• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dhanabalan left Cabinet due to differences with government

TeeKee

Dhanabalan left Cabinet due to differences with government over “Operation Spectrum”
September 6, 2009 by admin
Filed under Top News
Leave a comment
From our Correspondent
Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong revealed in his interviews for the SPH publication “Men in White: The Untold Stories of the PAP” that former National Development Minister S Dhanabalan left the Cabinet in 1992 because he was not comfortable with the way the PAP had dealt with the “Marxist Conspiracy” in 1987.
“At that time, given the information, he was not fully comfortable with the action we took…he felt uncomfortable and thought there could be more of such episodes in the future…he’d better leave the Cabinet. I respected him for his view,” Mr Goh said.
Mr Dhanabalan said his reason for quitting some 12 years later, was one of conviction:
“My philosophy is one where I need to have complete conviction about some key policies and if I have differences, it doesn’t mean I am against the group……but I have to try and live with myself if I have some disagreements on some things,’ he said.
On May 21st 1987, 22 young social workers, lawyers, businessmen, theatre practitioners and other professionals were detained without trial under the internal security law and accused of “being members of a dangerous Marxist conspiracy bent on subverting the PAP ruled government by force, and replacing it with a Marxist state.” A second wave of arrests took place on June 20th the same year.
The operation was dubbed “Operation Spectrum” and was carried out by the Singapore’s Internal Security Department (ISD) using the Internal Security Act (ISA) which allows for detention without trial. This marked the last time that the ISA would be used against politicians and activists.
Singapore’s former Solicitor-General Francis Seow was also detained by the ISD for two months after he turned up at the detention center to speak to a detainee who had sought his legal assistance. Seow was later released and allowed to leave for the United States where he now lives.
Though the detainees were protrayed as staunch Marxists and a confession trial was screened on TV (which they later retracted), many Singaporeans remained sceptical about the government’s case including some senior figures within the establishment itself.
The present Attorney-General Mr Walter Woon said in an interview to the Straits Times in 1991: “As far as I am concerned, the government’s case is still not proven. I would not say those fellows were Red, not from the stuff they presented…I think a lot of people have this scepticism.”
Even Finance Minister Mr Tharman was unconvinced: “Although I had no access to state intelligence, from what I knew of them, most were social activists but not out to subvert the system,” he told the Straits Times in 2001.
The arbitrary arrests and detentions of 22 harmless civilians had dealt a blow to the PAP government’s international reputation. From then on, the ISA was used only sparingly against suspected terrorists. No opposition politician was ever arrested under the ISA again.
The Internal Security Act was a colonial relic introduced by the British in both Malaya and Singapore in 1948 as part of the “Emergency Regulations” to contain the Communist insurgency.
In 1960, the Emergency was declared over, but the Internal Security Act was passed in its place with much of the same power. On its separation from Malaysia in 1965, Singapore retained the ISA.
The ISA was first used by Singapore in 1963 to arrest 117 opposition party and labor union leaders suspected to be communists under “Operation Coldstore”, some of whom were detained for up to 32 years.
On 1 August 2009, a massive anti-ISA protest participated by 20,000 people took place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia to call for the end of the law.
As a result of constant political pressure exerted by the opposition, NGOs and the Malaysian Bar, the Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak is forced to make a promise that he will “review” the law upon taking office in March this year.
In Singapore, most Singaporeans remain ignorant of the implications of the ISA or even its existence.
The ISA is an obsolete, unnecessary and repressive law which has no place in a modern democracy like Singapore. It should be repealed and an “Anti-terrorism” act introduced in its place to deal specifically with terrorists.
As the escape of Mas Selamat Kasteri has demonstrated, the ISD is not quite equipped to tackle terrorism and should be replaced by a highly specialized, trained and experienced “anti-terrorism department” instead to ensure that no Singaporean will ever be arrested and detained under the ISA again.

FuckSamLeong

I recalled he had issues told the reality that Singapore can never accept a Non Chinese Prime Minister at the time.

>>>“At that time, given the information, he was not fully comfortable with the action we took…he felt uncomfortable and thought there could be more of such episodes in the future…he’d better leave the Cabinet. I respected him for his view,” Mr Goh said.<<<

Instead of standing up to injustice, which he's duty bound to, this shortie chose to cover his backside and ran away. So much for the quality of the $$$ Papaya minitoots! No wonder the Familee is selling out Sporns like nobody's biz!

hairylee

>>>“At that time, given the information, he was not fully comfortable with the action we took…he felt uncomfortable and thought there could be more of such episodes in the future…he’d better leave the Cabinet. I respected him for his view,” Mr Goh said.<<<

Instead of standing up to injustice, which he's duty bound to, this shortie chose to cover his backside and ran away. So much for the quality of the $$$ Papaya minitoots! No wonder the Familee is selling out Sporns like nobody's biz!

He kept quiet and did nothing.
Worst! Goh Chok Tong coast along.

SR Nathan

Sorry, IMH's not under my perview.

That's BloodyChristNun's department.:eek:

:oIo::oIo:

There's no need for the ISD/ISA anymore when IMH is at hand to detain opposing voices that become too loud at the Prataman's pleasure.

ISA was meant for commies back then, and jailing them is now taboo as we welcome "modern" Mao-worshiping commies by the thousands who yet make the best capitalists, correct?

With ISA, we'd have to jail at least half the owners of Sentosa Cove, in today's context....

Moreover, the Mt. Pleasant facility is sitting on top of prime land that could be made into a lot of GCB's.

So do be prepared for more opposition figures going cuckoo, or simply given free lodgings in IMH, with the compliments of "modern" despotism.

hairylee

There's no need for the ISD/ISA anymore when IMH is at hand to detain opposing voices that become too loud at the Prataman's pleasure.

ISA was meant for commies back then, and jailing them is now taboo as we welcome "modern" Mao-worshiping commies by the thousands who yet make the best capitalists, correct?

With ISA, we'd have to jail at least half the owners of Sentosa Cove, in today's context....

Moreover, the Mt. Pleasant facility is sitting on top of prime land that could be made into a lot of GCB's.

So do be prepared for more opposition figures going cuckoo, or simply given free lodgings in IMH, with the compliments of "modern" despotism.

They did tried to do it to CSJ.

nickers9

He is not comfortable with what the government is doing, but he is fucking very comfortable with the salary he is collecting every year from the PAPaya government.

So he rather goes somewhere where he can see no evil and hear no evil, then when he collects his millions dollars paycheck every year, he will starts to feel very fucking comfortable again.

Loofydralb

Interestingly no one has come out to declare who was the y guy who ordered Operation Spectrum.

My take is it was the old man cos he has been doing it regularly since 1959.

Watchman

The whole merry gang all acting together .

They just make it interesting to be more convincing .

Old man said that he gave the orders and that is not in dispute.

Interestingly no one has come out to declare who was the y guy who ordered Operation Spectrum.

What ever happened to the Christian values he espouse?, instead of taking up the cause, stick to his principle & walk away, he came back and serve a 'gigher god'...:p

Matthew 6:24 (New International Version)

v. 24 : No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.

Hope

What ever happened to the Christian values he espouse?, instead of taking up the cause, stick to his principle & walk away, he came back and serve a 'gigher god'...:p

v. 24 : No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.
Dhana does love GOD but his other half loves mammo.

Dhana has made the difficult choice,I do not asgree but I do understand his predicament.

God workls in a mysterial way!

Frankiestine

Sure or not, that shortie got so much integrity meh...? Or just trying to cover up that he got slap by little pinkie....maybe it all ties in, he buay song with the Ops then kpkb, little ass loong tell him to shut the fark up and gave him one tie slap and shortie tu lang decides to quit..

God work in a mysterious way, now the short darlie ( darkie), is a voracious supporter of pinkie's 'husband'...:p

Hope

"God work in a mysterious way, now the short darlie ( darkie), is a voracious supporter of pinkie's 'husband'

I fully agree.
Wait,GOD sure works in a mysterial way,in his own time in his own way,of course,who am I to question him?

hairylee

It must be GCT, that's why he got the PM job. Dhana couldn't do it and Old Fart proclaim that Singapore is not ready for a Indian PM. Mostly likely Tony Tan also refuse to do it.

Hope

God work in a mysterious way, now the short darlie ( darkie), is a voracious supporter of pinkie's 'husband'...:p

It must be GCT, that's why he got the PM job. Dhana couldn't do it and Old Fart proclaim that Singapore is not ready for a Indian PM. Mostly likely Tony Tan also refuse to do it.

Confirm,it was GUIDO cum wooden Goh.

LKY made a speech later,explained that they all looked and examined all the evidence,LKY felt that they could still afford to wait,but GUIDO GCT came out with his favourite rubbish",Nib them in the bud",and those young, decidated people were sacrified.

1 minnute silence from me to those who kena this stupid GUIDO1

Hope

Confirm,it was GUIDO cum wooden Goh.

LKY made a speech later,explained that they all looked and examined all the evidence,LKY felt that they could still afford to wait,but GUIDO GCT came out with his favourite rubbish",Nib them in the bud",and those young, decidated people were sacrified.

1 minnute silence from me to those who kena this stupid GUIDO1
I spent hours pondering over their fate,why should GUIDO cum wooden,a man who appears humble and kind hearted took such a tough decision when even his master LKY was not sure

I think GUIDO was then new into his PM job,he was extremly keen to prove to his tough master and he could be tough and a strong leader.

Those who work in corporate world would surely understand this feeling.

But weighting it against the life of such precious ,dedicated young faithful people,you can feel what I feel about him,especaiily when he is such a stupid and guido man.

But 66.6% do support him,I acknowledge this fate.

TeeKee

Why the rich, Christian or not, will all burn in hell...so you dun really have to do anything to them...God will settle the scores with them...LOL!

Matthew 19:16-30 (New International Version)

The Rich Young Man
16Now a man came up to Jesus and asked, "Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?"

17"Why do you ask me about what is good?" Jesus replied. "There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, obey the commandments."

18"Which ones?" the man inquired.

Jesus replied, " 'Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, 19honor your father and mother,'[a] and 'love your neighbor as yourself.'"

20"All these I have kept," the young man said. "What do I still lack?"

21Jesus answered, "If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me."

22When the young man heard this, he went away sad, because he had great wealth.

23Then Jesus said to his disciples, "I tell you the truth, it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. 24Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God."

25When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and asked, "Who then can be saved?"

26Jesus looked at them and said, "With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible."

27Peter answered him, "We have left everything to follow you! What then will there be for us?"

28Jesus said to them, "I tell you the truth, at the renewal of all things, when the Son of Man sits on his glorious throne, you who have followed me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. 29And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother[c] or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. 30But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.

pia

images

What differences? I quit becos I can't forget THAT SLAP!