• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Democratic progress not about number of opposition MPs in Parliament: PM Lee

streetcry

In an interview with ASEAN journalists on Thursday (Jun 4), says the quality of the opposition in Parliament, and substance of debate in Parliament is what counts as progress for Singapore's style of democracy.

• POSTED: 05 Jun 2015 18:00
  • UPDATED: 05 Jun 2015 18:32

pm-lee-s-interview-with.jpg

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's interview with ASEAN journalists on June 4, 2015 (Photo: MCI)

SINGAPORE: In a wide-ranging interview with a group of ASEAN journalists who are in Singapore for a learning journey on Thursday (Jun 4), Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong was asked about Singapore-style democracy and its stage of development.

Mr Lee stressed that democratic progress comes from quality discussion in Parliament, not the number of opposition members. He described the duty of the opposition as one to "raise serious issues which concern the country, which offers real alternatives to the population and which then debates the hard choices which the country has to make".

"If they do that, whether they have one member, whether they have ten members, they are good opposition," Mr Lee said. "If they don’t do that, you may have 20, 30 members, you are not being responsible. So, I would not go on the numbers. I would go on the substance of the debate.”

Mr Lee said Singapore's democratic system, with regular elections is one that works for the country. "It is a system which has delivered stable Government and competent Government for Singapore and one which has a mandate to govern effectively and do what Singapore needs," he said.

Still, Mr Lee said expectations are changing and this in turn will affect the way the Government operates, so the Government will adjust accordingly. "We are looking for our own way forward. I don’t know if you call it a Singapore model for other people to follow, but it is a model which Singapore is making it work for ourselves," he stated.

Turning to the PAP's governance, Mr Lee said the key is in delivering policies which are in the interest of the people. He acknowledged though that it doesn't mean the party can "win everybody".

"In the last election we had 60 per cent of the votes. So, it is a clear majority but it is not 100 per cent. But I think that is so in any society. It is not possible however hard you work," he said.

“I am not sure whether I would put it as what went wrong," Mr Lee elaborated.

I would say 60 per cent is a good result. If you look at the developed countries, in Britain, they have just had an election, 60 per cent voted and about one-third voted for the Tories. So that means 20 per cent of the population have chosen this present government of the United Kingdom. And if you go to America it is also about 60 per cent voting and about 50 per cent will win you the presidential elections. Sometimes 50 per cent plus one vote. Sometimes even less than 50 per cent."

Mr Lee said that is the way democracy works. "There are different views within the society. We try our best to bring together people so that we have a broad consensus of support for the government. You may not like everything which the government does. But on balance, you are prepared to say this Government is not bad. We vote for it.”

Asked about Singapore after the death of its founding father Lee Kuan Yew, Mr Lee, who is the former Prime Minister's eldest son, said a new team has been in charge since 1990.

"Well, Mr Lee retired as Prime Minister 25 years ago in 1990 and he retired from the Cabinet completely four years ago in 2011. And really a new team has been in charge since 1990 and there has been a turnover even in the new team, so I am not the second generation leader, I am the third Prime Minister.

"So in a way, Mr Lee has been preparing Singapore for the day when it carries on without him for a very long time and now he has left, it is a very sad thing that on the 50th anniversary he is not able to be with us to celebrate the success which he had such a big part in creating, but I think he has prepared well and Singapore is well set to move ahead and take our country further steps forward," Prime Minister Lee said.

"Of course, we would have like to continue to have his wisdom, his advice, the confidence that he has been with us all along and that whatever happens, he can help us to see through from thick or thin, but the reality is increasingly in the last 15 years, it is a new team which has been taking Singapore, making the decisions, carrying them, persuading people or dealing with problems when they have risen and I think that will continue to be so now.”

Mr Lee added that what he has learned from his father is to continuously put in the effort to make Singapore better. “Well, I think in all the years he was in Government, he never stopped making the effort to make Singapore better. And you have to be able to do that.

"I remember going to one country once, and this was about 25 years after the Government had taken power," Prime Minister Lee recounted. "It is a Latin American country and every time their people briefed us before the revolution - it was like this, after the revolution it is like this. But the revolution is 25 years ago. What happens since the revolution? Not so many things have happened since the revolution. But that was the milestone and after that, well, they just carry on and no, not so much progress.

"I think we have tried very hard not to be that bad, and we have to keep on moving forward. There are also stresses and strains moving forward. It is not so easy to keep on making progress because people have to change. But if you do not make progress, I think we would be finished.”

Prior to their interview with Mr Lee, participants of the 7th ASEAN Journalists Visit Programme (JVP) organised by the Ministry of Communications and Information called on Education Minister Heng Swee Keat on Wednesday, and also visited agencies such as the Urban Redevelopment Authority, National Gallery Singapore and ITE College Central.

- CNA/ly

Quality of opposition is good when we only had one or two token opposition MP and a handful of NCMPs that we can all spit on. Quality of debate in parliament has deteriorated ever since WP won a GRC. Time to vote WP out! Vote out the wankers!

Fuck lah. The ratio of opposition in parliament must be increased.

Substantial number of oppositions + quality discussion = Substantial democratic progress

Whoever don't give quality discussion gets booted out during next election, but the ratio of oppositions in parliament must be maintained.

No quality discussion: "harikiri", "either he is in Singapore, or not in Singapore"....etc. and the list goes on.

Its abt time Sinkiepore's wealth shld also be shared with the Opposition, Pinkie shld realised tat he had it for the past 50yrs good. Let WP and the rest hve a bite of it, afterall, its the public tat are the Suckers.

Don't need to talk about quality of opposition. Look at the "quality" of pap clowns. Too many of them have been let into parliament because of this GRC rubbish. PAP wants to make up the numbers and raise barriers to entry. As a result, we now have a circus. Poor quality ministers = poor policies = poor sinkies.

I agree its all about quality not quantity,i propose we cut the number of PAP mps in parliament down to a minimum.after all thats what democracy is about....the minority not the majority.

And this clown wants a quality opposition to bring up issues and debate hard decisions?who the fuck he think we are?the co bus driver slapper waker upper?I thought the PAP is all wise and knowing thats why they are paid millionss?

He seems quite happy to have the clowns around as long as they guai-guai listen to him and make him look good. :D

Don't need to talk about quality of opposition. Look at the "quality" of pap clowns. Too many of them have been let into parliament because of this GRC rubbish. PAP wants to make up the numbers and raise barriers to entry. As a result, we now have a circus. Poor quality ministers = poor policies = poor sinkies.

Knn, is like a rich tycoon saying that income equality is not about the amount of poor people, is about how poor are they... No wonder Singapore is turning into a failed state.

By the same argument we should vote out all the ministers except LHL and save Singaporeans millions of dollars. It's not about the numbers so LHL should be able to form a one man cabinet.

The foreigners are laughing at this man and wonder why he isn't like his dad, who would never use such warped logic that make people laugh.

if it is not about numbers why bother to import foreign trash here?

Quality of opposition is good when we only had one or two token opposition MP and a handful of NCMPs that we can all spit on. Quality of debate in parliament has deteriorated ever since WP won a GRC. Time to vote WP out! Vote out the wankers!

What we need is to have a Westminister parliament ...a Question Period of at least an hour or two for real debates. Opposition ask question and minister answer. Sinkees will then see the capability of our politicians.

Time to get rid of the PAP!

It is time WP Low step up. He should not let the PAP define the issue. He should seize every opportunity to challenge the PAP's notion of democracy and its governance.

Mr Lee stressed that democratic progress comes from quality discussion in Parliament, not the number of opposition members. He described the duty of the opposition as one to "raise serious issues which concern the country, which offers real alternatives to the population and which then debates the hard choices which the country has to make".

What should the leader of the Opposition respond? Low should tell sinkees that WP has raised many serious issues in Parliament but they are not heard because the arrogant PAP majority government does as it wishes. That's why sinkees should vote out this government and never allow a majority government again.

WP should promise a change of the electoral system to proportional representation. Coalition governments are more likely listen to the people as it could be toppled by its partners.

Low should point out how ignorant LHL is on the issue of democracy. Democracy is not top down. It is government acting on behalf of the people, not government telling people what to do.

"If they do that, whether they have one member, whether they have ten members, they are good opposition," Mr Lee said. "If they don’t do that, you may have 20, 30 members, you are not being responsible. So, I would not go on the numbers. I would go on the substance of the debate.”

Debate is useless when the government does as it likes. That's why number matters. If a government does not have a majority, it will have to act according to the will of the people. We have seen 5 decades of the PAP rule where the people are totally ignored.

Mr Lee said Singapore's democratic system, with regular elections is one that works for the country. "It is a system which has delivered stable Government and competent Government for Singapore and one which has a mandate to govern effectively and do what Singapore needs," he said.

Low should hit out to show that the PAP government is incompetent.

Turning to the PAP's governance, Mr Lee said the key is in delivering policies which are in the interest of the people. He acknowledged though that it doesn't mean the party can "win everybody".

Low should cite examples of how Lee's government is hurting the people. It is time to challenge the lies put out by the government.

"In the last election we had 60 per cent of the votes. So, it is a clear majority but it is not 100 per cent. But I think that is so in any society. It is not possible however hard you work," he said.

Low could say that once upon a time the PAP had much higher majority. The decline is proof that sinkees are tired of this government.

Low should question the independence of the Elections Department when it is part of the PMO.

The Opposition cannot win if the Elections Department is not independent of the Government.

I would say 60 per cent is a good result. If you look at the developed countries, in Britain, they have just had an election, 60 per cent voted and about one-third voted for the Tories. So that means 20 per cent of the population have chosen this present government of the United Kingdom. And if you go to America it is also about 60 per cent voting and about 50 per cent will win you the presidential elections. Sometimes 50 per cent plus one vote. Sometimes even less than 50 per cent."

Show sinkees how stupid LHL is. Sinkapore has mandatory voting while those countries he cited do not. He is comparing apples with oranges. Is LHL stupid or deceitful - that's the question Low should throw out.

Mr Lee said that is the way democracy works. "There are different views within the society. We try our best to bring together people so that we have a broad consensus of support for the government. You may not like everything which the government does. But on balance, you are prepared to say this Government is not bad. We vote for it.”

LHL has no clue how democracy work because the PAP practises dictatorship masquerade as sham democracy.

It is time for the Low as Opposition Leader to step up. If he doesn't want to be the PM, then let someone else who wants to take the rein.

Anything too civilized are rubbish and poison. Must be rejected. Democratic my butt!

Knn, is like a rich tycoon saying that income equality is not about the amount of poor people, is about how poor are they... No wonder Singapore is turning into a failed state.

This type of calibre and mentality can be PM. So self-serving and self-righteous it's so laughable!:D When he spends so much time trying to fix the opposition, he lost sight of the quality of his own MPs; groupthinking parrots, yesmen porlumpars jiakliaobees all rolled into one; save for one or two exceptions.:rolleyes:

"...Singapore is well set to move ahead and take our country further steps forward," Prime Minister Lee said.

The PM may not be able to "take our country further steps forward" if he fails to understand that Singapore belongs to the locals, those born and raised in the country, not the foreigners and those imported foreign sinkies, who are here today and gone tomorrow.

When Singapore is governed for the best interest of the locals, the country will survive as one nation, a country belonging to real sinkies, not the fake sinkies, the SPRs, pass holders, etc.

Currently, foreigners (SPRs) are allowed to buy Govt subsidized flats like a local sinkie. Why this privilege? No other country in the world would grant privileges to foreigners similar to those granted to their citizens.

.....WP has raised many serious issues in Parliament but they are not heard...

Parliamentary debate is not broadcasted live in sinkie land. How does the sinkies get to hear what WP says in the debate? The TV station shows only snippets of what they want to show. The newspapers report what they want to report.

Let the debate be conducted in live telecast and sinkies will see and hear what the MPs, pappies and WP alike, are saying or sleeping in Parliament during the debate. If no live telecast, voices of WP in Parliament will never be heard.

....That's why sinkees should vote out this government and never allow a majority government again.

The recent election in UK should serve as an example how the previous coalition Govt is now replaced by a one-party Govt again. A coalition Govt is NOT really a good option for the country as 2 parties with different ideologies and manifestos will try to pull the country going in different directions.

Having been in coalition Govt with an oppo party, the majority Govt in UK now works extra hard to please the Brits, to get better benefits for UK from the EU. Maybe if the sinkies had delivered hard kicks to the pappies' butts during the coming GE, they would then wake up to run Singapore for Singaporeans but until then, the pappies still think sinkies are daft.

Can rattle off a few, long time "jat leow bee"...Sibeh Heng ( aka Lim Boon Heng, Paul), Toothpick Lim ( another limp), Wong Can't sing, Hairdo Lim ( gee, another limp), Kate Spade rin tin tin, heng chee how, abalone porridge see toh, Abang Yakut...etc:rolleyes:

....how ignorant LHL is on the issue of democracy. Democracy is not top down. It is government acting on behalf of the people, not government telling people what to do.

In any election in a democratic country, it is one man, one vote. The pappies' concept of democracy is weird under GRC, a system where an unpopular politician and morally rotten person can become MP, for example, that Palmer guy. A voter put in one vote and 5 MPs are allowed into Parliament in that one vote.

Is there any country in the world with this GRC? None. Is this democracy in action? Pappies call it "democracy" but in reality, is it?