than 3 days ! Some disappeared after between 2 hours to 7 hours whilst the others did not turn up after 2 days or 3 days of work. None of them even have the courtesy to resign over a phone call , that's the attitude of Singapore workers . Most of them are above 40 years in age and thinking they are more mature and stable , they turned out to be disappointments. There were at least 2 who had very elderly unemployed parents depending on their only son for survival , yet he walked off from a reasonably well paid job ( 5 days week only ) without a word, another candidate has a wife and both are in their early 50s , no children and wife is unemployed yet he did not bother to resign after staying 7 hours in the job. It affects productivity and our health as such duties are best done by a younger person who is keen to hold on to a full-time job.

Despite appealing for help from the MOM at the highest level , I only received a short note "we are looking into the matter and will revert shortly" that was 1 month ago and still received no reply.

Please do not neglect the plight of small companies who are also contributing to the economy.

You have more or less listed the reasons why locals won't stay in this job.

Either have a minimum wage (2k?) and raise your prices to your customers, or subcontract the delivery (DHL?)

How is one going to survive in Sg for those wages you're giving? Let alone support a household?

Problem is salary too low $1600 max/month with class 3 even FT(bangla) driver getting more than $1500/month as driver and deliveryman .
If you can offer higher salary let said $2~$2.5k is more reasonable.
Why anyone(local) want to be driver and deliveryman for you for $1600/month ? They can choose to be taxi driver. Have u ever think of this?

can you have some mechanical lifting system in place to lighten the load or help do the job? the way you describe is really not enough for me to provide a good suggestion.

my guts feeling tells me he is part of pap commando team send to brainwash us

By the way job is general duties in office /store, wrapping up carton boxes for export , carrying goods from one place to another in the offc/store , clean up carpet , floor , tables and chairs in a small office with 2 persons . This worker acts as my hands and legs since I am unable to do such physical work anymore. As a general worker without any qualifications or skills neede , I believe $1,200 to 1,600 is a decent payout for 5 days of work. If there are no orders , he will laise around doing nothing , quite easy going. So what more does he expect?

Locals rather not work since they have HDB to rent out and live on rentals , a little harder work will not appeal to them. Want more salary less work ...like more vegetables and less oil mentality .Just like to complain and sulk that foreigners took their jobs but they refused to work unless jobs suit them in their expectations.

Usually delivery driver class/3 earns around 1.4 to 1.8k(Just driving) + he has one cargo asst with him to do the carrying. A van driver delivering small parcels etc. letters or A4 size parcels usually have a basic of 1.6k or $50 a day straight cash.

I have been employing general workers too and yes at that salary it is still difficult to employ Singaporeans. I have not much say in the salary offered as I do not own the company. However, I do sympathise with the worker as at this salary, it is hard to survive if one has a family to support. You have to take away the part that you mentioned,"If there are no orders , he will laise around doing nothing , quite easy going. So what more does he expect?" A worker expects a good pay and as high as possible, and he does not take on a low paying job because he can laze around. The demand for Singaporean workers are high, there is no doubt and they will leave you the moment someone else offer another $50.00 more. Furthermore they can not look forward to perks like more than a month's bonus, medical, insurance, performance bonus and company trips etc., which larger businesses offer. Lastly there is no job security working for a 2 man show type of business.

For you to get a worker that will stay is obvious. Either do a business with higher margins to provide a higher pay scale or do it yourself to save money. There is no simple solution.

P.s im looking for work & if you can do daily pay for me. i can come and work for you.. For at least the next 3 months. You can treat me as P/T(Non-chinese btw)

You are just a greedy bastard. If the job has no future prospects, why don't you offer your staff a reasonable profit sharing incentive scheme? I am sure if your company is able to make respectable profits, sharing them with your staff will motivate them to ensure the continued success of your company.

I talked to some of my workers before on the jobs they did. A few told me they had help from CDC which covers a portion of their expenses. The rest like collecting new cars from ships and the odd jobs here and there. They can make about 2k.

KNN..salary $1200 to $1600..ask yourself lah..how to survive..

if i was the moderator..this thread will go to the rubbish dump...

The fact of the matter is that the salary is too low for a Singaporean struggling to pay off HDB housing loan, children school fees and other stuff. Whether the job is easy or not is incidental. If I want to laze around and do nothing, might as well do it at home.

This is the problem I have with all the so called SMEs. Most of them are too reliant on low end hard labour. They do not value add to the economy. Why should a neighbourhood coffee shop be allowed to hire PRC servers? Why should a nightclub be allowed to hire Filipino servers? If they cannot afford to pay well enough, obviously they are not suitable for Singapore.

THere are many people who open restaurants and then kaopeh no Singaporeans want to do work for $1200 a month. 1.2k a month? WTF! Then wat? I detest Crystal Jades and all the chains who kaopeh to government to import more waiters just because they pay lowly and refuse to innovate. Some coffeeshops tzechar stalls are already using iPads to collect orders. Pple better buck up!

I feel sorry for Pachinko cos he is getting older and life is getting hard. But can you imagine a young Singaporean helping him? Will Pachinko give him his business when he decides to retire in 10 years' time? The young Singaporean then how? Besides grumbling, did he think about how to help these people?

I say fuck it to all the towkays who drive Mercedes Benz and eat at restaurants and then continue to run low end businesses in Singapore. If you wish to bring your business to Malaysia, please go ahead. Why complain? They know that they have it good in Singapore with proper laws and decent infrastructure. There is a price for everything.

By the way job is general duties in office /store, wrapping up carton boxes for export , carrying goods from one place to another in the offc/store , clean up carpet , floor , tables and chairs in a small office with 2 persons . This worker acts as my hands and legs since I am unable to do such physical work anymore. As a general worker without any qualifications or skills neede , I believe $1,200 to 1,600 is a decent payout for 5 days of work. If there are no orders , he will laise around doing nothing , quite easy going. So what more does he expect?

Locals rather not work since they have HDB to rent out and live on rentals , a little harder work will not appeal to them. Want more salary less work ...like more vegetables and less oil mentality .Just like to complain and sulk that foreigners took their jobs but they refused to work unless jobs suit them in their expectations.

You think $1600/month very big? There nothing people can help you.
If you don't have jobs eg. one week only 3 or 4 day work another 1 or 2 day do nothing. That is you problrm not worker problem. The worker rather worker hard for full 5 day getting paid more than $2k even willingly work on saturday if can have $3k for delivery.
Those delivery coke drink if work hard can get more than $4k/month. This is truth but have to work hard about 12hr/day.

my guts feeling tells me he is part of pap commando team send to brainwash us

The people at SBF, have built in firewall in their brain, can smell a pappies immediately!, how to brainwash? "SINgaporeans, no good"..employ more FT's...remember one famous Resturant owners doing the same condemnation of local workers during the Asian Financial crises...so what is new...if SINgapore workers are no good...they should export them by the plane loads to the thir world cointries...

Local employers, we all know.. 'ai pi' (cheap), 'ai chi' (fresh), 'tu niap ni' (hmmm big breasted)...:mad:

my advice to TS would be to close your shop and re-invest your money to generate returns from it from viable investment.
After 16 yrs and you haven't gotten anywhere, times and cost have changed so much but you are still a backyard shop.

Must be you are too traditional in mindset and not born or talented in spotting where and when to invest.

If you had been more savy you'll be owning quite a number of properties by now when one could make a'killing' from investments thru the 80s and 90s...

For that, nobody can teach you.

bob sim is out of work. can offer him a job. make sure he doesn't have access to pc and the internet.