• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Delicious And Relatively Healthy Food

Porridge with salted egg and salted vegetable.

Good for my over nutritious body and under fill wallet! ;)

Some Hakka eat it without hum, yours that version? :D , joiking! What is the receipe for this? Green Tea, which type? with tea leaves boiled etc?

Care to share the recipe? or we have to follow you to Ipoh?

I dun cook so I dun know the recipe but my aunties should have them. :D
I can get them for you when I next visit them...... Or if you want to try my grandmother's thunder tea rice..... you have to visit her at the Bukit Cina Cemetary. :D ...... The timing is just about right as it's 10 more days to the 7th month :D

I think a little condiment or sauce is ok, otherwise it would be plain and not delicious.
Go easy on the sauce, as they say. :)

The sauce is usually laden with sodium and sometimes MSG. :o

Other threads have discussions about fast food, unhealthy food, health supplements, vitamins, illnesses, etc.

I think this is relatively healthy, so if anyone disagrees, please feel free to comment.

wahlaneh...
even monks n nuns get warded in hospital for malnutrition.
a well-balanced diet is healthy diet.
carbohydrates + proteins + mineral salts + vitamins + fats + water = well-balanced diet.
excess or inadequate of each food type is considered unhealthy and may result in illness, eg. high blood pressure, diabetes, high blood cholesterol, anemia, dehydration, etc...
having said all that, char kway teow no lard no oil n no hum is horrible.

Bak ku teh - Singapore type - whitish soup color with pepper-corn & star-anise taste only. Not those browny-color Malaysia type.
The soup can still be very oily and the meat fatty.
May be delicious but not very healthy.

Porridge with salted egg and salted vegetable.

Good for my over nutritious body and under fill wallet! ;)
The salted egg and salted vegetables are not healthy.
The former has plenty of salt and high cholesterol, the latter has plenty of salt and sometimes plenty of oil.

no salted fish? ... :confused:

but datz 2 much salt! ... :(

wahlaneh...
in those good old days...
1 bowl of white porridge + salted eggs + salted fish + salted veggie = heaven on earth liao u know?:D
and u can eat all that for 3 meals liao.

Pomfret is very very rare these days, in fact, I would appreciate it very much if you could advise a hawker stall which sells pomfret fish soup.
last time, got 1 @ lor 1 toa payoh ... small 1 is $2 or $2.50 1 bowl ... normally, got 6 slices of fish ... oso got big 1, tink it was $3 ... but if u go there late n dey still have a lot of fish left, she wil gif u 8 slices 4 a small bowl order ...

dat was sum 20 yrs ago ... :eek: ... dunno now still there anot ... :o

Bak ku teh - Singapore type - whitish soup color with pepper-corn & star-anise taste only. Not those browny-color Malaysia type.
bak kut teh all oso very oily 1 ... :o

The salted egg and salted vegetables are not healthy.
The former has plenty of salt and high cholesterol, the latter has plenty of salt and sometimes plenty of oil.

Do you see people eating one bowl of porridge with 1 full salted egg and one plate of salted veg? :confused:

It's about portion.